Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Townsend Touring & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Herefordshire > Leominster > Townsend Touring & Camping Park Reviews

Townsend Touring & Camping Park
Pembridge
East Street
Leominster
Herefordshire   (Browse area)
HR6 9HB
Tel: 01544 388527
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 62
Open: February 12th - January 6th

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 182 Reviews
                9/10 from 182 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  182 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Awaydayfreddy 3 reviews from this member

 We stopped for the weekend and were lucky with the fantastic March weather! We were running late on the Friday but this did not matter as a welcome pack and directions to pitch were left at reception, as we pulled onto site a friendly chap - I think he was the warden briefed us on the site layout etc. The pitch was on grass and we didn't need to chock up to level - result! Facilities were clean, nice powerful showers, there is even a family room with bath. On site a good large grassy area set away from camping to let kids run around in which our two loved, there was also a small climbing frame / swing combination which they also liked. The village was a five minute walk and very picturesque, we tried one of the tea rooms and then headed down the hill opposite for a walk along the river. The local pubs looked good and were recommended but we didn't get chance to try out, maybe next time! A great campsite and local village, although might be hard to keep kids amused for longer than a few days without travelling if they cannot amuse themselves or the weathers a bit duff. Will definitely come back. Will bring fishing rod next time to test out the lake and to try out one of the local pubs. 


Date of Visit: December 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sscc 3 reviews from this member

 WE visited this site with a group of members of our caravan owners club for our annual Xmas meal. Having already stayed here several times before, we knew what to expect. Although there had been a tremendous amount of rainfall the preivious week, the site was still in very good condition. All the pitches were served with EHU's and our own individual waste water outlets. The shower and toilet facilities are second to none and spotlessly clean. The site has its own shop selling meat and preserves etc. Just down the road in the village there is a choice of two pubs. The area itself is 'picture box' with all the lovely 'Black & White' houses. We will certainly visit this site again. 


Date of Visit: November 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stevenewport 6 reviews from this member

 Stayed for the weekend late November. An extremely easy site to get to and well worth a visit. Superb facilities spotlessly clean and warm, worthy of a 5 star rating. Perfect fully serviced pitch by the lake even had ducks coming in the awning to be fed. Only there for the weekend so didn't travel far just a short walk to the friendly village pubs. Shop on site with excellent butchers and local produce, take advantage of this as there's nothing in the village. If you like peace and quiet with 5 star facilities check this site out. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: BobandPam 14 reviews from this member

 Superb, can't fault it. We only booked a couple of days in advance for 5 days, but were given a choice of 3 grass pitches.

So many sites won't allow motorhomes on to grass that it was a treat to be offered such a pitch, especially as we have an old dog who loves the grass rather than gravel. The pitch was also huge with a tap, electricity and a waste water drain.

The site is beautiful, with a wonderful fishing lake full of ducks etc who marched around the site 3 times a day. They are led by a big white duck searching for willing campers who would feed them.

There is a lovely dog walk, bordering the farm and a super children's play area too. The wash room facilities are excellent and very clean. There is a farm shop at the entrance with most daily essentials as well as a butchery and a bus stop and pubs not far to walk. The area is beautiful and the location handy for visiting Wales and all around Herefordshire. It is easy to reach. The only problem with giving this first class site a first class review is that we might not get a pitch the next time we decide to visit the area! 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stu1970 3 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a week long stay at Townsend.

We have been before but felt the need to add a few notes for those who have not been to this beautiful campsite. The facilities, location and welcome were first class. Local village and butchery are within 5 mins walk of most pitches and the meat from the butchery is first class. Only downside from the last time we visited is the village shop has closed and the nearest small shop is in Shobden 3 1/2 miles away.

Tried the Boat at Whitney on Wye and had a fantastic meal at a reasonable price and the Oxford Arms in Kington is also worth a visit.

Amazed the butchery has not been extended to take over the Village shop, as that would be perfect.

The Wardens are really friendly and helpful and will go that extra mile to please. All in all definitely worth a visit. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jo-jobie 2 reviews from this member

 Absolutely Beautiful, what more can I say.

Just had a 3 night stay here with the Marsh family and thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it

Site is exceptionally clean and well maintained. It only accommodates 60 pitches but these are jumbo pitches, each with its own EHU and water supply, and we were allowed to pitch our tents as we liked as long they were 3 metres apart. Small fishing lake on site which cost 3 on a concession rate for a days fishing, not for the seasoned angler like my hubby though as specimens are very small. Farm shop selling fresh bacon, sausage and eggs for breakfast and lamb, beef, burgers and chicken for dinner and all quite reasonably priced. It also sells local grown produce, tomatoes, onions, potato, etc. There is a large Morrisons supermarket approximately 6 miles away should you need extra supplies.

The park is very peaceful and there is a noise cut off time of 10pm until 8am and this did appear to be strictly adhered to.

There is a large children's play area with sand pit and goal posts for a game of football.

Shower and toilet block were always clean, and the power showers are to die for. There is a separate disabled room with shower, toilet and basin and also a family room with bath, toilet, basin and shower, all kept very clean.

Arrival time is not before 1pm and departure is by 11am although 5 will buy you a late departure of 6pm.

This is very quite part of Hereford with a few pubs on your doorstep but not much else, so all I can say is pick the weather and you wont need anything more than a good book and comfortable chair.

Shall definitely be returning at some point, but as I say it will have to be when the English weather permits, sunshine is a must for this park in my opinion, otherwise there is very little else to do.

No wireless reception at this park.

Mobile phone signal was not good.

TV signal was fairly weak.

Open fields, so if its windy make sure your tent is well and truly hammered down.

Not a dog owner but dogs were welcome. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: MIGLIO2 5 reviews from this member

 After a weather wise disastrous start to our week in Keswick, we travelled South in search of the sun and following recommendation of this dog friendly site, we booked for three nights and enjoyed our stay.

Observations? facilities block second to none, very very good. Pitches very good in a serene environment. BUT Farm shop is just that, meat and veg; very limited stock of other items. As this represents the only retail outlet in the village, someone is missing a huge opportunity to improve their service not only to the site guests but to the entire local community. Great site but expensive 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Amc403 1 review from this member

 This is a lovely site. There is lots of room between pitches which add to the relaxed atmosphere. The farm shop has top quality produce (pricey but worth it). I know it's pot luck but fellow campers were very friendly and helpful. A fabulous weekend away.

The facilities are first class - clean, good quality and never appeared to be busy. I'd probably say that they are amongst the best I've experienced. There is a laundry with a washer and dryer which may be very useful for people staying for a while.

There is a play area for kids and lots of room where they can kick a ball around, play tennis etc without disturbing fellow campers

It's a short walk into the village which is very pretty but there is only one child friendly pub which smells of deep fat frying. We sat outside on the raised deck which was lovely but next to the road. I can highly recommend Wainwrights real ale. Lovely.

There is a lovely art studio on the main street of Pembridge with unusual pottery, glass and paintings which is worth a look.

I definitely recommend this site and we are looking forward to returning soon. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alsavill 1 review from this member

 We have just spent our maiden camping trip at Townsend Touring Parkm and all we can say is 'WOW'!. This campsite is just beautiful. It only has 60 pitches, catering for caravans, motorhomes and tents. The pitches are huge and spacious and the grass is just so luscious green - beautifully cared for.

There are lovely trees around the site, with a lake at one end (which can be fished in) to make you really feel like you are in the country (which, of course, you are!)

The facilities are brilliant. Always clean and plenty of free showers, toilets, wash cubicles etc. The children's playgournd in great quality with lots of open lawn surrounding it for games etc.

The farm shop is predominately that, selling lots of farm produce but with some basics for the campers too. Perhaps a vending machine in the facilities block would be useful as there is no convenience shop in the village.

We would definitely come back here again - Townsend has made our first family camping trip a huge success. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Gilfishman 4 reviews from this member

 Fab place, kept spotless in every way, fishing lake good fun, loads of fish caught, sweetcorn best bait we found. Ducks will pay you visit every morning to clean any crumbs on the grass from the bbq the night before.

On site butchers, is a dream for you bbq kings, fair price to, minted lamb burgers were 68p each, and tasted lovely, . Lamb steaks 2. 20p, sausages, 4 different types. Will go back very soon. Redlion pub a proper drinkers pub, friendly to, good trad beers there. About 700yds from entrance to site. 2. 50 a pint of rev james went down well !. 


Previous     182 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Townsend Touring & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Townsend Touring & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Townsend Touring & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Leominster      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Herefordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2571 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement