Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Doe Park Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Co Durham > Barnard Castle > Doe Park Caravan Site Reviews

Doe Park Caravan Site
Cotherstone
Barnard Castle
Co Durham   (Browse area)
DL12 9UQ
Tel: 01833 650302
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 144 Reviews
                9/10 from 144 Reviews

Photos (15)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 10 miles   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  144 in total, now showing 121 to 130                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lou-paul 3 reviews from this member

This was our first time camping and a lovely site was really nice and quite clean showers and toilets owner was really nice and when we stayed there was no rush to go which was nice as most sites your rushed off around 12

Very child friendly loads of space around for walks

Local pub about mile away and there was a local village shop but didn't go there my self

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nightstar678 2 reviews from this member

We love this site and have been going on and off for about 3 years with our tourer. The site itself is well thought out and easy to find on the outskirts of Cotherstone.

Toilet block facilities are clean and tidy. Showers are 20p but they have constant hot water and last quite a while. There is ample room around each pitch for car,caravan and awning. However, strong tent pegs are recommended as it can sometimes get slightly windy in the cooler months. Tent area is a little exposed but normally tents are put up near to the tall hedges.

There is no playground for the children, but who needs one when there is a huge field to play rounders, cricket, badminton, football etc in.

Dogs are welcome and have their own designated dog walking area and there are plenty of long walks in and around the area. Reception sells fresh eggs, milk and fresh orange juice. If you need extra groceries I would recommend a trip to Barnard Castle 'Morrisons' as the local shop is a little expensive and limited. Remember to take change with you when you park in Morrison's Carpark as it is a pay and display.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sage Campers 1 review from this member

What a fantastic site. They are very friendly and make you very welcome. Has a fantastic accessible heated shower room. The other toilets are good with lashings of hot water in the showers and are wonderfully heated. Take 20p for the shower. Amazing views. The field is a little bit open but they do everything to make you as comfortable as possible.

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mr smudge. 1 review from this member

We have just enjoyed a short break staying on this site, one of many visits and as always found it to be immaculately clean and tidy in every respect, mostly caravans / motor homes
Very quiet so not for campers who like to party which suits us just fine. No shop on site but you can get milk and eggs from reception, a short walk in to the village will find a local shop and a couple of pubs, if you require more provisions a short drive to barnard castle will provide you with just about all the shops you will probably require including a morrisons supermarket.
The area has lots of places worth visiting,as well as fantastic walks, high force and low force and cauldren snout are a must to see and well worth a walk and not too far away. We will be returning very soon.

Date of Visit: March 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gegwilson 7 reviews from this member

A group of us visited Doe park on a windy weekend in March. We had the camping field to ourselves so had plenty of space. The field was a little exposed and a couple of the tents were damaged in the high winds.

The facilities are great. Two toilet blocks, one with washing up facilities. Showers are 20p a go and you get loads of hot water.

The surrounding countryside is lovely and the waterfalls of Low and High Force are well worth a visit. Picturesque Barnard Castel is close by and is well worth a visit.

The nearest pub is abouit a mile from the site in the village of Cotherstone. It's run by the Black Sheep brewery and has a good selection of beer. The food's pretty good too, although a little pricey.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jackandmark 1 review from this member

As we were relatively new to touring we decided to stick close to home.

Very friendly staff who were happy to help with any queries. They even backed the caravan on to our pitch for us.

Nice, clean and well maintained site with ample facilities. Although there was no playground this did not detract from our childrens' enjoyment of the weekend. We were even given a lovely pitch with a huge area of grass in front for the children to play on - what a bonus!

Cotherstone is a relatively short walk away with a couple of pubs and a post office which sells basic groceries and newspapers.

Will definitely be booking to go back again.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Penfold8486 1 review from this member

As we were first time tourers we decided to go to a site relatively close to home. We were very apprehensive when we were going to Doe Park but once we arrived all our fears went away.

The park itself is in a beautiful park of Co Durham and from the reception you were made to feel at home and any advice or help you needed was not a problem.

Nice, quiet and very clean with good amenities.

In fact we enjoyed it so much we are going back this weekend for another try.

Date of Visit: October 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: First5 3 reviews from this member

Beautiful, well kept site. Some pitches grass, some hardstanding. Made very welcome from the moment we arrived.

Toilet block was immaculate, 2 showers in gents which require 20p pieces. No shop or Pub on site but village is only a 10 minute walk away, although I wouldn't like to walk back from the pub late at night. Post office sells basic groceries and newspapers.

Seems to have quite a lot of 'permanent caravans' on site and also has a seperate Rally Field.

Will definitely visit again.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: EdandAnne 26 reviews from this member

First visit to this site, had an enjoyable long weekend (3 nights)
Lovely site, clean, tidy and friendly. I feel I must mention the shortage of facilities. This site can cater for 70 units, it would be pushing it with the amount of showers and WC's over a busy period. The weather was terrible and I would guess the site to be only half full, yet I had to pay 3 visits to the showers on one occasion the find it vacant. More showers please, apart from that, great weekend, despite the rain!

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Firruk 18 reviews from this member

Beautiful location and nice flat site. Despite the weather being horrendous ( no signs of flooding!) the owner couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful.
Spotless and warm toilets and showers in a modern block.
plenty of walks nearby pubs within strolling distance and Barnard Castle which is a short drive away ( although not the easiest place for parking even in a small camper) has everything you could ask for.
Don't forget to visit the shop in the village and buy some local Cotherstone cheese delicious. 

Previous     144 Reviews in total, now showing 121 to 130      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Co Durham

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4387 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019