Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Fairfields Farm Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > East Sussex > Pevensey > Fairfields Farm Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Fairfields Farm Caravan & Camping Park
Eastbourne Road
Westham
Pevensey
East Sussex   (Browse area)
BN24 5NG
Tel: 01323 763165
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 176 Reviews
                9/10 from 176 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming <5 miles   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  176 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The Doozers 3 reviews from this member

 Didn't phone the Site until the morning we left and thankfully they had pitches available with or without EHU. On arrival we were able to view both the EHU field and overspill field (without EHU) before deciding where to pitch - opted for EHU, good flat level pitch.

We looked at the aerial map view of this the site before leaving and were concerned about being next to an industrial park, but thankfully wasn't bothered by any noise and you soon forget its next door.

Previously reviews warned of the small toilet block etc. Which we found to be the case. Its not so much that there are not enough toilets, sinks etc, but the building they are in is small. If you are disabled, have a baby that needs changing etc then you'll probably experience some difficultly as there is little room inside the block. I did see one mother trying to wash/change her child and I really felt for her. I didn't see a designated changing room or shower for these purposes. Also it took me 2 days to find the hand dryer - someone always stood in front of it because of the lack of space and there are no paper towels supplied. Saying that the block was always clean and tidy (probably what comes of not providing paper towels). Unfortunately it seems the block hasn't grown with the size of the Site.

The site was clean and tidy and the children loved the farm animals, especially as so many had young with them. We chose the Site because it had a fishing pond, which was adequate for the boys, but wouldn't stretch the experienced angler.

The Site shop is & basic small but able to get loaf and milk etc. The post office in the village is pricy and basic too, but there are plenty of supermarkets within a couple of miles drive.

With just a little more thought for the 'camper' and not much outlay, this would be a really nice Site. Waste bins are all situated near the entrance to the Site, a few throughout the Site would be handy. Also a 'scrap' bin at the washing up sinks would be useful. The overspill field overlooks the industrial site - a few quick growing trees wouldn't go a miss and would make this field feel more 'country' like.

If we visit the area again, we would book for a short stay. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: ANNE7557 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed for two nights over a busy sunny weekend

This is a lovely site with level well kept pitches and friendly staff it is very close to the railway station which we made use of to visit Eastbourne

There is a clean toilet and shower block with washbasins, hair dryer, plenty of toilets but only three showers I am an early riser so did not find this a problem there is also a laundry room with a coin operated washer and dryer

There is a shop on site selling most basic needs

Best of all is the lovely walk around the on site duck pond and small fishing lake where you can feed the friendly animals which include pigs, sheep, goats, ducks and geese

We liked this site so much we were reluctant to leave on the Sunday and have already booked in again 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mohawk5 7 reviews from this member

 We recently spent 2 nights on this site in order to visit relatives in Eastbourne: we chose it over a couple of others for its proximity (walking distance) to a village. We arrived after 8.00pm on Friday and were warmly welcomed. The main site is quite small with pitches close together: it became really very crowded over the weekend. However, we chose to stay on the 'overspill' field which was huge with a great feeling of space and privacy. Ask to pitch here though as the wardens don't tell you about it and you won't come across it until you've set up camp on top of someone else and then go for a walk to explore the site! It is a bit of a trek to the loo block though and families may want to have an alternative plan for midnight emergencies. Mind you, when I first started camping you had to have a loo tent almost anywhere worth staying! The facilities were basic but very clean and seemed adequate to cope with the numbers. We didn't experience any road noise or noise from the adjacent industrial site (but it was the weekend). The only views on the main site are of hedges but on the overspill field there are lovely wide vistas in 3 directions and the tops of lorries and coaches in the 4th - just point your tent the right way.

The small fishing lake is lovely and the resident collection of animals - in pens and meadows - is delightful. Fish and chips in the village, post office etc and a selection of pubs 10-20 minutes walk, 2 in the car. The Heron pub in the village (bit noisy) was great and although their kitchen had closed at 8.30pm they cheerfully rustled us up a curry at nearly 9.30pm. Take the walk from the back of the church in Westham across open fields to Pevensey Bay and have the best fish and chips ever in the 'Yacht Club' on the beach (we won a prize in the meat raffle!) Pevensey castle is a lovely ruin, listen to the audio tour as you explore.

Drive west to Beachy Head or east to Hastings and Rye. We visit the area frequently and will definitely use this site again. 


Date of Visit: February 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Slen-01 1 review from this member

 We stayed at this site for a weekend get away from the kids and we really enjoyed our stay. The staff were very helpful even though we did arrive late due to traffic on roads. We was not expecting the animals to be roaming free but they did not put us off staying again, even our dog enjoyed the animals.
The toilet block was very clean and to a high standard. We will be reusing this site again in the near future. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LRW1975 1 review from this member

 As first time campers we really had no idea what to expect during our two night 'test run'

The site itself is lovely. We thought our pitch was large enough and it was useful having the onsite shop that sold the basics (guess who forgot the tin opener !) Staff were very friendly and the warden was really helpful.

The shower block really was too small. Many times I knocked into someone as the sinks were right behind the door. There were only 3 showers for the ladies and the cubicles were too small.

We ended up getting up and ready at about 6.30am, just so we could all get showered etc without queuing.

We'd definitely go back though. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Atkinsx2 9 reviews from this member

 Arrived to 17mph winds, so my first observation is that the overspill field, which we had chosen to be 'away from the crowds' was a might gusty. Lovely spot, but it really could do with some windbreak trees and perhaps a little landscaping to break it up.

The top (main) field where the EHUs are has pitches laid in a grid and therefore they seemed (to me) very near to each other as there were no separations or landscaping features like trees / bushes. That would have been my idea of hell, but it seemed good for groups, as many had reserved 3 or 4 next to each other.

The next day, with no wind, the site revealed itself to be lovely. There is a large duck pond and small enclosures of pigs, goats etc to keep children (and this adult) amused, and it was great to see so many enjoying the interaction - there are some very short nature walks as well for little people.

The facilities are small but OK, with just 1 block, having 3 showers in each of the ladies & gents. I have to say I didn't queue but there were tales of 15-20 minute waits. On the plus side, they were clean, well designed (the shower heads could be used to clean the shower floors) and no time limits on the showers, or buttons to hold down. 4 washing up points, semi-outdoors, and again I saw very few queues. These facilities are in the top field, but it's literally a 2 minute walk from the overspill field.

Nearby there is loads to do - I'm not sure if some of the previous reviewers stayed at the same site! Pevensey itself has a lovely castle and pub, 10 mins walk away, while the Bay is a 20 minute walk over open field (hint; the footpath begins in the churchyard - walk behind the church, right through the graveyard and you pick up the footpath. The alternative entrance nearer to the site has been blocked off).
The bay's not especially salubrious, but we enjoyed a few on-the-beach beers at the sailing club right on the beach, and it appears to have the usual takeaways. A longer walk to the Marina (about 45 mins) gives you 3 or 4 restaurants and a very pleasant 'yachty' afternoon.

Would we go back? yes, it's clean, well run and if you avoid the top field you feel like you are part of nature. I would pack a windbreaker though. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hedgehog57 2 reviews from this member

 We spent a lovely time here this weekend camping with a few of our friends. The weather was glorious, except for Monday morning - it poured down just as we were getting ready to pack up!
The site was very full all weekend which resulted in queues for the toilets, showers (only 6 in total - 3 men & 3 women) and washing-up areas (4 sinks). We did however manage to work around this without it impacting on our weekend too much.
The warden was very friendly and approachable and always seemed to be working whatever the time of day! There isn't a designated play area for the children which meant that on occasion balls etc, were hitting the tents & cars. Would go again but, probably not on a bank holiday. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Emb34 1 review from this member

 Just returned from an enjoyable few days at Fairfields. As 1st time campers the site staff were very helpful, as was a lovely fellow camper, who spotted us as novices and helped us set up. They were very flexible about where we could pitch the tent; even though it was a very busy weekend we felt there was plenty of room.
We chose the site because of the animals and thought they would keep our small children entertained, which it did, providing a pleasant little walk round in the morning and before bed.
The only downside was that there were only 3 showers in the ladies and the same in the gents which we had to queue for to use in the mornings. Overall a lovely site a well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: March 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Scootz 1 review from this member

 I recently spent a long weekend staying at this delightful campsite. I found the facilities well maintained and the staff friendly and helpful.

For some the site may lack some of the facilities and entertainment, however I found this did not detract from the pleasurable experience I had staying here.

I guess the one downside is the lack of local shops and restaurants. I did have a takeway fish and chips at the local chippie which I found much to be desired and expensive.

Overall though I thoroughly recommend this site and shall return myself. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Osprey 17 reviews from this member

 Just back from an Easter break at Fairfields Farm. Its not a bad site at all really. Side to side the (level) pitches are fine but back to back the pitches are on top of each other and the pitch across from you seemed close also, even though the 'road' separated you. Some landscaping wouldn't go amiss.

The facilities were adequate, though with only 3 showers in the mens room, I suspect a queue if the site was very full. It claims 16 amp on the EHU post but in actuality is only 10 amp.

The best parts of this site for me were the staff, especially the on-site warden, and the walk round the lake. This took in the pens of various farm animals, peacocks, guinea pigs and shetland ponies, which could be fed with food bought from reception.

Eastbourne is 5 mile away and a 15 taxi fair if you want a big night out. I highly recommend The Yew Tree in Arlington for food which is in the middle of nowhere, 11 miles away. Well worth the effort and booking is advisable.

A perfectly fine site for a weekend break which I'd happily return to. 


Previous     176 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Fairfields Farm Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Fairfields Farm Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Fairfields Farm Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Pevensey      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5092 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement