Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Doe Park Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > Co Durham > Site Reviews

Doe Park Caravan Site
Cotherstone
Barnard Castle
Co Durham   (Browse area)
DL12 9UQ
Tel: 01833 650302
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 144 Reviews
                9/10 from 144 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (15) and Video

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <10 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  144 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Alitone 24 reviews from this member

Thought we would try Doe Park again this year in 'Peak Season' having visited earlier in the year. It was almost full but the friendly reception managed to fit us in for a two day stay. You can see from the reviews that campers just love Doe Park and return year after year and we can see why. Its still the 'best overall site' in the North East(our View) and we think the location, standard of pitches and lovely well kept grounds and relaxed atmosphere are just magic. Well away from passing roads at night you are guaranteed a very peaceful nights sleep.

Wanting a walk first day we crossed the well marked track over 3 open fields to the 'Teesdale Railway Path' where you can wonder along as far as Barnard Castle one way and Middleton in Teesdale the other way, without any traffic so ideal for cycling as well and just brilliant for dogowners and walkers of every fitness level. Ie no hills but lovely views. We ended up at the 'Crown at Mickleton' pub for a meal in the newly opened restuarant ( FAB) and then we walked back stopping at the Kirk in Romalkirk on the way back. Note no traffic.

Even in mid summer there's loads of space for children to meet up and play at Doe Park. They seem to form friendships automatically and must say were all very well behaved. We noticed that Doe Park has two toilet blocks which are always well kept and if ones being cleaned the other one is always opened, unlike some sites where you see the Dreaded 'Closed for cleaning' sign when you are bursting for a. So we will be back and thanks Doe Park for a lovely stay.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Thecliffords 1 review from this member

We have just returned from an overnight stay at this beautiful site.

The owners are very friendly, laid back and welcoming and gave us a choice of 2 plots.

The site is extremely well kept with well mowed grass and pretty flowers and trees/shrubs to separate the individual plots.

The toilets and washing up facilities are spotless with lashings of hot water. Showers and hairdryer are 20p but everything else is free.

There is an additional field to the caravan bays where there is limited hook up but availability for both tents and caravans/campers. This is mainly perimeter pitching leaving ample room in the middle of the field for the kids to play rounders, cricket, tennis etc.

We went with the intention of doing the Hannah Hauxwell (Dales Woman) walk. However, on arrival at the site the very friendly owners gave us information on 2 local walks which were fantastic. We will just have to return again in order to complete our initial mission.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Merry-11 1 review from this member

We stayed for a weekend and although the site was busy, the facilities coped well with the numbers and the site did not feel crowded. The wardens were very friendly and helpful. There were a number of walks from the site and the owners were relaxed about allowing dogs onto their fields which had been harvested and free from stock. We took note of the review which mentioned tree sap, but this was not an issue as there only appeared to be 1 pitch out of 70 with overhanging trees. Will definitely go back again.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jgolightly 5 reviews from this member

Excellent site, the owner obviously takes pride in keeping a neat and clean site. All of the staff were friendly and helpful.

The pitches are well spaced in three separate paddocks, a mixture of hard standing and grass most with electric hookup.

Lots of local walks near the site, or the bus passes the entrance of the site to nearby Barnard Castle or further up the dale to Middleton in Teesdale.

The facilities are always clean, the reception sells milk, eggs, orange juice and keeps leaflets on local walks bus timetables etc.

Local shop in Cotherstone, a pleasant walk across fields ( 10 min). All told one of the best sites we have stayed at

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lindjemp 28 reviews from this member

Lovely site - all flat, set out in big bays. 2 shower blocks - the one nearest reception seems a bit older - ladies had 2 loos and 1 shower - pot washing was beside these - 2 sinks in its own wee room - even provided drainers which was a nice touch. 2nd block was nicer - 3 loos with individual wash hand basins, 2 showers (20p) and 2 privacy cubicles with curtains instead of a door.

Launderette round side of main house - 1 washer at 2 and 1 tumble drier - 1 for 30 mins, also iron and ironing board. Lovely and quiet and peaceful. Reception sold milk, eggs and orange juice. Also had loads of info on surrounding area and book swap and a huge pile of womens magazines to borrow (my idea of heaven!)

Also do a folder of menus from local pubs - we decided to go to the Crown at Mickleton (about 10 mins the opposite way from Cotherstone) and had a smashing evening meal - liked the way they did a smaller portion of most things including desserts.

My disabled daughter was extremely impressed with the disabled loo - loads of hand rails, nice big wet room area for the shower, nice and warm and with an emergency pull which again is a nice touch.

Beautiful countryside, not too far from Low Force and High Force waterfalls - lovely drive through Middlton-in-Teesdale over the moors to Alston.

Barnard Castle has loads of shops including a Morrisons, Bowes Museum well worth seeing - will definitely love to come back again some time.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Docproc 2 reviews from this member

We first visited this site four years ago when we owned our tent. We came back this year to try out our trailer tent, and not much has changed but that's a good thing as it was pretty much perfect last time.

The proprietors are so friendly and helpful and make you feel very welcome. We have been twice in the last two weeks and have loved it.

The site is spotless and so quiet and everyone is friendly. The facilities are clean and oh so warm on a cool night. We plan on coming back for many years to come.

Its only about an hour away from our home and its a lovely little site for short weekends away straight from work.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Irvine45 65 reviews from this member

We have just returned from this site. Although, it was just an overnight stop, we thoroughly enjoyed the site.

We were give a choice of several pitches, all of them were excellent and and the only consideration was 'Do you want the sun on you now or in the morning.' It is very neat and clean site and very quiet.

The walk down to the village was very nice too. The toilets and shower block were kept heated and all in a very good state of repair.

In the shower cubicles, there is a curtain to separate between the shower and your dry clothes.

The 20p charge for the showers/dryer I found was adequate, however, my wife did find this a pain as she did not think the time given was long enough.

I would strongly recommend this site.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Manj 15 reviews from this member

We stayed here for several nights and cannot fault it at all. From the minute we arrived the owners made us feel very welcome. What a pleasure to be on a site which has a very spacious feel about it.

Caravans were very well spaced, not like some others nowadays which try to cram in as many as possible. Toilets were always clean which is another bonus.

This site is a dog's paradise as there are many walks in the surrounding area. The old Tees Railway Line is a lovely walk on a nice day.

A short walk through the farmer's field takes you into Cotherstone but is quite steep on the way back, although there is a seat half way up ! It only takes a few minutes though so it is not too bad.

There is no shop on site, apart from milk,eggs and juice but that isn't a problem as there is a shop a few minutes away in the village for any essentials and a Morrisons Supermarket in nearby Barnard Castle.

Would highly recommend this site. Hope the owners keep it just as it is.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dot and Tony 3 reviews from this member

Wow. If you need a good, clean, friendly, beautiful site. Look no further. Loads of room for each unit, friendly staff, clean toilet/shower blocks, breath taking scenery. It has the lot.

The river is a few minutes walk, free fishing! The village is also a short walk away, I can recommend the Fox and Hounds for a meal. Good food at good prices.

Plenty to do around this area, we WILL be back - with family and friends.

Well done to all the staff. We have stayed on some wonderful sites in our 12 yrs of caravanning - but yours is the best in all ways.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Prospect35 15 reviews from this member

Just returned from eight days at this lovely site. Very well kept,facilities great very, very clean. You can walk to Cotherstone village via the site crossing a steep field, take care after a few drinks, but better than using the road.

We did various walks from the site some 7 miles some shorter, a few finishing at the Fox and Hounds for a couple of pints of Thatchers Gold cider and a fab BLT with home made chips.Yummy.

Thanks to Alison and family for making our stay a great one, we would definitely recommend this site to anyone wanting to visit this lovely area

Previous     144 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Co Durham   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2827 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019




0.0980