Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Townsend Touring & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Herefordshire > Leominster > Townsend Touring & Camping Park Reviews

Townsend Touring & Camping Park
Pembridge
East Street
Leominster
Herefordshire   (Browse area)
HR6 9HB
Tel: 01544 388527
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 62
Open: February 12th - January 6th

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 182 Reviews
                9/10 from 182 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  182 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dave and Wendy 29 reviews from this member

 Just spent 5 nights at this quite and peaceful site just on the edge of Pembridge. Both hard and grass level pitches all fully serviced, the shower/wc block was kept clean and always plenty of hot water.

Site has a small shop in reception however it is closed from 12 midday on Sundays until Wednesday morning. The owner or warden is available during this time, there is a small shop in Pembridge as well as a Morrisons a short drive away.

Ideal base for a look around the area and ideal for the black and white trail of all the local villages.

Pembridge is a lovely old village the Inn does really good food, the plate was what I call man size, ladies might find it a struggle. But well worth a visit.

This is a site we will come back to next time we are in the area.  


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: AlHeather 3 reviews from this member

 Its been a while since we visited Townsend, but we all found this site lovely!

We were a bit last minute booking with the site for Aug bank holiday - but Sue was very accommodating getting us two grass pitches (no electric). This was also our son's first visit and we ended up bringing an extra car, but Sue was very welcoming and accommodating when we arrived on the Friday morning.

Our pitches were really large so for our 5 man, kitchen and 3 man tents we had loads of room!

The facilities on site are good - the showers were always clean & hot. I really appreciated the 'family bathroom' area so myself and my son could get ready easily. Thank you!

The washing up area was clean and tidy, and the park in general was kept in a great condition. My son loved the play area and in particular the friendly ducks and goose who he made 'friends' with and brought to our tent!

The only negative thing (which is no one's fault) is that we did get a bit bombarded by crazy wasps, but I think that was the time of year. We have mesh inserts on our tent and I would definitely recommend taking wasp traps, spray etc so they don't spoil your stay.

The shop is small, but we got cheese, milk, eggs, meat for our BBQ and some lovely bread on the first day. However, in Leominster there was a huge Morrisons only 15 mins drive away, so we used that for any other provisions.

We went to the village pub one evening to get out of the rain and the food was good - huge portions and a friendly atmosphere.

We visited Leominster itself and also a couple of NT properties, but was loads we didn't have time to do! This is a great base for exploring the Herefordshire area.

So all in all, we had a great stay and will be returning! 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wilb 4 reviews from this member

 We are two related families in two tents with teenage children. This is our second visit here, only four nights this time. As the site information says, the shower block is exceptionally clean as is the whole site. Dog owners are very good clearing up after them, fishermen don't moan about children running by having fun!

We had a gentle stroll to Dunkertons cider shop. It does feel further than the mile stated on the sign by the pub, however coming back didn't seem half as bad!

Ordered a curry from the Shabagh in Leominster. They deliver! very nice it was too.

The new boq fiddoh looks lovely, check out the photos on the website.

Hoping to stay longer next time and try out Ye Old Steppes and Red Lion. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Steveissy 3 reviews from this member

 A great location for exploring the Hereford countryside.

Quiet site (except for the noisy goose and ducks that woke us up every day at dawn!)with good facilities although had to wait for a shower as only 3 which may be an issue when the site is full, a bit self service when you arrive as just an A board with your pitch number and a phone number to call if any problems.

Stayed 5 nights and the proprietors didn't even acknowledge our presence which we found a bit odd. Farm shop on site but wasn't open on

Monday, Tuesday or when we arrived on Sunday. The village was also limited for food on certain days and we found it difficult to get a meal on Sunday night bit luckily the landlady at the New Inn offered to make us a ham roll and chips.

The dog walk was good, the pitches good sized and nicely landscaped although, we found the TV reception poor, and mobile reception patchy too. We managed to get good free wifi in the village pub.

We have stayed on a few Best of British sites and this one although good was not as good as the others we have stayed on. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Gem57 2 reviews from this member

 We only stayed at Townsend for two nights (a Saturday and Sunday) as we were travelling through Hereford and Wales. How lucky we were to pick this lovely site as our first stop.

We had a great pitch right by the lake with a lovely view, watching the ducks with their ducklings paddling around and other campers fishing from the bank. It is a beautiful setting and the camp is well laid out with spotlessly clean and modern shower and toilet facilities.

You can buy provisions such as sausages, eggs, cheese and bacon from the farm shop on site, plus fresh bread from the oven which tasted amazing!

It is only a short walk into the village of Pembridge which is very quaint and pretty. It has a couple of pubs and tea rooms. We tried The New Inn for an evening meal and can highly recommend it, the food was very good with a friendly service. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sssnake 36 reviews from this member

 Sat at home as I write this having only this afternoon returned from a lovely weekend stay at Townsend Farm and wishing we were still there.

This site is absolutely and utterly immaculate. Beautifully located, well maintained and given the standard of site, excellent value for money.

We turned up on Friday eve at about 5. 30pm. Reception was closed but a notice was posted for new arrivals identifying the allocated pitch. Our pitch was bloomin' enormous, easily identified and level.

My lad spent all day Saturday fishing in the pool and had a fabulous time netting over 70 fish.

There are two pubs in the village, The Red Lion is a village drinker's pub which doesn't do food in the evening. It looked okay but I can't comment further on here. The New Inn does fabulous food and excellent ales and cider (I taste tested several local ciders from Westons and Dunkerton Cider and recommend them all!). There was live music when we visited too which made the evening complete for us music lovers. There is also a restaurant - The King's House. We were told that it is excellent but we didn't try so can't comment.

Bathroom facilities on the site are 10/10 for size, cleanliness and water temperature but there are only three shower cubicles which caused a short queue on both mornings - not a major problem but some might find this a niggle.

Would I visit again? In a heartbeat, yes. Indeed, my son rated Townsend Farm as 'in my top five campsites'. High recommendation indeed. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gail_70 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed here over the bank holiday and re-booked again for August :-) Beautifully kept site and loved waking up to look out over the lake each morning.

Pitch sizes are very generous and each with their own water/electric so no long distance to fill up your water carriers. The farm shop is well stocked with meat & cheese products & they also offer the option of pre-booking before you arrive so BBQ needs are sorted. Also advise to pre-order the morning croissants/pain au chocolates as these can & do run out - they are very nice! Be careful to check opening times of shop and remember that it is a Farm Shop - whilst it is well stocked you may have to travel into town for further items.

Toilet/Shower facilities are clean & well maintained. Only three showers in both gents & females so expect a short wait during busy periods. They also have a separate family room very useful for those with small children. Washing up facilities are found at the back of the toilet block but again, at busy times, expect a queue.

Can't comment on the village as other than a trip to Leominster for Morrisons (approx. 10 min drive) we stayed on site playing football & rounders in the large field provided as play area and the children also enjoyed the bike track.

Very relaxed, friendly site and definitely recommend it. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Thewhitehorse 19 reviews from this member

 Not only is this site pretty in its own right, but it is set in a picturesque village, chock full of medieval style houses both ancient and modern.

The site is top class in every way; the pitches, each with hook-up & water, are set around a beautiful fishing lake with resident water fowl.

The toilet/shower block is spacious and immaculate. It has ample showers, toilets and sink cubicles, as well as a line of sinks for general use. In the same block are separate facilities for the disabled and a family room.

In a neighbouring paddock, is a children's play area.

The reception/farm shop is well stocked with home grown and locally sourced produce and the staff are very friendly and efficient.

Pembridge is worth a visit in its own right; we recommend the Strand Tearoom and Ye Olde Steppes for meals.

We love Shobdon Airfield for its entertainment value and Westonbury Water Gardens for its unusual follies. Croft Castle, (National Trust) is also worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: HANSELL 4 reviews from this member

 Just returned from townsend a fantastic site, a warm and helpful welcome followed by a site that has plenty of room no overcrowding, the toilet block was kept spotless and never any waiting even though the site was busy, the fishing lake covers everyones wishes and is well looked after, the shop on site has a good all round stock, to sum up the site is a credit to the owners, also the area is well worth a visit follow the black and white trail to see the old black and white timber houses 


Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jaynemun 2 reviews from this member

 Just spent a a lovely night at Townsend Touring Park. Beautifully maintained site and only a short walk from village. The pitches are well kept and plenty of space between. The New Inn in the village served a beautiful meal and friendly service. This was our first trip of the year and we will definitely bee coming back 


Previous     182 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Townsend Touring & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Townsend Touring & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Townsend Touring & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Leominster      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Herefordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2925 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement