Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Bakewell > Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Chatsworth House
Baslow
Bakewell
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE45 1PN
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 120
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 125 Reviews
                8/10 from 125 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  125 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: January 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hughandpenny 23 reviews from this member

 First break of the New Year, a lovely usual CC standard site. Very quiet for our 3 night stay, less tha a dozen units on site for 2 of the nights.

Facilities fantastic and clean/warm, some cubicles and showers locked due to low occupancy on site but still plenty open and a sensible approach.

Wardens very friendly and ready to assist when asked but not intrusive just how we like it. The weekend was very windy and wardens cleared debris up well and as we left tree surgeons were present clearing up and pruning.

The door into the estate is fantastic and very Toms Midnight Garden for those of a particular vintage. Easy walk to either the house or Baslow and both well worth the walk ( house closed until March but stables and shops open)

We will return at some stage when house open when I am sure site will be a lot busier 


Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tony Burton 39 reviews from this member

 A great site with normal standard of CC facilities. The wardens worked extremely hard to ensure everyone had a great stay. The whole team seem to be on duty just after 1:00pm to direct traffic on the narrow approach road. They were so helpful. In the middle of October we experienced the dear rut. A fantastic site and you could hear the stags bellowing late into the night. There is a good bus service either from near Chatsworth House or from the bes stop at Baslow. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Alphonso De Lard 23 reviews from this member

 Caravan pitched up at Chatsworth for 7 nights, Sunday to Sunday, we stayed Thursday to Sunday, with my parents taking the first four nights. We chose pitch 39, as it seemed to be less shady than other pitches, but it's an extremely small pitch, and the hitch was very close to the road. A helpful warden allowed us to pitch sideways on due to the pitch size. Due to a tree with a small grass bank, it wasn't easy pitching this way either. Wardens weren't altogether happy with the final position, but when I explained I couldn't drop the steady they were OK eventually. Wardens were helpful throughout our stay, and helped many visitors site their vans. They were also pleasant when serving our DD when she visited the shop and took time to chat to her, (or be chatted at, more like).

The site is (obviously) superbly placed for visiting Chatsworth, a must if you are staying here. It's also closer

Than I thought to Bakewell, we had a lovely mooch around the shops, watched the annual carnival pass through, and enjoyed a lovely French meal at Le Mistral on the Saturday evening. Bakeway puddings were bought for dessert back at the van, and for gifts for the family.

Facilities on site were immaculate, and there is plenty enough shower rooms and toilets for the number of pitches on site. Only complaint is the closing times for cleaning, the ladies closed 10:30 -> 11:30, gents 11:00 - 12:00. Perhaps a little early in the day for some people? 10:30? We weren't the only people to be caught out by this. Perhaps midday could be a better time to close?

A lovely site, ideal for visiting Chatsworth. Great facilities. Not sure I'd rush to stay again, as it wasn't a fantastically family friendly site - the play park is a little young, no field for ball games etc. But if you just want a couple of nights break on a peaceful (apart from the crows) site then this could be the site for you, if you can get in - book early. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tc1962 16 reviews from this member

 Approach - easy to find using the web site instructions - do not follow a sat nav, we even have the caravan sat nav and that would have taken us to Chatsworth house ! There is not a waiting area so it's imperative you don't arrive before 1pm as instructed due to the width of the access lane.

Staff on arrival - we found the wardens really helpful and friendly, lots of instructions and hints and tips.

Pitch - we had a fully serviced hard standing pitch with awning, this was one of the best pitches we have ever had, both the size and the facilities, we even had our own elsan point on the pitch. Absolutely fantastic, water, waste water, electric and TV hook up. All of the other pitches on the site looked well proportioned and just as nice.

Facilities - plenty of showers, roomy with lots of hot water, very clean. Laundry, washing up area, small shop for basic items. Access to chatsworth park through a gate is amazing. Facilities as in other reviews really excellent.

Local area - Baslow a short walk away (1. 5miles) this has several nice pubs and a small spar (no lottery) Bakewell is a short drive and a lovely market town. Chatsworth farm shop is a must at pilsley, and obviously the grounds of chatsworth and the surrounding peak district are in easy reach.

In summary -very well looked after spacious site that has everything you could wish for.

Was this site for us - yes, we loved it here, can understand why it's always fully booked, we had a very relaxing time, managed to tame a blackbird who came each night for some bread, just had to make sure the ducks didn't see you otherwise they would set up camp on your pitch in the hope of a morsel of food, to be honest they could be a bit of a pain but the little ducklings were lovely and very well fed!

We will definitely return, even though we say we never go to a site twice (because there are so many to try) this site made us change our mind about that self imposed rule ! 


Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lhph 2 reviews from this member

 Visited this campsite first week in march, site is situated in the old walled kitchen garden of chatsworth estate, staff very friendly and facilities very clean, on booking in you are issued with a key to enable access through a door in the wall which leads directly into estate grounds, beautiful site and beautiful surroundings, one of the most peaceful and relaxed sites, chatworth farm shop worth a visit for a bit of luxury quality. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Suziepeapod 1 review from this member

 As novices this is our first long venture in our caravan. We are so pleased we chose this site, it was perfect, not only was the weather fantastic, the whole experience was. Right from the start we were made to feel welcome and assistance was offered. The people working on the site were very friendly. The site and facilities were immaculate and of a very high standard, obviously well managed. The site is situated in a beautiful location. We found that there was lots to do and see. We very much look forward to returning in the not too distant future. 


Date of Visit: December 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: David Klyne 227 reviews from this member

 To Find Site:- From both Bakewell and Chesterfield take A619 towards Baslow. Site entrance is between the two roundabouts in Baslow. Access to the site is by a long narrow road, although there are passing places it could be difficult for two towed caravans to pass. Therefore the Caravan Club instruct you not to arrive before 1. 00pm. The reverse is that everyone must leave the site by 12. 00 noon. The area on the approach to reception is across a fairly narrow low humped back bridge and from here it is cobbled and it can be quite daunting to drive over it!

Chatsworth is a real gem of a site which is set within what was, once, a walled garden. There are 120 pitches in total including 26 'Super Pitches'. The 'super' pitches have their own fresh water supply and waste water and WC disposal, there is an additional cost per night for these pitches. All the other pitches are on hardstanding, useful as the site is open all year. Although every inch of the site is used for pitches it has been cleverly designed so that pitches do not seem crowded. Not all pitches allow awnings to be used. The site does seem to hold surface water after heavy rain in places. The one central toilet block is quite large and of excellent standard and includes a 'Mother and Baby' room. The old reception building is now the information room. The Reception sells newspapers, milk and bread plus walking maps of the area. When you tell reception where you are pitched they provide you with a key that provides access from the site to the park through a gate. This site is open to non-members but not to tents. Electric points use standard blue CEE17 connectors and are rated at 16 amps. The bollards also have co-ax TV connectors but you have to provide your own cable, although these can be purchased from Reception. Water and waste service points are dotted around the site. There is also a motorhome service point. Being a very popular site it is usually necessary to book in advance particularly at weekends and holidays, at the very least it is advised to phone ahead to check if there is space. The site offers a WiFi service and access can be purchased online. Mobile reception is OK

There is lots to do in the area. You could amuse yourself by walks direct from the site. However most of the Peak District is within easy reach. There is a Garden Centre at Calton Lees a couple of miles from the site and a rather superb Estate Farm shop. There are a some restaurants in Baslow and details are usually found in the site information room. Chatsworth House, no doubt, will be the main attraction for a stay on this site. It is only reasonable walk from the site, alternatively there is ample parking at the house. In wet weather the path from the site to the house can be quite muddy so stout shoes would be advisable. Tickets can be purchased online this not only secures a small discount but also allows you to bypass the queue for people paying on the day. However showing your membership card at the ticket office secures a 5 discount on each ticket. This is a good destination in the run up to Christmas as the inside of the house is decorated and usually to a theme. For day to day supplies major supermarkets are well represented in Chesterfield. 


Date of Visit: November 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Catmaster 2 reviews from this member

 A lovely visit to the Christmas market fully recommend a visit.

This was a return visit this year as an earlier trip was perfect.

We had our booking of pitch altered by the club but was amazed when there to find super pitches wide enough for awnings to be used free during our visit but were told we could not change pitch.

Will be reluctant to return to this site as there are others in the area.

A pity really as this site has many advantages namely enclosed in the estate it self. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: 45np 7 reviews from this member

 Blimey, what a busy site!

Arrived late on a Monday afternoon and had a choice of three pitches, had a cracking one at the end of a wee cul-de-sac, probably because of our small manoeuvrable campervan.

Got stuck in the queue for the 1pm arrivals as I'd nipped out to the local pub, fortunately the wardens have this well worked out with walkie talkies and I was waved passed, remember this though.

Very well kept despite the duck population who just add to the atmosphere. Toilet block spotless and never a queue.

Pitch fees are expensive in comparison to other CC sites, discount given though to go round the house itself.

I can understand why but it is disappointing that dogs can't run free in the park, mainly because the on site dog walk is pathetic and therefore busy.

My only other observation would be the lack of WiFi in some areas of the site, and we had two visible masts very near our pitch, but with 3 different gizmos, none would connect. It's obvious the wardens are fed up with the complaints so for goodness sake Caravan Club get it sorted! 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Marclewis 22 reviews from this member

 We arrived just after 1pm and drove down the long drive. We were shown on a map the positions available. These were the pitches without awnings. They are quite and it was good we had a motor mover. They give you a key to Chatsworth Park and Chatsworth House is only a short walk away. You have to visit the house and gardens as well as the Heights Of Abraham. There are also a number of pub/restaurants a short distance from the site entrance. The shower block is your typical Caravan Club high standard. Overall a nice site and I will definitely be going back. 


Previous     125 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bakewell      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3509 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement