Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Waren Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Bamburgh > Waren Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Waren Caravan & Camping Park
Waren Mill
Bamburgh
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE70 7EE
Tel: 01668 214366
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 250
Open: 8th March To 2nd November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 161 Reviews
                8/10 from 161 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  161 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Julietbec 3 reviews from this member

Just got back from 5 nights at this site and we had a great time. It is a fantastic area with loads to do and see (membership of National Trust was handy as several local places- Lindisfarne Castle and Priory, Cragside house, Dustanburgh Castle were National Trust or free to members). Didn't visit Bamburgh Castle as it is about 7 for adults. Seahouses is a lovely little town- fantastic fish and chips at the Pinnacle Fish and Chip shop, and the boat rides are fun (although very choppy so definitely not for the faint-hearted or seasick!)

We enjoyed the site itself despite several drawbacks. The toilets and showers were OK, although tended to be busy and frequently without toilet paper. However, they were well-heated which was a bonus. The larger family cubicles were handy, although the style of them meant they tended to be a little messy underfoot. The shop was good and sold a range of local products as well as the usual stuff. Was very pleased to find both local bread and eggs which were delicious. Prices were as you'd expect for an onsite shop. The Splash Pool and playground looked great and there were plenty of children enjoying them.

Our main concern about the park was the noise level at night. It often went on beyond 11pm, and some groups were very inconsiderate. We were in a small tent and even had some people (children, but it seemed the adults with them found it funny) banging on our tent at around 11 one night! There were a lot of larger groups on the tenting field who naturally made more noise- most were considerate but a significant few, particularly at the weekend, showed no concern for others and made an incredible amount of noise.

We would visit this campsite again, but would perhaps avoid busier times like summer holidays. We do not go to bed particularly early ourselves, and don't mind a bit of background noise, but it really was excessive at certain times during our stay. Otherwise a nice site and lovely area.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chis5 3 reviews from this member

Love this site, been going 2 or 3 times a year for the last 4 years. Ideal for me the hubby 2 kids and 2 boxer dogs. Good walks for dogs. Lovely atmosphere, tent area usually goes quite about 10.30pm nice size pitches we have electric, wash area and toilets always clean. Have small shop which is well stocked.

Splash pool which is free great for the kids. Have pub which sells food which you can also takeaway, chips lovely! if we didn't take the kids I wouldn't move off the site! the kids like to go the beach which is 10mins away.

Bambourgh castle is about 10mins away in car. All round great site can't rave about it enough! the wardens very helpful, nothing is to much trouble, make you feel welcome, once again great site!

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Nettyneil 2 reviews from this member

We've just come back from a week on this site in a wigwam. The wigwams are very warm perhaps a little bit too cosy (ie small) but then we are used to a large tent or folding camper so perhaps we are spoilt. The views from the wigwams were amazing and the sunsets the best we've seen in this country. My 8 yr old loved the pool and going to the shop each morning for milk. The site was lovely though, quiet each night after 11. There is a dedicated shower/toilet block and kitchen dining area for those in wigwams which was fantastic and we never had to queue once. The surrounding area was stunning and will definitely be returning. Would definitely recommend this site to families who want a good site without the obligatory family entertainment offered at other sites (ie the dreaded disco or even more dire talent shows we've had to sit through in the past)

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Gingerdadgos 7 reviews from this member

Very nice site we stay in a static caravan.

We arrived on Saturday check in very easy and smooth. Our only complaint would be it was very loud on Saturday night up till about 1130. But it was quite every other night.

Daughters loved the playground which seemed to have some new equipment added either this year or late last year. They also used the splash pool, which found to be warm and usually quite after 7pm.

Shop was good some nice local products and usual price difference.

Bar/Food Bar seemed reasonable 2.70 for a pint of boddingtons. Food was good, simple menu food well prepared and no long wait. And value for money.

Local Attractions Bamburgh castle was good but not what we expected more historic house than castle inside. Parking at the top was 2.00 for all day, which we made the most off and used the beach out front which was very quite and great views to the farne islands.

Seahouse bit like Blackpool but smaller, found a good fish and chip shop and an easy cycle route from the campsite avoiding most the main roads.

Alnwick Garden was great good value for money but arrive early as the queue to buy tickets was massive.

Also visited Berwick on Tweed and Metro centre. Great site, great week

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: StokerPinder 1 review from this member

Fantastic site. They allowed a group of 3 tents to stay with 5 adults and 5 Kids. Were were pitched next to each other with masses of space. All facilities were good and clean. Kids loved the play area and splash pool. Staff very friendly and cafe provided a good Sunday lunch. We will definitely be going back. The location was good very relaxing and peaceful. There was plenty of places to visit. We went to Alnick Castle which was great for adults and kids alike. The town of Alnick also had some nice shops. There are no large supermarkets nearby so would recommend you stock up although the site shop had plenty of provisions. The site is very child friendly with a bathroom and family showers. The normal showers are a bit tight with no where to put your clothes or towels. This has been one of the best sites we have visited.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hulse1977 4 reviews from this member

Just come back from a three day stay here. The pitch was flat and roomy. Plenty of space for children to play. Although part of a caravan site it still kept the touring feel with separate fields. Weather good most days but bar area and kids games room good for the one wet day we had. Shower areas not great but have seen worse! Definitely in need of some sprucing up. Generally kept clean which was a tough job as the site appeared quite full. Really loved the surrounding area. Visited the beach, holy island and hd a nice meal in the Bluebell Inn in Belford. Overall enjoyed it and staff very friendly. Shop on site open for a long period and stocked essentials.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: DebraWoods 5 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 5 nights, 2 adults and a toddler, and had a really great time.

There are a couple of play areas for children and a large ball field for them to play on. The splash pool is lovely and warm and great for young children due to it being shallow.

The weekend was very busy and it was a little noisy in the evenings but it was always quiet by about 10pm. The weekdays were quiet all of the time, although we did go in term time so not sure what school holidays would be like!

The toilet block was a little disappointing, plenty of toilets and showers although the shower cubicles are very cramped and the toilets ran out of toilet paper 2 nights out of the 5. It was very busy at the weekend and I don't think the facilities were cleaned enough for the volume of people using them. In the week it was much better with less people on the site.

There are some 'wet rooms' in the facilities block which I would highly recommend trying to use instead of the usual showers, particularly if you want to take children in for a shower with you. These consist of a toilet, basin and open shower (just a hole in the floor type) with plenty of space.

All in all we had a fabulous time, Bamburgh and the surrounding area are stunning and I will definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Banno 4 reviews from this member

Great campsite, facilities well maintained with family shower rooms too. Boys loved the pool and the bar and shop were excellent, (food in bar quite pricey and pretty basic - oven cooked chips and microwave lasagne style!). Staff very welcoming and accommodating. Despite being full it didn't feel overcrowded and it was very quiet on the night. Large middle green area for playing ball games and 2 good play areas. Beautiful views of holy island and budle bay, bamburgh is a short walk and worth a visit - the castle never ceases to amaze. Great new indian restaurant in seahouses (spice house) and handy co-op store if need. Further afield embleton bay is beautiful with 2x 6 mile circular walks one towards craster the other towards low newton both with great pubs at the half way point. Would definitely go back but if you want to spend more time exploring the area than making use of the facilities on site than go for a cheaper more basic site.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Izzywright 1 review from this member

Lovely large park with friendly staff. Facilities nice and clean and modern. Lovely and quiet even for July. Kids loved the pool which was open all day long. Shop on site had everything you could need but was quite expensive (what camp shop isn't)

Nice walk to Bamborough. Only downside was not getting to pick my pitch - but I did book at the last minute. Would recommend and definitely return again

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Davsmith 5 reviews from this member

Just spent an enjoyable 10 nights at this site, the location is in the quiet country side and only a few minutes from Bamburgh and Seahouses and also the sandy beaches.

The site has a heated splash pool and our two small children (3 & 8)spent most mornings in there.

The staff were very friendly and it has a well stocked shop which unfortunately shuts at 5pm, our kids like an Ice cream after our evening walk.

There is an onsite restaurant and Bar which closes at 11pm but we never used this so can't comment on the food etc.

The laundry facility is very good and the main play park at the Static area is very good, the play area at the tourers is limited but there were plenty of kids all out making there own fun which kept everyone amused.

The down side to this site is the Toilet/showers, they really need a good clean and cleaned more frequently. Other campers and tourers need to clean up after themselves.

On several occasions there was no loo roll and even when you reported a blocked shower drain or urinal it could take a couple of days at least to be fixed.

We would recommend this site but be aware the toilets/showers are just acceptable.

Previous     161 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Bamburgh      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 18/02 to 23/02
Birmngham - Caravans, motorhomes, tents, folding caravans and 1000s of accessories all under one roof! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2592 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020