Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Waren Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Bamburgh > Waren Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Waren Caravan & Camping Park
Waren Mill
Bamburgh
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE70 7EE
Tel: 01668 214366
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 250
Open: 8th March To 2nd November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 161 Reviews
                8/10 from 161 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  161 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nashton 1 review from this member

Stayed here during August for 9 nights with my 3 children.

I chose the site as we had stayed there last year in a Wigwam, and had a fab time. This really is a magical part of the county.

We had not been to the touring section before and on first sight I was a little disappointed that it did not have the sea views that you get from the static caravan area, but it is surrounded by big banks that give a lot of shelter, and from which you can see the bay and the castle. We counted the colours available in the view and always came up with a big number.

We were dealt with promptly at reception and assigned pitch 12a which we found to be on a small slant which was unsuitable for the trailer. I was quickly re-assigned a flatter pitch and noticed that 12a remained unused for most of our stay. Generally the site is very level.

The layout of the touring section was superb for me, as it had a huge open play area in the middle and was surrounded by pitches. There was loads of space for the kids to play and not many ways for them to escape.

The toilet and shower facilities were good/excellent. I was able to shower with my 5 year old in the gents showers without any issue, but my 13 year old girl wanted more room, and used the family shower/wet rooms in the middle. The only small complaint we had is that in order to keep the facilities clean they were often 'closed for cleaning' so there was a small amount of queuing, especially in the family area.

We ate once in the bar. The food was OK and the portions were good.

The pool was very popular. The kids went in every day. It did get busy, but not too busy.

The games room seemed to have some gambling machines added since last year which was a bit of a shame. It would have been better to put them in the bar where the adults were.

All in all, a fab site. We will be going back soon.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dr Soper 2 reviews from this member

What a great site with stunning views, we had only 4 days here and wished we'd had more.

The facilities were very good and clean and even had a bathroom.

We struggled with our tent but the Warden was on hand straight away, we did turn up when it was blowing a gale!

We didn't use the Bar but had a take away meal which was O.K.

The camping reception had plenty of leaflets for our days out and the receptionist printed off tide times to Holy Island nothing was too much trouble.

We shall book early next year so we can spend more time here.

Thankyou waren for a great stay.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jhall1 3 reviews from this member

Stayed here with my 12 year old son at beginning of June (Whit) Had great pitch, in the lower field and over near a corner so quite private. Close to the shower blocks which were good and clean, and plenty of them. Ideally located for Bamburgh which is a lovely village about a mile away. On our second day we returned to the tent to find new arrivals had pitched right next to our tent ie on our pitch as they had a puddle on theirs. They were part of a group so don't understand why they didn't pitch the other way closer to their own but. Anyway the warden was very good (after one night of no sleep due to the guy in it snoring and due to health and safety regs, not to mention I had had to park my car on another pitch due to their tent being on mine.) he asked them to move, which they did in the end so all sorted amicably I'm glad to say as generally we all got on fine. Warden was great and kept a check on us generally, even helped us when we couldn't get some pegs up on our final day!

All in all, great location and lovely views from all parts of the site. Could see the hills and the bay. Lovely sunsets. Didnt use the pool or pub so cannot comment on them, but seemed nice enough. Would definitely recommend and return.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: JayJ1 4 reviews from this member

We ended up staying in one of their wigwams for the night as we couldn't be bothered to put our tent up it was so hot and we were only staying for one night. Facilities are clean and simple. Small shop is well stocked. Definitely recommend the wigwams if you don't mind paying think it was £30.

The little pool looked good for kids to be honest it was so hot I wanted to be in it but might have looked bit silly as I don't have children. They seemed to be refurbishing the games room which looked a bit sorry for itself.

We didn't use the site bar we walked into town which wasn't very pleasant, the first part of the walk through fields was fine but then we had to walk along the edge of the road which was overgrown with nettles (I was wearing a skirt ouch!). The castle is lovely and there some nice walks on the beach or you can walk to seahouses but the best part was the pubs, great beer and food we ate at one with a beer garden and the sparrows which seemed to live in the walls were eating from our hand. We ended up getting a taxi back as didn't think staggering along a road was a good idea but bar staff phoned it for us and the taxi driver came in pub to get us, think it was about £5 which is fine for one of but not for longer periods of stay.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Flynniesmam 14 reviews from this member

Stayed 3 nights over a weekend, great location views towards Holy Island were amazing.

Reception staff friendly and helpful.Showers and toilets could have done with more cleaning, one of the family rooms with shower / toilet in one cubicle was not cleaned over the whole weekend, several toilets with no toilet paper.

Don't attempt the walk to Bamburgh if you have a large dog, the sign posted footpath close to the site has a stile with a 4 foot fence only accessible to small dogs that can be carried over it, we ended up walking along the beach at Budle bay to Bamburgh ( passed golf course ) amazing walk of approx 3 miles came back along the road ( not recommended) no footpath so had to dodge traffic.

Saturday night was noisy with teenagers playing football match this went on until darkness (10.30pm).

Bar closed on a monday night which we thought was strange for peak season.

Overall it was a good site for the location but a bit noisy and unclean for us.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mark rutherford 3 reviews from this member

Beautiful site, facilities good (make sure you get to the showers early or you may queue), stunning views all over the site. Totally loved this site, it has a bar, swimming pool and a great shop (someone forgot the poo bags for the dog, no worries they had them). We had an extra guest on the sat night and when we went down to pay, they said just come back tomorrow to sort it. No pressure at all.

Just outside the site is a path that leads to Bamburgh, please use it, the views of the castle are stunning, its about a 2 mile walk to town.

Most of the tent plots had electric hooks ups which were free, but suspect you pay that in the price.

I will definitely be visiting this site again before the end of the season and would recommend it highly.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Saracen 15 reviews from this member

The campsite is handily located off the road north out of Bamburgh village and was very easy to find. It covers a massive area, most of which is given over to static caravans and chalets; however, the touring area is separate, also very extensive, and very pleasantly laid out.

The pitches are a good size - okay, we were there for a quiet midweek stay, and in high season when fully booked the place might seem less roomy, but we liked it when we were there! The facilities are really good - excellent shower and toilet facilities (I particularly appreciated the wall heaters in the ladies wash rooms).

There's a good shop and also a bar which also serves food (closed on Tuesday when we were there); there's also a splash pool and there looked to be a games room as well, but perhaps only in high season.

The position is really quite idyllic, with amazing views out over the sea and inland into the mountains. Bamburgh castle is visible from the entrance to the site and there is a well-signposted path down to Bamburgh village - a really nice evening walk of about 40 minutes.

Bamburgh has plenty of places to eat and drink and a few small shops as well. You could also walk down the road to Budle Bay, which is rather lovely. The campsite would also be a good base for Alnwick, Berwick, Dunstanburgh, Chillingham and so on.

The staff were unfailingly helpful whenever we needed to deal with them. All in all, this is an outstanding site that we will certainly return to.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: 01blondi 3 reviews from this member

5 nights stay 2 adults and 3 children 14, 11 and 5.

Just arrived back from a cracking stay at this site. First visit to this site and would recommend. On arrival check in was very quick and easy, we had booked electric hook up and was allocated a good pitch, close to the toilet and shower block.

Site has 2 play areas which our kids loved and a large field for them to play football or other ball games. The pool which is located at the main reception and bar area is great the water is warm and the area around the pool is non slip which is good as our 5 year old thought it was a race track.

The toilet block had 4 showers and I think 6 toilets. What can I say…….( Seen better but also seen much worse ) Showers are very cramped and toilet forever running out of toilet roll. They also have family pods which have toilet, shower and sink all in one room however tried several times to get in one and always a queue so gave up in the end and just went to the other block.

If you need to re-freeze cooler blocks you can use the freezer in reception. This is FOC.

Well stocked shop but as usual over priced. Bar £ 2.70 a pint, didn’t eat in there however food looked ok and a good atmosphere.

Would definitely return to this site.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Waydon 2 reviews from this member

Lovely campsite in lovely location close to lots of places to visit and beaches. Good sized pitches most with EH set on three levels and a large central field. Plenty of toilets and four showers in ladies, (showers are free). Dont know about mens. Toilets kept pretty clean. Laundry room and pot washing area.Bar which serves breakfasts, lunches and evening meals till 9pm. On site shop selling all you need for trip. Small swimming pool. 11pm no noise rule which is stuck to.

Bad points are as fields on different levels and gaps in hedging, kids and adults would use as short cuts bad if your tent is pitched at the side of them, like ours. Cos of this you get people climbing over your guy ropes and squeezing round the back of your tent instead of just using the path. This has been stopped in places with a small fence.

This is a family campsite so expect loads of kids to be playing football and riding bikes round your tent. Would still go again but ask for better pitch.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Mollygamps 7 reviews from this member

This is a lovely site. Very prettily situated and spread around little hills.

The Wigwams are excellent. Very clean and comfortable. The mattresses are foam, a little bit firm but quite comfortable. There's a small fridge but you need to bring all the rest of your camping gear! We've stayed in a few Wigwams and these are definitely some of the better ones!

The Wigwams have their own toilet/shower block and you are given a a key for access to them. I didn't see another soul in them for the whole of our stay. They were lovely and clean and spacious.

The restaurant and bar are just a short walk away and next to them is a clean, heated outdoor swimming pool, which our son played in for hours. There's plenty of small play areas for the kids.

Theres a small shop on site, which stocks most things you need.

Bamburgh is just a few minutes drive away, if you have more expensive dining habits and Seahouses is about 10 minutes drive if you want a fish and chip supper!

We enjoyed our stay and would stay again.

Previous     161 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Bamburgh      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 16/01 to 19/01, Event City
Over 200 exhibitors with all the new 2020 models and biggest ever selection of accessories. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2338 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020