Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Doe Park Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > Co Durham > Site Reviews

Doe Park Caravan Site
Cotherstone
Barnard Castle
Co Durham   (Browse area)
DL12 9UQ
Tel: 01833 650302
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 144 Reviews
                9/10 from 144 Reviews

Photos (15)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 10 miles   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  144 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: LordB 1 review from this member

We previously stayed at Doe Park in a touring caravan several years ago and were so impressed with the warm welcome, facilities and surrounding area that we made a promise there and then that we would return!

Sadly, circumstances led to us parting company with our tourer but not to be outdone and intent on enjoying a short break, we decided to take advantage of the site's new 'teardrop' caravan which is now available for hire.

The site was exactly as we remembered it: we were met by Alison who made us feel so welcome and the site was in excellent condition.

We were hugely impressed with our 'little van' and awning. We were provided with tea, coffee, milk and all the bedding we needed which meant packing was so much easier. We found the caravan to be extremely comfortable and surprisingly roomy.

The caravan even came with a spacious awning and outdoor furniture so we were able to sit outside and enjoy a glass of wine as the sun set!

We went on the enjoy a terrific walk and explored parts of the village of Cotherstone which we'd not seen before including a delightful walk along the disused railway line. The scenery was simply fantastic.

Full marks to Alison and her team for this clever initiative. I have no doubt whatsoever that we will hire the 'teardrop' van again. It's the perfect way to go caravanning without the hassle of taking a caravan!

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: SoozeeA 6 reviews from this member

We used to come here years ago with a tent. Now we've got a campervan, and were delighted to be able to stay here again. Its a lovely site, friendly, plenty of space, spotless facilities. There is walking from the door, and Cotherstone offers some pubs etc. On Friday night we were delighted to find a local chippy brought his wagon along - we enjoyed fish, chips and mushy peas.

We'll certainly stay again - if you don't need electric, they can usually fix you up in the rally field.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mickcaro 6 reviews from this member

First time at this site, we arrived on a Friday afternoon to a very warm and friendly welcome.

They have a fish and chip delivery on a Friday which we ordered and weren't disappointed, they were delicious.

The pitches are large and very well spaced out, most have electric and the site is divided into paddocks so it's sheltered from the wind. The whole site is really well looked after, pretty and spotlessly clean. Easy access to lots of walks and it's about 15 minutes stroll along the river into Cotherstone village which has 2 dog friendly pubs and a handy grocers.

Showers and toilets very clean and plenty of hot water. 20p a shower and I never ran out of time. My only minor niggles are that it could benefit from another shower and toilet block. When the rally field is full I imagine they get pretty crowded. Also, a little playground for the kids would be great.

Really good value for money and lovely owners/staff. Overall we loved it here and will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: FPWS 2 reviews from this member

A further excellent visit to our favourite caravan site. We have been visiting here for the past 16years and couldn't give it a higher recommendation. The site is clean, green, very spacious and managed very well. Nothing is too much bother for the owners or their staff. All is to a very high standard. The showers are always clean and warm. If there is a problem, once it is mentioned to the owners, they will sort it immediately. Arrangements can be made for basics to be provided eg milk, bread, eggs etc and purchased through the site office. The office holds a wealth of leaflets about the surrounding area and its attractions. A fish and chip van visits the site each Thursday and they are delivered to the site from a local pub on a Friday evening. The walks and opportunities for cycling from the site couldn't be more highly recommended. There isn't a children's play area, but there is plenty of space to play and children are well accommodated. Our children played here safely for many holidays. Locally the village has a lovely cafe and 2/good pubs. Others eateries of a very high standard are close by. Teesdale is magnificent and Doe Park is located at its heart.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mondeocort 34 reviews from this member

Our 2nd visit to Doe Park has been as relaxing and peaceful as our 1st and is now on our 'annual visit' list. Great friendly owners and staff who work tirelessly to ensure your stay is as good as it can be and are attentive to all aspects of the park. Great maintenance of grounds and pitches is obvious and the site is very clean and tidy. Excellent access to dogs walks or rambling from site and all walks we found were well sign posted. Paying 20p for showers in the big block not an issue but avoid the small block opposite reception as the heating is non existent and the shower cubicle is very drab with only 1 hook for clothes and the shower head was ill fitting, no water pressure and water was luke warm at best. Would not take a lot of work to update this block and I do think it's the spoil of the site. Motorhome points are near to larger toilet block but not obvious. Fish and chips can be ordered from the local pub in the village and delivered to the site on a Friday which we thought was a great service, the fish was to die for, the chips were nasty but hey ho, saved me having to cook. We will definitely visit again as it fits our holiday criteria to a tea and for us, too few negatives that would put us off. Cannot rate for child friendliness as do not have children, there was no play park on site but plenty of green open space for play. The prices have increased since our last visit although we stayed at a different time of year but 5 nights last time cost me 90, this time 5 nights was 110.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Silkyfox 2 reviews from this member

Absolutely lovely. Spacious pitches, incredibly friendly staff. Facilities perfect and at 20p for a 7 minute shower, value for money.

A delightful setting so close to Barnard Castle and free from all road noise.

A veritable steal at 17. 50 per night.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sheffield Davs 17 reviews from this member

A beautiful site and very well situated in the rolling Teesdale countryside. Access may be a little tight for some units as the gate from the road is not particularly wide, but there is lots of space on site with generous pitches, most of which are hard standing. The only downside of this, is that the site reminds of the Caravan Club with all the tarmac roads/hard standing. Fortunately though, the owners of Doe Park are nowhere near as officious as some of the CC wardens!

The site is very tidy and well kept by the owners. The two toilet blocks seem sufficient for the mix of caravans/motorhomes and are kept very clean. Charging 20p for the showers is a very minor annoyance, in that you need to remember every time you shower.

Walking form the site is very easy with access to the disused railway to take you to Middleton or via the river for the local village and Barnard Castle (along the Tees). The site office has marked routes for 20p and are helpful with suggestions.

The village has two pubs. The old fashioned, unspoilt and very friendly Red Lion isn't open that often but is well worth a visit. The smarter Fox and Hounds does good food and you can be sure of a friendly welcome. Both take dogs and both have decent local(ish) beers.

Another site that we will definitely return to.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Yorkyblue 1 review from this member

What a find, a great smallish site. Easy to find and access good. Checked in and guided to the pitches, had a good hard standing pitch not far from the water point and toilet and shower block ( one of two).

Good dog walks on site and bins along the walks.

Barnard castle and shops about 5 mins drive away.

Homemade pies and puddings were on sale in reception, get them early they sell out fast, local ice cream also on offer.

We will be returning.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Adiekate 13 reviews from this member

We have been on about visiting Doe Park for a while. We want somewhere close to home for those 'good weather' days when we decide. At last minute, to have a few nights out.

Well Doe Park is that site. Only 45 minutes or so from home. What a lovely site. Spacious pitches, lovely & quiet, clean showers, friendly staff. What more could you want? We have visited twice now & aim for a September visit as well.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Madgeplus2 20 reviews from this member

A very welcoming caravan park, laid out across at least three paddocks, lot of grass pitches, some hardstanding and a lot with hardstanding but grass to them, these seem to be mainly seasonal pitches.

Site is easy to find though the road from Barnard Castle is a little tight in places, not a problem unless you happen to meet something large at the wrong point!

Staff very welcoming and helpful and show you what piches are available, it does get very busy, especially at the weekend.

Toilets are ageing but clean enough, 20p for a shower not too bad, though water pressure when I had a shower was so so.

They recycle plastic, cardboard, paper and glass so keep it separate, they seem to empty the rubbish bins regularly probably twice a day.

Walks directly off the site are very good, directions/ maps available from Reception, local pub serves good food and beer and the local bus stops at the gate direct to 'barney'.

What would put us off returning is the large number of dogs, some left in awnings alone for hours and howling because of it, others yapping just because another dog on a lead comes by and the tendency of a significant number of car drivers to ignore the speed limit of 5 MPH and drive way to quickly around an area which has children, men with wastemasters struggling to get to the disposal pont and women trying to walk their dogs in safety.

Previous     144 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Co Durham

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2147 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019