Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Townsend Touring & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Herefordshire > Leominster > Townsend Touring & Camping Park Reviews

Townsend Touring & Camping Park
Pembridge
East Street
Leominster
Herefordshire   (Browse area)
HR6 9HB
Tel: 01544 388527
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 62
Open: February 12th - January 6th

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 182 Reviews
                9/10 from 182 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  182 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cavalier 2 reviews from this member

 The Cavalier Caravan Club held their third rally in eight years at Townsend Caravan Park at Pembridge and once again you cannot fault the site. The owners and their wardens make you feel so welcome. The on site butchery and shop is well stocked and supplies local produce wherever possible.

The site is immaculate. There are facilities for tourers, campervans, tents, camping pods and even a large family caravan for hire. Ideal if someone wants to try caravanning. The toilet block has showers etc plus a family bathroom and also a full disabled wet room, a laundry with washer and dryer, iron etc. There are dishwashing facilities too and there is a lovely children's play area. There is a large enclosed dog walk which made it a pleasure for owners to take them for a walk.

The plots are very large and there is plenty of hard standing and grass pitches. We had fully serviced pitches with water, waste and electricity with a high amp- think it is 16.

The fishing lake is a beautiful addition to the site and we saw many fishermen enjoying the facility. A Licence is needed and Mark is a qualified teacher.

The following are all within five to ten minutes walk from the site in Pembridge.

The Red Lion is a welcoming local pub with guest beers. They don't normally serve food in the evening, (only lunchtimes) other than Thursdays when they have a Steak and Gammon night but the owner Cliff arranged for staff for the Wednesday night and 24 of us went for a meal of exceptional value. Average of £5. 50 for a main course. We had an enjoyable game of pub quoits which we have never come across before.

Ye Old Steppes Village Shop and Tea Room is not to be missed. The food is delicious and again the staff make you feel like a local. The shop covers all the local needs of the village.

We visited the Kings House Restaurant for the last evening of our holiday and once again we enjoyed a warm welcome from owners Jan & Stuart and the food was as delicious as ever.

Thank you to the residents of Pembridge who make you feel like a local. It must be a lovely place to live. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Smith n jones 5 reviews from this member

 Just returned from our second visit to townsend touring park and agree with previous reviews. Toilet block and showers very clean at all times of the day. The warden very friendly and helpful with advice on the fishing and good local knowledge. We had a meal at The Red Lion pub in the village Thursday night which is specials night steak or gammon and all the trimmings for £5. 50, was not disappointed, booking advisable. Lovely friendly atmosphere. Will definitely be returning to both pub and touring park again. Lovely well kept site. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ashleyh 6 reviews from this member

 What a great site – spent a weekend here in June and had a great time. The site is located on the outskirts of Pembridge and is a 5 minute walk into the village. The site is really nicely set out with hard standings and grass pitches running around a fishing lake which is lovely. Everything is clean and well organised – the shower block is reasonably new and very nicely done – good showers and all the facilities you would want. The site is very quiet and feels that it’s in a lovely rural setting.

Couldn’t get any TV reception with our normal aerial, so you may need to take alternative entertainment if the TV plays a big part in your on-site life.

Good butchery on site for your breakfast needs – small shop and the tea shop in the village does all of the basics you will need.

The best thing about the site is its location – Pembridge is a lovely little village with enough amenities to keep you happy for a weekend. A nice restaurant that looked great but didn’t have room for us on the Sat night so my advice is book ahead (Kings House) A nice old village pub (New Inn) that does nice food and has a quirky old world layout. We ate there on Friday and it was good – couldn’t get in there on a Sat night either. The other pub is the Red Lion which had much more of a locals pub feel to it. Not sure of the food situation here – I believe that they do meals on Thursdays but not the weekend, but we did’nt see anyone eating on Friday when we went in there. Happy enough to pop in for a drink and felt quite relaxed in there.

2 café’s/Tea shops, 1 of which we had tea and cake in on Sat (The steppes) and I was told by my wife that the cake was lovely.

Our search for somewhere to eat on the Sat took us to one of the other Black and White villages about 5 miles away - Weobly and the Old Salutation Inn. I can’t recommend this highly enough – food was lovely and reasonably priced and was obviously very popular as they managed to fit us in at 7:00 but that was the only time they had. Village itself was really nice. Popped into the pub at the bottom of the village for a drink (Red Lion) and that was OK for a quick pint.

Walked to the Dunkerton’s Cider Mill (about 20 mins each way from the village)in Pembridge and bought some of their produce which is good stuff – not huge amounts to see there but a pleasant enough interlude and they let you try their produce which is good.

All in all a great trip and a lovely site – highly recommend it 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Codwales 22 reviews from this member

 Warm welcome when we had set up. Reception not open when we arrived but instructions pinned to notice board.

Well maintained grass areas and borders. Facilities kept very clean. Did not have to queue but only 4 toilets, 3 showers and 3 private wash basins in gents. May have to queue when site is full. Shower curtains a bit old fashioned these days.

There is a small fishing lake with the biggest carp being 13lb so no good bringing carp gear. Lots of small ornamental fish to be caught. You will only need bread, maggots, corn or meat. The fish do not seem interested in pellets. All in all I had some great hours catching a variety of fish. The warden who is a professional angler is very helpful and an asset to the site.

We had a great time at Townsend and will return and would recommend the site. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Purpleanya 2 reviews from this member

 We are regulars at this, our favourite site. Set in a friendly welcoming village with a great local pub, the Red Lion.

Each year this site improves on excellence already achieved…. Beautiful location, excellent facilities and well-tended pitches. Additional hardstandings, freshly decorated shower block and pruned lake access are all welcome updates this season (always freshly decorated and well-tended, not just at the start of the season)

We always receive a warm welcome from the owner, but this year we also met one of the new wardens who is a valuable addition to the team. He was friendly and helpful and by the end of our 5 day stay we felt as if we had made a new friend. His easy banter and relaxed friendly personality has enhanced the welcome at this site. He assisted pitching our caravan. His on-hand but not intrusive manner is a bonus. But there’s more…. He is also a Qualified Fishing Coach. Our son caught his first fish at this site last year and has been ‘hooked’ ever since. Mark’s ability to relate to any age and any ability meant that their daily chats/exchanges were educational and fun for us all. Will definitely be back in warmer weather for more coarse fishing lessons.

Well Done Folks we will see you again soon.  

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Snakey100 2 reviews from this member

 Only our second site to visit as we are total newbies but arrived at Townsend Touring Park to find our name chalked on a blackboard with a number against it. Even I can work out that it is telling me that my pitch is number 33. Happy days! However my joy is short lived as I see the sign on the on site shop saying closed on Tuesdays, The reason for my unhappiness? only that I was so looking forward to trying Townsends own bacon hmmm. Anyway within minutes a lady riding a quad rides up and introduces herself and kindly leads us to our pitch. This time we have our own drain hole! But yikes I have now to back up over it! OK no pressure, even though you are lining up on a hole in the ground! No markers just an assistant standing right behind the caravan ( the bit you can't see) directing you. Right. Straight back. No go forward etc! Anyway when this was achieved I felt mighty chuffed and relieved.

Dropping the waste pipes on the hole meant no more waste hog for me. The site is spotless, the Toilet/shower block was warm and scrupulously clean.

The bacon was purchased the next day at the 9. 00 opening time and did not disappoint! The same can be said for the home grown steak!

A beautiful site, well run and friendly. Can't wait to go back. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Rethomas 6 reviews from this member

 This was our first visit to Townsend and we'd decided to try it for a relaxing weekend based on it's great ratings and fairly close proximity to home.

We arrived a little later than planned on a Friday evening and found that reception had closed by the time we got to site. This didn't matter as our welcome pack had been pinned to a board next to reception giving us all the information we needed to know including the location of our allocated pitch.

The entrance and drive into the park is lovely and good that the site is set back off the main road so there was no road noise. We had asked for a pitch near to the facilities block and were allocated a lovely spacious pitch right next to it so a really great start to our break.

Our pitch was lovely and level so no need for any messing around with levelling ramps. Electric, water and waste all to hand made the process of setting up a piece of cake. The size of the pitches was very impressive with loads of room for everything including plenty of space in between pitches.

The general landscaping of the park was equally impressive with a great fishing lake at it's heart. Lots of people were making good use of this and we watched a couple of people land some beauties!

The facilities block was excellent and spotless and a real pleasure to use. The only gripe here would be that the allotted cleaning time was a four hour slot and would be carried out sometime within that time slot. This seemed too long a time to need to try and avoid using the facilities and could really be halved as is usual on other sites.

The local village of Pembridge is picture postcard and just a couple of minutes walk from the site. There are three main eateries in the village, two of which you could class as pubs and the other more of a fine dining restaurant. We tried to get a table in the Kings House Restaurant on our first evening but it became clear that we should have booked in advance due to it's popularity. We ended up having a good meal in The New Inn instead which was very nice. We tried the Kings House again on Saturday evening and managed to get a table even though the restaurant was full. The meal was spectacular and proprietors Stuart and Jan both made a great effort to make us feel like very valued customers.

Our weekend was kind with the weather and for a relaxing break, you really can't go wrong with this site. We'll definitely be returning when we get a chance and hope to stay a little longer next time. A really good find. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Robbo67 2 reviews from this member

 Great stay fantastic views, excellent facilities and the wardens were really friendly and helpful, look forward to visiting again and sampling the farm shop steaks. Pitches large enough for a 3m awning but make sure you have a ten meter hose for the water,

The kings house in Pembridge serve fantastic food, the New Inn offers a warm welcome but no dogs, the Redlion very friendly. A very good place to stay 


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Nuevoboy 82 reviews from this member

 This was our 3rd visit in 2 years and it's definitely our favourite all-round site.

It was Paul & Carole's day off when we arrived, but they walked over in the evening to check everything was OK.

The toilet block was as spotless as ever and I have to rate the shower as the best we've ever had on any site.

As mentioned the butchery on site is superb and I defy you to find any tastier rump steak; simply delicious. (As was the bacon we bought on the way out!).

I'm a bit surprised about the comments about the New Inn. We ate there on 4 consecutive nights with friends last year and it was outstanding.

This time we had 2 meals there and they were again superb.

Good to see the village shop back up running again too, although we didn't use it.

The weather was damp and misty but cycling round the beautiful countryside gladdens the heart whatever the weather.

This site certainly qualifies as 'Best of British. ' 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bigbessie 17 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 3 nights - a really lovely site. Yes it is expensive though and we thought it a bit high for out of season.

Nice to be so close to the Village and the Site's farm shop is great.

Toilet block spotless although we did find the lighting very dim - lovely to have a family bathroom too.

We were lucky to have lovely hardstanding pitch close to loos but noticed that some places would be really long walk.

It was nice to see pitches arranged 'open plan' on the grassed areas and many with hedges/bushes around.

Every view round the site was beautiful with the lake and lots of immaculately kept open spaces for picnic areas and nice little dog walk.

All of this together with very helpful staff - a truly lovely site. 


Previous     182 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Townsend Touring & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Townsend Touring & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Townsend Touring & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Leominster      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Herefordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2629 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement