Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Waren Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Bamburgh > Waren Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Waren Caravan & Camping Park
Waren Mill
Bamburgh
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE70 7EE
Tel: 01668 214366
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 250
Open: 8th March To 2nd November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 161 Reviews
                8/10 from 161 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  161 in total, now showing 121 to 130                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Steveje 6 reviews from this member

Stayed before and after bank holiday weekend. The pitches appeared cramped and boggy, despite being dry for a number of days. The shower block was often dirty and the showers although hot where again cramped an had no facilities for clothes etc. There is only one shower block for 3 tent and 1 caravan fields, this was clearly inadequate when reaching capacity.
 
The 'Splash Pool' was small and reportedly heated,
although insert two small children for 15 minutes, remove and they exhibit definite signs of hypothermia - uncontrolled shivering for 30 minutes.
 
The play area as ideal for viewing the children. Although a number of inconsiderate dog owners allowed there dogs to roamed around the site off the lead and onto the play area.
 
I had two solar awning lights stolen during one night.
 
Overall I was disappointed with this site and won't be returning.
 
On a positive note the Northhumberland coastline is simply stunning !  

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Duckers 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from Waren, my views have been slightly tainted by the fact we has a very poor pitch probably the worst on site.
 The good points
Good toilet facilities
Great childrens play area
Good bar and food
Great location
The bad points
The "overflow field" possibly for larger tents was left uncut
The Water supply was surrounded by overflowing rubbish bins(they were emptied upon complaining).
Our pitch was next  to the rubbish bins
The pitches were not policed, that is to say some people would pitch their tent, then pitch their gazebo where their car should go and park the car in front of tent, I felt I was camping in a car park.
 
I must say if we had been on another field there would not have been any problem,. If booking make sure you get a pitch near the facilities. Having said all that we had a great holiday.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: S lockey 2 reviews from this member

Stayed at Warren Mill for 2 nights, what can I say, it was excellent. The club house was good and meals were nice.
We had lovely weather so the kids took full advantage of the lovely swimming pool.
Toilet blocks were clean and lovely and warm.
Nice park for the kids as well.
The location is good for Seahouses and Bambrough.
The shop on the site is very well stocked and all the staff very friendly.
Definetly returning.

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The Lants 8 reviews from this member

Visited here as first camping trip with kids who are aged 11 & 8. What can I say. Truely excellent site. All facilties are tremndous. Even the outdoor pool ( according to kids anyway) the steam coming off told me enough about the pool to outside temp ratio! Takeaway on site was very handy when arriving a little later like we did,also very reasonable prices.

Pitches were very spacious, we had x2 12 man tents and still had plenty of room between us. Big kids play area in middle of site and loads of little nooks and crannies with plenty for kids to run off and explore Shower block was free, and although pretty much covered with grass inside I can only assume this was because of the pitch areas just being mowed.
Very warm inside and water spot on with temp etc. Big area for washing dishes.

All in all, an excellent site which is well worth a visit.

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Muckletoon 1 review from this member

We found Waren Mill caravan & camping park to be very enjoyable. Staff were extremely helpful, and facilities were as good as we have had on any site we have been to. Touring area fairly large, with hard standing and grass pitches available. Free hot showers with no time limit! Shop, bar and office all well run and very friendly. Only four dish washing sinks but this was never a problem. Noise levels at night time were no problem, all quiet after 11pm. We will definitely return.

We would recommend to everyone!

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: S + S Robinson 1 review from this member

I won't attempt to give a description of the site, as the previous reviewer does that pretty extensively, with just a few small errors [e.g. No of water points]. What I will say is that this is a great site in a very nice location, costing us around 14 £pn.

We were two adults with two small girls and our visit of a week commenced on the Monday of the bank holiday. Considering that most sites have been comprehensively trashed during BH weekends we were surprised at what good condition the place was in. Everything worked: water; showers [hot water is too plentiful & hot if anything!] and was clean. Yes there were a few blades of grass in the showers, but hey this is camping, right?

Except for the clubhouse, which is fairly basic [but very handy in bad weather] there are no pubs within walking distance, unless you include Bamburgh, which is a nice but fairly lengthy walk across the fields if all you want is a beer. On hostelry's, We can recommend the Lindisfarne Inn [at the turn off to Lindisfarne causeway].

Site was in very good condition & appears well run. Everything worked, except apparently some of the EHU points around the perimeter of the main field. Reducing the no of available pitches for softies like us who like some home comforts!.

One great features of this site is the location. The surrounding countryside has a fair few footpath's, so given good weather, taking the kids for ramble is great fun, particularly across the fields & golf course to the lovely quiet beach on Budle bay about 2K away [well within the attention span of my youngsters!].

Highly recommend this site & will hopefully return.

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Scorpion_ne_uk 3 reviews from this member

Stayed at this site Easter 2007 with our trailer tent and my pregnant wife, and we enjoyed our stay very much despite a lot of problems which I will mention later. There were 2 parties with 2 adults and 1 child each. The site is split into three separate areas and also has a large Static Caravan & wooden lodge area which are separated from the touring areas. The touring area has a separate reception which makes the check in process much easier.

There is a large caravan/Motor home area in which the caravans are stacked 2 deep around the field perimeter with and area in the middle which can be used by the children. Situated behind is the large tent field and there is a smaller overflow area before you reach the caravan field usually for overnight stops or late arrivals. The tent field is spacious enough and each pitch is individually marked so you cannot go wrong.

There are water points, one at each end of the field for easy access. The toilet/shower blocks were very large and all heated. There are 4 pan washing sinks at the end of the toilet block. Family shower rooms are also available and each has a shower,sink and toilet (ideal for parents with younger children like us). The sitea lso has a small outdoor pool which is open from May bank holiday and is heated until September. There is a small bar/restaurant located beside the pool, mainreception and shop at the site entrance.

The site itself was good and would have been better if there had not been any problems. The surrounding area of Bamburgh and Sea-houses are wonderful and there are frequent trips by boat to the Farne Islands for the bird sanctuaries. Holy Island is less than 2 miles away and isaccessible by car when the tide permits a crossing.

Now for the BAD bits For the price of £20 pernight without EHU I personally think this is not good value especially with the problems we had. We were disappointed due to the fact that there had been problems with the water supply and the shower block supplies which apparently (according to a static resident) happe nfrequently on Bank holidays. The drinking water taps worked sporadically and for short periods of time so bottled water was given out if you asked for it. The shower only worked twice during the entire weekend and only once was the water hot enough to actually have a shower. This was not good considering we have a 3 year old daughter who can get very mucky at times. The toilets were also getting blocked and were not cleaned enough due to the lack of water for flushing. We did get reimbursed for one nights stay only after complaining to the site manager.

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rbx1 8 reviews from this member

Stayed for a few days at this site and the only criticism was that the showers were full off grass. It would be better had the site owners picked up the cuttings as they cut the grass on the playing fields in the first place . A mop in the showers would have helped. Young couple in reception were great, helpful and friendly. We had one night spoilt with a group of 15 or so drinking and being very loud into the small hours. We all know the words to the "Blaydon Races" now! The site warden curtailed it after this. Would book up and recommend this site again. The beaches and scenery in this area are outstanding. There's a big castle just down the road as well!

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mr Bell 1 review from this member

We have just returned from Warren Caravan Site. It was very good, all the facilities were fantastic. (The Toilet Block on Touring Area was THE BEST I HAVE EXPERIENCED ! I have been to a few.!) The only thing I could suggest is that a mop and bucket be placed in the Showers to clean the floor after someone has been in before.)
We were in a tent in the tent field, which was excellent, lots of room on the pitch, but as we were leaving lots of people turned up ready for the Bank holiday weekend so I cannot comment on the noise level. But during the week all noise levels were kept to a minimum and we enjoyed a peaceful week.
All in all we enjoyed the whole week and the site was BRILLIANT !
A must for the whole family. The Staff very friendly and helpful.
Lots to see around the area.
 

Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Morag MacDoodle 20 reviews from this member

This site is fantastic for families.
Outdoor pool, bar, restaurant and nice big play areas.
The children play in the middle of all the tents and caravans and that's important to us. We can see them all the time.
Shop is well stocked and staff are friendly.
General appearance of the facilities is up to date.
The toilet block has a family area where you can have a bath of all things. Unheard of in most of the sites we have been before.
Will definetely be returning this year.

Previous     161 Reviews in total, now showing 121 to 130      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Bamburgh      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 16/01 to 19/01, Event City
Over 200 exhibitors with all the new 2020 models and biggest ever selection of accessories. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2207 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020