Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Townsend Touring & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Herefordshire > Leominster > Townsend Touring & Camping Park Reviews

Townsend Touring & Camping Park
Pembridge
East Street
Leominster
Herefordshire   (Browse area)
HR6 9HB
Tel: 01544 388527
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 62
Open: February 12th - January 6th

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 182 Reviews
                9/10 from 182 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  182 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Paul Goddard 3 reviews from this member

 We had a fantastic time and the owners were very friendly. Site manager made us feel welcome when we arrived on site. The toilet block was by far the best we have had, and we have stayed at a few over the years, even had piped music playing. There was a small but well stocked fishing lake, and the wild fowl were a pleasure to see walking around. There was a very nice take away in Leominister as well as many nice shops. Only there for two nights but will certainly be back again. If there was anything that we could have changed, it would have been for a bit more sunshine. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Steve2020 5 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site for four nights which was simply not long enough, the site itself is incredibly well laid out with rows of trees and well placed fence divisions. The toilet/shower block is very modern and extremely clean and well maintained with plenty of spacious shower cubicles which are free to use. There is a small on site shop which sells eggs, bread, milk and townsend reared meat produce, the shop also sells various gas bottles which can be important to us caravanners. The on site fishing lake is truly wonderful with it's Central island feature that's reachable with a sixteen metre pole, it's abundance of Reed beds and dense bushes also adds to the character of this tranquil setting. I fished the lake with my daughter on two occasions with great success, both myself and Holly fished on the short pole in the margins and had plentiful amounts of different species including, mirror carp, common, ghost carp and various goldfish, I can't stress Highley enough how much both myself and my family enjoyed our stay here it was extremely relaxing and hassle free.

There isn't an abundance of things to do locally however the closely situated village of Pembridge which is only a few minutes walk away is truly beautiful, it's lined with black and white Tudor houses two pubs a restaurant and a village shop/cafe.

In a nutshell this campsite is simply awesome, I'd recommended it to all. 


Date of Visit: November 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: The Godolphins 1 review from this member

 We're off home tomorrow after 13 nights at this lovely 5 star site. We were greeted with a warm welcome and provided with local information as to the best places to eat and drink and walk. The farm shop on site was on restricted opening hours but sold the basics and locally produced meats.

The entrance is on a busy road but there is a long access drive to reach the site so traffic noise is minimal. Once on site it was so refreshing to find exactly what was portrayed on their website, the site grounds and facilities immaculately maintained, good size pitches well spaced and level with pleasant views enjoyed from all. Yes ok it is a quiet time of year and during our stay there were never more than 7/8 units on site but unlike some sites they certainly don't take their foot off the pedal here. The toilet block was attended several times a day and was spotless with not one neglected loo brush in sight! The grass was well mown and clippings collected. The only rubbish recycled were glass and cans but that must be a local council issue. TV reception was good, no wifi but not an issue for us.

The owners have thoughtfully provided a mountain bike trail and dog walk on site not that we used either. We didn't fish either but the lake looked attractive. There was good open space so even when the site is busy there looked to be plenty of recreational room for a picnic or for children to let off steam.

As to the local area yes it is a busy road to the short walk into the village but there is a footpath and once in the village you can branch off onto quieter roads. There are plenty of public footpaths nearby although some of the signs were missing or so badly worn paths were at times difficult to follow, again this is a local council issue.

We didn't try all of them but there are three pubs in the village serving food ranging from pub grub through to fine dining and also two tea rooms one is also the post office and village shop with a good range of the basics.

We would like to thank the owners and wardens of Townsend Farm for a lovely holiday, we will be back! 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Red Hen 3 reviews from this member

 Townsend Touring Park is located just outside the pretty village of Pembridge with its black and white cottages.

A busy main road, used by lorries, runs through the village and near to the site which is a shame as it would be very peaceful otherwise. However, it is still a nice area and you can soon leave the traffic behind by cycling on the small country lanes through the beautiful Herefordshire countryside. The site itself has lovely grounds.

There are pubs serving food in the village.

The toilet/shower block is of a good standard.

The site is difficult to contact by telephone and they didn't reply to my answerphone messages. It is probably better to contact them by email but I don't always have that facility available and I'm not an expert on a computer. I prefer to talk on the phone!

There is a bus service to Leominster on the main road but the busses are quite infrequent.

This is an expensive site unless you are able to take advantage of one of their special offers. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Crepizoid 5 reviews from this member

 2nd stay at this nice campsite and we enjoyed it with our young children. Nice new biking track and the play area lovely. Great family bathroom with bath for children.

The downside is that if you want to get out and about walking or biking off the site the road is very dangerous with young children, so unless you drive you are restricted to the site.

The other point to make is that each day we were there the owners young son was driving the mower around to cut the grass (too fast), he may be able to drive it ok, but at his age will he take into account the safety of all the young children running around and potential consequences? 
Management response: We're glad you enjoyed your stay here at Townsend, and our *NEW* bike track.

With regards to being able to get off site, you can now walk straight onto a public footpath from the woods on-site, and although the walk into the village is on a main road, it is paved all the way. Again with biking, once you have passed the 1 minute ride into the village you have a huge variety of quiet country lanes to cycle on.

We're sorry you feel that the mower was driven too fast, we would like to stress that everyone who works here at Townsend is fully trained and qualified on any machinery used, and made aware that as a very busy site; being observant is key at all times.

Regards, Townsend Team

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: The Lynch gang 1 review from this member

 What a fantastic site - we have found the best one so far.

I cannot praise this site enough it is well kept, the toilets and showers are really clean, the play area is great for the kids, the warden Dave was a great help and nothing was too much trouble, the size of the pitch is the largest I think we have had, my son loved the new bike track and the list goes on!

Pembridge is a lovely little place and a short walk away. We did not venture to any of the pubs but will be back and will try them then. We also sampled some of the meat from the shop which was nice.

My only one criticism would be that you could have done with a few more showers in the morning. Otherwise the site is just perfect!

Cant wait to come back. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Thewhitehorse 19 reviews from this member

 We cannot add any more regarding this top class site except to mention that it has a (new?) mountain-bike trail for children.

We live a short distance away and come for a break from our busy lifestyle - the fishing lake helps and the fact that we don't have to drive anywhere, as there is an excellent shop and butchery on site and 3 pubs, 2 Cafes and a shop in the village. We favour the Café on the corner of Bridge Street for the first class service and food. Ye Olde Steppes opposite is very good too. The New Inn serves excellent food but we found the reception/bar very cramped. The Red Lion serves meals on Thurs only. If you want to drive, we can recommend the Kington Owl Centre. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Ghislaine 25 reviews from this member

 We choose this site because of the previous reviews. We were not wrong. It is fab! Came for 3nights at the beginning of our 2 week break around the uk and returned for last 2 nights. We requested and received an electric pitch with views of the lake. Lovely setting, plenty of green grass, space, rabbits, ducks, geese etc. What can you say this is wonderful. Shower block is the best. Enjoyed the farms own meat and veg. Pembridge village is great. Pretty black and white medieval buildings. Went sampled and brought cider from local Cider Mill. Did not use children's facilities but lots of space and a decent play area away from the water. Will be back. Thanks everyone at Townsend and also other campers for a very pleasant experience. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Nikko136 48 reviews from this member

 Possibly the best site we've ever stayed at. The pitch sizes are very good but what makes them excellent is that you have a view of the beautifully landscaped site, not just camping units. We arrived after the office had closed but there was a note outside letting us know where to pitch and within a short time the friendly warden appeared through the pouring rain to welcome us and summarise the facilities. The shower, toilet, washing-up and disposal areas are really excellent.

There are few campsites like this, where a walk around the site is a real pleasure, with a well-stocked fishing lake with birds, animals and plants to observe.

A genuinely short stroll took us into Pembridge where the 'natives' were so friendly and welcoming. The village is really beautiful.

The only words of warning are that the site shop has a fairly limited range and is open only from 9 until 4. The only general store in the village closes at 12 on Wednesdays.

We can't understand how this fantastic site hasn't had better AA ratings than some other sites we've stayed at. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rayandtrish 2 reviews from this member

 Immaculate site set in the lovely Village of Pembridge, Pubs and Restaurant within walking distance.

Stayed for 2 weeks just before the school holidays so was pretty quite during the week although the weekends got busy.

Site Warden was a top bloke and was very helpful always on the go although that was the only contact we had with any of the staff, never met the owners other reviewers rave about.

The lake was an added bonus as my son is a keen fisherman, although he was quite disturbed to see some children fishing and running around the lake with the fish still on the hook and throwing them back like they were stones (parents apparently drunk).

A lovely site well kept just let down by a few of the residents but that can happen anywhere. 


Previous     182 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Townsend Touring & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Townsend Touring & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Townsend Touring & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Leominster      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Herefordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2968 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement