Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Townsend Touring & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Herefordshire > Leominster > Townsend Touring & Camping Park Reviews

Townsend Touring & Camping Park
Pembridge
East Street
Leominster
Herefordshire   (Browse area)
HR6 9HB
Tel: 01544 388527
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 62
Open: February 12th - January 6th

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 182 Reviews
                9/10 from 182 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  182 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Walter50 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned after a pleasant 8 night stay. This is our 2nd time at this wonderfully relaxing site. A more helpful staff you not wish to meet,nothing is too much trouble for them. This peaceful site has excellent facilities and spacious fully serviced pitches.

A visit to the farm shop is a must!{fine home bred meats,free range eggs etc.} There is an on site dog walk which is handy for those morning and last night walks. Just a short walk into Pembridge village, which is a fine example of black and white cottages you could wish to see.

There are three hostelries,the Red lion {very dog friendly they even like humans too!}. The New Inn one of oldest coaching inns in the area,serves good food at reasonable prices {good portions too}. The Kings Arms is more a restaurant than pub but seems to have had good reviews, {will try it next time}.

A local store and a bakery can also be found in the village. Needless to say we will be going back to this great site again. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Graham 34 reviews from this member

 Just returned from Townsend Farm campsite.

Chose this site after reading all the super reviews left on the UK campsite website

Well, I can only agree with what has already been said. Great huge pitches, fantastic spotless shower block, friendly staff, etc, etc.

If you go and you fancy a damn good meal use the 'New Inn' pub in Pembridge village. The building dates from the 13th century and the lady chef is a star.

Back to the campsite then.If you do want a quiet time, try booking from a Sunday afternoon through the week as Friday and Saturday gets very very busy. The guy cutting the grass said they are fully booked for weekends all through till October!

One gripe?

Well it has to be a fair review doesn't it?

The shop prices are a little bit Over the top IMHO. 1:49p for a baguette that costs 60p in Morrisons?

OK, OK, I know that all site shops can load their prices a tad, but I like to think about people who cant drive the 7 miles into Leominsters Morrisons (perhaps they have no transport) so they are almost forced to buy from the shop or two village shops.

That said, I loved the place and without a doubt I'll be going back as soon as possible.I've given the site a score of 10/10.That's because I didn't have to pay for bread etc at the shop :-) 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Camper12345 5 reviews from this member

 This is our second visit this year. The welcome we received was first class. The staff are constantly walking around the site stopping to chat to the campers. This is the most friendly site we have ever stayed at.

The toilet block is spacious, modern and always spotless.

The park is laid out around a pond/lake and the pitches are large and each one has electric hook up, tap and grey water waste drain.

The meat from the butchers in the camps farm shop is excellent value and top quality as is the veg which is also sold there. The lamb and beef are raised on the farm. Fantastic as most of the meat I eat is supermarket bought and no where near the quality of that purchased in the farm shop. The sausages are a must buy.

The Kings House in the village is a fantastic place to eat. We ate the last night and the food was fabulous. When we read the menu we were expecting food on a pretty pretty basis but when it was served it was generous in the portion size. It may be a pound or two more in cost than the local pub but I can assure you it will not disappoint.

10 out of 10 here. And the bonus is they allow well behaved dogs in which the pub doesn't. The proprietors are also very friendly and both came over frequently to chat.

All in all a great stay at a great site and great grub in a beautiful 15th century black and white timber framed restaurant. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Jade2605 16 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 1 night passing through to Wales. Arrived on a sunday night. Reception closed, but names and pitches clearly marked on a blackboard along with welcome pack. Later staff came to welcome us.

Large pitches, nice well kept shower block. Free hairdryer - so made use. Nice washing up area. Has a dog walking area - this is very small and next to a cow field. So was reluctant to let dogs off lead. Site rules - dog waste to be double bagged, but there is not any dog bins on the site.

The is two nice pubs in the village - The Red Lion pub - very friendly. Said if we wanted a takeaway chinese/indian they will order it and get it delivered to the pub, We declined as had eaten. But plenty of othere's did and it looked good.

Cannot comment on the site shop as it was shut on sun/mon.

Overall quite expensive - but very nice site, would stop again if passing through. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Judithandnick 2 reviews from this member

 We visited this site in June this year on what was one of the hottest weekends.

What a fantastic beautifully kept site. On arrival we checked in and we were handed various leaflets about the site and the surrounding area. Also a map of where to find our pitch. When we arrived at the pitch a member of staff explained exactly where to place our tent. A nice touch was that each pitch had its own water tap. We had lots of space with a beautiful view over the fishing lake.

The washing and toilet facilities were excellent spotlessly clean,with plenty of hot water and lots of space. I also liked the separate sink cubicles and the very good hairdryer! Which was free of charge.

We also noticed the bathroom, great for those with babies and very young children who are sometimes not so keen on showers.

The play area was also great, with an excellent climbing frame with sandpit underneath, this was set in a hugh open area great for ball games.

The shop on site sells local fresh produce and this is probably my only concern with the site. As the nearest town is a few miles away and the village (a few minutes walk) only has a Post Office I think the shop should stock a few more camping essentials (batteries, iceblocks, tent pegs).

Altogether a great site peaceful and relaxing, we shall definitely be back again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Happycampus 11 reviews from this member

 Fantastic Site!

Sue was wonderful in getting us booked in next to our friends on a very spacious super pitch.

Sue was even there to direct us onto the pitch and help during our stay. Toilets and showers were perfect. You can buy fresh farm stuff at the shop or go to Morrisons in nearby Leominster. Kids playground is good with even a few chickens and sheep for the little ones to talk to. We did have to keep a careful eye on our two year old with the small lake near the pitches. The village is great with a pleasant walk around the churchyard, followed by the river bank and then the pub.

We will return for one of the special offer deals of 7 nights for 99.  


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Sandee 2 reviews from this member

 What a fantastic site ! Huge play area for the little ones and clean facilities block with no additional charge to use the family bathroom. A bit of a queue for the showers in the morning, but then we were staying over a bank holiday weekend. Although the site was busy, the pitches are set well apart, so lots of privacy. Lovely setting - spotlessly clean. Friendly wardens. The shop is a haven for those who love to BBQ !

Very friendly locals pub (Red Lion) which happily accepts children/dogs but doesn't do evening food (at least, it didn't when we were there). The New Inn (up the road a bit) does do evening meals - very nice they are too - although they don't like dogs inside, so meals taken under a shelter outside. Lots of things to do and see in the vicinity: you really don't have to travel far to find something of interest !

This has to be the best site that we've ever been to. Nuff said. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Django 9 reviews from this member

 What a gem, spacious fully serviced pitches. Amenities block is very modern and very clean.No waiting in the morning for a shower.

The site is spotless,never any rubbish on the grass. We walked all round the site and thought all of the pitches looked fabulous.

Small fishing lake,children's playground,farm shop,dog walking area.

Staff couldn't have been more helpful, (they even googled local events for us) Thank you.

Will definitely be returning. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Torrfamily 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from a 4 day break to Townsend campsite. We are a family of 4 and were with 2 other families with children of varying ages.

The whole visit was wonderful, helped along by wonderful weather!

The site was truly wonderful, the pitches were all very good sizes allowing plenty of privacy. The grassed areas were maintained daily with a mower. All the facilities were spotlessly clean and tended to regularly. The shower block was very modern and never seemed too busy.

Our party enjoyed the small lake and caught some fish.

The surrounding area offered lots of opportunity for visits, though as the weather was so good we all enjoyed lounging around the site and ate around the tents each eve.

The staff were friendly and were available for help/advice if needed, they helped my husband with jump leads on our leaving morning as he had drained his car battery the evening before!

Definitely plan to return to this pleasant site and will be recommending it to other camping frineds. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Graingerclan 6 reviews from this member

 We had a great weekend here. The site is very quiet and really clean. The pitches are very generous - when we went to bed our neighbours were still up but you couldn't hear what they were saying so we had no problems getting to sleep.

The facilities were fantastic. There is a family bathroom which is good for toddlers who don't like showers.

The children's' playground is a wooden unit with slides,monkey bars,climbing wall etc. Our kids (10 and 4) loved it.

We will definitely go back. 


Previous     182 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Townsend Touring & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Townsend Touring & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Townsend Touring & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Leominster      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Herefordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2980 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement