Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Fairfields Farm Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > East Sussex > Pevensey > Fairfields Farm Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Fairfields Farm Caravan & Camping Park
Eastbourne Road
Westham
Pevensey
East Sussex   (Browse area)
BN24 5NG
Tel: 01323 763165
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 176 Reviews
                9/10 from 176 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming <5 miles   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  176 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Happy4 1 review from this member

 Enjoyed a two night stay here. On arrival we were given instructions as to where we could pitch our tent and we ended up along side the hedge. Friendly staff at Reception and helpful Warden.

We enjoyed a lovely walk around the site and farm animals. The children loved looking at the animals; pigs, ponies, goats, chickens, ducks. And the walk is just far enough for little legs.

The new shower block is very good. The showers were lovely and warm and clean.

We would definitely return to this site again. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Amanda929 2 reviews from this member

 We rang Fairfield for a last minute pitch having telephone several other campsites who were all fully booked.

The pitch we were allocated was directly opposite the toilet block which was too ugly to look out on even for just one day, and continually in use (as would be expected the first weekend of July) from early morning to late evening.

There was no bushes or trees to disguise the somewhat dated block. Costing approximately 20 a night we were not happy and asked to me moved but told there were no other pitches available. We pressed the point and eventually was allocated what we think was the best pitch on the site - directly opposite the beautiful duck pond.

Interestingly, there are four or five pitches directly opposite the toilets which remained empty the three days we stayed, whilst the rest of the site was packed. I would suggest the owners take some action to disguise this toilet block or make a considerable price reduction to reflect these unattractive pitches.

In regard to the new shower block, these are roomy, clean and light but the water so hot that I felt I was being scolded and had to use the wash basin as the shower was unusable.

Putting the issues of pitch allocation and showers aside, we loved looking out on the duck pond and enjoyed the walk to the the camp's small fishing lake.

We will go back again as its a very pretty site, but will specify the pitch before hand. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The_cryans 2 reviews from this member

 We originally booked this campsite for 3 nights, but rung to see if we could go a day early (on the day) and it wasn't a problem. We arrived after reception was shut, but the warden came to greet us and sorted us out!

We had a choice of pitch, and opted for a sheltered pitch in front of a hedge. This ended up being a little noisy in the mornings, as there was an industrial estate at the other side!

Bricks were available for camping stoves / bbqs.

Shower and toilet facilities fine, although it is advisable to have everything off the floor in the showers and you end up paddling in water!

Other facilities include washing up area, tumble dryer and a washing machine.

There is also access onto parts of the farm, a duck pond with geese, an aviary, shetland ponies and pigs that love their bellies to be tickled! My 6 year old son especially liked all the ducks that came to our tent every morning, hoping for some scraps!

There is a catering van that comes to the park at 8. 15am weekday mornings, providing hot bacon / sausage cobs and pastry items. Also an ice-cream van came a few times, but always around tea-time so we didn't end up with any!

Train station is literally up the road, we used a service train to Brighton, regular service and about 15 for 2 adults and child return.

Chip shop at the top of the road.

In Pevensey village there are 2 pubs. The Heron does very cheap food and has a beer garden and live bands on Friday nights. The Smugglers is a nice walk through the castle, again does food and has an excellent play area for the children.

Overall, site fine, and if in the area again, would stop here. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Lady Merrills 4 reviews from this member

 Pleasant campsite with a lovely walk to look at and feed the animals on display. The campsite has good facilities with a new shower block. Unfortunately, although there is free hot water, the showers only last for 30 seconds before you have to press the button again and the water is very hot! with no temperature controls.

The pitches on the main field are very regimented and a little on the small side, with no sense of any privacy, it's such a shame as a few well placed hedges would make all the difference. Don't be fooled by the 'no vans' rule, we saw plenty.

The village is a short walk away although it's not really a village, there are no shops other than a small post office. Good selection of shops 1 1/2 miles down the road at Langney Rise.

I wouldn't bother with the Heron pub, it's somewhat basic and threadbare, The Smugglers Pub in Pevensey is very atmospheric with excellent food and a warm welcome but a long walk.

Railway station a five minute walk away, but as most trains are electric, very little noise. The same cannot be said for the business park next door with loud noise from 7am to gone 11pm.

Would we go back? No! 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: VWBus 72 reviews from this member

 Visited this site in early June. Nice site, just outside the village of Westham, about a 5 minute walk. We camped on the overflow field, as the site was very busy, and to be honest I preferred the set up of this field, the main pitches are marked out, and did seem a little close together. You can't get hookup on the overflow field, but that wasn't a problem for us. Lots and lots of space to spread out and plenty of room in the middle for kids to play. The only downer of being here is it's quite a trek back up to the reception / shop and bins - particularly when it was absolutely chucking it down as we left, and had to carry our rubbish up there!

We were one adult and two kids, and two dogs. We camped in three separate very small popup tents, so I was a bit disappointed to have to pay extra. The normal pitch fee was 18.50, but we had to pay an extra 4.50 a night for a pup tent! Even though all three popups took up much less space than some of the behemoths pitched around us, which had just paid 18.50. The overall cost I felt was a little expensive, 2.50 each for the dogs, and 2.50 for one of the children, so it came to 30.50 a night for nonhookup. The tariff is published on their site though, so we did know it wouldn't be cheap, but it's just the charge for the pup tent which niggled a bit. The receptionist was very friendly though.

It's a pleasant site though, and we really enjoyed ourselves. It's a working farm, and they have cleverly laid it out, so you can see lots of the animals and birds in their fields and pens. The kids really enjoyed wandering up the nature path, and petting the ponies, goats, pigs and viewing the wonderful array of birds in the aviaries. You can purchase food from reception to give the animals, which again the kids really enjoyed. Their favourite attraction seemed to be the pigs, especially the tiny piglets which were the cutest things we've seen in a long while. There are fishing lakes, and ponds with masses of ducks ( and ducklings when we visited ) which the kids also enjoyed. Just bear this in mind if visiting with small children, don't let them near them unsupervised ( the site does make this rule very clear too which is good )

There is an older facility block which contains toilets and showers, washing sinks etc. There is also a reasonable dish washing up area. The block was a little old, but very clean, and perfectly acceptable. The showers have a fixed height ( quite low ) but you can adjust the direction of the flow. You can also control the temperature. Unfortunately the water wasn't very hot, just warm, but adequate. There is a newish building containing four showers ( no loos ) which are more modern and huge. I didn't use these, but the kids said they were absolutely scalding, and you could not control the temperature in them, so I would recommend using the older block, particularly if you have small kids, as you would struggle with the heat in the new block. This may have been a one off, hopefully they will have adjusted the boiler temperature following feedback from the users! Although the site was busy, the facilities were always very clean, and coped very well, we never had to queue.

The site was quiet at night, in terms of the campers, but please be aware that the birds do make a right racket. The peacock screeched a lot at night, and early in the morning, so if you are in a tent this may wake you up. There is also a train line across the fields, which you could hear, but this wasn't intrusive. I mention these points as I know some people are light sleepers, so it may bother them. The overflow field backs on to some sort of commercial premises with lots of vehicles, but we were there at the weekend, and there was no noise from it.

You can see Pevensey castle from the site, but you cannot access it directly, you have to go into the village. We did drive down there one day on the way to the beach, and had a nice walk around. It's an interesting castle, and they accept dogs on leads, so you don't have to leave them behind. ( it's run by English Heritage btw ) The beaches that we visited were all dog friendly too.

Regarding dogs, you can walk your pets up and down a long strip of land next to the site, which is where the animals are located. This is okay for a quick stretch of the legs, but you'd want to take the dogs off site for a proper run. There isn't any direct access to the surrounding fields from the site, but the warden did say you could walk out of the site, along the road a bit, and into the fields. We didn't actually do this, and I couldn't see the access from the road when we drove along it, so can't comment further on this.

In the village is a chippy, and a couple of shops. There is also a Tesco Express a short drive away, which sold pretty much everything you might need whilst away. It's a 5 minute drive to the beach at Pevensey bay, which has a stoney beach, and a little further into Eastbourne, which apparently has sand, although we didn't go. We visited the Star Inn, a short drive away on Sluice Lane, and had a nice meal, so I can recommend this place. It has a big garden, and a huge adventure playground to keep the kids amused.

To sum up, the only real recommendations I would suggest are looking at the temperature of the water in the showers, and to put some rubbish bins in or near the entrance to the overflow field.

All in all we enjoyed our stay and would recommend the site, with good facilities, a nice location, and friendly staff. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Huggy bear 8 reviews from this member

 Another great 6 days here,had great day fishing 4lb, 2x3lb & a 1lb Carp loads of small Roach and Perch and one that got away (10lb +)The lake could do with some of the weed taken out it makes it difficult at times.

The campsite is great, Pitches are massive, showers excellent, I think the other entries say it all.

The Warden is always on hand, very helpful (thanks for the loan of the Allen key)

Back there in July for a relaxing week.(can't wait)

Fish & Chip shop 5 min walk, pubs 10 to 20 min walk (depends which one you want to go to) Asda 10 min drive and a small shopping center 5 min drive.

If you take your dog please don't forget your poo bags,there are bins on the walk you can use. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The_Daws 5 reviews from this member

 We took our two children (3 and 6) camping for the first time to this site. It was a great choice. No there isn't an adventure playground but they loved going to see the animals. It also means that the screams and shouting of kids thundering around is absent. You just know your pitch will be the closest.

I can only endorse what others have already said. The showers are great, the warden cheerful and a total absence of teenagers/twenty somethings staggering in drunk.

Walk out of the site and Pevensy Castle (or what's left of it) is just down the road with some nice village pubs. The one we were directed to had an adventure playground that although a little tatty did the job.

Everything else - supermarkets, beach etc is short drive away. I would definitely recommend and return again. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: AlanTh 7 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a six night stay at this site. It is just simply excellent. The Warden cannot do enough to help, whilst at the same time being unobtrusive.

The site is very clean all round. The facilities are very good.

Our visit was over the bank holiday weekend and the site was full. At times like this, if there are going to be problems - this is when they will happen.

We will be returning to this excellent site. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Renee299 2 reviews from this member

 I took my teenage daughter to this site for the weekend. It was our second visit as we had been two years ago and enjoyed it so much we chose to go again.

We were very lucky with the weather and, like last time we had a great time. The new shower block is lovely. The site is well kept and the staff are friendly and helpful.

The shop is stocked with anything you're likely to need and might have forgotten. The site is lovely and peaceful and we enjoyed feeding the animals.

All the main attractions are within ten minutes by car, so very handy!

I will definitely go back there in future. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Josi3 1 review from this member

 We camped at Fairfields over the August bank holiday weekend. The staff were friendly and the facilities were really good (especially the shower blocks, which looked very new).

We even enjoyed a visit from a catering van that served fantastic pastries, baguettes and hot drinks each morning. Which was perfect for us minimalistic campers. The site was also very pretty with a lake at one end and lots of wildlife.

The site is also very near to a shopping centre if you need any provisions. I would definitely recommend this site to others. 


Previous     176 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Fairfields Farm Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Fairfields Farm Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Fairfields Farm Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Pevensey      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4952 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement