Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Bakewell > Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Chatsworth House
Baslow
Bakewell
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE45 1PN
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 120
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 125 Reviews
                8/10 from 125 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  125 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: The Sharps 5 reviews from this member

 We arrived 18.45 Friday night to be stopped half way down the drive by CC staff because of a mobile fish & chip van was on fire. This was adjacent to the reception office and outside the gas store, but being attended to by the fire service. Anyway the staff, apart from one, took in their stride. The one allocated us a pitch, but when we got round there, it was already occupied. We pulled on another pitch and alerted another member of staff who ok'd us to use it.

The pitches aren't all that roomy, but passable. Although they seem to be sectioned in to areas. As far as the toilet/shower blocks, they are excellent with piping hot water and very clean. A shortage of toilets in the mens on a morning though.

Fifteen minutes walk to Chatsworth house or the opposite way to the village.

Chatsworth is a beautiful house but extortionately priced to visitors.

The village is nice with two good pubs.

We left on the Sunday, my wife handed a gate key in to the one, who never lifted her face out of a book. You always get one!

We may return when feeling flush. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Trevor lodge 8 reviews from this member

 Lovely, peaceful site and enjoyed our stay here but very very busy. Great area to visit, Bakewell was a lovely too. Did notice some snobbery and rudeness in some shops in Bakewell! Chatsworth Park was great place to walk and beautiful, we paid to look around the house and NEVER AGAIN! Rushed round visit and very little to see and not value for money at all. I don't say this lightly as we go around other great houses. We couldn't see what all the fuse was about and when I say never again, trust me I mean it!

Had lunch in the Chatsworth restaurant, average food BUT expensive. We also visited Haddon Hall, nr to Bakewell and that was a lovely place and good value for your money. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: John659 3 reviews from this member

 We arrived at 1. 30pm to a very warm welcome from the warden team. There have been many complaints online about the team, but we found them to nothing but very helpful and friendly during out visit. The site is all hard standing with some pitches being fully serviced. These are spacious with brick paviors for the car and caravan with a gravel area for an awning.

You are given a key to get into the Chatswoth Estate and get a discount off the entry price to Chatsworth House. It is a 15 minute walk up to the house. It doesn't open until 11 am

The toilet block was never full and was spotlessly clean at all times. The farm shop at Pilsey great value.

Very level site & pitches. We'll definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: February 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Martin.eneale 34 reviews from this member

 It's taken 10 years to get booked on this site for a weeks holiday and we've finally managed it. The site is in a great location, it was just a pity that the house and gardens weren't opened up for the February half term break. You are given a key that allows access to the grounds of the estate so you can wander around to your hearts content.

The site has a strict no arrivals before 1pm due to the narrow approach road, the shop has very basic groceries and papers can be ordered in with a small charge.

The pitches are large and nicely spaced, with super pitches available as well. The shower block was warm and always clean.

The local town of Baslow is about a 20 minute walk away, with a selection of pubs and restaurants to choose from. There is also a Spar shop for top up shopping. We went to Il Lupo for a lunch time treat, what a fantastic little place, you must go!

Bakwell has a Co-Op if you need a bigger shop, but don't visit on a Monday, we tried and discovered that it was market day. OMG, chaos doesn't come in to it! Chesterfield is about 10 miles away and has a greater selection of shops etc.

Great site for people who like walking, loads to do in the area and well worth a visit. It's the nearest CC site to home for us, so we won't be spending another week there for sometime, but would consider it for a weekend break (if we could ever get in). 


Date of Visit: January 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Tomtom1958 3 reviews from this member

 What a lovely site typical caravan club site very clean and well laid out the staff were very friendly. There was direct access to chatsworth house and the village of baslow via a gate in the site they give you a key when you book in it was about a 20 minute walk both ways. The village of baslow is small but there is a nice cafe shop and 2 pubs both pub are nice serving real ale and food. You can catch a bus to bakewell or chesterfield they run about every hour not to badly priced £2. 30 return to bakewell & about

£3. 40 return to chesterfield. Good job we took a good torch with us because it get very dark and there are no lights when walking back to the site. Fish & chip van comes every friday night from 5-7. Would go again 3 great nights 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: November 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Scarletsfan 90 reviews from this member

 Access to this site is quite straight forward. The driveway into the site being directly off the A619. The club stipulate that arrivals should be no earlier than 1pm and all departures by 12 noon. There is very good reason for this. The final approach to the site is via a long single track driveway with very few passing places, and the entrance courtyard is tight with no facility for waiting.

We arrived at 2. 30pm to a very warm welcome from the warden team. There have been many complaints online about the team, but we found them to nothing but very helpful and friendly during out visit. The site is all hard standing with some pitches being fully serviced. These are spacious with brick paviors for the car and caravan with a gravel area for an awning.

Reception sells a few items, but nearby Bakewell has a good range of shops with there being a Tesco Extra in Chesterfield and a Sainsburys in Matlock.

The site is nicely landscaped and has its own magic gate onto the Chatworth estate. A 20 min walk along a path through the grazing fields brings you to the house itself. An undercover area houses a table tennis table and there is a small play area for children. A good dogwalk is enclosed within the site walls but dogs need to be on a lead on the estate itself due to grazing animals.

There are loads of opportunities to eat out in the immediate vicinity, though they are not cheap, so donít expect Hungry Horse prices.

The site is located so that exploring the delights of the Peak District is easy.

A tip for you. If you are considering paying the extra fee for a serviced pitch, check the water supply to them is not frozen first. 


Date of Visit: November 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Scraggs 2 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site that is quiet and peaceful. It is in one of the loveliest country estates in the UK. Being central to most of the peak district it is ideal for us walkers, fishermen/women, etc. The sites toilets and showers are the cleanest I have ever come across hats off to all who look after them (not just the wardens)even most of the visitors take pride in the overall upkeep. Will go again no problem. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Aust.tourists 69 reviews from this member

 This is a really nice site. We were lucky enough to get a fully serviced pitch so we didn't use the site facilities at all. The reception sells basic grocery items and newspapers. There were lots of ducks and rabbits wandering around the site.

You are given a key to get into the Chatswoth Estate and get a discount off the entry price to Chatsworth House. It is a 15 minute walk up to the house. It doesn't open until 11 am. You have an option of buying an audio guide or a booklet. We found the audio guide annoying so took them back and exchanged them for a booklet. You could follow it better and also have something to read and look back on later. It is beautifully preserved and well worth seeing. It is a 15 minute walk through the estate to Baslow, a small village, which has a couple of pubs.

We ate in The Wheatsheaf and at 2 meals for 10 pounds was excellent value. There are loads of walks around the area. We also visited Chatsworth farm shop which had all sorts of goodies. Bakewell is not too far away and a really pretty town. We walked there but it is a long way! 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Rickyd 9 reviews from this member

 Had read a lot about this site and it did live up to expectations. Yes, the pitches are small and yes, it is expensive but as far as location goes, it cannot be beaten.

We did find a relatively quiet and private pitch shaded by trees on one side and backing onto the river. Once through the gate in the wall, the grounds of Chatsworth are worth walking and as you get off the main track, the paths are very quiet. The house is also worth a visit and with the discount from the CC site makes it reasonable in cost.

We had the fortune of glorious weather and therefore the site was exceptionally busy. The wardens never stopped looking after the site and the grounds were very well maintained.

Despite the crowds, the toilet block was never full and was spotlessly clean at all times. The farm shop at Pilsey is one of the best we have ever visited and we had an excellent lunch at La Lupa in Baslow - at £8.95 for 3 courses of decent Italian food it was value for money.

We probably won't return as we feel that we have covered this area but would recommend to others. Just make sure that you don't turn up before 1pm as you won't be allowed on the site! 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fidibury 38 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site for the Monday night of the Jubilee Bank Holiday Weekend. What a lovely well kept site. Facilities were very good, as expected and pitches were of a good size. There was also a small play area for children. Wardens were pleasant but not particularly friendly and we found that some were not as informative as we would have expected with regards to the other Caravan Club sites in the area.

The site itself is situated in what was a walled garden and a door in the wall takes you directly on to the Chatsworth estate. It is a 15min walk to Chatsworth House in one direction and the village of Baslow in the other, both ways accessible by a wheelchair. Dogs are to be kept on a lead.

We didn't actually walk to the farm shop but had been told that it was about a 30 - 35 min walk away. Did visit the farm shop later in the week and found it well worth the detour. The cherry scones are the best we have ever tasted!

The village of Bakewell is a must to visit with plenty of streets and shops to walk around. Don't forget to buy your Bakewell Pudding (as it is known) - again delicious.

This is a site that I would certainly like to visit again due to its proximity to Chatsworth and Bakewell and the many miles of walks around the area. 


Previous     125 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bakewell      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3608 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement