Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Waren Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Bamburgh > Waren Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Waren Caravan & Camping Park
Waren Mill
Bamburgh
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE70 7EE
Tel: 01668 214366
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 250
Open: 8th March To 2nd November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 161 Reviews
                8/10 from 161 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  161 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: October 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ejt1 1 review from this member

Expensive site with no 5 star facilities. No road behind 1st row of tourers therefore churned up grass.

For the price paying extra for awning should be double space.

Dogs in awning yet paid extra for them.

Premium space yet electric only.

Not value for money.
via mobile

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: JF60 3 reviews from this member

Site was very large but cramped. No pitch markings. Lots of children running around unit. No adult only area. Motorhome got blocked in by cars as pitch was cramped. Showers were clean but not efficient.

Water ran hot then cold. Water was too hot to shower and with press button control that only lasted 5 secs it was difficult to shower. A noisy site but fine for families.

Would not recommend for older couples. Good location and staff very helpful.
via mobile

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Daftgit 1 review from this member

Stayed here for a long weekend - two families (the adults aged between 39 & 44 yrs old and four children aged between 4 & 9 yrs old). Traveling time was about 1hr 20 minutes from our home address (we live just outside Newcastle Upon Tyne) due to busy peak time traffic.

Once there, we booked in at the mobile office just off the main touring caravan/motorhome/tent field. We were booked in by a helpful couple and given our pitches in the field behind with ehu. After pitching our tents, we had a walk around to get our bearings.

The nearest toilet/shower block was behind the mobile office, so it was only about a 30 second walk from our pitch.

These were always very clean, with numerous toilets, showers and wash basins. Never had to queue to use these facilities despite the site being full during our visit. The showers are the push button type - however the water temperature fluctuated between freezing cold to red hot - not ideal whilst trying to shower young children.

Two children's playparks on site, a smaller one in front of the mobile site with a climbing frame, football goal posts surrounded by the oval road around it. This was used by the children to ride their bikes/scooters in a safe environment. The speed limit for vehicles is 10 mph around the site.

The main reception building located by the entrance is where the main office, on site shop, bar, restaurant, games room and open air swimming pool are located. We used the pool twice during our stay - the water temperature is cold at first, despite the red hot weather we had - very refreshing!

The smaller, shallow pool was ideal for the younger children (4&5 yrs), whilst the deeper pool was ideal for the older children (8&9 yrs). There was a life guard on duty during our visits that limited the pool numbers to 30 to make sure it did not get too overcrowded. We sampled the food, ordered from the bar - fish and chips, burgers etc. The food was ok, nothing very special.

The larger play park with its zip line was great to keep the older children in our group occupied whilst waiting for our food order.

Warren Mill is located about a 15 minute drive into Bamburgh for the stunning castle, beach, shops, pubs, restaurants and ice cream shops.

All in all a great, relaxing weekend. I would recommend this site to family and friends and can't wait to return!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Percy on tour 49 reviews from this member

Waren Camp Site is a large holiday park - including a sizeable static caravan area - located five minutes outside Bamburgh on the Northumberland coast.

The touring part in on three fields which one field set aside for tents. There are mostly grass pitches, with some hardstanding ones. The facilities block in located in the centre of the fields, and features toilets, showers, a laundry room and a washing up station. Although generally well-maintained, on one morning five out of seven of the gents' loos were out, either remaining two put of toilet paper.

The clubhouse is well-appointed, serves nice meals, and has free Wi-fi connection, although it has a tendency to close early during quiet periods. There is also a small shop, 0an outside swimming pool and amusement arcade.

The site is well-located for touring the local attractions, such as Berwick-upon-Tweed, Lindisfarne and the Farne Islands. The expanse of Ross Back Sands is fifteen minutes drive away (followed by mile walk along the footpath to reach it), and offers miles of empty golden sands and secluded sunbathing. The nearest town is Seahouses, which has restaurants and a small Co-op store.

All told, not a bad site - though I imagine it would get quite crowded in high season.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Nualajimmy 1 review from this member

This was an amazing site, we were a couple of 60+ & when we arrived we were apologised to as the only site available to us was near the children’s play area.

This was not a problem at all as the only sound we heard was that of children playing & laughing & by 10. 30/11 each evening you could hear a pin drop. The site was spotless & the wash rooms were very good with plenty of hot water & great showers.

There is a lovely walk through the fields to the lovely town of Bamburgh

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ChrisJB 1 review from this member

Overall, a pretty good site, with good facilities, especially the bar area which did excellent food, although we did have to wait awhile. Ablutions and toilet block was fine and there were some nice play areas. Whilst there is nothing particular fancy within walking distance, a short drive brings you to some great places on the coast.

A few niggles however: noise and inconsiderate users, with regards to swearing loudly near the kids and fouling dogs. There needed to be more of a presence by staff.

Also, our pitch was extremely muddy and even a pile of wood chips didn't overly help (even factoring for the weather). It seemed clear to me that pitches weren't allowed to recover between users, so more people could be crammed in. Also, some pitches are beneath overhanging trees which isn't great when it rains.

On balance I would possibly use again.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SteveT75 2 reviews from this member

We visited the site for the first time for a 3 night midweek stay, Tuesday to Friday before the August bank holiday weekend 2017.

On arrival we were directed to the touring reception by staff in the main reception, maybe a notice as You enter the site would be helpful. The staff in the touring reception directed us to our pitch that he marked on a site map.

We were pitched in no 42 close to the entrance and just over the bank from the toilets. The tent field is of a decent size and has 43 grass pitches, plenty with electric if you require.

The field is surrounded by a raised shelter embankment that's planted with trees so a fairly sheltered site. The site was pretty busy with only a couple of empty pitches when we arrived that soon were filled.

There were lots of families with children of all ages on both the top caravan field and the tent field, things did get noisy on occasions but the quiet times of 11pm-7am were generally observed during our stay.

The games room is a little hit and miss, the change machines didn't work and a couple of games were out of order we did manage a couple of famed of pool one night but the following night the pool tables were filled with tools, computers and bags of coins as an engineer was working on machines.

The shop seems a well stocked but pricey it also closes to early around 6 pm, just around the time people are arriving after a day out and in need of a few essentials they may of forgot. We didn't use the restaurant but when we used the bar there was a 1 hour wait for those wanting food.

Drinks prices seemed reasonable 2 pints of dark fruits cider and 2 halves of coke cost £10 with a free lipstick stain on my daughter's glass for good measure.

Overall a nice family friendly site in a great location with fantastic views of budle bay and holy island. Generally happy but a few points annoyed us. Kids from the caravans using the tent field for hide and seek in the dark tripping over guide lines and shining torches into tents.

Also some considerate dog owner allowed their dog to do its business near the entrance, the mess was stood in and spread about.

We look forward to our next visit and are not put off by a few minor points no site is going to be perfect 100% of the time especially during busy times of year.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: 2707marie 3 reviews from this member

Very nice site, a beautiful area but with small kids you can't really walk anywhere due to hilly narrow roads & no footpaths. Saying that if you're happy to drive locally it is well worth a visit.

A large site with sufficient showers & toilets & clean enough.

Nice kids play area & handy that it's in a central area so if on main field you may overlook it. Staff helpful though shop site is quite pricey. Also for our very large tent we had to have 2 pitches which made it quite expensive.

Finally there is no bench in the showers just hooks & there are family rooms but these only have 1 little seat which with 2 young kids made it a bit awkward. We would however happily revisit this site

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Gingawarrior 82 reviews from this member

An excellent site that ticks most of my camping boxes, just a shame it's such a long way from home.

Stopped here whilst on a mini tour of the north having rendevous’d with my mate from Edinburgh. Cannot speak highly enough of my stay here, thanks to a good site, but it was the area that really stood out and impressed me. Having traveled up from the southwest I wasn't sure what to expect of the area, it was amazing and for me rivals anywhere in our beautiful country.

Site is large and pitches are all around the edge, facilities more than adequate without being great. Friendly staff and whilst fairly busy, it didn't feel overcrowded.

Caught bus, after a short walk from site, down the coast and walked back. This part of the coast is truly magnificent, stunning and on a warm September day couldn't have been better. Visiting the imposing Bamburgh Castle and had great fish and chips in one of the pubs.

Despite this site being so far from home I will hopefully visit again one day.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kath1706 1 review from this member

We have just visited this site over the bank holiday weekend.

The campsite itself was clean the toilets and washing facilities were reasonable. However there is not a curfew or wind down time for people to go to bed. We experienced a very noisy and disrespectful family who were up with young children til 2am!

However the campsite is only a few mile from the beautiful beachs of Bamburgh and it's lovely surroundings.

Previous     161 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Bamburgh      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...





Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 16/01 to 19/01, Event City
Over 200 exhibitors with all the new 2020 models and biggest ever selection of accessories. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


12718 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar
Christmas Giveaway


Advent Calendar

A new prize every day til Christmas PLUS a grand Christmas Day Star Prize

Click to Play!