Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Waren Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Bamburgh > Waren Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Waren Caravan & Camping Park
Waren Mill
Bamburgh
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE70 7EE
Tel: 01668 214366
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 250
Open: 8th March To 2nd November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 161 Reviews
                8/10 from 161 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  161 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Snowyj 1 review from this member

Unfortunately, due to a rubbish tent, we didn't get our stay here but I had to write a review for the 2 hours we were on site! The staff at reception were so helpful, very friendly and very kind. We hadn't booked in advance (incorrect info from a friend!) but they did their best to accommodate us although they were fully booked and they did find us a very suitable plot to pitch the tent.
We spent 2 hours in the rain trying to put up said tent but all the poles snapped! That's another story! We gave up and very wet, we went to reception to inform them we had to give up and go home and to thank them for being so helpful. They then offered us a full refund, which we were not expecting.
The toilets were spotless and we were very impressed by what we did see and plenty of facilities, ie washing up basins etc. We are gutted we didn't get to stay but we will definitely be back when we buy a decent tent! 10 out of 10 guys!

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hunters37 2 reviews from this member

Arrived on the Fri - situated in pleasant surroundings. You would never know it was there! Huge site made up of many smallish fields of statics, tourers and tents. Has restaurant and bar on site. We stayed over a weekend and had to stay on overflow area, in retrospect was probably a good thing.
The shower/toilet block was well equipped, ladies very dirty though, hubby says gents facilities clean and tidy, could have done with more washing up sinks as these were pretty grotty also. There are lots of children and teenagers around, some seemed to be up quite late. Good mix of types of campers, i.E. Families, couples, groups and retired people.
The location is great though being a quick drive to Seahouses and beautiful sandy beaches. Holy island nearby and Farne Islands. Would revisit but would book in advance and try to pick a quieter time of year.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Teetime 15 reviews from this member

After reading good reviews about this site we found it to be less appealing than we were led to believe. The site is circular with a large playing field at the centre - good for kids I thought, till they mowed the grass and didn't collect the cuttings so bits went everywhere, especially the shower / toilet block. We were directed to a 'hardstanding'. It was in a small corner and was no more than a rectangle of tarmac that was rough and badly laid, it looked like it had just been dumped and hardly smoothed over. Certainly not level.

The 'modern' toilet block was always untidy and often dirty. The site was full and the facilities needed more regular cleaning than they got. There were only 4 showers in the main ladies area so frequent queues and no mops so they were often grubby and grassy, though they were heated at night. There is a hairdryer but it costs 20p and again was often in use. There are some larger shower/toilet cubicles in the centre of the amenity block and they were good to use if they were empty, but again grubby and although there was a mop in this area there was no bucket or water to clean it with.

The shop was quite well stocked with food items and camping gear but the splash pool was covered and closed. The bar served food but the menu showed only fish and chips, burgers and chips, hot dogs and chips etc so we prefered not to try.

Overall, I suppose this is a reasonable site for families as there is space to play for kids but it would greatly benefit from more frequent cleaning of the facilities. It is in a fantastic location within easy reach of Bamburgh with its amazing beach and castle as well as Holy Island and other attractions.

Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Brassir 6 reviews from this member

We visited this site for our first camping trip since having our first child. The surrounding area is just gorgeous, and a real bonus. The site did feel quite huge to us, which isn't our cup of tea, but is what lots of others might like. The toilet block was very modern and nice / fairly clean.

We probably wouldn't go back though - during the day, the site was great with lots of kids playing around. But it did feel like a bit more of a party atmosphere at night, with groups of families and groups of teenagers / young adults getting rowdy. Nothing that would have bothered me before kids (and, from memory, I think all was quiet by 2ish), but a bit stressful when you know your own child will be getting you (and possibly some of them) up at 6am!

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kate75 11 reviews from this member

We (2 adults and 3 young children) have just returned from a 3 night stay. The surrounding area of Banburgh and Holy Island is wonderful.
The kids were very safe on the site and we felt able to let them wonder on their bikes. The play area in the touring area is limited to 2 swings and a slide but there are big grass areas for ball games which was excellent.

We thought the site itself was lovely and quiet however due to major problems with water supplies this has tainted our view. For 2 of the 3 evenings we were there all the showers and the taps in the toilet block, washing up areas and the water supply taps were not working. Meaning we had to strip wash in the tent by boiling the water we already had and with 3 young kids this is not easy . Plus we did not think the facilities were clean and were disappointed with them

However, despite all the grumbles we still had a lovely few days.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Madanjimurano 1 review from this member

We have just come back from staying at this site and must say we were very impressed with it, it is by far the best site we have stayed at. The staff were extremely helpful, the shower block was clean and warm. The pitches were flat and, despite the rain, were not waterlogged!
There are plenty water and rubbish bays so you don't have to walk far. We only went to the bar once for a meal but they had ran out of what we wanted to eat so we ended up going to seahouses and getting a take away! It would have been nice if the pool was open as the day before we left the weather got really hot, hopefully next time it will be as we can't wait to book up to go back next month!

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chilvers 2 reviews from this member

Spent four days at the site and was delighted with all facilities although it got very busy on the friday and saturday night. Shower blocks were possibly the best yet, the family size of them ideal when you don't want youngsters having to go on their own. The views of the castle and holy island are spectacular and can't wait to get the opportunity to go back.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Torchwood 2 reviews from this member

Stayed here in August and its by far the best site I have stayed at, when we arrived we were checked in by a nice couple who were very friendly and accomadating giving us all the information we needed about the area, then we headed off to pitch our tent.The room we were allocated was great with nobody in front of us. The toilets and showers were better that at home it was that good!And at no extra cost!After 11 I could here a pin drop as the warden soon curbed any excess noise which was great!. They have a good bar on site and somewhere to eat and take refuge in the changeable weather, but thats what camping is about.All in all I would reccomend the site to anyone, be back soon!

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dezzie 16 reviews from this member

Arrived on Waren on a Sunday night and were very pleasantly surprised. A fantastic site, with lovely views of the holy isle. Facilities on site included a fabulous shower and toilet block (with family wet rooms). We were allocated our pitch on arrival, and found the pitch to be of sufficient size and very level. This was also our first experience of using our new EHU and had no problems at all.
The site is VERY quiet all the time, and you really could hear a pin drop (or the man 3 pitches away passing wind :-) The staff were very friendly and helpful. My only gripe was that the prices in the shop were far too expensive. Im fully aware that the nearest supermarkets are either in Anwick (17miles) or Berwick upon Tweed (18 miles). However we found out that in

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Warbulator 10 reviews from this member

Best site yet. We are not very experienced towers and access was a doddle with no probs. A quick resume; 3 fields, main one mainly caravans set in 2 rows round perimeter and whole thing grassy bank surrounded with paths along bank tops so you dont need to trail thorough the folks from a to b ( this main field a good 250 yds across both ways) with a big play area in centre of donut ,2 swings and a slide but plenty of games/footy space in clear view, second field again banked all around, same length but not as wide all tents , 3rd smaller field is tiered up 6 feet above main field at the bottom end and all tents.All tarmac roadways througout the site.
Big toillet blocks, about 12 cubicles each with 6 sinks and showers, plenty free hot water and now a new block added with 6 private shower/sink/loo wet rooms (very classy!) and 1 bathroom if a bath is a must!

I spotted a good half dozen watter/rubbish points around and the main reception was spot on, nice guy called scott checked us in.

Up at the main gate entrance, which is only 100 yds from main site, is a biggish shop, frozen pizzas/meals etc, lots of chilled beer and pop, milk/eggs,bacon. Tins of vitals, much more choice than we expected. Lots of toys/field games and the shop is as cheap as any!

Previous     161 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Bamburgh      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 18/02 to 23/02
Birmngham - Caravans, motorhomes, tents, folding caravans and 1000s of accessories all under one roof! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2835 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020