Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Fairfields Farm Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > East Sussex > Pevensey > Fairfields Farm Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Fairfields Farm Caravan & Camping Park
Eastbourne Road
Westham
Pevensey
East Sussex   (Browse area)
BN24 5NG
Tel: 01323 763165
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 174 Reviews
                9/10 from 174 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming <5 miles   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  174 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Helen and Alex 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from a week long stay here at this campsite. The campsite is in a fantastic location - only a 5 minute walk to the railway station where you can get trains to Eastbourne, Brighton, Hastings and even London. It is also only a few minutes walk to Westham with a fab fish & chip shop and three pubs, so a great location.

The campsite has everything you need. We didn't have electric hookup so could pitch anywhere, those wanting electric were allocated a pitch. There was plenty of space for standard, non-electric, pitching - around the sides of main field or in the overflow field.

We chose the main field as the overflow field has no facilities and was a few minutes walk down a lane through a gate. We didn't want to be too far from the toilets/showers etc. The only thing I will say is that a lot of the pitches were slightly sloping, but if you choose your pitch wisely you can find a level patch.

The campsite is very clean and organised with gravel roads round the main field (the overflow field is just grass with no tracks or roads). Drinking water taps are dotted about with the facilities in the main block - an older block with toilets and some showers, and a new block resembling a log cabin with modern wet rooms consisting of a shower and sink with a sizeable area to get dressed etc.

The floor does get wet though, but we both thought these were a great idea, and with free hot water and regularly cleaned, we were impressed. There was also a disabled shower/toilet, but cannot comment as didn't use, although there was a family on site with a disabled person in a wheelchair and they seemed to get about ok.

There is also a laundry room with a coin operated washer/dryer and a couple of deep sinks for washing. In here there are also a couple of plug sockets that can be used to charge phones etc. To complete the facilities is an outside, covered, dish washing area with four sinks with hot/cold water for washing those dishes!

The site shop sells any everyday groceries and most things you might need but there is an Asda and Tesco 5 min drive away so we went there.

The campsite has a visit every morning from a local bakery selling bacon sandwiches, bread, croissants etc and a visit in the afternoon by the ice cream van, a great idea! The baker comes early though, so if you want to get a bacon sandwich you need to be up around 8am.

The site shop will also freeze your ice blocks for 20p per block, which is a good idea - but bear in mind that the shop shuts at 6pm.

The site also has a duck pond with lots of ducks and geese choosing to reside there. The site shop sells food if anyone wishes to feed them.

There are also other animals which are situated in fields next to the campsite - all of which can be viewed if you follow the farm trail (a nice walk). We saw Peacocks, Turkeys, Chickens (and baby chicks), Goats, Pigs and Shetland Ponies who were all really friendly.

Some reviews have mentioned excessive noise from the lorry park next door - we only heard a little noise throughout the week but this didn't disturb us at all. There was more noise from the chorus of Cockerils singing 'Cock-a-Doodle-do' in the morning!

All-in-all, we have had a really good week at Fairfields Farm and would not hesitate to stay there again if we were visiting East Sussex. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LISAWALL68 4 reviews from this member

 This is the first time we haved stay at this site and overall I was very impressed. The warden and the staff are very helpful and always there to help.

The warden even gave us a map highlighting where all the shops were. Showers and toilets very clean and modern. The whole site being a farm is lovely as there are animals to see and lots of areas to walk.

Westham village itself is a very beautiful, quaint village dating back to the Normans.

The only suggestion I would make to the owner is to try and keep children playing to a limited time as of an evening we would sit outside our tent and the ambience would be spoilt by football, swingball or noisy children.

Other than that I cannot complain and will definitely be back next year to this fantastic campsite. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MrsBonline 3 reviews from this member

 We stumbled upon this little gem a couple of years ago on our maiden voyage with our caravan. What a great find! We keep going back.

This site is attached to a small farm. The whole overlooks a beautiful lake with weeping willows, tame ducks and geese. There's fishing allowed on the lake, ponies, pigs, goats. All sorts - the kids will love the animals and the adults will love the tranquillity of it all. The animals are very friendly and you're allowed to feed them with food sold from the shop which is a hit with the children.

This really is a very pretty get-away.

Easily accessible for our 22ft outfit the site is clean and well kept. The warden and owners are very helpful. There's a shop which stocks pretty much everything you might need for camping. The new shower blocks are very nice, although water is sometimes a bit hot. There's plenty of it and pressure is excellent.

The only thing that lets this site down is the toilet block which is old and out-dated. Having said that, you cannot fault it's cleanliness! Laundry facilities are also on site although we've never used them.

Westham Station is just a 2 min walk away with connections to London if you really feel the need. No noise from the trains as they're electric. There is a small industrial unit next door, but other than the occasional horn sounding, you'd hardly know it was there.

There's a great fish and chip shop within walking distance and a great pub 5 mins drive that has an Italian night on Tuesdays, Curry night on Fridays and good pub food every other night.

Tesco's extra is a 5 min drive away which is open till late and the main town of Eastbourne is just a 10 min drive with shingle beaches, Sovereign harbour, Sovereign Centre (great pool, roller blading, gym, tennis etc etc, Fort Fun (kids play centre with pirate ship, paddling pool, and indoor play area) plus all the big shops you'd expect. Drusilla's zoo is not far at Alfriston, Pevensy Castle down the road and many other attractions.

10/10 for this site. We will be definitely be returning. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pabell4 2 reviews from this member

 We booked for two nights and have just come back after one. The positives clean facilities and friendly staff. The negatives, most of the pitches are slightly sloped.

Watch out for the coach company next door starting their engines up at the crack of dawn.

The site is right next to an industrial estate. The site does not really suit older children/teenagers. The no ball games rule is understandable near cars and caravans, but if your going for a long stay your children need to be amused while your on site, and my children felt very restricted in what they could do.

There's only a certain amount of times that you can go to the pond and feed the ducks or have a walk. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: CanterFamily 3 reviews from this member

 Jubilee Bank Holiday Weekend - what a nightmare - rain, wind and storms! I've never seen so much bunting look so pretty and then look so decimated!

But Fairfields coped! The ablution blocks are some of the best we've seen in the UK, really good design and just about enough for everyone!

We camped on the back field with friends and our daughter loved the farm animals. Everyone was really friendly and we will definitely go back again! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ChrisB23 1 review from this member

 Lovely campsite with great facilities (the toilets and showers are the cleanest and best-kept I've seen on a campsite). Lovely fishing lake on site and beautiful countryside all around. The site wardens were very helpful, accommodating and very friendly.

Very close to Pevensey & Westham station which is great if like us you don't have a car.

Only negative is that if you camp on the right-hand side of the main camping field you're just a little too close to a minor road that runs alongside the camp.

Historical Pevensey Castle, friendly pubs and great fish'n'chips close by.  


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Malton 2 reviews from this member

 Many families were enjoying spending time with their children here and all seemed mindful of the list of common sense rules. O

ur plot was smaller than others we encountered on our trip but the proximity to facilities was fine.

Everything was efficiently cleaned although I did notice that the washing machine unit was out of order, could be a problem for families on a longer stay, I hope it was fixed quickly!

As we like to leave our van on site once we have arrived it was convenient to cycle in the surrounding area without too much difficulty and the nearby train line fitted the bill when our legs grew tired. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LakesMum 2 reviews from this member

 As a family with primary aged children this was the perfect campsite. It has good clean, well maintained facilities with lovely new wet room shower blocks (although these didn't always drain well).

We made good use of the laundry facilities too. The farm animals and nature trail were lovely for all of us.

Not too much noise from the neighbouring industrial estate although there was some vehicle movement quite early on.

It was very peaceful in the evenings with no rowdiness or loud music. Lots of local attractions within easy reach.

We would definitely go back. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Happy4 1 review from this member

 Enjoyed a two night stay here. On arrival we were given instructions as to where we could pitch our tent and we ended up along side the hedge. Friendly staff at Reception and helpful Warden.

We enjoyed a lovely walk around the site and farm animals. The children loved looking at the animals; pigs, ponies, goats, chickens, ducks. And the walk is just far enough for little legs.

The new shower block is very good. The showers were lovely and warm and clean.

We would definitely return to this site again. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Amanda929 2 reviews from this member

 We rang Fairfield for a last minute pitch having telephone several other campsites who were all fully booked.

The pitch we were allocated was directly opposite the toilet block which was too ugly to look out on even for just one day, and continually in use (as would be expected the first weekend of July) from early morning to late evening.

There was no bushes or trees to disguise the somewhat dated block. Costing approximately 20 a night we were not happy and asked to me moved but told there were no other pitches available. We pressed the point and eventually was allocated what we think was the best pitch on the site - directly opposite the beautiful duck pond.

Interestingly, there are four or five pitches directly opposite the toilets which remained empty the three days we stayed, whilst the rest of the site was packed. I would suggest the owners take some action to disguise this toilet block or make a considerable price reduction to reflect these unattractive pitches.

In regard to the new shower block, these are roomy, clean and light but the water so hot that I felt I was being scolded and had to use the wash basin as the shower was unusable.

Putting the issues of pitch allocation and showers aside, we loved looking out on the duck pond and enjoyed the walk to the the camp's small fishing lake.

We will go back again as its a very pretty site, but will specify the pitch before hand. 


Previous     174 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Fairfields Farm Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Fairfields Farm Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Fairfields Farm Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Pevensey      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4711 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement