Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Townsend Touring & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Herefordshire > Leominster > Townsend Touring & Camping Park Reviews

Townsend Touring & Camping Park
Pembridge
East Street
Leominster
Herefordshire   (Browse area)
HR6 9HB
Tel: 01544 388527
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 62
Open: February 12th - January 6th

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 182 Reviews
                9/10 from 182 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  182 in total, now showing 121 to 130                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Elsiekay 49 reviews from this member

 This is a fabulous site in a beautiful location. We booked for the weekend, not expecting to get in, but were delighted to have a roomy, fully-serviced pitch, overlooking the small lake. The site was pretty full but it didn't feel like it. There was plenty of room and no queues for showers etc in the excellent facility block.

The owners/staff are very friendly, taking the trouble to come to your pitch and ask if everything was OK (which it was). The farm shop sells delicious bacon and pork pies and a few minutes walk into the village provides a shop, tea room, art gallery and 2 pubs. There was a children's play area which looked good to me (although we don't have any children) and the lake is a great bonus with ducks and moorhens. There was some noise from small children but it is the holidays and nothing to do with the site itself.

The village is picturesque although a very busy road runs through the middle and the surrounding countryside is really pretty. There is also a picnic area by the river which is very nice on a sunny day. We had a meal at the New Inn (fortunately we had booked as it was heaving) which was quite good although the bar service was a bit offhand. The bus stop to Leominster, a lovely little market town, was a few minutes walk from the site and it's worth a visit with lots of small independent shops and a lovely park with cafe. Close by in Bromyard is the National Trust Brockhampton Estate which is also well worth a trip. That's about all we had time for but we will be back. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Womaninshoe 5 reviews from this member

 Great site, large pitches. We did ask to move as the pitch we had been allocated was a bit waterlogged but this wasn't a problem.

Nice children's play area with plenty of room for football away from tents and caravans. Children liked the ducks on the pond.

Spotless facilities, plenty of hot water.

Only here for 2 nights so didn't use the shop nor walk to the village pub (rain stopped play on that front!)so can't comment but it looked fab.

Will be back but fingers crossed for some sun shine next time! 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: SHEJ40 2 reviews from this member

 This is an excellent site. The pitches are large (we were on a fully serviceable hard-standing pitch). The site toilet/shower block is modern and more importantly very clean and abundance of hot water. Plenty of showers/toilets too.

The site has a farm shop selling all kinds of meats,bread, cheese and fresh veg - excellent.

Value for money - again excellent - this is what camp-sites should be like. On the same par as a Caravan Club 5-star site.

Cannot recommend enough. Excellent - well done to the owners/managers. I would re-visit at any time.

We do not have children so cannot really respond to the facilities but we can say that from what we saw (huge playing area) it was adequate and kept noisy ones from the main pitches. ;-) 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Darkwing 3 reviews from this member

 First trip out in van this year and we wanted it to be a good one and despite the weather it was. Site was very easy to find and situated on the outskirts of the village. Despite being just off the main road there was virtually no traffic noise.

Plenty of places to visit in the area, we went to Hampton Court which had a great maze! The pitches were a really good size and well spaced. We arrived on the Thursday and it was quiet but things got busy on the Friday, you did wonder how all the new arrivals would fit but despite that the site still didn't feel overcrowded.

There is a lovely pond in the middle of the site and it was great to see all the ducks just wandering around amongst the caravans and tents. There are also chickens and emus that are kept just by the shop who are very curious.

Facilities were spotless and they really have tried to think of everything. Sue, one of the owners came and introduced herself to us when we arrived and told us all about the village. You must try the bacon from the shop - it was delicious. We had a meal at the New Inn on the Saturday evening but at this time of year you need to book a table. Overall a lovely site and would definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Owennicki 6 reviews from this member

 This was our first weekend camping and we went with 2 other families, one of which had and one hadnít camped before Ė a trial weekend! We loved it and have all since booked more camping holidays!

It was such a beautiful site with large pitches which was suitable for all our kids, we have 1yr old twins and a 4year old and they could run round safely where we were pitched there were some trees for them to play in, and a lake for us to walk them round and feed ducks, we could go and see the chickens and they even had a couple of ostriches. The kids play area was really nice with a large area for them to run round in.

The facilities were beautifully kept and the showers were better than home, another like for us was the bath in the family room.

The farm shop was beautiful and all home grown or local, fairly priced too. The local area was beautiful, a black and white village with a short walk to a local small river where they all went for a paddle.

We have some friends who are taking up camping and we will definitely recommend for them to go there, our only worry is - will anywhere be as nice as this! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Beckyd710 8 reviews from this member

 Just returned from townend farm well what can I say Fantastic Fantastic Fantastic!

Site beautifully kept, grass in great condition Very spacious pitches loads of room. Washrooms spotless very powerful showers, great family bathroom with a bath and again a power shower which was great for doing the kids in. Brand new play area/ wooden climbing frame swing slide combo for all ages. Lovely pond in the middle of the site with ducks and other pond life.

The site farm shop is very good, quality meats and veg which were very reasonably priced highly recommend the steaks!

Its a 5-10 min walk into the village which is so quaint it was like something off a chocolate box there are 2 pubs which both have good reputation but we didn't try them this time.

Would highly recommend this site and will be definitely returning 10/10 for everything 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Teen 3 reviews from this member

 Just came back after a four day stay and wished it could have been longer. Su and Geoff obviously work really hard at keeping the grounds beautifully kept. The facilities are excellent and clean. The pitches are very generous and plenty of room for even the largest of units. It was nice to have the personal touch when Su came for a chat when we arrived and left.

Our sons 16 and 12 had a great time making friends. For slightly younger children there is an excellent play area, but also lots of room for the older children to 'hang out' together.

The village is very pretty. We were recommended to go to the Red Lion who do simple but filling basket meals - don't hesitate to go there - very welcoming to families. Also try the goodies in the farm shop as well as the lovely homemade ice-cream in Sally's in the village.

We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this site - nice and quiet - just what we needed for a relaxing break. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sarahandmatt 30 reviews from this member

 Have stayed here previously and as always had a good time. The pitches are huge and all have water ehu and drains. The facilities are modern with plenty of toilets and hot water. Had to queue for the ladies showers but it was spring Bank Holiday and the site was full.
Lots of tents here this time and what we love about this site is that we are all mixed in together and you are not made to feel like a second class citizen!
The farm shop sells lovely local produce and beautiful meat and there is a large Morrisons in Leominster. Weather was fantastic and we had a great weekend. Will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Beckiel123 3 reviews from this member

 First time we have visited this fabulous site - and we will be back!

2 families, both with large tents were given flat, large pitches, both with electric and water (all pitches have this I think). We felt secluded because of the beautiful and sympathetic tree planting that has been done around the site, which allows for some privacy and makes the site pretty and interesting too! Allowed BBQs and fires (which helped as it was chilly in the evenings)!

The site was a good site (about 60 pitches) which had a mix of tents and vans, large and small.

There is the most wonderful large open area with picnic benches, and amazing large wooden climbing structure for the kids (just new), that you could easily just sit there all afternoon. The kids loved it and spent a lot of time there - swings, climbing frame, small climbing wall, slide etc. There is a separate dog walking run, plus a large pond with various wildlife on it that the kids loved cycling round.

The facility block was spotless. It even included a family bathroom which included a bath and overhead shower. The only downside, would be that if the site was fully booked I imagine it could get busy as there were only 3 showers in the ladies, and 5 loos. We had no bother this trip, and the showers were fantastically hot and always clean, but do wonder on the adequacy of facilities for a full site.

On top of all this, there is the farm shop and butchers. Stocking delicious meat, veg and other goodies. You can also order fresh croissants etc for the morning, order a picnic lunch if you want and pre order BBQ packs for when you get back from a day out. Failing this, down the road is an amazing cheese shop which also stocks local cider. Worth a trip! The owners were lovely and were so helpful and full of information on arrival.

A couple of local pubs in the village - however neither do more than a bar snack, so we had Sunday lunch at a pub in Eardisley called The Tram which was delightful (lovely landlady, gorgeous food and fab beer garden!).

Great, great site and can't wait to visit again. Loads to do locally, either by foot or car. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Frankie Bass 1 review from this member

 First class site, spacious pitches nicely kept, two minutes walk into town.

The dog exercise area could have been larger since there's so much grassed area doing nothing.

The toilet block could have been nice but wasn't cleaned to the highest standard.

I had a pitch near to the lake with a hedge behind which was idyllic until a row of tents were pitched in front of my pitch, occupied by several families together. They took over the area with noisy ball games from dawn 'til dusk. Not the peace and quiet I wanted.

Dam good site, but the management could do with sharpening. 


Previous     182 Reviews in total, now showing 121 to 130      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Townsend Touring & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Townsend Touring & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Townsend Touring & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Leominster      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Herefordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2721 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement