Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Doe Park Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > Co Durham > Site Reviews

Doe Park Caravan Site
Cotherstone
Barnard Castle
Co Durham   (Browse area)
DL12 9UQ
Tel: 01833 650302
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 144 Reviews
                9/10 from 144 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (15) and Video

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <10 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  144 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Njbrice 3 reviews from this member

We stayed here just after easter and although the site was full,it was so quiet.

The facilities are great and shower/toilet blocks are always really clean the pitches are of a generous size.

The location is great as there are great walks nearby and pubs.

We have stayed at this site a few times and its always a pleasant experience.

The only negative for ourselves is we struggle to get decent digital reception this is probably due to our equipment and the geography of the site.

We will be going back at least once more this year as it good value and local for us.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Keith@Cynth 2 reviews from this member

After our 4th visit in the past 12 months we continue to be impressed by the staff and facilities of Doe Park. From the welcome to your departure you are treated with warmth and courtesy.

Very good facilities, a relaxing site even with children and set in a magnificent location that even poor bank holiday weather could not put you off.

Local pubs offer good food and drinks and opportunities to walk or relax abound.

Good shopping in Barnard Castle with a reasonable Morrisons, Coop, and several butchers and deli's.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: ADSmith 7 reviews from this member

My parents (aged 75) are returning to camping after a break of several years. They acquired a Trigano Randger folding caravan at the end of 2010 so this was their first chance for a few days away.

The site is 40 minutes from their home so it was ideal for a first trip to check everything was working as it should. We read many reviews about sites around Barnard Castle and chose Doe Park as suitable for their needs and Kirsty, the Border Collie.

My parents stayed on the site Tues to Thu nights and then I had it with my wife and two children for Fri and Sat. The access by the B6277 is no problem and access around the site is easy.

The site was said by many to be immaculate and that is no exaggeration. The grass is in beautiful condition, the two toilet blocks were cleaned three times each day, everything was kept clean even though we had a very wet and windy spell over Saturday night into Sunday.

On arrival, my parents were shown a suggested hardstanding for their trailer that would afford them some shelter and close access to the toilet block. Electric hookups are plentiful (possibly one every pitch but I didn't check). There is a designated dog walking area so that made Kirsty very happy.

Barnard Castle is well worth a visit, Bowes Museum is a great asset to the area. Close by the site for cycling and walking is the Balderhead Reservoir and those who know about Hannah Hauxwell will enjoy seeing where she lived for so many years.

There is nothing specific children but there was plenty of space for kite flying and ball play so that was fine. Having found Doe Park, I'm sure it will be a regular weekend break for us.

I consider that the overnight charge is very reasonable for the quality of site. I would recommend without reservation.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Steve McV 21 reviews from this member

What else is there to add? Beautiful location on the edge of the prettiest village in the prettiest valley in England (in my biassed view!)

Spacious flat pitches, most with stone chippings. Watch out for the ones with trees overhanging - we got covered in horrible sap.

You'll need 20p pieces for the showers, but they last ages. No playground on site, but a large rally field ideal for football. Turn left on the railway path & follow it to the village for a lovely playground there.

No shop on site, very small range of items on sale at reception, but plenty of excellent shops in Barnard Castle a few miles away.

Railway path up Teesdale as well as many miles of footpaths for circular walks. Cotherstone has a small shop & some nice pubs. Worth booking for meals - they get busy. Romaldkirk is also picture postcard stuff with more fantastic pubs.

One thing to watch - no card payment facilities, cash or cheque only. Probably my new favourite site. Will certainly be back.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Alitone 24 reviews from this member

We were back at the Doe Park Site again this week and its 'as good as ever' with loads of space between pitches and great facilities in a peaceful location.

I just wanted to correct one recent review which states '2 Pubs in the village of Cotherstone don't allow dogs'. That is incorrect because the Red Lion does allow owners to bring dogs in and the drinks are amazing value i.e a small bottle of Red wine and a pint of Stella for less than £5. One and a half pints of stella £3.40. Wish it was my local. The real fire is always roaring as well.

The path to the village is along the Tees Railway path( 20 minutes) or across a field to the village in about 5 minutes walk and yes a short 50 meter stretch has no path, but don't be put off as its quite safe.

Buses pass the site entrance to Barnard Castle one an hour. ( Or you can walk along a well marked country trail next to the river Tees ) about 2 hours walk

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MalPal 9 reviews from this member

Doe Park is a lovely quiet site surrounding a beautiful Manor house where the owners live and work the farm, It is split into separate paddocks, most pitches having hard standing and more than enough space around your unit. Although no play park or anything for children there is a large field for them to play in.

The staff are Extremely Friendly and very Informative.

The whole site is very clean and tidy with spotless Toilets and Showers (20 pences needed but they do last a long time)

There is Plenty to do around the area, Bowes Museum, barnard castle, river walks or even a bike riding across the gated fields and along a disused railway track leading to Middleton in Teesdale approx 6 miles away, a lovely picturesque route to take and there are numerous coffee shops etc in this quaint country village.

The fox and hounds pub in Cotherstone village is a must and only a short walk from the site, it serves excellent quality food.

My husband and I found this site by chance only 4 weeks ago and have just returned from a 2nd visit! Our friends went with us on our 2nd visit and it certainly wont be the last time for them either!

We Love everything about Doe Park and it will be a regular for us in the future.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lindilou 14 reviews from this member

Very nice site and the owners were very welcoming,well structured on first viewing though we do normally prefer smaller more informal sites (this was booked by our friends) but we soon warmed to our surroundings,(always keep an open mind), most pitches were hardstanding and there was plenty of room between.

The site was well maintained and clean at all times, recycling points were good too.

Toilets were kept very clean and showers(20p) gave plenty of time, the water was always nice and hot, there was also 2 privacy sinks in each block besides the showers.

Wonderful walks in the area, we stayed 2 weeks and still didn't get to all the lovely places around in the area.

Fox and Hounds in Cotherstone very good for meals, and it's within walking distance (over fields). Note there is no footpath on roadway.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bennythecat 4 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a Bank Holiday break at Doe Park. The park was lovely and quiet despite it being a Bank Holiday weekend. The pitch sizes were really good and you felt a long way away from your neighbours which was nice.

They take pride in their site and it was spotlessly clean and the grass beautifully kept (though they never cut it when you are there, it's almost like the fairies come whilst you are out). The toilet block was also spotless and I never had to wait for a shower.

We had problems with our electrics whilst there and nothing was too much trouble for them. They rallied round to find us a spare cable, battery charger and lots of much needed help and advice.Thanks guys

Overall this is a well run site and I would not hesitate to recommend it.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Alitone 24 reviews from this member

We stayed at Doe Park earlier this year and liked it so much we re-booked at Easter so were able to see how it ran in peak-season. I have to say we are very impressed by the staff and management of this lovely haven.

They are simply wonderful and far more hospitable than the Caravan and Camping Club site nearer Barnard Castle where we stayed the following night.

The pitches are very large and we were amazed at how many people said they 'had been coming back to Doe Park for years'. To me that says it all.

The grass is cut short and all the cuttings taken away so you don't get grass in your caravan, the toilets and shower are immaculate.

We wanted milk and papers and bread so walked across the small field into Cotherstone village at 8am on Friday to the sound of hundreds of singing birds in the surrounding trees and though to myself 'how lucky are we to be staying here'.

Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: 88trucker 7 reviews from this member

We chose Doe Park as our first destination with our new caravan, following a recommendation from one of the staff at Lunar.

It is set in the countryside of Barnard Castle, beautiful, peaceful, with views to die for! The site is very quiet with spacious pitches.

The staff are very friendly and the toilet/wash block is of excellent standard. Reception sells the basics, much to our approval when we ran short of milk!

About 4 miles sees you into Barnard Castle itself. You can take a tour of the castle grounds (for a fee) or browse the quintessential shops fronting the high street, although there is a Co-op for replenishing the essentials!

Cotherstone is the nearest village, within easy walking distance. We travelled a little further in the opposite direction to Romaldkirk via car to find a pub lunch. We found a couple of very friendly local pubs. Log open fires and enough space to fit, a few people, cosily!

There are a couple of options when it comes to sites near Barnard Castle. We passed a couple of them on the way, but have to say, Doe Park wins hands down in terms of views and ‘countryside’ feel.

We were only here for a couple of days, but would easily return for a relaxing break. Highly recommended.

Previous     144 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Co Durham   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


497 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019




0.0980