Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Townsend Touring & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Herefordshire > Leominster > Townsend Touring & Camping Park Reviews

Townsend Touring & Camping Park
Pembridge
East Street
Leominster
Herefordshire   (Browse area)
HR6 9HB
Tel: 01544 388527
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 62
Open: February 12th - January 6th

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 182 Reviews
                9/10 from 182 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  182 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mischka 58 reviews from this member

 We spent a week on this lovely site, which is spacious and level. The loo block is great, very warm and kept nice and clean. I loved having the resident ducks waddling past every so often. The farm shop is good, especially if you are meat eaters, but note the shop in the village has closed. There are lots of leaflets with info about local attractions; we really enjoyed cycling to Berrington Hall and Croft Castle, both of which are National Trust properties. The village has a nice art and craft gallery and a small antique shop. We had one great meal out at the Corners Inn in nearby Kingsland, which turned out to be a bargain as it was their Wednesday £6 steak night. We also had takeaway fish and chips from the Red Lion in Pembridge which were terrible, I wish we hadnít bothered.

I would definitely recommend this peaceful site. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bonnyrigg 36 reviews from this member

 A beautifully laid out site. Although the pitches are all numbered, they are large and you can set your equipment up as and how you personally want. Every pitch has its own water/electricity/grey waste point. No regimented parking of your caravan etc. , The grass is kept short there are plenty of trees planted around the site. There is also a lovely lake on which you can fish [don't know about licence or fees]. The owners and staff are friendly and seem to care about the visitor, a refreshing change.

The shower / Toilet blocks are a bit of a stumbling block. We were on one of the further away pitches which was great, however it was miles away from the facility block. Not a huge problem in itself but there is only one chemical disposal and that is at the facility block. A long way to drag the toilet cassette. They also are looking quite tired and I would think require an update. They are not quite as clean as we have experienced in other 5* sites, they are far from dirty just not as prestine as one would expect. There is also a problem with shower furthest away from the entrance.

Overall I have to say it is a lovely site, we will go back there.

Our overall marking is due to the toilet block. If that was top notch we would give ten our of ten. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: BOB66 1 review from this member

 We found Townsend Park an excellent site. We arrived earlier than the permitted time for going on site and the staff checked that the pitch was vacant and allowed us to erect the trailer, they even apologised for not having hoovered the pitch area for us. (Ducks wander about and so leave their mark).

The site was level and was well draining (we had a lot of rain). The super pitch that we were on was by the lakeside and had its own watertap, electric hook up and grey water disposal point. The pitch size was excellent and plenty of room for children to play. There was also a separate play area for the children which included a football pitch, sand pit, climbing equipment and picnic tables.

The toilet block was first class, with plenty of sinks, washing rooms, showers and also had a family bathroom and disabled room. The block also included the laundry room and a undercover dish washing area. Hot water was included in the price. A lot of the pitches are exposed to the wind but pitches 20 to 30 are well sheltered. There is not a lot to do in the immediate area but plenty within 25 miles of the site. There is a warden within the camping area who does take pride in keeping disturbances to a minimum and the site spick and span.

This is a working farm and as well as the ducks roaming free there are other animals which are penned around the edge of the site area.

There is also a dog exercise area. I strongly advise that children are supervised around the lake as there is no fencing on the banks, and the lake seemed to attract the children. All in all this is a perfect site, well worth a visit and I will certainly be using it again when I am in the area. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sianbaron 1 review from this member

 Have just returned from a second stay at this great site. We were very impressed when we first visited last year and were interested to see whether our memories were rose tinted or if the site was as good as we remembered. Very pleased to say we were not disappointed.

Everything from booking to departure is good. I particularly appreciate the online availability search prior to booking.

The site is informally laid out with spacious pitches most of which are fully serviced. The pitches are very well maintained, the grass looks like lawns and are surrounded by mature trees. No regimented rows and no rules stating the exact positioning of your unit. Within your pitch you are free to position it wherever it best suits you with awnings included in the pitch price should you choose to use one.

A pretty lake is just a stroll away from all pitches and fishing permits can be bought for a small charge. The lake is well stocked with very obliging fish, the 9 year old in our party had a great time as he pulled out, and put back, 6 fish in just half an hour, brilliant for a young first timer.

There is a good on-site shop which also serves as the local butcher serving very good produce. Would recommend.

The site is located on the edge of a very pretty black and white village. The two pubs, post office and restaurant are all within walking distance.

The shop staff and wardens are very friendly and helpful. I have been to many sites previously where the staff appear indifferent in their guests enjoyment of the site, not here.

If I had any criticism it would be that the showers and toilets are looking quite tired with black mould beginning to build up in places in the shower cubicles. I also had great difficulty controlling the water temperature in 1 of the 3 showers - spent the duration of the shower hopping in and out of the water flow as it went from freezing cold to scolding hot without any interference from me.

Showers aside, this site is excellent and I hope to return soon. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tel-lou 3 reviews from this member

 We have just completed our 4th visit to Townsend in the last 3 years. Its a 300 mile round trip for us but we fell in love with the site, its facilities, and the Village of Pembridge. It really is a very special place, confirmed by all the wonderful reviews on this forum. However this year we did detect some changes that have left us somewhat disappointed:

On our previous 3 visits, we took advantage of the £99 Sunday to Sunday offer for a grass superpitch. This was an all-inclusive offer with no additional payments and consequently very good value. This year the same type of pitch pitch costs us £133! now that represents some 30% plus, an increase which in the current financial climate, appears excessive. There are additional charges now for everything (Daily charages for additional occupants, each dog, Gazebos, visitors, extra cars etc).

We have also always previously received warm welcomes from Sue or Geoff (As their web-site still promises) but alas, its unlikely you will see them at all now, as the day to day running appears to have been handed over to occasionally over zealous wardens whom I suggest, need to be reminded about customer care rather than quoting rules and regulations at every available opportunity. Polite reminders with a smile would not go amiss. We are after all paying Guests!

Please don't misunderstand my reasoning for posting this review. As I have previously said it really is a very special place, but I have concerns that it may become too expensive and too commercial for repeat visitors. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mrs biscuit 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely site well laid out with plenty of space. Well stocked shop and butchers on site. Showers and facilities second to none. Bus within a few minutes walk for motorhomes like us.

Red lion nice friendly pub, not keen on New Inn has seen better days! Egon Ronay restaurant in village although did not try.

Fishing available outside van if required although not for us. Marks out Of 10 / 9. Playground for children extremely good although grandchildren unfortunately not with us.

Novelty of feeding ducks and goose on a daily basis. Pods looked extremely interesting had we not had motorhome with us. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rjscamping 3 reviews from this member

 What a lovely weekend at Townsend. Greeted by the lovely Carole who welcomed us warmly. Pitch easy to find on this very well kept and laid out site.

Carole's husband came to greet us as we were pitching to check we were OK. Sheltered site with beautiful views over the fishing lake. We loved the very vocal goose with attitude who definitely ruled the roost with all his fellow feathered friends but didn't threaten his human friends whatsoever.

Facilities lovely, well organised with fabulous showers, although because it was the end of half term, it was busy, the toilet block could have been checked for loo roll and paper towels for replenishment more frequently.

The wardens were around a lot and very approachable although we didn't have any concerns.

We did venture down to the river with the dog via the picturesque village of Pembridge on the surprisingly busy A44 otherwise we stayed on site for a complete chilled time, and that is exactly what we got. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tooty fruity 2 reviews from this member

 Fabulous site, this is our second visit. Very well maintained. Excellent shower block and toilet facilities which are kept in immaculate order.

The Wardens and very helpful and friendly. The park itself has very spacious pitches with landscaped areas of tree and shrub cover which give a really lovely feel or privacy and interest.

There is a lovely big pond which is available for fishing! The area is beautiful and the village has a couple of lovely pubs and there are some nice walks nearby and through the village.

It's a great place to just chill out if you want to though. There is also a lovely farm shop on site which delicious bacon and sausages etc! I would definitely recommend this site to everyone 


Date of Visit: February 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Elsiekay 49 reviews from this member

 Another nice trip to this lovely site. Surprisingly, as it was half term, we virtually had the place to ourselves this time, only 6 units in total on site. I guess the season is yet to get going and the weather was not as kind as it could have been but people don't know what they are missing.

I shan't repeat the previous glowing comments although they all still apply. However, we did visit Berrington Hall this time which has lovely grounds and a beautiful interior. We shall return when ithe weather is better to appreciate it more fully! 


Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Findar 4 reviews from this member

 Just returned from our 2nd visit this year and it was as good as the first time. Site is fantastically maintained and toilet block spotless and warm. All staff are friendly and helpful, with an excellent choice of produce in shop.

The site is a short walk from Pembridge village with brilliant pub 'The Red Lion' which we wish was our local, the landlord was very friendly as were all staff and customers, kids were made to feel welcome and included.

Very highly recommended and will definitely be going back next year! 


Previous     182 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Townsend Touring & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Townsend Touring & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Townsend Touring & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Leominster      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Herefordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


196 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement