Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Doe Park Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Co Durham > Barnard Castle > Doe Park Caravan Site Reviews

Doe Park Caravan Site
Cotherstone
Barnard Castle
Co Durham   (Browse area)
DL12 9UQ
Tel: 01833 650302
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 144 Reviews
                9/10 from 144 Reviews

Photos (15)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 10 miles   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  144 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sherog 9 reviews from this member

What an excellent site. Staff very very helpful and friendly. Facilities were spot on. 20p coins are a must for the showers which gave you ample hot water. We had a spacious pitch with electric hook up. The site provides a good dog walking area with bins.

There are some lovely walks with access through fields and along the old railway track. I agree it was a shame the village pubs were shut. We walked into Romaldskirk nice village had a drink outside the Kirk Inn querky and friendly.

Plenty to do out and about,loads of shops at Barnard Castle including a Morrisons. Bowes and High Force not far away and always worth a visit. All in all 'Simply The Best'.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ELLY234 4 reviews from this member

Just returned from this site and what a lovely site it is. When we arrived we were shown to the tent field which was empty so plenty of room for our kids to run around.

Some lovely walks to do from the site through fields full of sheep kids thought it was great as the lambs were out in the fields and we got to see them feeding from the mothers which was very nice.

Showers 20p for a long hot shower, showers and toilets nice and clean and a lovely indoor pot wash area with loads of hot water. Reception hut (only open certain times) sells milk, eggs, and orange juice very well priced. We did walk up to the village shop which was half empty and didn't sell much and both pubs were closed that are within walking distance so cannot comment on those. A very nice quite site.

Date of Visit: March 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: HelenP33 2 reviews from this member

This is a real gem of a site. The pitches are spacious and well kept and the walks from the site itself are wonderful. Nothing is too much trouble for the owners and the level of customer service is superb. This is also a really good value for money site.

If you want a really special meal then a visit to the Rose and Crown in nearby Romaldskirk is a must; the food was faultless and it's worth staying at this site for this pub alone! We'll definitely be back although I think this will be a very popular site and need booking well in advance.

Date of Visit: March 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Campbell418 2 reviews from this member

Visited this site in march our first outing this year what a lovely site. All pitches are very spacious and level, shower block was clean and plenty of hot water for your 20p.

We have two dogs and do a lot of walking so this site was ideal a good size dog walking field and plenty of walks in surrounding area.

The owners were very friendly and we had a choice of pitches to choose from, also it is so quiet, we loved this site and are definitely returning.

Date of Visit: March 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Steveand babs 8 reviews from this member

Third visit here over 4 years. Lovely quite site, nice level pitches with plenty of space between pitches, very clean showers(20p) and loos, indoor 'pot wash' with loads of hot water and very pleasant owners.

No play facilities for young children, so site more suitable for couples or families with grown kids!

Nice easy walk along old railway line, either to Cotherstone or Romaldkirk, each about a 4 mile round trip.

Public footpath walks from Cotherstone down to river, yet to be explored on a future visit.

Excellent food at The Fox and Hounds in Cotherstone, both in terms of quality and quantity, I couldn't face one of their several home made pudding after the main meal. Lovely coal fire in the bar for that cold March night.

Date of Visit: March 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tyke-ess 6 reviews from this member

This site is a delightful peaceful retreat. The Lamb family are very helpful and approachable. The site is always immaculate and well looked after. There are hard-standing pitches for caravans and motorhomes along with level grass pitches with lots of open space for kids to play. There are 2 toilet blocks along with a laundry and pot wash area, all are well maintained, clean and warm.

The reception area is well stocked with tourist information and a reading book exchange too.

Cotherstone has a Village Shop / Post Office which sells Newspapers, Post Cards, Groceries etc.

If you don't want to use the car, from the site you can join various footpaths along the river or over the moors, cycle routes along the old railway or catch a bus (at the site entrance) into Cotherstone, Barnard Castle or Middleton in Teesdale.

If you fancy a pint then head into Cotherstone to the Fox & Hounds, the food is delicious too.

Does Park is well worth a visit, pre-booking is advisable as it is a very popular site.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Steve B32 1 review from this member

Had our first visit here back in September 2009,and what a pleasant place to stay,from the owner to everything about the site.

Everything was perfect and the staff could do nothing more to help us with anything we needed.

Will be spending a few weekends here as it is close to home and such a relaxing place to be,toilets and everything were spotless.

So give the site a try and enjoy what we have,electric and water were close,as were the shower toilet and wash up area's,which were spotless.

Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Alan Blacklee 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from doe park after a fantastic long weekend in beautiful surroundings and gorgeous autumn weather. This site is a real gem with friendly owners and lovely clean facilities.

Great walks,pubs,shopping and countryside in this area. We had grass pitch which was well mown and level with electric hook-up and only 12 per night for 2 adults, car and electric.

Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mullaney 1 review from this member

This site is excellent. We try to visit two to three times a year and would not change location. Ideal for families with large expanse of grass for children to play on. Hard standing for caravan means ideal in any weather.
Toilet and shower facilities are always immaculate. Site owners are some of the most helpful people you could wish to meet. Local village has nice pub and local store selling fresh bread, milk, meat etc and daily papers. Excellent walks from the caravan site and only a short drive to Barnard Castle. Highly recommended to all.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lydon16 13 reviews from this member

We arrived at this site when it was dark as we left straight after work, the warden was very helpful and just told us to get set up and we will sort out things with him in the morning. The site was spotless, toilets and showers were lovely and clean and nice hot showers. The site was great for our 3 children (2, 9, 15 yrs). We had a spot just as you arrived on the site and was ideal for the kids, we could sit out the front and they could play on the big area of grass in front of us and you knew they were safe. We will definitely be back this year as its nice and handy for us for weekends.

Previous     144 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Co Durham

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4401 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019