Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lake District & Cumbria > Keswick > Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park > Reviews

Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park
Castlerigg
(lake District)
Keswick
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA12 4TE
Tel: 017687 74499
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 163
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 199 Reviews
                9/10 from 199 Reviews

Photos (27)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  199 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: October 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rob39 9 reviews from this member

 After our booking at Keswick CCC was cancelled due to flooding, a quick scramble to find another site at short notice found us heading to castlerigg hall. And we were not disappointed

Pitch 22 saw us overlooking the Derwent and the fells, large gravel pitch EHU water and grey waste.

Site is immaculate, check in was seem less and a member of staff showed us to our pitch.

Reasonably sized site, immaculately kept, 2 shower blocks on site, Elsan and motorhome waste point. Also has a small shop and a pizza van visits a few times a week.

2 toilet blocks are immaculate 3 large shower units 3 toilets, 3 sinks and always a fresh mop bucket and mop available to clean the showers after use.

Castlerigg sit above Keswick with a short walk through the site down hill into the town, around 20 mins or a 30 min walk by road. Be warned the walk back is steep in places.

Site is well situated for many walks and a lovely trek over to castlerigg stone circle is worth the effort

Overall a great site, not cheap but worth it 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Cavarno 3 reviews from this member

 Nothing to dislike.

Lovely well laid out spacious site with multiple choices of pitches at differing prices.

You pays your money and takes your choice. We chose a tiny pitch to suit our small campervan. We couldn't see another unit but had a superb view all for £27.

Lovely staff with the right attitude. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Duncan 1 review from this member

 Excellent site very quiet and peaceful,

Very good range of facilities kept very clean and lovely hot showered.

Each pitch was spacious and well maintained.

Nothing to dislike at all 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Stroller75 2 reviews from this member

 A well kept, quiet site.

Parts of the site are terraced. Many pitches have fell top views.

The facilities were clean and well maintained.

Several walk from the site through woods, down to lake, to Stone circle or Walla Crag.

Short drive or can walk (uphill coming back)to Keswick where there are shops restaurants etc. 


Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Andy456 2 reviews from this member

 This was our second time at castlergg & it doesn't disappoint the view is fantastic.

Toilet and showers are spotless well stocked shop,

20 minute off road walk in to Keswick but it is steep the bus back stops at the end of the lane if you can't make it.

Excellent base for walking in the lakes. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: CampervanGill 9 reviews from this member

 A very well organised and clean tidy campsite with good facilities and level pitches. Thereís an on site reception and shop that sells the basics.

A 40 minute walk into Keswick where there are plenty of cafes pubs, outdoor shops, a Booths supermarket and the famous Pencil Museum!

I chose this campsite because I was the organiser for a group of friends who donít have a campervan like me so they were able to stay on this campsite in the camping Ďpodsí.

This site is ideally situated for walking straight from your accommodation - we walked to castlerigg Stone Circle, Ashness Bridge and walked down to the ferry to cross the Lake and walked Catbells.

The views from the campsite of the lake and surrounding mountains are beautiful.

Altogether a great campsite and I will definitely return again! 


Date of Visit: May 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Wallab 1 review from this member

 This has to be one of the best sites I have stayed on!

The showers and toilets were lovely, clean and very spacious.

The extra touches - campers kitchen, campers lounge, doggy showers all added to it being an excellent site.

The site shop stocked everything you could need along with quirky little gifts and local produce. Above all though the views were outstanding.

Only wish we had been able to stay longer to explore area more as our stay was to visit nearby family. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bobman 10 reviews from this member

 Wonderful site with great views of Derwentwater.

Facilities are excellent, showers were well above average with heat control on the water and plenty of room to get dried. Facilities block were warm and very clean.

Well stocked shop with camping sundries as well as local beers and gifts to remember your visit.

There are excellent cooking and relaxing facilities for campers or caravanners getting cabin fever if the weather isn't so good.

Food is available on site from Taco Chateau and Magic Mountain Pizza, you need to order beforehand from the latter, but both were top notch.

There are lovely walks from the site. Heading back down the approach road there is a path just after the Heights which goes through the site and takes you into Keswick, but be aware it is very narrow in places so be careful if you have a reactive dog.

Staff were really on the ball and had all our details ready, the barrier works on number plate recognition which is great if its raining.

The only issue I can find was that the drain on the service pitch was raised so it was a bit awkward getting the hose in but I did get it sorted.

Overall this was one if the best trips we have had, well done castlerigg Hall! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Catdeluxe 7 reviews from this member

 We absolutely loved this site. Stunning views - we saw a fabulous thunder storm from the caravan over derwentwater.

Great location just out of Keswick so nice and quiet but able to walk down to town on footpaths and get the bus back up the hill from outside Booths every half hour!

Food vans every night if you were feeling too lazy to cook. Great shop and friendly staff. Great dog walks in every direction from the door. Fab shower block, warm, modern and music playing!

Access from the main road was good, not too tight - my husband said it was one of his easiest to tow the caravan into from the main road! Water and grey waste as standard on pitch.

Only slight downsides were; pitches slightly tight to get the caravan into and we felt quite close our neighbours.

We had a standard pitch as booked late. Some of the pitches were spectacular but another regular said they book up fast and I can see why.

Site advertised Wifi but we couldnít make this work anywhere on site. This didnít really matter to us but my son was a little disappointed!

There was a big field in the middle for kids to play games, had the best views but it was very slopey so not the easiest ball games weíve ever played! But I didnít want to leave here and we will definitely be back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Pmaynard 13 reviews from this member

 Pick your pitch carefully. Whilst the staff, facilities and location are hard to beat the pitches vary greatly.

Although we only have a small Eriba caravan our pitch was extremely tight and whilst many pitches have great views ours didn't.

With high rainfall in the Lake District It makes sense to have hard standing but it would have been nice to have had some grass to sit out on.

Looking at the back of another caravan we felt we were in a car park. Not all pitches are like this so study the pitch plan before you book. 
via mobile


Previous     199 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Keswick      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


48901 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement