Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Bakewell > Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Chatsworth House
Baslow
Bakewell
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE45 1PN
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 120
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 125 Reviews
                8/10 from 125 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  125 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Madgie 6 reviews from this member

 Our first visit to this site did not start well. After an horrendous drive through gales and rain we were pleased to arrive in one piece. We pulled up at what we thought was the stop line but were told in no uncertain terms to move forward to the stop line - hidden around the corner. Would not have minded this too much but when we went for a walk later there was another outfit not pulled up to the correct place quite happily booking in. Maybe we just had the wrtong jobsworth on duty at the time.

Many of the pitches are small and unless you book a super pitch they seem to be quite close together.

To sum up: we use Caravan Club sites quite a bit and this one appears to be relying on its reputation as it is nowhere near the standard of most. The site seemed to be in need of a bit of a refurbishment and we were decidedly underwhelmed. And the wardens definitely need to learn how to smile.

The plus is its location right next to Chatsworth House and Gardens. Though in saying that we would have preferred to stay at Losehill just 10 miles away for a lot less money, drive to Chatsworth House and pay the £3 parking fee. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Blongs 49 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 1/2 of the Jubilee weekend to try it out. I was on the ball on the December 2011 booking opening day so had no problem booking the site, it was full and no sign of no-shows over this weekend.

The traffic into Baslow was a nightmare and it took a long time to get the last few miles to the site entrance. The driveway is a few miles long and completely different to Chatsworth House entrance. They are strict on the 1pm arrival time and we saw queues of caravans and motorhomes at the bottom of the drive waiting for the clock to tick.

Check in was easy and we got to drive around and find our own pitch then report back with the number and get a key for the gate to the grounds. I had forgotten how much the site was with booking it so long ago, �31 a night for a MH with 2 adults and 1 kid is very expensive.

The key I just mentioned is for a door in the wall of the campsite, the site is in an old walled garden. The gate takes you to the grounds of Chatsworth and an easy walk to the house. This saves the £3 parking fee.

If you are staying on the site you do get reduced prices to the house and grounds, £18 per adult is reduced to £10. This goes some way to making the campsite fee easier to swallow.

The facilities were typical CC setup and kept clean. The motorhome waste disposal was the grates in the ground to lift up as per normal CC sites.

There is a little shop with essentials and ice creams.

Over the Jubilee we had a beacon lighting party and drinks/nibbles which was good fun.

There is a small kids playpark on site and quite a lot of kids for ours to get involved with.

We walked into Baslow village which is pretty small and has a nice riverside walk. A couple of pubs and smart looking shops. The SPAR was up a hill out of the way of the main town though.

The site is raved about a lot by CC members but I wasn't overly impressed. We have just as much fun on a �6 site as this one, and a lot of spare money!

If you are visiting the house I would say yes stay here. If you are not going to the house the campsite fee is way too high and I would go somewhere else. We have done the house now so I won't be booking in again. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Paul@Bank 134 reviews from this member

 What a great location for the Caravan Club site, within the magnificent grounds of Chatsworth Estate, less than 1 mile from Baslow village. The site is sandwiched between the River Derwent and the former walled garden forming the estate nursery. Going through the gate in the wall takes you directly to the public footpath running through Chatsworth deer park and grounds. Edensor village is over the bridges by Chatsworth house (crossing the B6112) and has a delightful licenced café/tea room. Very friendly staff insisting we can into the café with dogs and muddy boots to stop out lunch getting wet (it had started raining after offering food and we sat outside). Pilsley village (further along the B6112) has the Estate Farm shop (not located at Chatsworth), superb selection of fresh food, meat, fish, deli, prepared meals everything you need to make a gourmet meal back at the site including very good wine selection. Plenty of good walking in the area and cycling (but not allowed through estate grounds). The River Derwent look great for kayaking – but the Warden was not sure if this was allowed as the river ran through the Estate Grounds. Will definitely return to this lovely area again – highly recommend. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Andynliz 16 reviews from this member

 Just got back from 4 nights at this sight after a last minute decision to book. Can fully understand all the positive reviews as the position and facilities are excellent. However be careful to pick your pitch as some are very small. This however is only a minor point and the rest is all positive.

Upon arrival you are given a key to the gate on the dog walk which gives direct access to the Chatsworth Estate. This was great for a couple of walks with our children who could run free across the fields and watch the deer. The house itself is fantastic.

We also visited the Farm shop and would say this is the bet Farm shop we have ever seen. Some people have stated that this is expensive, however you get what you pay for and I would not let this put you off.

The site is very well kept and the Wardens very efficient and hard working, would be nice if they could be a little more friendly though. It cost nothing to say good morning and smile.

Would also recommend the mobile fish and chip shop that visits on Fridays, very fresh and worth the wait.

All in all an excellent site. 


Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MJandFamily 3 reviews from this member

 Recently had a great weekend at the Chatsworth Caravan Club site. Toilet block clean & warm, with plenty of facilities inside, just as expected.

Fantastic location for visiting Chatsworth house, and Derbyshire. The house is just a short walk away, and has loads to do.

Tight access road to the site, but follow the clubs instructions, and you'll be fine.

Friendly & helpful staff. Useful information room on site, with loads of ideas where to go.

Very level site & pitches. We'll definitely be back. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cybil65 4 reviews from this member

 What can you say about this site other than we would spend every weekend there if we could.

You have to book early if you want a weekend break or keep ringing every day for cancellations but when you do manage to get on it is well worth it.

The location is superb the site and showers are immaculate.

The pitches or a good size and we would recommend trying to get one of the edge pitches that backs up to the wall. This gives shelter and much more privacy through the addition of a couple of windbreaks.

Plenty of walks up the lane along side of the river and deer park or go through the private gate that you have a key for in to the grounds of Chatsworth park. The house itself is only a 15 min steady walk away.

Bakewell is close by which is well worth a visit.

Chatsworth farm shop and cafe is only 2 miles away and again is a must visit.

We will return as soon as we are able to book on again one of our top 3 sites. 


Date of Visit: January 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tall Dwarfs 9 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site from 1 - 4 January in some pretty swful weather, rain and strong winds! Although we were stopped from going walking as we intended we would definitely return because the site is immaculate and in a fantastic location.

The Toilet/Shower Block was immaculately clean and nicely heated which was good as there were frosts at night. The pitches are well spaced and due to the site being in the old walled garden are sheltered from any wind. The access to the site is along a single track road from Baslow. I can see why the site is so difficult to book, it is the nicest site that we have stayed on so far.

The Warden gives you a key to the gate in the wall, through which you can access The Chatsworth Estate. There is a footpath directly outside the wall which will take you either into Baslow and from there up to Baslow & Curbar Edges or turning right, through The Estate and over to Edensor and beyond.

There was no road noise and at night the only sound was the wind and the hoot of an Owl nearby. A perfect location for a peaceful start to the New Year! 


Date of Visit: November 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dot P 598 reviews from this member

 It took us 2 years to get a booking for this site as weekends seem permanently booked up - it was so worth the wait.

All facilities are top notch and pitches well spaced. We booked super pitch and more than happy with extra cost for same.

Obviously the main reason to stay is Chatsworth itself - absolutely stunning. The first of the Christmas Fayres was on with over 100 quality stalls ( no tat). The house was decorated for Christmas and was beautiful. Even n at this time of year the gardens were well worth a visit.

We walked through the park to the Estate Farm shop approx e miles away - that is worth the trip on its own, have never visited a butchers with such varied wares.

This site is worth the wait for a booking. One strange thing is if its so difficult for members to book why does sign outside welcome non members? Just seems odd but maybe selfish to expect your membership fee justifies you a pitch. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Peter kelly 3 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from our second short visit to this beautiful CC site. The location, design and layout, facilities and staff were absolutely first class.

We prefer to park the van and walk from sites. We were able to do varied walks in the stunning grounds of Chatsworth and the surrounding countryside, including the lovely villages of Baslow and Beeley.

We visited Chatsworth house and gardens (NOT National Trust) and have to say the house was a disappointment, unless to you wish to see a huge and repetitive collection of paintings and sculpture in a largely classical and predictable style. The gardens however were most impressive and worthy of further and extended visits to appreciate the variety and extent of landscaping and planting.

Overall this is one of the very best sites we have ever been to and will certainly return.  


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hondagirl 7 reviews from this member

 Its taken us a long while to finally stay at Chatsworth such is the popularity of this site. I wanted to know what the fuss was about and why the site is continuously booked up.

There are very strict rules about entry times, turn up before 1pm and face the wrath of the local bowls club not to mention the wardens! Theres a good reason why they are so strict and certainly from what we saw the site is run very efficiently and with almost military precision.

The entry road is single track, smooth tarmac and not a pot hole in site. Its a good mile 1/2 long and to meet other caravans coming the opposite way would be a major headache.

We turned up at half one and had the pick of several pitches. Some are noticeably bigger than others and I don't mean the super pitches. Choose carefully as some of the normal pitches are pretty crammed in.

The site itself is lovely, landscaped and maintained very well. There are numerous dog poo bins and a dog walk which is quite small but you don't really need it. The best part of the site is the gateway into Chatsworth park itself. Acres of rolling countryside and a beautiful river perfect for paddling in.

The facilities are immaculate. I have never seen such a huge shower block/toilet block and they have a dinky little family bathroom perfect for babies. The wardens here work hard, everything is clean and pretty spotless.

There are really only petty negatives.

Yes its busy, its mid holiday season and fully booked and the pitches are a little bit crammed in.

There is a fairly complicated one way system that the wardens like the kids on bikes to follow too, quite how successful that is I'm not sure.

The play area is very small and limited to age 5 to 10.

Some of the wardens are lovely and friendly, but a couple of them could maybe crack a smile occasionally!

Its pretty expensive, definitely at the high end of the CC tariffs.

In summary, this site is worth booking well in advance for, its simply lovely. 


Previous     125 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bakewell      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3817 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement