Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park
Castlerigg
(lake District)
Keswick
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA12 4TE
Tel: 017687 74499
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 163
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 172 Reviews
                9/10 from 172 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   Wild Swimming 1 mile   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  172 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Paddy61 4 reviews from this member

Had a great two night stay here recently. The site is on a hill on the outskirts of Keswick. We had a hard standing fully serviced pitch. We were on the bottom tier. Nice and peaceful, good tv reception. The toilets were very clean and the showers were wet room type walk in. Very nice!

You can walk into the town down a ginnel alongside the site. Keswick is probably the best town in thew lakes. You can also walk down to the lakeside along the shore and again back into town. The walk back is a bit of a pull uphill especially in the hot weather we have had of late, but thoroughly enjoyed it.

The site shop is great. They have all the bits & pieces you may forget. Food, books, maps etc. There is also an on site restaurant although we didn't use it so can't comment.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Joolb 31 reviews from this member

2adults, 7. 5 m caravan, full awning, Land Rover free lander pitch 22/fully serviced, hard standing.

Reception staff exceptionally helpful. Grounds staff in evidence every day-checking vehicles, outfits, problems etc-also on hand to show you to yr pitch. Was told 10 amp electric but never caused us an issue. Pitch quite tight for our set up-only space for 2chairs to sit out if we pulled the car forward. Strip of grass to front of pitch was like a runway for the bunnies! And where you get wild bunnies you get plentiful droppings so had to be careful not to tread into awning. Shower facilities excellent-wet rooms with sinks, well separated so clothes never got wet. Touch controls simple to use. Nearest to our pitch was the small block by the pods-3 ladies showerooms/plentiful toilets and 2 rooms with just sinks. We had breakfast one morning at jiggers cafe-good value for money well prepared and lovely cafetière coffee. Oddly the best lake views were from the recreation field but able to take chairs and sit there all day if you wanted. We were unfortunately hit by edge of storm hector so 12 hours severe winds-not nice experience. If we go again - we would request a pitch on the lower terrace 28/29 as definitely more room for our gear and similar views of the fells. Only 4or 5 pitches seem to have the stunning advertised lake views, but clearly informed through the website. We were given an extensive information pack which included discount vouchers for selected performances at the theatre by the lake but we had already booked our tickets as an anniversary treat. Lovely small theatre and cafe has views of the lake.

We would recommend cellar 12 coffee rooms in Penrith-(we had to go to town to get some caravan supplies otherwise wouldn't have bothered) again lovely staff delicious food and reasonable prices. Keswick is my favourite Lake District town as it seems a good mix of farming folk and visitors unlike Bowness or Windermere.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pepperpotss 3 reviews from this member

So impressed with the whole experience. Best shower block I’ve ever seen. Very new looking facilities with private washroom and shower all in one cubicles. Bar restaurant and laundry facilities including iron and board. Stunning views and very helpful reception staff.

Booking early is recommended as gets really booked up very early

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kensingtongreen 43 reviews from this member

The access road is steep and narrow but this is a lovely site with a 30 minute downhill walk through the woods to the town where there are plenty of attractions. Frankly, and looking at previous reports, we find the 'lake view' very over rated from any point in the site. That being said the scenery generally is attractive. There are rabbits everywhere you look!

We had had a small bump on our way and the nearside rear light cluster was smashed. The warden (Duncan) was unbelievably helpful spending a couple of hours replacing bulbs and adjusting wiring to ensure we could proceed within the law. We cannot thank him enough for his endeavours. Indeed, we found all the staff to be most helpful and considerate at all times.

There is a bus route back from town which runs every 30 minutes.

We had a most enjoyable stay.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rigby5 4 reviews from this member

Beautiful setting with wonderful views of Derwentwater. Facilities are good with kitchen and seating area to use for when it's wet outside which happens quite a lot in the Lakes. Showers and toilets are modern and clean. Keep your dogs tethered as per the rules of they'll be off after the rabbits in the area. Shop is good for provisions and local info.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Explore with Dora 16 reviews from this member

Fantastic site! The site is easy to find and well signed. It is close to Keswick and is easily in walking distance for those who are there for walking. We used the site for the Keswick Mountain Festival so did the walk several times! The site is really well set out and many of the pitches have lovely views. The facilities are all very clean and modern. The thing we really liked however was that the prices are clear on their information and unlike some sites in the area, they did not hike their prices for the Keswick Mountain Festival period. This alone means that we will certainly use the site again as I like to support people who are fair.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Catarinabod 37 reviews from this member

Stayed here on 1st night of a roadtrip to the West Highlands. Splashed out on a superior pitch E2 which was fabulous but did cost £35. Excellent toilet/shower facilities - piped music and modern fixtures/fittings - the only possible improvement would have been underfloor heating. Great little shop and on-site bar/restaurant + takeaway pizzas. The bar/restaurant had a lovely terrace with views of the lake. Walked to the stone circle and also the other way to the Great Wood (saw wild deer there). Rural site - great if you like walking direct from the site. Would definitely return.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Rispinator 3 reviews from this member

This is a commercial site with shop café, bar etc.

The site has lovely views.

The staff are helpful and polite.

The wc/showers are as good as any I've seen in 45 years.

On the negative side this 3 day stay (not bank hol weekend), cost me more than 3 times my 3 day stay at CCC Kendal earlier this month. Both EHU etc.

The return from shopping in Keswick is a strenuous 1. 5 mile walk or category 4 cycle climb.

For the first 2 days I failed to recognise that the area that was overgrown with 2 years bramble growth was the sink for my pitch. Quite a few pitches were also weedy.

NOT acceptable at this price!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Biggreenmonster 3 reviews from this member

We stayed for two nights at this site with our two boys on our way up north and really enjoyed our stay. The facilities were first rate - with a very substantial shower/toilet/washing up/laundry/campers kitchen facilities all in the same building. There was also a very good shop on site and the best bit for us was the on site restaurant, which served the most delicious food! We still say now that the steaks we had were the best we've ever had! We really weren't expecting such a high standard of cuisine on a campsite, so it was a nice bonus and so handy not to have to venture out looking for somewhere to eat.

The campsite is on a slope down towards the lake (Derwent Water), but most pitches seemed level, as ours was, being on a terrace. This meant we had a beautiful views across the lake to the hills beyond. The site is in a good location, very handy for Keswick and all the amenities here.

There seemed to be always plenty of staff on hand at the site, in the reception, who were always very friendly and helpful.

Nothing negative to say about this site, we would definitely return.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Robscoffs 2 reviews from this member

One of the nicest campsites we have ever been to. Wonderful views over Derwentwater, though not from all pitches. We did not have a view from our pitch but saw it on the short stroll to the really excellent on site restaurant and bar. Terrace with a view, lovely food, friendly staff and reasonable prices. The washroom facilities on site are clean and modern, I particularly liked the underfloor heating in the showers. The shop is well stocked, we had some delicious local bacon. The walk in to Keswick, on the footpath through the woods is lovely, taking about 40 minutes, and there is a cafe on the way. Coming back is uphill most of the way, but not really too strenuous. We will be back.

Previous     172 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over £399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2392 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth £399!