Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Doe Park Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Co Durham > Barnard Castle > Doe Park Caravan Site Reviews

Doe Park Caravan Site
Cotherstone
Barnard Castle
Co Durham   (Browse area)
DL12 9UQ
Tel: 01833 650302
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 144 Reviews
                9/10 from 144 Reviews

Photos (15)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 10 miles   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  144 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jackrascals 10 reviews from this member

Just returned from our first visit to this wonderful Site.

Excellent! Excellent! Excellent!

The farmhouse is stunning!- and the farm and caravan park are beautifully looked after. So different to the two more Commercialised Sites along the road! Wonderful open spaces, views, fantastic dog walks (which our three terriers enjoyed. Lovely walks in all directions! So peaceful - slept like logs for the full 5 nights. Great open spaces around the park, clean facilities and a very friendly & helpful host. Highly recommended!

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jimbouk 19 reviews from this member

Visited this site in early May for a two night break.

The drive up to area & site itself were fine.

Wardens were very polite & friendly, would prob say they are the friendliest we have come across on any site.

Nice level spacious pitches, there were a lot of seasonal s dotted around

Two pubs in the Village which is approx 10 mins stroll away, Fox and hounds not dog friendly so we did not try it but the Red Lion was and it was only £3. 45 for a pint and a half of Stella.

Have to say that the variety of walks direct from the site was great with the Teesdale way literally a couple of fields away.

Showers etc clean and hot.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Atkinbrown 17 reviews from this member

Just back from another stay at Doe park. As always the site was immaculate and the owners friendly and helpful. This site is so peaceful and quiet so, if you want to get away from it all you could do no better than stay here. Lovely walks along the old railway line to Cotherstone or Romaldskirk. Bus service at the gate for Barnard Castle or Middleton in Teesdale. This was our fourth time here and I'm sure there will be many more.

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: ZILLA2 2 reviews from this member

Stayed at Doe Park end of April for 9 nights. All I can say is that it's the most welcoming site we have ever stayed at. Toilet block very clean and tidy. Fantastic site for just putting on your boots and walking. If you’re stuck for a walk just pop into reception and they will sort you out, even let you borrow ordinance survey map to make up your own walks with no charge. Fresh cakes and scones baked by the owner every weekend. Fish and Chip van comes every Thursday, highly recommended by all on site but I had already planned to Barby some steak that night. There's a Morrison’s in nearby Barnard Castle for your food and drink shop. Barnard Castle town is well worth a visit, market day every Wednesday and a farmers market on the first Saturday of every month. Make sure you go to Low Falls and walk to High Falls. Park up at the picnic area just before Low Falls (no parking charge). Again you can borrow the walk from reception at no charge. Sorry can't think of any negatives against this site, we will be going back again soon

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tallisandflora 1 review from this member

What a lovely warm welcome yet again after an absence of a couple of years. Shown which pitches were available and advised accordingly to our needs (Dogs). The area is good for families and couples with lots to do and see. Our daughter brought a must do list of things to see and do to bring back memories of visits when she was younger. We fulfilled all including the road from A66 to Cotherstone over the ranges which she had walked when younger. Afternoon tea at the Bowes Museum a MUST. Lots of information available and do not be afraid to ask as the answer will always be available. Thank you to all the family for another brilliant holiday - despite all the rain.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: J700jan 6 reviews from this member

Was given a choice of pitches when we arrived, which was nice. Liked the relaxed attitude ' oh just pay as you leave'. One toilet block seemed quite new, the other probably needs some updating soon. The information area was good and there was always someone around to answer any questions.

We walked by the river to cotherstone on the first night and ate at the pub, food was really good.

The next day we walked to romaldkirk on the old disused railway line. This would be great for cycling too. Romaldkirk has 2 pubs. Well one is a country hotel so we tried that one. Lovely (real ale and molten brown toiletries. What more could you want??)the other didn't seem to open during the day. There's a pretty church too.

We had a trip out to high force (10 miles away). Its £2 to park the car and then £1. 50 to access the woodland path to the falls, because the wood is privately owned- so if you park in the layby and walk up the other side - waymarked 'the pennine way' you get the same spectacular views but for free

This really is a beautiful part of the country and doe park is ideally situated to access so much of it. I would definitely return here, but only midweek, in term time.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rmpop 7 reviews from this member

Friendly greeting on arrival, site quite easy to find, directions on website would be good though. We found a quiet grass pitch near the dog walk. You can walk down to the river and cotherstone village or across the fields to the old railway line. We have a dog ourselves and they are well catered for, plenty of dog bins, the dog walk is excellent. But we saw one owner allow his dog to chase the sheep, even though he seemed to know the family, perhaps a regular, we found this upsetting.

There are 2 toilet blocks although we only used the main one, and the small inside hut for washing-up. I found the ladies quite cold, especially the showers as the window was always open, and we had frost! I also thought it could do with some dusting, a layer of dust above the sink and cobwebs above the toilet doors there all week. That said it is modern, and generally clean. 20p shower last long enough.

The site is lovely and quiet through the week, as many of the vans are empty. Until the weekend, we found Saturday a bit crazy, kids toys and adults cars everywhere! lots of visitors as well as van owners made the lovely quiet site rather hectic, good for some, but we were glad we had chosen term time to visit. Toilet block really busy in the morning.

The information/ reception room is full of leaflets and info, as well as many books to borrow, which is really good to have.

We visited High and Low force (High Force is a bit of a rip off, £2 car park and £1. 50 each! We spent 30mins there. Low Force is better) Barnard castle has an excellent market on Wednesdays, great meat stall, nice little shops and visit top of castle. Drive over the moors to Stanhope, park free in Dales centre, lovely little gift shop that sells special doggy treats. The drive there is breathtaking. We visited Eggleston Hall gardens, dog friendly and had a cuppa outside their cafe and shop.

The site is well situated, close to Cotherstone, near enough to Barnard castle for bigger shops. Lovely area.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: FPWS 2 reviews from this member

This is a wonderful site and we have been visiting at least twice a year for the past 12 years. When we first visited we had a 2yr old and a 5yr old. At that point in time and ever since then, our children's needs were well accommodated. It is a quiet site, but children are very welcome and it is a credit to those running the site that they make all, including children, very welcome. As somebody now with older ‘children', I note that I am not disturbed by younger children, which is most welcome, yet plenty of children visit. Our requirements were discussed with us and suggestion made about how they could be best met. Wonderful.

Those running the site and the proprietors run a very well organised site. It is clean and friendly. The facilities are excellent and comparable with nationally recognised caravan site facility standards. The information is impressive and requests for information about where to eat, are met with local knowledge and information. Doe Park is only 50 minutes from our home, but in reality may be a different world. It is in a beautiful location, with a lot to do and see.

There is a vast choice ranging from the coffee shops in local villages and towns, pubs and restaurants of varying prices/types nearby and Barnard Castle offers all these, plus the leisure centre(swimming), the castle to visit, crazy golf in the holidays, film shows as planned, the Bowes museum. Check the Durham CC what's on. Go the other direction and there are reservoirs to fish/walk/photograph, Hammsterly Forest to walk, attend activities or ride your bike. There are also plenty of planned activities held in the forest. Look on the website.

Don't forget to visit High and Low Force. This is not exhaustive, but our family have many happy memories of this area, centred around friendly and pleasant Doe Park, with its very caring and helpful managers and proprietors. We couldn't recommend it enough, having visited many other sites over the years, with their associated difficulties.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Curleclan 1 review from this member

Recently returned from spending four weeks at the AMAZING Doe Park. The site is very clean, tidy and well maintained. All shower blocks provide great facilities for all. You get a lot of shower for only 20p!

Our Doe Park experience is a huge part of our families school holiday routine. There is lots to do in the local area, ticking many boxes for all ages. With five children and a wide range of ages its is often hard to keep everyone happy. One of our favourite was going to the river for a swim.

On site the children are allowed to be children and play! It was lovely to see groups of children of all ages organising themselves in to teams for rounders, cricket, football etc. They have so much fun playing and making new friends its often hard to get them in for bed.

Our pitch was very spacious and well maintained.

There are many local pubs for a good meal and within walking distance which is always a bonus.

The owners are amazing people. It is hard to find the words to describe just how amazing they really are!

I think this is the fifth summer we have spend at Doe Park and will definitely not be our last. Our children wont let us go any where else (not that we would want too).

To experience paradise you need to give it a go!

Well done and thanks to the Lamb family and friends.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mand1 13 reviews from this member

Lovely helpful, friendly staff. Beautifully clean loos & showers. 20p for a shower which delivered plenty of hot water & lasted a long time.

Spacious pitches and were given a choice of several on arrival. Good walks & wonderful scenery. Handy for visiting Beamish museum and great pubs nearby.

The Crown at Mickleton was lovely for food and quite reasonably priced. Fish n Chip van delivered to site on Thursday & they were really good. Will definitely return to this site.

Was £19 per night inc electric which we were very happy with for peak season

Previous     144 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Co Durham

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4437 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019