Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Keswick > Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park
Castlerigg
(lake District)
Keswick
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA12 4TE
Tel: 017687 74499
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 163
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 179 Reviews
                9/10 from 179 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  179 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Happy camper 81 7 reviews from this member

 Had a few excellent days here last summer. Although we arrived to find the 'site full' sign out the owner said if we could find a space we were welcome. Gladly we managed to find a spot that wasn't on too much of a slope.

The facilities are excellent, very modern and clean. Although the site was very busy when we were here I never had to queue.

The on-site shop is very good and reasonably priced. We didn't eat in the restaurant but did go along for their take away pizza night - brilliant!

There is a path next to the site which takes you into Keswick (about a 20 min walk downhill).

Keswick itself is lovely. Lots to do and lots of nice little shops. In fact the whole area is very beautiful.

Owners were very pleasant helpful.

Unfortunately one night we were here we had some rowdy neighbours. First thing the next morning the owner came and evicted them. Was very impressed with this. They obviously aren't just all about the money and do care about the experience of their well behaved guests.

I would definetely return to this site. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bcam 13 reviews from this member

 Have been trying to get to this site for a while and finally managed it and was not disappointed!

It is advertised as 'the site with the view' and they certainly weren't lying, excellent views of the mountains and lake, it was lovely to sit outside at night and take it all in.

The site is 'layered' with pitches on different levels down the hill but this is fine, You may need to unhitch your van on some of the tiered pitches as I found it quite tight on pitch F to manoeuvre my van into position, but this wasn't really a problem as the road is level with the pitch so I was able to just unhitch and push the van in!

The main toilet/shower block is very clean bright and modern with good showers that have a sink in each cubicle too which is excellent.

The Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Nothing really to fault with the site I was very pleased with it and will most certainly be returning! 


Date of Visit: November 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Motley 26 reviews from this member

 We spent the last week of the season here and honestly I'm finding it hard to fault it.

Amazing site with amazing views. Toilets were spotless and a good little shop.

Stacks to do in the area. Boating on Derwentwater, standing stones at Castlerigg, lovely market town, a bit geared up to walkers, hardly a fault though, with some great pubs for eating out.

If I could make 2 negatives, it would be the long walk to the chemical disposal point if you are at the top of the hill, and the fact that the lake cannot be accessed from the site, hardly the site owners fault though.

We did see people crossing the private fields to gain access to the lake, no wonder campers have a bad name.

All in all, 10/10 


Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sanhozay 10 reviews from this member

 An excellent site overall, with excellent facilities and friendly, helpful staff.

Toilets, showers, etc. Are top-quality caravan site class facilities. Very clean and well appointed. The only criticism would be a stale-smelling pot wash room in the block adjoining the tent field to the right of the reception block. Push-button showers, automatic taps, push-down taps, etc.

Shop is well stocked and reasonably priced for a campsite shop. The on-site restaurant 'Jiggers' is reasonable quality pub-grub chain type food - scampi & chips, lasagne, pasta, pizza, etc.

The Crag Bar is your local. It adjoins the hotel next door. Vegetarian food only. Nice evening haven if the walk into Keswick doesn't appeal, although the cask beer is far too chilled. Keswick about 10-15 minutes down the often steep and stony footpath, which you'll find through a gate by the little layby just the other side of the hotel.

The camping fields themselves are quite sloped with not many flat pitches if that is going to cause you a problem. Obviously the ground was a little damp and soggy at the end of October but it stood up to a solid night of heavy rain without any standing water.

Very attractive views over to Derwent Water and Catbells to the west, Skiddaw to the north. It's true that trees block the view somewhat but they break up the wind too and it's pleasant to walk around discovering new vistas through the trees.

Good local walking. Walla Crag and Castlerigg Stone Circle of course, plus the higher fells within striking distance. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Spacebunny 1 review from this member

 This is a lovely and well maintained site with excellent facilities. Try and get a pitch at the top of the site as there are some lovely views to be had of Derwentwater. Has a handy shop, and the staff are very helpful and friendly. I left something on our pitch, and it was returned to me in the post. Anywhere that has cute kittens in the office gets a thumbs up from me! Up hill walk from town, but the route can be off road through a nice wood. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Carlpart 2 reviews from this member

 Just had a great 3 night break at this camp site. Had one of the 7 pitches without a water tap and waste grid. These pitches are next to the camping field and adjacent to the toilet block and have very limited views, unlike the main Touring area which must have one of the best views in the lake district. This did not effect our enjoyment at all and would happily return to the non-service pitches.

Great walks directly from camp site, the walk back from Keswick through the woods was very exciting for our 2 and 4 year old.

The only fault I could see with the site is that there appears to be no waist water disposal anywhere. I ended up using the Camping field's drinking water area - a bit unfair for the campers ! 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Beeton 25 reviews from this member

 Had two nights here in September 2009 in VW campervan, a tent and my border collie. Really fantastic views over Derwentwater and very dog-friendly - good walk very near site entrance.

Steeply sloping site with level hardstanding pitches - mostly with hook up and water. Touring pitches mixed in with statics. Toilets fine didn't use shower. On-site shop had useful stuff and pub next door to site entrance had OK veggie food.

Advance booking good idea as pitches with the best views go early - I heard a few 2010 bookings being taken when I was there.

Staff helpful and friendly - check in etc efficient and well-organised. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jonnytentpeg 1 review from this member

 My girlfriend and I have been on several occasions (through the 2008 and 2009 seasons) and have always had a great time. We don't mind the walk to and from Keswick even when a bit tipsy! but a few oldies have mentioned it can be a bit of a pain. Don't let it put you off some people do mind some people don't. The plus side of being slightly out of the town is that you're already on the foot of a lot of walks that lead around Keswick . The views are fantastic from the site and you really feel as though you're in amongst the fells and hills.

The staff are great folks, they're very helpful with tips, local knowledge and quite surprising their personal weather forecasts, which are usually spot on. The amenities are good, clean and work well (but do take some 50 and 20 pence pieces for the very HOT showers as they are coin operated). We got this site recommended by a friend and have never looked back for a great, cheap site around Keswick . Happy camping.:) 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Heatherm 1 review from this member

 We've just spent 5 nights here. A wonderful location, some pitches have views over the lake but even the ones without the views in amongst the trees were pleasant. The only problem was that most of the pitches were also on a slope! In fact there were very few flat pitches, which would be my only criticism of this site.

Other than that it was great in every way.

The toilet block in the main tent area was immaculate. In addition the showers were spacious and free, there was always plenty of hot water (and no queues) and the underfloor heating was very welcome!

The camp shop was reasonably priced and well stocked (including local produce).

And the campers kitchen was a great facility - you could use the kettle, toaster and freezer (for ice packs only) free of charge and there was plenty of seating and tables if you wanted to eat inside.

Didn't try either the on site restaurant or the pub next door, so can't comment on these.

Overall very good value for money and would definitely go back. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hc123 3 reviews from this member

 This is an amazing campsite about 2 miles outside of Keswick which is roughly 30 mins walk.

It has stunning views and in the most beautiful location.

There is a very strict rule about there being no noise after 10.30 p.M, which we found to be fantastic after some really rowdy campsites we have visited.

There is a small bar next door to the campsite which is really friendly.

Toilet and shower block were absolutely immaculate and were cleaned throughout the day.

A really lovely site can't wait to return. 


Previous     179 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Keswick      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5708 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement