Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Keswick > Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park
Castlerigg
(lake District)
Keswick
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA12 4TE
Tel: 017687 74499
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 163
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 178 Reviews
                9/10 from 178 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  178 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Hitasco 2 reviews from this member

 The site and toilets are immaculate and the views from every pitch are awesome.

The Covid precautions in place are reassuring and enhance the quality of your stay.

Good well stocked shop and plenty of well maintained recreational space.

A perfect site! 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Flyingwing 2 reviews from this member

 Great site. Steep in places if you have mobility problems, but there are level pitches available.

Well stocked shop and reasonable prices. Amazing views.

The showers and toilets were cleaned and maintained to a high standard.  


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Pbow 6 reviews from this member

 Stayed several times and love the location and the views are stunning being up on a hillside above Keswick! Pitches for tourers are more or less level although some would be tight to access without a motor mover. Toilets are clean and modern and there is a shop on site.

Site is in a fantastic location for the walks as you would expect and Keswick can be accessed via a walk through the woods with more stunning views or by the road. Be aware it is much harder coming back although reception do have plenty of numbers for taxi firms.

Keswick is lovely for an evening in the pub once most of the day troopers have gone home. We tend to visit the Dog and Gun which, like many other pubs, is dog friendly.

Our only gripe is that like many other sites in the area there seems to be a minimum 3 night stay which makes it impossible for people who work during the week to enjoy a weekend away only being able to stay Friday and Saturday. Other than that excellent. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Cpw1984 3 reviews from this member

 This was our first camping trip as a family (1 year old and 5 year old) and we stayed in one of the camping pods. The facilities were excellent, toilets and showers very clean and a well stocked shop on site. We were even able to take the kids for a bath on site.

The camping pods are a bit on the small side. Once you have the camping beds set up there isn’t too much room for much else (as you’d expect with a 4 berth tent). We managed to fit our beds and camping wardrobe in there and there was a bit of space left to store the chairs in there at night. In terms of keeping us warm and dry, the pod was perfect though. The decking area had just enough shelter to keep dry whilst cooking on our cadac safari chef.

The site is a bit out of Keswick and is up a steep hill so we drove into Keswick most days as we had the little one in a buggy. The views over Derwent Water are amazing though and the site was very quiet and peaceful.

We had a great time and would really recommend the site. We’ve recently bought a bell tent and would love to go back to castlerigg Hall, but the inability to book in advance means that we will probably book elsewhere when we return to Keswick next year. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Trevor + Jo 101 reviews from this member

 Well maintained site with excellent facilities and shop, but you pay for this in the price. The camping field is mostly sloping although there are some flatter areas in places.

This does mean that the tent field is open to campers earlier than the other site in Keswick on the shores of Derwent Water. I got the feeling that the site is set up for caravans and motor homes with the tent field as an added extra.

There are some fantastic views and you can walk to Keswick, but after a day on the fells, possibly too far for a night out! The stone circle and Walla Crag are very close by for an evening walk.

Although the washroom facilities were new and spotless the biggest disappointment was the water temperature in the showers. Warm at best, not what I needed after being outside all day in March. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Paddy61 4 reviews from this member

 Had a great two night stay here recently. The site is on a hill on the outskirts of Keswick. We had a hard standing fully serviced pitch. We were on the bottom tier. Nice and peaceful, good tv reception. The toilets were very clean and the showers were wet room type walk in. Very nice!

You can walk into the town down a ginnel alongside the site. Keswick is probably the best town in thew lakes. You can also walk down to the lakeside along the shore and again back into town. The walk back is a bit of a pull uphill especially in the hot weather we have had of late, but thoroughly enjoyed it.

The site shop is great. They have all the bits & pieces you may forget. Food, books, maps etc. There is also an on site restaurant although we didn't use it so can't comment. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Joolb 36 reviews from this member

 2adults, 7. 5 m caravan, full awning, Land Rover free lander pitch 22/fully serviced, hard standing.

Reception staff exceptionally helpful. Grounds staff in evidence every day-checking vehicles, outfits, problems etc-also on hand to show you to yr pitch. Was told 10 amp electric but never caused us an issue. Pitch quite tight for our set up-only space for 2chairs to sit out if we pulled the car forward.

Strip of grass to front of pitch was like a runway for the bunnies! And where you get wild bunnies you get plentiful droppings so had to be careful not to tread into awning. Shower facilities excellent-wet rooms with sinks, well separated so clothes never got wet. Touch controls simple to use.

Nearest to our pitch was the small block by the pods-3 ladies showerooms/plentiful toilets and 2 rooms with just sinks. We had breakfast one morning at jiggers cafe-good value for money well prepared and lovely cafetière coffee. Oddly the best lake views were from the recreation field but able to take chairs and sit there all day if you wanted.

We were unfortunately hit by edge of storm hector so 12 hours severe winds-not nice experience. If we go again - we would request a pitch on the lower terrace 28/29 as definitely more room for our gear and similar views of the fells. Only 4or 5 pitches seem to have the stunning advertised lake views, but clearly informed through the website.

We were given an extensive information pack which included discount vouchers for selected performances at the theatre by the lake but we had already booked our tickets as an anniversary treat. Lovely small theatre and cafe has views of the lake.

We would recommend cellar 12 coffee rooms in Penrith-(we had to go to town to get some caravan supplies otherwise wouldn't have bothered) again lovely staff delicious food and reasonable prices.

Keswick is my favourite Lake District town as it seems a good mix of farming folk and visitors unlike Bowness or Windermere. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pepperpotss 3 reviews from this member

 So impressed with the whole experience. Best shower block I’ve ever seen. Very new looking facilities with private washroom and shower all in one cubicles.

Bar restaurant and laundry facilities including iron and board. Stunning views and very helpful reception staff.

Booking early is recommended as gets really booked up very early 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kensingtongreen 61 reviews from this member

 The access road is steep and narrow but this is a lovely site with a 30 minute downhill walk through the woods to the town where there are plenty of attractions. Frankly, and looking at previous reports, we find the 'lake view' very over rated from any point in the site. That being said the scenery generally is attractive. There are rabbits everywhere you look!

We had had a small bump on our way and the nearside rear light cluster was smashed. The warden (Duncan) was unbelievably helpful spending a couple of hours replacing bulbs and adjusting wiring to ensure we could proceed within the law. We cannot thank him enough for his endeavours. Indeed, we found all the staff to be most helpful and considerate at all times.

There is a bus route back from town which runs every 30 minutes.

We had a most enjoyable stay. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rigby5 4 reviews from this member

 Beautiful setting with wonderful views of Derwentwater. Facilities are good with kitchen and seating area to use for when it's wet outside which happens quite a lot in the Lakes.

Showers and toilets are modern and clean. Keep your dogs tethered as per the rules of they'll be off after the rabbits in the area.

Shop is good for provisions and local info. 


Previous     178 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Keswick      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5779 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement