Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Keswick > Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park
Castlerigg
(lake District)
Keswick
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA12 4TE
Tel: 017687 74499
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 163
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 179 Reviews
                9/10 from 179 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  179 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Flynniesmam 14 reviews from this member

 Stayed 3 nights mid July managed to get much sought after pitch 10 (last minute cancellation), one of the best pitches for views. Have stayed here several times over the years and honestly can not fault it.

It is easy to find,good access road,it can get busy at the entrance area as it is now a key pad barrier to enter, new arrivals have to register before they can get through barrier so this blocks the entrance for customers already on site. It would be a good idea for them to make a parking area for new arrivals so entrance is kept free.

Easy downhill walk through the woods into Keswick approx 25mins,great for dogs off lead,but have caution as there are steep drops down to the river if you have a daft dog like us with no sense keep them on lead until path levels out. If you cant manage the uphill walk back to site take the bus from Keswick center ( Grasmere, Windermere, Kendall bus ) ask the driver for Castlerigg campsite he will stop on main road just by the lane,then a short 5 min walk to site entrance.( you can take a dog on bus -no charge )

Would not recommend to eat in the pub at site entrance ,it has a vegetarian menu only and is not good quality, they do however allow dogs in the bar so good for a pint or two. The restaurant on site 'Jiggers' is a good place to eat,you have to book as gets very busy.

There is also another place to eat on campsite next door ( castlerigg farm ) we didn't try it but spoke to fellow campers who did and highly recommended it.

The shower / toilet block adjacent to right handside tent field is the best, heated floors separate cubicle to shower in so your clothes don't get wet, very clean at all times, we were there at peak season and didn't see any queues, pot washing area was under cover and again spotless.

Dont be put off if site says they are fully booked try a couple of days before you want to stay as I think they get a lot of last minute cancellations when people see the weather forecast. We tried to book for several dates in summer 2011 and already the higher pitches are fully booked.

If you like the lake district, walking and views you really can not go wrong staying here, its just perfect. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Clairvic 2 reviews from this member

 I totally agree with the comments that jamsie423 is saying. The view from the entrance of the camp site is amazing.BUT when we got to our pitches (21,22) it was terrible surrounded by weeds and stinging nettles,

The view was a load of thick bushes and trees. We also have two dogs and were expecting to find a nice dog walk, what a joke the dog walk on the touring side of the site was so overgrown you couldn't even open the gate. The weeds were taller than my 4 year old daughter. If it was cut it was no wider than my caravan and no longer than 60ft. We found the dog walk in camping field to be roughly the same size full of trees and very hard to walk around it. When we asked about the dog walk we were told to take the dogs out of the site.

The nearest toilet block to us was terrible. Had to go to the camping field for showers and toilets. Wont be going back there. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Broadway54 1 review from this member

 Having received the brochure we were really looking forward to visiting this site. Overall I can agree with previous comments, ie Bus stop close by, views are great (from the right pitches which are limited.) There is also a well stocked shop.

However in our opinion just a couple of things let this site down (which was backed up by another couple who came over to us and who felt disappointed).

As we were parked close to a toilet block, we used this first on arrival. This was dark, gloomy and all the toilets had dark brown water in them (I entered 2 different toilet cubicles before I realised that it was the water that was being used which was very darkly discoloured! I believe this was from a private supply possibly owing to a recent water shortage in the area?) The water that came from the outside tap was also brown in colour and people filling their containers went off with rather mirky looking water! I was therefore extremely relieved to find that the main block which contained the showers, laundry room, etc was quite the opposite and was immaculate. However, they should really update that toilet block as it does let the site down.

On entering the site barrier there is nowhere to park caravans/motorhomes whilst registering arrival with reception. Therefore other vehicles trying to get in are stacked up in the narrow lane and have to wait there until the new arrival checks in. The staff do try and get this done as quickly as possible but it can be a bit troublesome.

The pitches in our row could have done with a tidy up, weeding basically, and were not up to the normal standard of other similar rated sites.

It wouldn't take much to improve just these couple of things which in our opinion let it down. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: EJAG 4 reviews from this member

 This campsite is the best I've been to! My son & I came for 2 nights & loved it.

It has fantastic views of derwentwater, a very well stocked shop and a great big recreation field for the children to play. The toilets, wash cubicles & showers are the best I've been in. We were in a camping pod on the tent field so used the facilities there - there were 4 showers in the ladies - they were like individual little bathrooms rather than cubicles - they each had a bench, sink & separate shower area (no annoying shower curtains that stick to you).

I took my little boy in with me & there was loads of room so I wasn't struggling to get us both washed / dried & clothes actually managed to remain dry unlike some campsites I've been in! There is also a security gate so no one can freely drive in.

The pod was a very good price compared to other sites & this included a heater, lighting & plug sockets which other sites don't provide.

We ate in Jiggers on site. I had lasagne which was a large portion with a large salad & garlic bread - all very lovely. My son had a pizza but he wasn't that keen on it. The service was quick & the ladies very helpful / friendly.

The only down side to this site is that you cannot prebook tent sites! It would be a nightmare if you drive a long distance on a friday teatime with children & to find you can't get in! I would love to come back to this site again but with a tent but am reluctant to take the risk it will be full. I have however already recommended the pods to a friend. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jamsie423 6 reviews from this member

 After reading most of the previous reviews about this site there's not a great deal I could disagree with but here's a few things to be aware of if you do visit.

On arrival the poster at the entrance states 'The site with the view' - this is a joke, don't get me wrong the view from the entrance is stunning and apart from 8-10 pitches the view is non existent, unless you want to view it through thick trees. The site is on quite a steep slope and if your unfortunately put at the bottom of the site (which we were and with absolutely no view at all) and you need to go to the toilet block, showers, waste bins, chemical disposal or on-site shop then its quite a climb as your not allowed to use your vehicle to commute around the site.

The site is not quite as clean and tidy as some people have mentioned, the pitch we were on was completely overrun with weeds, bushes etc. And the remnants from the previous visitor to the pitch were still lying around.

The 'dog run' turned out to be the grass edging on the side of the road, which I may add did not allow your dog to be off the lead - not what I would call a dog 'run'. Apparently there was another dog run beside the camping field but myself and 2 other groups could not find it.

When we were there, the site restaurant was only open for anyone who wanted breakfast as the site staff were manning it due to a staff mass walk-out.

All in all it turned out to be a bit disappointing compared to other fantastic sites in the Lake district but not one I would care to visit again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Morganminshaw 2 reviews from this member

 On the plus side the facilities were modern and the park was very clean, the staff were friendly and the on site shop provided a good choice of items. On entering the site the word WOW didn't do justice to the view over Derwent Water, this was the view that lured us in from the lane, its just a pity the site shop and reception had the best views.

A very handy pub is at the site entrance and is open to the public (think it was called the Heights Hotel), the pub was small but had a seating area in the garden outside, the hotel is open too all visitors from the Hall site and the farm camp site and can get very busy. The site is only 25 minutes walk down through the woods to Keswick town and there is a good bus service from the end of the lane.

On the minus side we found the entrance to the site could get congested with visitors booking in this results in a tailback down the lane which gets blocked as in places its too narrow for vehicles to pass.

Touring caravans and statics had the best views, the only flat area at the top of the camp field had been made in to pitches for touring caravans which left the area for tents on a considerable slope. We also felt disappointed with the lack of view from the camp field, all we could see was the mountain tops over the trees and hedges, no lake view for us.

We tried out the on site Jiggers Restaurant but unfortunately the food was not to be recommend. We spoke to some fellow campers who were in the same opinion but they told us to try the Hayloft over at the Castlerigg Farm Campsite which we did and it was so good we returned and had a wonderful breakfast the following morning.

All in all the Hall site was a lovely place, I cant fault the facilities but next time we plan to try Castlerigg Farm across the lane as their tent pitches are not on such a slope and the views from the camp fields are much better, we also liked the farm's Silence rule. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dave7896 4 reviews from this member

 We just spent 3 nights here, and had paid for a fourth but it was forecast for a lot of rain, and I didn't fancy packing away in that!

Anyway, this site is great! The views are outstanding, and the sunset over Bassenthwaite last night was amazing (half the site were out photographing it).

The site is immaculately clean, and the toilet block on the camping field is no exception. There is a very handy camper's kitchen with free ice block freezing, hobs, toasters, and kettles. There's also what appeared to be free wifi available in there.

As others have said, the staff are very friendly and helpful, and the shop is quite good.

The on site restaurant (Food @ Jiggers) is a little bit on the dear side, but as it was my son's birthday I took him anyway. The food and service were fantastic!

There's a big recreation field for kids (and adults) to play on, and this makes the whole site feel fun and relaxed.

The 2nd day we were there was quite windy. You could really feel it gusting on the recreation field. However, the camping field is very sheltered with lots of trees, and the wind was totally unnoticable. Big bonus!

I honestly can't recommend this site enough. If you're looking for a well kept site, with views that descriptions/photos can never do justice to, with excellent service as well, you can't go wrong!

The only negative thing I can find about it, is that they don't allow advance bookings. I arrived at 9 am on the Friday of the bank holiday weekend, and there was enough room. By midday, the site was full! If you intend to go at peak periods, go early! 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mk Ann 3 reviews from this member

 Just returned from Castlerigg Hall we loved it here because

1. Great views of Derwent water and surrounding Mountains

2, Fantastic showers very clean with underfloor heating.

3. Well maintained site

4. Great restaurant

5. Shop with friendly staff

6. Fantastic area for walking

You may guess we will be back again

Ps don't tell too many people as we wont get booked in ! 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MalPal 9 reviews from this member

 Wow what a find, This caravan site really is a must. The views over the Lake are awesome. The toilet and shower facilities are second to none and better than some four star hotels!

The site itself is kept extremely tidy and a big thumbs up to the groundsmen. Dogs are allowed on site and although we are not dog lovers they were not a problem as they were all kept on leads and not allowed to roam, also the bistro looks lovely although we did not get chance to use it this time but will definitely give it a try on our next visit.

The staff are extremely pleasant and go out of their way to help you. The higher site pitches have some of the best views that we have ever seen, although if we couldn't get one of these pitches it would not deter us from going.  


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The red one 7 reviews from this member

 Visted Castlerigg in May with 4 adults and 4 kids.The toilets and showers are top drawer,clean and well maintained throughout our stay. Good washing facilities for cutlery and clothes. Beautiful views from site,which is on a slight slope.

Good base for some nice walks but not to much for the kids to do.Mine are 6 and 7.Nice welcome by warders, showed us where to find everything on the supplied site map, and never bothered you after that.

Castlerigg stone circle was a walk we did, about a mile round trip ending in town for us. Kids were done in so we got the bus back to site which kindly dropped us outside the path.No playground for kids. 


Previous     179 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Keswick      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5650 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement