Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Townsend Touring & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Herefordshire > Leominster > Townsend Touring & Camping Park Reviews

Townsend Touring & Camping Park
Pembridge
East Street
Leominster
Herefordshire   (Browse area)
HR6 9HB
Tel: 01544 388527
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 62
Open: February 12th - January 6th

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 182 Reviews
                9/10 from 182 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  182 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tentqueen 3 reviews from this member

 Had a great weekend here with friends who had a van, we have a tent. Really large open pitches, own tap and electric on a 'super' pitch. Not that far to walk to the toilets, only a couple of minutes from the top end of the sight. Lovely site, toilet block spotless etc, can't fault the facilities and staff friendly. Great wooden play area for the children. My only negative is the price. For 2 adults, 3 children and a dog it ended up at £31 a night and that's mid season prices! The £23 a night basic price is good, but then its additions for children and dogs which bumps it up. We didn't arrive until 9pm due to work commitments and I'm not sure how much electricity a dog, a 10, 7 and 5 year old use but I think £31 is excessive. Under 5's are free and I understand there has to be a cut off, but the age of getting in for free needs hiring. We are used to paying for expensive sites, but this has to be the most expensive one I have stayed on. I think you do get what you pay for and I think the site is brilliant, but the prices need looking at. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mushycamper 5 reviews from this member

 We booked a 4 night stay here and met up with a family that we met whilst holidaying abroad. We had such a great time, we were given beautiful spots next to each other.

The toilet block was quiet close and a pleasure to walk to! Inside they were very well looked after and during our stay were regularly being cleaned and stocked up, showers were great and hairdryer good to.

Their was a great field with kids climbing apparatus, slide and swings and plenty of room for the kids to play football without becoming a nuisance to others campers who wanted peace and quiet.

We had lovely weather first few days which is a rarity for a Bank Holiday so it was great to just relax in such beautiful surroundings.

There is a Morrisons supermarket in leominster to get supplies, which is also a nice little town for a look around. We had a very nice chinese (leominster) one night as we couldn't be bothered to cook.

We walked into the 'Black and White' village which was very pleasant with a lovely village pub 'The New Inn' it was extremely busy and we were lucky enough to sit outside under the canopy. Food was being served but we had already decided to have a bbq back at camp so don't know what the food tasted like.

The weather true to form for a bank holiday decided to test us and for that day and night it rained persistently! The night was ok but next day kids were bored until that is they discovered they liked fishing. They have never done it before so with a little talk and a hired rod from the warden they went to the pool armed with the rod and brolley's (my husband supervised). They came back grinning from ear to ear and I could not believe the size of the fish they caught. I had a great time reading and having a bit of me time. We will definitely be returning to visit this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stu1970 3 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a lovely two weeks at this site. Our 3rd visit which we have never done anywhere else.

Have to say the site is clean and very well cared for as we have come to expect. Toilets and showers kept to a very high standard throughout our stay powerful showers and never any shortage of hot water.

Butchery on site is excellent and compares well to supermarkets for price when most of the produce is from the farm or locally sourced. Quality of meat is no compare to supermarkets though. Far better than any of the best from supermarkets and they will prepare your requirements to order or take home.

Local Village has now a small shop/tea room for any basics you forget and opens early. Weobley has small supermarket approx 5min drive away and Morrisons in Leominster is only 10 min drive away.

Village is on doorstep and has 2 pubs Red Lion and New Inn which does food but we ate there and was very poor. There is a restaurant in village but we have never eaten there as it is very pricey.

Lots of choice of places to eat within 20/30 min drive we ate at The Angel at Kingsland the Boat at Whitney on Wye and The Salutation at Weobley and all were well worth a visit.

Weather during our visit was very mixed but site held up well and no problems with drainage even during the heaviest downpours.

Finally a word about the wardens at this site, nothing too much trouble and very informative and knowledgeable about area, things to do and places to go. Really do go that extra mile to make your stay special. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sue Paul 80 reviews from this member

 What a great site, we had a great time on our first visit there. It was expensive compared to other sites but with the pitch size and facilities it was worth it.

The Wardens were superb as was the pitch sizes, shower blocks and the Dog walk area. We loved the Ducks and big Goose wondering around to.

A quick stroll to the pretty Village found some wonderful bread, a yokels pub and a Pub/Hotel to eat in which was fit for purpose at best.

We walked along the River to the next village on a 6. 8 mile walk, we and the Dogs had a fine time indeed.

Negatives to try to improve things.

1. Dog poo bins are needed as there are none.

2. The Site should make an effort to produce some walks from the site as there is only one and you need to steal the map for that !There are ones for away from the site by car but that's all so not so Motorhome friendly. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rouses 7 reviews from this member

 This was our fourth visit to the site, and every time we love it. Great playground for the kids, superb fishing lake and the showers are brilliant.

There is a working farm with all sorts of emu's, rabbits, chickens, and wasps.

The park is so well kept thanks to a fab team of wardens. Paul and Carol. It's great to see them every time we go. If I could improve one thing it would be to get Paul a new T shirt. He's worked so hard that it's ready for the bin. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mischka 58 reviews from this member

 This was our 3rd visit to this site and it was as good as before. The pitches are all level, and some have their own elec/ water tap/ grey water drain. Our grass pitch was very soggy but the weather was atrocious during our visit.

The toilet block is great, always warm and clean. The showers are powerful, and you can alter the temperature, but they are push button ones, so you have to keep pushing the button very frequently. (I realise this stops people leaving them running, but a little longer between pushes would have been nice!)

Good laundry block, £2 to use a big machine, then the dryer takes 50ps, and we only needed 2 to dry our load. There are also sinks there for hand washing clothes.

There is a book and magazine swap shelf, as well as lots of leaflets about stuff to do. The ducks were a great source of entertainment as they wandered around the site.

The village is very pretty, with a very nice art/ craft gallery.

We had a meal in the New Inn, and it wasn’t great, so I wouldn’t recommend it.

We cycled around the surrounding countryside, and were able to find very quiet lanes with no traffic on them. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rogers@co 8 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a 3 night stay.

Good points:

Warm, friendly welcome and shown our pitch and given guidance of pitching and facilities.

Lovely purpose built shower/toilet block.

These were spotlessly clean for all of our stay.

The bonus of having a family room with a bath with free hot water was a real bonus.

The actual pitch sizes are very generous and the grass was well kept and it was flat. To have your water, electric and light per pitch is very good too.

Lovely play area for the kids but perhaps it is more suitable for younger children.

The kids loved the animals on the park.

The farm shop was well stocked with things like bread and meat and also had a freezer where you could scoop the amount of veg, hash browns, chips etc that you wanted. (shop open limited times)

Bad points:

£5 extra per night just for our gazebo! We were still well within our pitch and this seems very excessive and unnecessary to charge this amount.

Toilet/shower block is amazing but one block is just not enough for a park of this size. Quite a walk from where we were pitched and with young children not always good idea. The washing up facilities were also situated there.

Over all a very nice camp site and we will definitely be returning again. We would request to be closer to the facilities next time.

Caution with young children regarding the lake - if not supervised they could take a little unplanned swim. !

**Nice chip shop in Kington (about 10 minute drive)** 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Missarahmlee@hotmai 21 reviews from this member

 Would give this site 10 out of 10 - but nowhere is perfect. The only criticism I can make is that where we sited was a long walk to the toilets, and I like music or a radio on in the toilets.

The facilities were great always clean, toilet and shower cubicles were spacious with plenty of hooks and each shower had a dry area with stool. There is also a very nice family room with small bath and shower over and a disabled persons wet room.

Pitches are spacious and clearly marked and ours had its own drain. Each has a pillar with tap, light and hookup.

There is a large playing field for children and a wooden play fort. It was possible to scoot but bikes would be better as service roads were gravelled. There are farm animals and farm shop at the entrance. The farm shop is very nice but is not a convenience store and is basically meat and veggies and bread.

The site is right on the edge of a fabulous black and white village so there are pubs and shops within walking distance - take a torch for the walk back.

The fishing pool is right in the site it is very pretty and the ducks and geese wander the site - but surprisingly no poo problem. Pool is not fenced so be aware if you have small children.

The kids seemed to be primary school age and under. We must have been the loud party on this occasion coz when our kids went off to the play park you could hear a pin drop and the birdsong was lovely.

There were no noise problems at all there is a 10pm curfew but it was not needed.  


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Russkar 4 reviews from this member

 A superb and very well maintained site. The farm setting was fab - enjoyed our regular duck and lamb visitors!

On arrival and throughout our stay, the wardens were friendly and couldn't do enough to help us. We arrived late, but the welcome board showed us which pitch we were on and the warden met us straight away.

The pitch was very spacious and easy to access.

The toilet block is modern and clean, with free hot showers. Lovely big play area for the children and lake for fishing.

The farm shop was well stocked and the meat was delicious. The prices were very reasonable too. We made a meat order that was ready for us to take home on departure.

Pembridge is a very pretty village. We didn't go into any of the pubs, but heard they were very good. We had a lovely walk along the river, where you can eventually end up in Eardisland - part of the Black and White Trail.

Overall - excellent customer service and we'll certainly be recommending the site to others. 


Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mc4martyc 3 reviews from this member

 Just got back from 4 nights at Townsend and what a site!

Only about a third full so was very quiet with us being one of only 2 tents on site. The rest were caravans and motor homes.

Toilets and showers worthy of their 5 start rating and were spotless at all times.

Grass 'super' pitch had plenty of room for my tent and car plus 3 dogs. Also level although the ground very rocky 2 inches down so you need some pretty good pegs.

Love the little posts between pitches with a light on top and EHU on the front with dedicated water tap on the back.

Dog walk area great my dogs loved it although someone hadn't picked up their dogs mess. Be warned little dogs such as my JRT can escape from there.

Play area great for the kids with a picnic area beside it if you want to keep an eye on them as it is tucked around the back of the facilities block and out of site of most the pitches.

Didn't go into pembridge but nearest supermarket is 6 miles away in Leominster.

Staff polite and helpful even though we were late arriving. No one on reception but a board outside told us which pitch and that someone would be around later to see us. Which by the time we'd pegged the footprint down a warden came a greeted us.

Daily visits from the ducks and a lovely duck pond you can fish in.

2 very minor problems, our EHU had tripped out when we arrived however these can be reset yourself and the water needed to be run a bit too as my OH had some very unpleasant things in her bottle first fill lol

Other than that highly recommended and so is the butchery. I only had some sausage and eggs from there which were gorgeous, pork and smoked bacon sausages mmmmmmm.

I will definitely be returning. 


Previous     182 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Townsend Touring & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Townsend Touring & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Townsend Touring & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Leominster      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Herefordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2709 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement