Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Townsend Touring & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Herefordshire > Leominster > Townsend Touring & Camping Park Reviews

Townsend Touring & Camping Park
Pembridge
East Street
Leominster
Herefordshire   (Browse area)
HR6 9HB
Tel: 01544 388527
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 62
Open: February 12th - January 6th

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 182 Reviews
                9/10 from 182 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  182 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sarahcat 5 reviews from this member

 We stayed for 5 nights and was very pleased with our choice of site for the 2nd week of our annual holiday.

Each pitch was very spacious - they could easily fit twice the amount but decide not to so that you have lots of room and this was just ideal for us. This was a big plus and most appreciated.

Very clean toilet block and never too busy. Showers were nice and the little family bathroom handy.

The wildlife created a tranquil setting and a short walk to the local village was nice.

The shop on site had some nice local products but our only tiny grumble was that as tenters who are ademant not to go electric, we rely on ice blocks and whilst we could freeze them in the shop - we felt perhaps a nuisance to have to phone to ask to put the blocks in the freezer on when the shop wasn't open (closed 1 day in the week). Maybe a small freezer laundry room would be ideal.

Overall - very pleased with our stay and would recommend. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tweetypie75 8 reviews from this member

 Just come back from a 2 night stay here in the wet! BUT it didn't take the gorgeousness away from the site. Very lovely well laid out site. Excellent facilities, although could do with more than 3 showers as I had to queue twice - but it wasn't a biggie.

Great dog walk and lovely kids play area. If it was closer, I would definitely bring my nephew next time.

The pitch we had (61) had dips in which filled up with rain so we had to pitch our tent near the next pitch which wasn't ideal, but hey ho!

Lots of places to visit. Pembridge village is lovely - the church bells do ring during the night so put your earplugs in! We went to the castle (the name escapes me) which was not far away and had great walks for the dog around the forest.

The site has a butchers and little shop and we bought some lamb and mint burgers and sausages for our dinner when we got home and they were tremendous - definitely recommend them!

Overall a really lovely site with a great lake in the middle which houses a lot of ducks. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Walker19 4 reviews from this member

 Excellent site in a lovely location. The site is extremely well laid out - pitches are located around a fishing lake - & well maintained & managed. Pitches are very spacious - considering the site was at full capacity we were not crammed in in the slightest & had plenty of room around our pitch & the surrounding area.

Washing facilities are modern, spotless & some of the best out there. One small gripe, but common with the majority of sites nowadays, is the pricing structure. A charge for a pitch, in my opinion, should include whatever you put within it, ie 2 small tents or 1 large one bearing in mind you pay extra for children & any extra adults.

We chose to bring our small tent on this occasion as we were only staying the weekend & a gazebo in case of rain. The site charge £5 extra per day for this even though it was within the same area & took up no more room than had we bought our large family tent. The moment it did start to rain & we started to put it up someone was there making sure we had paid for it. However still a great site & would fully recommend. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: M+mrachel 19 reviews from this member

 Just returned from Townsend Farm campsite.

Chose this site after reading all the super reviews left on the UK campsite website

Well, I can only agree with what has already been said. Great huge pitches, fantastic spotless shower block, friendly staff, etc, etc.

We went to the The White Swan, Eardisland for a meal and we were very pleased with the size and qaulity of the meals. It does have to be driven to but is well worth it.

The pitch we were meant to be on had flooded before we arrived so they relocated us. The pitch was lovely and was a fully serviced pitch, this meant no long walks to get water.

We only stayed 3 nights but enjoyed and would definitely return again.

There is also a family run cider farm call Dunkertons which we have visited on many occasion just on a day out. If you take your own demi-jon they fill it for you meaning no extra cost of jar. They have a great variety and you can have taste of all. It is a must for us.

All in all site is pricey for height of season if you have children but the standard is high and you get what you pay for. Site wardens are friendly and welcoming and as we were late arrivals there was a board telling us our pitch number. Once pitched they came and made themselves known and checked we were happy.

Hope to visit again in 2011 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lyndsaylou 6 reviews from this member

 Wow this is a fabulous site, probably one of best we have visited over the years. Beautifully clean and well kept, huge pitches, peaceful and idyllic. Lovely new play area for children.

Excellent family bathroom in the immaculate shower block. This was a huge bonus with a three year old.

The farm shop where the reception is sells fabulous meat and sausages, we even brought some home with us! although if you want basics they tend to be a bit pricey.

Lovely area with Hereford a short drive away and the Brecon Beacons. The village is very picturesque with some pretty pubs to try.

A lovely gem of a site, would not hesitate to recommend. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mischka 58 reviews from this member

 We had a great week on this site. The pitches were spacious, and where we were, each pitch had a fresh water tap and a waste point you could park the van over, so no need to use a waste water container.

The toilet and shower block were spotless. There is a laundry but I only did some hand washing, so I canít comment on the machines. There was a book swap shelf in there which is always handy on holiday.

The farm shop is nice, particularly for meat eaters.

The village is very pretty, and we had one good meal at the New Inn. There is also an art/craft gallery, a general store and a small antique shop.

I would definitely return to this site and recommend it to others. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TheKyles 3 reviews from this member

 Excellent site, very large fully equipped pitch. Staff very friendly and helpful, site was spotless, utility block was lovely and clean. The surrounding area is idyllic with lovely walks by the river. The ducks walking between the tents morning and evening were an added bonus! We were made to feel very welcome as a family and our stay was so enjoyable we booked to return there on day two of our visit. The fresh food in the farmshop was lovely and the sausages and burgers we bought for our barbecue were delicious. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Cate88 22 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely campsite, spacious, well maintained pitches, lake with ducks and goose that were very friendly, toilets and showers immaculate and separate wash basins in their own cubicles which is nice.

There is a dog walking area,children's play area with football goals.We only stayed 1 night, a monday and it was so quiet and peaceful. The site is well placed being within easy driving distance of places like hay-on-wye, ludlow, elan valley, black mountains etc. Would highly recommend. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ted100 4 reviews from this member

 A large group of us went to this site 4 years running for a camping and caravanning weekend. It's not the cheapest of sites but we always felt it was quite pleasant, flat with a lake in the middle and a clean toilet block. It's a five minute walk from the quaint little village where there are a couple of nice pubs and a few shops. We found the farm shop on site was great for purchasing our barbecue meat.

After setting up camp this year - all six pitches - we were sitting outside relaxing when warden approached us and told us we hadn't booked or paid for a Gazebo. (We hadn't realised we had to - it was in the middle of our group and not in anyone else's way.) And we thought the charge of £5 per night was shocking!

As Townsend had already made a fair amount of money out of us we felt this was rather petty and in the interest of good customer relations they should have just let it go. For this reason we won't be going again. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Debgreen 35 reviews from this member

 Just returned from our first visit (10 days) and found this to be an excellent site. Well looked after, excellent facilities, first class flat pitches with all mod cons.

Small dog walk which was adequate for the 'first and last walk of the day' with a lovely river walk nearby for our young BC x whippet. Loads of wild life, with baby bunnies and hedgehogs on site.

Fab butchers shop with home-bred meat (we BBQd steak, lamb and pork over several evenings), eggs, veg and some groceries, but limited amount of bread and milk. No campers essentials like shampoo, Camping Gaz, dispo BBQ, etc. There is a store in walking distance, but Morrisons about 7 miles away nearest large shop.

We ate in the New Inn two nights, but were turned away at 6.45 pm on Friday as we hadn't 'booked food' (we were going to sit outside with two friends and our two dogs) which was annoying. We walked to the Kings House where we had eaten on our anniversary, and they welcomed us, and the dogs, and we spent £150 which the pub didn't get! Food excellent although it looks a bit twee - give it a go.  


Previous     182 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Townsend Touring & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Townsend Touring & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Townsend Touring & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Leominster      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Herefordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2581 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement