Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Townsend Touring & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Herefordshire > Leominster > Townsend Touring & Camping Park Reviews

Townsend Touring & Camping Park
Pembridge
East Street
Leominster
Herefordshire   (Browse area)
HR6 9HB
Tel: 01544 388527
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 62
Open: February 12th - January 6th

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 182 Reviews
                9/10 from 182 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  182 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jules Phillips 12 reviews from this member

 The setting for Townsend is lovely and the site is superb. The facilities block is very modern and immaculate as is the whole site with very well kept grounds.

The farm shop is very good indeed and it was a pleasure not to have to shop before we arrived. The sirloin steaks we had were the best we had ever tasted as were the eggs, sausages, black pudding and bacon. We bought pork and more sausages and eggs to bring home!

The wardens and site owners were lovely and booking and arrival were hassle free. Our dog was made very welcome to which is always important to us.

The village is a short walk away with two pubs, a restaurant, a basic shop and a tearoom.

There are several walks from the site but we chose to just sit and listen to the wildlife when the sun came out!

We can not wait to return to this site as we think it is probably the best we have ever been to in 25 years of touring. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Happy camper 81 7 reviews from this member

 Have just returned from a 3 night stay in the pod at Townsend Touring park.

This park is absolutely lovely. It's facilities are very modern and immaculate. In fact the whole park is spotless and very well kept.

All staff we encountered were very friendly. The owner was very friendly and came and introduced herself to us as she hadn't met us when we checked in.

There is an on-site farm shop - lovely!

There is plenty to do in the surrounding area.

I would definitely return to this site.

(Staying in the pod was also great. We normally camp with our tent but the pod was a nice change. It has lights and a heater - what luxury on chilly April nights!) 


Date of Visit: March 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jmillard 3 reviews from this member

 Upon arrival this site seemed as if it would be close to the farm, then you go up a long driveway and find it is very peaceful. This site was very well maintained especially the toilet block which was spotless, showers were fantastic, grass kept short ,hedges pruned and everything else was the same. Nice lake for fishing, helped some children on a competition while I was there, this was organised by the owners and they seemed to really enjoy themselves. Would really recommend this site for a peaceful holiday 


Date of Visit: March 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mylindy1 1 review from this member

 My wife and I have just spent 3 nights on this site but will definitely be returning soon. Where to start? The friendly welcome and information given at reception gave us plenty of options on things to do in the area. We chose a fully serviced pitch which was excellent and very roomy.

Toilet and shower block was immaculately clean as was the whole of the site, not a piece of litter to be seen anywhere. A great variety of hens, ducks and other birds (even Ostriches) made walking around the site all the more pleasant.

We fully partook of the lovely home produce at the farm shop, could not be fresher or nicer. Now for the best bit, for me anyway,the on site fishing. Apparently this is new for this year and the lake has just been stocked with a great variety of carp,tench etc. I had 2 brilliant short sessions and each time I hooked a fish it was fun guessing which type it would be, I can only say this venue is going to improve even more as the fish grow on.

Please don't change much on this site as I can not see how you improve it. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: D S B 26 reviews from this member

 We visited the site over the August Bank Holiday weekend in a group with others. The site is a gem. Very well kept, beautiful situation and wonderful toilet block/facilities. Full service pitches available on hardstanding and grass. We chose specific pitches months before visiting especially as we were a group of six units, and this was no problem. The site itself is very spacious and in spite of being full there was absolutely plenty of room. They have left so much room for individual pitches size would be no problem for any unit. One very minor point is that some of the drainaway points on the grass pitches were just a little awkwardly positioned, but nothing that could not be overcome, and it could have been just a couple of pitches. We pitched at the side of the lake, which was absolutely delightful. There were ducks and one goose. The goose was the leader of the pack and had no hesitation in giving the early morning call at about 5.45am.

The staff on site were also very helpful and in particular, Jane in reception, who was a real star. She even helped us in arranging a meal out for our group, when I was having difficulty in finding a pub who could accommodate 18 for a meal on a Sunday evening. She obviously enjoyed Townsend as she camped there herself over the B.H weekend, when she was on duty.

Morrisons supermarket available in Leominster and various place to visit, including National Trust properties, cheese making, black and white villages, Leominster, Hereford etc. New children's play area on site. A delightful area and a great site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Itsyum 110 reviews from this member

 We had a great weekend at this site ! Very nice setting. Pitches are far apart and fully serviced. The toilet shower block was immaculate (best we've ever stayed at) Little lake in the middle of the park, loads of birds (although the geese were 'very vocal' at 5am !) Nice children's play area. The farm shop sold superb meat (bit more expensive than supermarkets but well well worth it yum yum yum best steak ever on the BBQ) A nice (real ale) pub 5 mins walk away and its in a lovely little village with river walks etc. Well worth a visit ! 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: StaffordKnot 37 reviews from this member

 My husband and I visited here the last weekend in May, when by chance the Pembridge Flower Festival was on (first time for 9 years apparently!) - beautiful!.

Pembridge is very quaint and just 6 - 7 minutes walk to the village's two great pubs and village shop!The church is well worth a visit.

The site is lovely; very well kept and quiet. We paid a little extra for a fully serviced pitch - money worth spending. Excellent toilet facilities.

The farm shop is definitely a must We bought some of the best home reared lamb chops!

All in all would highly recommend this site and have no doubts about going back! 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Beatty 2 reviews from this member

 A fantastic site. What more could I say!?

As soon as you drive up the driveway you know youíre in for a treat, the grounds are immaculate. Well kept, grass well mown and not a speck of litter in sight!

We were given a map of the site with our pitch details and a small pile of leaflets with info on the surrounding area! A great help for us as we were new to the area. Su came over and introduced herself and gave us more info about the site and things to do. A really nice personal touch.

The pitch was enormous! Plenty of room for our Khyam Ontario 8 and 3 very noisy and excited children. Although the site was quite busy you never felt like you were crowded in. A major plus for this site is that there is just so much room, even if the site was fully booked I could imagine that you would never guess. The grounds were very sympathetically landscaped, with lots of hidden pitches in nooks and crannies (very large nooks and crannies!) All pitches have EHU and access to water. We couldnít believe that we didnít need to traipse back and forth to get water.

The Shower/toilet block was spotless and had a very unshowery/toilet block feel to it! A major plus. When we drove by , on our way to our pitch I thought it looked like a tourist information building as there are plenty of leaflets and information available there. Plenty of toilets and showers (which were soaktastic) again all very clean.

We were camping with another family and we were very impressed with the Family bathroom. A nappy changing unit, toilet, mini bath complete with Shower attachment, a really thoughtful addition which was well used by our just potty trained 2 year old! And not a daddy long leg in sight. Again what I couldnít get over was the amount of space. Not one of those shower blocks where youíre bumping and edging your way past open doors. The washing up area is located towards the back of the shower block and again spotless. Brilliant!

There is a lovely pond on site too, with ducks and geese. And a brand new play area. A huge field to run around in for the children. The play equipment was fantastic and kept the 5 children in our party very amused and entertained, not to mention chickens and emus to see too.

Freezing of ice blocks were free, the farm shop had lovely goodies in. The bread is lovely, sadly didnít get a chance to order the freshly baked croissants for the morning (will have to make use of next time!) The lamb steaks which we bought were absolutely gorgeous, especially once barbequed and eaten out in the open air! One thing to note that this was a very un-campy shop so donít expect to grab camping supplies there. Which in a way was even better as I didnít feel like I was camping.

We drove to Ludlow and had a lovely day at the Castle, Croft Castle (National Trust) is also close by Ė we stopped there on the way home, great play area and lovely gardens. Didnít get a chance to have a paddle in the stream in Pembridge, another thing to do next time. Surrounding area beautiful with lots to explore.

All in all a most lovely site, I would highly recommend, an absolute gem! 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Callie968 57 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site cannot praise it enough.

Fantastic sized pitches, A1 spotless amenities, loved the family bathroom, great disabled facilities. Lovely indoor and outdoor pot washing area all amenities cleaned thoroughly every day at least twice hot fantastic power showers. Loads of tourist info in foyer of heated amenity block. Fantastic shop and butchers on site steak burgers pressed while you wait, and don't forget to order your fresh croissants the day before needed. Lovely site personnel, really chatty and helpful owners. Visitors free, dog walk area, and great price wth EHU.

Great play area for the kids, Pembridge a two minute walk with Riverside walks, a lovely church, play area and pubs, Fab food and company in the Red Lion round of drnks £6 cheaper than the New Inn a few doors away food fresh and fab and very cheap.

Only 2 things I would do if this site was mine, sell papers and chilled beer in the shop and maybe fishing on the lake 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: NewbyCamper81 2 reviews from this member

 This is a wonderful campsite. There was a lovely welcome from Sue when we arrived and made sure we were happy with the pitch and made us feel right at home.

There is a great playground for the children and my 4 year old son thought this was excellent. Its perfectly positioned next the the washing-up facilities which meant I could wash dishes whilst my son played on the slide.

The facilities were excellent, very clean and spacious. The temperature was lovely and warm.

There is a lovely farm shop on the campsite which has great sausages and beefburgers that were made for us while we were in the shop.

Pembridge is a beautiful town with a pretty water garden to visit and a cider brewery to buy the real thing from.

This campsite is in a great location to visit the surrounding area.

We will definitely be returning to this campsite, hopefully very soon. 


Previous     182 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Townsend Touring & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Townsend Touring & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Townsend Touring & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Leominster      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Herefordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1002 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement