Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Doe Park Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > Co Durham > Site Reviews

Doe Park Caravan Site
Cotherstone
Barnard Castle
Co Durham   (Browse area)
DL12 9UQ
Tel: 01833 650302
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 144 Reviews
                9/10 from 144 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (15) and Video

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <10 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  144 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Salsagal 4 reviews from this member

Wonderful site with excellent staff. Pitches quite large and toilet blocks good, although thought that the 20p for a shower silly. Excellent location bit difficult for cycling as there are loads of hills. Only gripe I had was the park owners ask that dogs are keep on leads but this was not happening. The irresponsible dog owners spoilt the park in my opinion.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Atkinbrown 16 reviews from this member

This is the third time we have stayed at this really excellent campsite. All facilities are absolutely superb and nothing is too much trouble for the owners. They really go the extra mile. The site has been well thought out and even when busy you feel you not overcrowded.

We arrived quite late one evening and our name and pitch number was on a board outside the office, although one of the owners was waiting for us. Great dog walks and would highly recommend this site.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Viking 1 3 reviews from this member

A lovely tidy very well maintained site. The grass was neat and the pitches had plenty of space for awnings, windbreaks and still left more than enough space to park the car.

We never felt overcrowded or shoe-horned in as we have felt on some other sites.

The showers and washing up facilities were clean and tidy and there is a plentiful supply of water points etc.

There is no bar or shop on site but we took this as a positive point as it appears to be used as a quiet retreat by a slightly more mature clientèle.

We had a very pleasant 'get away from it all' weekend, with great walks for the dog in lovely scenery for us.

We will return.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Yachty 19 reviews from this member

A really superbly run caravan site. Plenty of open space with two toilet / shower blocks both very clean and well looked after, (20 pence for a shower though)

The grounds were very well kept, the grass was well cut and we had hard standing for the caravan.

The owners were more than helpful and very cheerful.

Walks and cycle rides were very close and we had a fantastic cycle ride to Middleton in Teesdale along the disused railway line, about twelve miles.

We also did a couple of walks around the reservoirs which were close by. Cotherstone village with pubs is also just up the road.

All in all a caravan site that I would definitely recommend.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Graeme_Cooke 9 reviews from this member

We've just got back from Doe Park with our Pennine Pathfinder folding camper. In keeping with other reviewers we found this site really great.

The site is small but well laid out. Most of the site has hard standing but there is a rally field at the top which has electric hookup.

The toilet blocks are good but the one nearest the reception is a bit dated. We used the other one.

The staff were very friendly and the site was always clean and tidy. The site is very quite and ideal for those that want to do some walking in Teesdale. There is no park so not really a park that would entertain the kids.

The site is just outside of Coverstone which you can walk to along the river. It is also located very close the old railway line which is great for walking.

All in all a great site which we will go back to.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MARGARETP 7 reviews from this member

Just spend a week at the site and found the entire setup perfect for my requirements.

The shower blocks were immaculate, the on site team friendly and helpful. No facilities for children, which is what appealed to us.

The site is situated in beautiful countryside near Barnard Castle for all local shops and pubs etc. The meals in the local pub, the Fox and Hounds were amazing. There is are numerous walks from the site all with stunning views.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Haymet127 1 review from this member

My husband and I have just come back from a long weekend at Doe Park and it was fantastic

Very welcoming, good selection of pitches, peaceful and quiet and in a lovely setting. The site drains well and we did have some wet weather whilst there.

We enjoyed our stay so much we have booked to go back in August for another long weekend and although we live quite close I think it will be a regular place for us to visit

Can't really comment on surround area as we know this very well but I think there will be plenty for people to do if new to the area, whereas we just went to relax.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Tyrone 18 reviews from this member

Just got back from our second visit to this lovely site. This time some friends came with their caravan and pitched next to us. They too were very impressed with the high standard of the facilities, warm welcome and general 'niceness' of the place.

Very quiet too, in spite of half term! Naturally we went to High and Low Force which were wonderful after recent rain, explored Middleton-in-Teesdale, and walked to Ronaldkirk on the many walkways that are near the site.

The Kirk Inn at Ronaldkirk is highly recommended with a lovely laid back Landlord.

Overall a great weekend. We shall return!

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Eribaist 7 reviews from this member

We could sense the friendly atmosphere of this site as soon as we entered reception. When I rang to check we would be on a hard stand, due to heavy rain, we were told they wouldn't dream of putting us on grass.

There were two toilet blocks. Ours was clean, well appointed and heated. This was very necessary this May. They took recycling seriously.

The setting was truly beautiful. A nice dog walk which linked with various public footpaths. The outlook was glorious.

The village pub nearest to the site does cheap fish n chips to eat in on Tuesdays, and carry outs on Fridays. And very good they are too. We also appreciated the roaring fire.

Walking opportunities are many and varied. From this site you can easily visit remote moorland, dramatic river and waterfall scenery, the castle and market town of Barnard Castle and the artistic delights of the Bowes Museum.

A site for good all round holiday experience.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Europa555 11 reviews from this member

This was our third visit to this site and is a favourite of ours, mainly because of the friendly staff, (Sally the warden is a gem) and the location is great. The toilet block is always kept clean, the 20p for a shower doesn't bother us as you get ample time to shower and the heating was on which took the chill of the place, with the temperature in single figures this was appreciated. The bins are emptied regularly as are the toilets and it has an enclosed dish washing facility. As we were touring we made use of the washing machine and there was no hassle with putting up a rope to dry the washing. TV reception wasn't the greatest, but watchable though we don't know what will happen once the digital switchover takes place.

One of the great assets of this site is that are loads of walks, mostly off road and one can even get the bus into Barnard Castle, have a nice lunch and walk back.

We did note that during some very heavy rain some of the hardstand areas flooded, one seasonal resident had to move to a drier pitch, but we were lucky and weren't effected.

Previous     144 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Co Durham   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2820 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019




0.0938