Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Waren Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Bamburgh > Waren Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Waren Caravan & Camping Park
Waren Mill
Bamburgh
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE70 7EE
Tel: 01668 214366
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 250
Open: 8th March To 2nd November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 161 Reviews
                8/10 from 161 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  161 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ah1975 8 reviews from this member

Stayed for 3 nights at the beginning of august, map provided by the wardens with an explanation of how to position on our pitch, not may free pitches in the EHU area mainly taken up with caravans but seemed to be plenty available in the tent field.

We were pitched on the outer perimeter in pitch 16 a large corner pitch and we also had shelter from the bank behind. Lovely facilities at the site, 4 sinks for pot washing, ladies loo's nice and clean and a fab hairdryer for 20p a go, my only negative would be the cleanliness of the family bathrooms, half as clean and bright as the gents or ladies and the floors always seemed to be dirtier but I think this is down to the fact the family bathrooms are more wet rooms rather than having a shower tray so not walking on them with mucky shoes was not possible.

Great heated pool which was open come rain or shine however I didn't feel comfortable with my 8 & 5 year old being in the pool because of older children/teenagers bombing in & out of the water without a thought to the other kids in the pool, they didn't seem to have any parental input to stop this either.

2 playgrounds 1 up near the static vans and one in the tourer field, swings could so with oiling as very creaky, shop on site sells last minute forgotten items, bread milk etc. We didn't go into the bar so cannot comment on this other than to say it was never empty, the bar also does meals but again nit something we sampled. The weather in Northumberland whilst we were there was shocking but drainage on site was excellent, lots to see and do, bamburgh castle, Alnwick castle, lindisfarne, teahouses and Berwick all within reasonable driving distance, if we head up that way again in the future would not hesitate to stop there again, would just hope it wasn't constant rain this time!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Missarahmlee@hotmai 21 reviews from this member

Well located compact site just off the A1. Beautiful views of Bamburgh and Holy Island but sadly obscured on site by trees. Pleasant welcome on arrival, given a pitch number and a map but no further assistance and I did not see warden or any staff again until departure.

Site divided roughly into 3 sections for statics, tourers and tents with a little overlap. The pitches in the touring area are marked but seemed a little close for my liking. The hardstanding pitches are rough hardcore.

Grass pitches seemed ok for drainage but some areas had become muddy with use. Good play equipment and smooth access road for scootering.

Super little pool overlooked by the bar and amusements but not supervised and older children did become a little boisterous. Its also quite a windy spot for spectators so take a fleece.

We did not have a Bar meal but prices seemed very competitive and they also have a take away service. There is nothing else within walking distance.

I can only describe the toilets and showers as acceptable. There was always hot water and nice powerful showers ( free) but on several occasions the toilet paper had run out and the cleaning regime was not coping with the level of use eg tissue and dried mud on the floors and hair in sinks and shower trays.

Sadly a general lack of attention to detail such as the backs of cubicle doors covered in foot marks - wardens need to use the facilities to see it from the customers point of view.

Family wet rooms rooms are available but being wet rooms the floors were a bit iffy at times.

There is a laundry, driers and washers operate by tokens available from reception prices were about 2. 50. There are two large sinks for handwashing.

There is a dishwasing sink in the laundry and another 4 located outside undercover but outside the toilet block so again have a fleece handy.

There is a raised bank around the touring field which provides shelter and operates as a dog walk which is an excellent idea. Overall a pleasant stay but nothing outstanding.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Paddy-c 1 review from this member

My Grandson (7) and I (50ish) have just returned from a 1 week camping break in this exceptional well run establishment.

We were situated on the Bottom Tent field. This was ideal, as your pitches are numbered and situated to the outside perimeter. Leaving a very large area for Games etc.

The facilities were very handy and spotless clean, they are checked on a regular basis. I love the idea of the Family 'Shower room' where you have a Shower, Toilet and hand basin in a room with a door for your own privacy, I think there was about 5 of these in our block and also a Bathroom.

The camp shop was very well stocked, and the pub/Restaurant was very reasonable price wise. The portion size for the Meals where for a person with a outdoorsman appetite.

All the Staff at this park were very friendly and helpful, and there was no shirking from duties to my knowledge.

At the corner of our field a gate led to a road. Turn left and 10 mins down the road you pass a disused Kiln then you are on Budle Bay Beach. For the Walker also, same Gate public Footpath over the Fields to Bamburgh 30 mins walk. Bamburgh Castle 8. 00 Adult, 4. 50 Child. If you have a Car pop into Seahouses for your Fish and Chips then embark on One of the many Boat Trips to Farne Islands, or Go to Lindisfarne (Holy Island) by Boat when the Car Tourists would of all left.

Hoping to go back in September for 3 or 4 days, Well done to all at Waren Caravan and Camping Park.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Krid 2 reviews from this member

We have visited this site many many times now and will continue to do so.

The pitches are all placed around a large children's play area so the kids run out after breakfast and only return when their bellies are empty or its time to go Bamburgh beach.

The whole place is delightful, well planned pitches, stunning scenery, well kept site, fabulous staff.

I hate campsites that feel like a mass carpark but still want an element of comfort so somewhere that's not the middle of a field nor a large scale commercial place and Waren fits the bill every time.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Davidandkim 10 reviews from this member

Stayed three nights at this site. Excellent clean facilities and very convenient for Bamburgh Castle, Seahouses, Holy Isle etc.

Extremely friendly and helpful reception staff -- though at times very busy. Above average shops, shower block toilet etc. Many things to see in this area and, we intend re-visiting it because Northumberland seems very under-rated.

First night weather was very rough with rain and strong winds. However, despite this we slept well and visited several places in this surprisingly beautiful part of England.

Good local fish and chips.

Would visit Waren site again that's the acid test.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: 6ofus 2 reviews from this member

What a fantastic site, we visited this site 2 adults and 3 children, aged 10, 4 and 18 months. We were lucky the sun shone, the boys played in the park and pedalled their bikes the whole weekend.

The wardens were friendly especially with the children.

Toilets and showers were spotless.

This site is definitely worth a visit if you have children, there is a small splash pool but we didn't use that or the club house.

We visited Bamburgh Castle for the day.

We will definitely be will be visiting this site again.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Benbo21 1 review from this member

Just returned home from a break in one of Waren Mill's excellent static holiday homes, absolutely fantastic. Good weather always helps, but we had a great time, even when we had a few showers. Splash pool very handy for a quick dip, warm enough for our 2 yr old, and the bigger kids seemed to love it too.

Well stocked shop, so no need to worry about remembering everything food wise.

Bamborough beach just a short drive down the coast was excellent, really clean and quiet.

Caravan was well equipped, clean, and in tip top condition, with comfortable beds and a high chair + cot installed before we arrived(on request, at no extra cost).

Plenty of days out in the local area, and plenty of playground facilities on site.

Good value, we hope to return soon

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Crz750 3 reviews from this member

This was our second visit to this site. On our first visit we really enjoyed this site and everything it had to offer which is why we returned again. Unfortunately this time instead of the enjoying a quiet and relaxed time there was extremely loud music and shouting coming from the club house until 11. 30pm. When we telephoned the number provided nobody seemed bothered about the disturbence caused to the campers. We were under the impression that there was a curfew on noise after a certain time at night but this did not seem to apply to the club house. This spoilt the weekend for us and we will not be returning again. Having said that if you don, t mind the noise the site has everything you need and is in a lovely location.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Harton 4 reviews from this member

Lovely site. Good value for money.

The main tent field is self contained which gave it a nice cosy feel. Spacious pitches with EHU if needed.

Two play parks and a big ball park, also room for games on the tent field as all the pitches are round the edge leaving the centre free.

Amenities block was clean and heated,all sinks had mirrors and plugs, all toilets were supplied with a loo brush (pity more campers never used them). Good showers and washing up facilities.

We were there for royal wedding weekend and they had put on a fancy dress party for the kids which was fun and brought everyone together.

Small clubhouse with good food. A little pricey though.

We were disappointed that the splash pool was not open as the weather was great (opens Whitsun to sept.)

Great site, will return for sure.

Had a good day out on a boat trip to the Farne Isls from Seahouses. Our 6 year old loved seeing the puffins and seals up close.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Riponrobertsons 8 reviews from this member

For the Easter break we, along with some friends, stayed at Waren Park and had a fantastic weekend. It's nice to be welcomed when there are a few families wishing to camp together and not be classed as a rowdy group.

We were initially booked in for 3 nights but had such a great time we stayed on for an extra 3 nights. (we would have stayed longer but the site was fully booked for the May bank holiday weekend).

On arrival and all through our stay, the staff were very friendly, helpful and informative - they had an Easter egg hunt planned for the children and other activities for the Royal Wedding.

Our pitch was flat and it was nice to be able to park our car next to our tent. The whole tent field was very well kept, had 2 refuse/water stations which were emptied every morning and was very close to the toilet block.

The amenities were excellent, probably the best we have experienced, the toilets / showers were very clean and the water was always hot. The washing up area had 4 very large sinks again with plenty of hot water and there were also family shower / changing rooms which are an excellent idea.

On site there is also 3 play parks, a shop, cafe / restaurant, heated splash pool (open end May) and a games room. You don't need to leave the site if you want a relaxing break but being only 1 1/2 miles from Bamburgh you can easily follow the coastal path and have an enjoyable walk to Bamburgh and experience miles of unspoilt, beautiful beaches.

We drove through Wooler to Langleeford and walked The Cheviot. Holy Island is close by, as is Seahouses, Alnwick and Berwick-upon-Tweed. There is certainly plenty to do if you come here for a weekend or a week or more.

We found nothing to complain about what so ever, but it seems that if you do your complaint is acted upon swiftly, we read a previous review where the person stated that she would have liked to have had a toilet brush in every cubicle, well there is now!

We had a brilliant stay here, we would definitely recommend it and have in fact booked again in a few weeks. This is a site we will come back to time and time again.

Previous     161 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Bamburgh      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan Motorhome and Holiday Home Show 06/02 to 09/02
In Glasgow - Over 200 companies will be showcasing their products and offering visitors show only discounts and offers. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3510 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020