Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Waren Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Bamburgh > Waren Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Waren Caravan & Camping Park
Waren Mill
Bamburgh
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE70 7EE
Tel: 01668 214366
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 250
Open: 8th March To 2nd November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 161 Reviews
                8/10 from 161 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  161 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MikeandMarilyn 6 reviews from this member

This was our first stopover for two nights on our way back from Scotland. It was very quiet as there were only 2 other units on the touring site. I would imagine it would be very busy in high season as this is a lovely park with good facilities. Not too sure about the proximity of local pubs/shops as we had already been into Seahouses (15 minutes drive away) to buy supplies. The toilets/showers were impeccably clean and we found the staff in reception and the shop very friendly and helpful. We ate in the restaurant one night and found the food good value for money. We wandered around the site and found a beautiful small nature reserve with fantastic views to Lindesfarne. The coastal walk is signposted nearby and it's only a 15 minute walk down to the beach. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and wished we'd booked for longer instead of driving further south to another park for a further 2 nights. We loved the location and will definitely be coming back.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rae rae 1 review from this member

We stayed at waren mill for two nights and it was lovely.

Was my sons first time camping and he really enjoyed it.

The shop on site was well stocked and a very pleasant lady on the till.

The reception staff were very helpful.

The playgrounds were lovely for the kids however not great for toddlers (my son aged 22 months) as was full of older children hogging everything and not many things he could play on but wonderful for older kids.

Lots of space and I really liked the separate area for tents as it was quieter.

Only downfalls were the pool on site was great in theory but water was freezing. My son and nephew literally dipped in it and couldn't stay in too long.

The bar area is good, clean and spacey however they didn't serve breakfast till 9. 30am and food times were not great.

The shop closed at 5pm on weekends and there isn't many shops nearby unless you drive into seahouses which is 10mins away.

We were also told that a member of staff would come and check everything is ok when we were pitching our tent. He never actually came to say hello or see if we needed anything although I did see him helping and welcoming other guests :-s so this was a bit disappointing and the only time he did say anything was to give a bit of attitude when I parked in someone's spot for five mins as ours was taken by another car and we had a large tent that had to be erected.

Overall we did enjoy our stay thank you.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Masha 10 reviews from this member

Wonderful site! My family and I (2 adults, 3 children) stayed here for 5 nights during a really hot July.

The site is ideally located a couple of miles off the A1 in a beautiful area of the UK. The views were truely stunning and the campsite was clean, well maintained, friendly and relaxing.

The site comprises of 2 camping fields, a static caravan park (away from the camping fields), at least 2 playparks (and other little ones), a restaurant, shop, heated outdoor pool, games room immaculate toilets, showers, laundry area and washing up area.

I was worried that the site might be like one of those parks with cheesy entertainment but it wasn't at all. It has the facilities of those type of parks, but much cleaner and well maintained.

We were given a pitch. It maybe would have been nice to be able to choose, but our pitch was good anyway. The grass was of good quality and the ground was flat.

The toilets and showers were the cleanest I have seen at a campsite. There were also 6 family shower rooms. One of them even had a bath. The water was nice and hot and the pressure was fine.

The pool was great. There was a shallow splash pool (suitable for our 2 year old) and then a little slope, like a slide into a deeper pool that you could swim in (suitable for the rest of us).

The games room was full of lots of arcade games and a pool table. We didn't use it as the weather was great.

The restaurant and bar overlooked the pool. I did feel a bit self conscious when in the pool as it was so overlooked. There wasn't many adults in the pool and I think that was the reason. However, on the flip side, it was nice to enjoy a drink and watch our older 2 having fun in the pool.

The food in the restaurant was cheap to buy but of surprising good quality. They had lots of deals on for different nights. We ate there on a Wednesday night and the kids all ate for free.

The playparks were good and there was something for all ages.

There was also a walk you could do all around the park which was lovely and we enjoyed lovely views on it.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. On our first day a very helpful lady in the reception recommended lots of places to visit and gave us vouchers for some places.

The lady in the shop was also very nice and helpful as well and a credit to the park.

I really can't think of any real negatives, and if you read other reviews I have written I usually can comment on a few!

By the end of the holiday I really felt like I had had a holiday. Just wonderful as I am a busy mum with 3 youngish children and a hubbie too!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Altan 8 reviews from this member

Just returned from 2 nights on this camp site after reading the reviews on this site, and we hated it.

the site was packed when we arrived even getting to the site reception was difficult with kids riding bikes with little or no road sense. 10mph for cars but any speed if your a cycle.

check in was easy and directed to our pitch on the ADULT only section. The pitches are very small and tight. to call it a adult only section is a bit of a laugh, this bit of the site is situated just above the main campsite and play area and is a shortcut for all the kids and there were plenty of them, going to and from the main bar and pool areas as well as a additional play area.

this site has an 11pm curfew for noise but there were still small children running around our tent at midnight. Tripping over and pulling out our guide ropes 2 even tried to take a shortcut through our tent.

the toilet and shower block are small for the size of the site 4 male and 4 female showers for 250 pitches. However we did find them always clean and well kept.

over all this is a family site with most people being in large group in 2 or 3 large tents allowing their kids to run around the site unchecked until what ever time they want.

the people who run the site seemed happy to allow this to continue.

will not be returning

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jack_igm 30 reviews from this member

Stayed here as a stop over for 1 night and really had a great time. Facilities and site are excellent and staff are very friendly and helpful.

Toilets are spotless, and they have the play park in the middle of the campsite so kids are able to be seen from most pitches.

Seemed a very safe and child friendly site.

They have an outdoor swimming pool although we never tried it as only there for 1 night and it was very busy. Good well stocked shop located at reception.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Geowann 5 reviews from this member

A superb site, well laid out, good of every one, great for families, also good location a 15 min walk to deserted Budel bay, 5 min drive to Bambough castle and a few more minutes to Seahouses and Beadnell, what more can I say, lots of toilets wash basins and showers great laundry and pot area, all very modern and clean, friendly, loads of children's play areas, paddling pool house and shop, impressive dog walking area around the outskirts of the site, spectacular views, best book early at this site as its understandably very popular.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Coll26 10 reviews from this member

We stayed for a weekend in one of the wigwam pods which were surprisingly cosy! Each one has bench with fridge, sockets, wall heater and platform and mattress for bed area sleeping upto 5. Outside you also had a picnic bench.

What was really nice is that the wigwams all benefitted from their own utility block containing separate loos and showers (push button but always hot and free), and a lovely kitchen area which contained table, chairs, 2 x hobs, kettles, microwaves and toasters. There was also a launderette within the same block too.

The site itself is easy to find and well signed, and the lady on reception was very friendly and welcoming explaining about the facilities and opening/closing times. There is a shope which has everything you may need if you forget (we forgot a corkscrew!), loads of info on local area and attractions within reception area, bar and restaurant (we didn't visit during our stay but always looked busy) which also did take away food, though we weren't too impressed at the takeaway fish n chips very overcooked. There is also plenty 2-3 play areas for children which were great, games room and children's splash pool.

We had a walk around site and all very well kept, the touring fields had own facilities block and were fairly busy too. There are statics on site but we didn't feel we were overun by them as they are well spaced out around various areas.

Ideal to stay at this site for families in and out of season, plenty to do whether you stay or take advantage of the many beaches and attractions around the area.

We will definitely return both in the pods again and with our tent when the weather improves! As an extra note we found the wigwams the cheapest we have come across too, especially bearing in mind the facilities on offer.

Big thumbs up from a small family with a 4 year old and dog (good dog walk too!)

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lesleyangela 3 reviews from this member

I stayed just a night. I found the reception staff very helpful, the toilets and showers seemed fine to me. I was surprised the shop and reception all closed at 5pm.

There is an 'adults only' area which appealed to us, and that was quieter than the rest of the campsite. However the club house was full of kids which is fine if your kids are there. But the site isn't in walking distance of anything, so in the end we rustled something together for an evening meal.

I actually prefer campsites without club houses so this type of camp site didn't particularly appeal, but if you want a site with lots going on then this would be for you.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: TAJB 1 review from this member

A lovely week spoiled only by thoughtless campers who partied into the night for a couple of nights and made it difficult to get children to bed before midnight -- also ignorant bunch who seemed to encourage their dogs to bark at all hours. Nevertheless, we'd recommend the site !

The staff were friendly and able to deal with any requests quickly and efficiently. We didn't complain re the noise -- and when the birthday boy's family had gone the nights were better. A lot of folk grumbled about it but, like me, were worried about flat tyres !

The site was excellent in many ways -- from the 'van we were able to see the grandchildren at all times -- they loved the site and can't wait to revisit. The pool was adequate and the central grass area of the main site kept them busy at games etc for ages.

The area around Bambrough is fantastic and we did all the normal tourist things -- Seahouses, Lindisfarne ( where the kids destroyed a horde of invading vikings -- BRILLIANT ! )

Neptune's fish and chips was good ( a sight better than Lewis' around the corner)

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Caroline Martin 1 review from this member

Stayed here last week. All in all was a good site. The pitch was large, Infact to be fair we took up more room than we should but as the pitch next to us was empty there was no complaints. We entered the site on arrival, Checked in and was never bothered again. The toilets were clean & tidy however, Think it could be a little better. May be if people left them clean it would be better for the next person but unfortunatly there are always the odd few that Don't care to much about Cleanliness. Loved the big shower rooms. Wash up sinks I feel could be more sheltered but always HOT water. The family pool was excellant if you have children. Spent a few hours in the club house. Prices were good. JD & Coke 2. 50 WHICH MADE ME HAPPY!:) The shop was well stocked but as youexspect over priced. Site location was excellant. Some fabulous walks, Also along the coast line. Overall. Had a grat time and the site I recommend. No problems at all.

Previous     161 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Bamburgh      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 18/02 to 23/02
Birmngham - Caravans, motorhomes, tents, folding caravans and 1000s of accessories all under one roof! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2846 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020