Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Doe Park Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > Co Durham > Site Reviews

Doe Park Caravan Site
Cotherstone
Barnard Castle
Co Durham   (Browse area)
DL12 9UQ
Tel: 01833 650302
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 144 Reviews
                9/10 from 144 Reviews

Photos (15)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 10 miles   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  144 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Fragile 2 reviews from this member

What a great site, We always use caravan Club sites as we like nice toilets and showers. But we found this site and we are so glad we have. It is going to be our new site for quick weekends away.

Great walks from the site all through fields no Roads. We walked to Romalkirk from the site very nice Pub there. We also walked to Cotherstone 2 pubs there but Dogs not allowed such a shame they would do more trade if they let dogs in.

We had a meal outside the pub with our little dog anf food was very nice.

Great Site, Great People, We will be back very soon

Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Alitone 24 reviews from this member

We stayed at Doe Park twice since it opened for this season. The staff, facilities and location of this Park are all absolutely fantastic. We had lovely walks in all directions from the site without being on any main roads (Teesdale Railway paths which are joined across three well used fields) and we used the bus services a few times as we like a few drinks. Barnard Castle has a NEW Caravan Club Site and we are members but Doe Park wins hands down for location, peace and quiet, well spaced pitches and a feeling you are really in the country, the view are lovely. Totally silent at night.

Its only a 10 minutes walk into Cotherstone Village where you will find two nice pubs one doing food and the other is more of a locals pub with lower prices. We LOVE Doe Park as its the best site weve ever been to. WE might try the Barny Caravan club site for one night BUT its right next to the main Barnard Castle to Middleton in Teesdale road and we don't like noisy sites.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gt6uk 1 review from this member

How does a person describe perfection. This site has it all. Views to die for, friendly and very helpful staff and owners. Every facility to excellent standards. And even my pet hate of cut grass trampling into the caravan was dealt with as not a blade of cut grass to be seen.

The walks from the campsite were lovely, to one side walks through fields in outstanding countryside. To the other side a walk down to the riverside where there stands the ruins of an old watermill.

The rushing water in the river and the birds singing in the meadow was nothing more than paradise although the walk down is a bit steep and care has to be taken.

Where ever you are sited on this site has the most lovely views. The reception hut has quite a selection of books as well as the large collection of tourist information brochures.

I was told that the reception hut is always open and even shown where the light was should I want to come and borrow a book after dark. This is how this site is run with care and consideration beyond the call of duty.

I cannot even think of a minus as it did not have any. We have been caravanning for years and this is easily the best site we have ever been on.

The surrounding countryside is wonderful and Barnard Castle is a lovely town for shopping and museums, castle etc. Cotherstone itself is lovely, one of the staff is a resident and told us of the riverside walk which was very nice.

It also has a Post Office come stores and 2 pubs. The Fox & Hounds was very friendly with locals stopping to talk to complete strangers. I don't know what else I could say to further express my delight in the site and the area except to say we know where we are having our main holiday next year!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bram 1 review from this member

Our visit to Doe Park was our first camping trip and what a site to have chosen!

I could not give one negative about this place.

It is a family business and the owners are the nicest people you could wish to meet.

The facilities were excellent and cleaned on a very regular basis.

Eggs, Milk and orange juice can be purchased from the reception area which is a handy thing to offer.

There is plenty of information available on where to visit whilst you stay there.I can't wait to go back and regret not going earlier in the year so that we could have visited more, but better late than never.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Floss51 4 reviews from this member

Visited doe park in july can't believe how friendly the owners were. The toilets and showers were like 5 star. We were 2 caravans and had 7 children with us so the owners put us where the kids had plenty of room to run around.

Will definitely come back to this site best site we have been on.There is so much to see and do in the area. They have a dog walk for them with dogs. And for the energetic there is a walk down to where you can swim in the river.

Five minutes away in cotherstone there is a more easy accessible way to the river also for swimming and playing.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Fenboy 11 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 7 nights up to 20th July. We had looked at reviews on UKCampsite.co.uk and were not disappointed.

We had phoned a booking but had car problems so phoned to say we would be late. Finally got there at 7pm. We were given a choice of hard standing or grass. Very friendly greeting informing us it was fish & chip night at the horse & hounds. Got set up, awning etc but were to late to try pub. We went up another night. They only open for evenings & serve food from 6.30 till 9pm most nights. Book or be prepared to be told they're full.We got in at 6.15 to be told there was only a table for 2 in the bar. No problem. Food great, Beer great, what more do you want?

The site is very good. Facilities are split between two blocks, both are very clean & 20p for showers was acceptable. The block near the entrance are older and more cramped but still up to scratch. If your on the tent field it can be a distance to the facilities. There are laundry facilities at side of house.

No children's play area but space to play at back of site. Good dog walking area, loads of walks off site or just around fields close by.

More than enough information in the reception about places to visit, eat etc.

We had wind, rain and sun while we were there. No problems with drainage or soft grass.

They were full for the weekend but there was very little noise from people on site. Just be aware that you are on a working livestock farm, so there will be sheep, cattle and the odd quad bike making some noise, this was not an issue for us and we were just inside the entrance.

It was our first time on this site and we WILL be back, great people who can't help enough all you have to do is ask.

Visit, Barnard Castle. Castle(english heritage), Morrisons, River Walks, Market, Good Butchers, Bakers.

Middleton in Teeside, Great pubs, shops

High Force. £2 car park. £1.50 per adult

Maingill farm Shop. A few miles away on the A66. A busy place but worth a visit for meat, cheese & the coffee shop. Oh and say hello to Kevin! The Camel. Kids will love it on a dry day. Other animals to see as well.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Davenjo 8 reviews from this member

After reading many good reviews for Doe Park we decided to book for 4 nights over the Spring Bank Holiday. Our email enquiry was dealt with promptly and we were amazed to see that a deposit wasnít required. We were also pleasantly surprised to find that there was no charge for porch awnings, so £16 per night seemed reasonable.

The grass pitches were well-cut and level, and even though it rained heavily we didnít have a problem with mud or grass cuttings being trailed into the awning and Ďvan. We were fortunate (or unfortunate) to see the site in a range of different weather conditions, but when the sun came out it was idyllic.

The toilet and shower blocks were clean and warm but we had to queue on a couple of occasions. Reception has a wealth of tourist information, as well as locally produced basics like eggs and milk.

Itís a pleasant walk from the site through fields (with a brief stretch on the road) to the Fox & Hounds in Cotherstone. We were disappointed to find that it wasnít open in the afternoon, but it was worth the wait for excellent and reasonably priced food in the evening.

Alternatively you can access the Tees Railway Walk direct from the site and head straight for Romaldkirk, where The Kirk Inn or The Rose & Crown await. We didnít sample the food but we can recommend the beer and the ambience at both establishments.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: LISEM76 2 reviews from this member

It's a good site with lovely views, but there were one or two things that I was miffed about

We booked a hardstanding pitch but when we got there we were put in the tent field, which was a good size, great if you have kids. We were put at the bottom of the field which is my second gripe.

The tent field can do with a water point and waste disposal point because they are based at the toilet blocks, which I must say are far too small for the size of this site. But that said I would go back if I got the pitch I booked for.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Boppa 4 reviews from this member

Excellent site, staff really helpful and friendly. We only stayed one night but wish we could have stayed longer. The views from the campsite were fantastic

Barnard Castle is a beautiful town with a wide variety of shops, A trip up to Middleton-In-Teesdale is well worth a visit also. There are lots of local walks and a trip up to the reservoir is a must. We will definitely be going back later in year.

Date of Visit: March 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: STEVE.MCC 1 review from this member

This site is on top of a hill so can be a little breezy. The staff were very friendly and they were on hand most of the day. We recommend this site as it is one of the best sites we have visited

It is only 5 minutes from Barnard Castle or ten minutes from High Force waterfall, it is ideal as a base for touring North Yorkshire

There are no children's play areas so it is a peaceful site more suited to older caravanners rather than families with young children

Previous     144 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Co Durham

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2633 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019