Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Keswick > Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park
Castlerigg
(lake District)
Keswick
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA12 4TE
Tel: 017687 74499
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 163
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 179 Reviews
                9/10 from 179 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  179 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Scottie_39 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed for a week during the Christian convention. Great site although on quite a hill. Some of the caravan spaces are a bit tight for backing in and not much room to manoeuvre although quite big pitches, check the map before you book ! Great location for all amenities, we walked into Keswick 40mins. Showers and toilets very clean, washing up facilities great also. We've booked for July 2010 and there was only ten pitches left. The overflow tent field is on a slope, and on a first come firs served basis. Quite expensive for tents as it nearly £6 per night per person plus cost for car. There is only a playing field for the kids which would benefit from a park. We had to leave early due to unforeseen circumstances and the lady on the desk was very understanding and I thank her for that. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Thumper62 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed 3 nights in horrendous weather,campsite pretty busy,a lovely site with top class facilities,new block is great and the pub at the gate was nice for a wee night cap.Staff very welcoming and loved the cat at reception,good shop.Only complaint was the washing machines not all working so a bit of a wait there & a few coat hooks would be great in the new showers to stop the clothes getting wet.Definitely be back to this one 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lynne2734 3 reviews from this member

 An excellent site ideally situated for walking in the surrounding hills (Walla Crag on the doorstep) and only 5 mins drive from Keswick town centre.

Touring pitches are set out in terraces, most having a good view of Derwent water and majority have water, electric and waste water drain each.

Tried the on site restuarant - wasn't very impressed to be honest - expensive for what you got and the service was very slow. Went into the pub whic is right next door to the site but didn't eat there as everything on the menu was vegetarian (no disrespect to vegetarians but we don't like meat substitutes etc)

Lovely on site shop,well stocked and friendly, helpful staff.

Would definitely return. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Je9836 13 reviews from this member

 We stayed for 9 nights in July. We was impressed when first arrived we had a friendly welcome and an easy book in. The site on first impressions was beautiful and this lasted all our stay. You are set in tiers so most pitches have lovely views only some are blocked by trees but they do not even spoil your stay.
There are 2 shower blocks and these are very clean and tidy we never had to wait either. There also a separate toilet block which is a little dated but clean. I must say I was a little surprised by the colour of the water I thought at first people were not flushing the loo but a warden later informed me this was the peat being washed through the water system. We never had a taste from the water either it just looked a little strange.
There is a recreation field although it is on a slope. There are 2 tent fields and again these are on a slope without electric but they were still very busy.
There is a restaurant and we did try it but was very disappointed the lasagne was very tasteless and we never ate it, the garlic mushrooms were lovely though. There is a pub next door this too sells food but cannot say how it was has we only had a drink small and quaint.The little site shop is stocked well and priced ok. Overall a little gem of a site, and so central for lots of attractions and great walks. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Molly*angel 3 reviews from this member

 A great site right near keswick town centre, the facilities are great the shower and toilet block are really nice and modern. There is a nice restaurant on site and a campers room with games and a kettle and freezer to use which I thought was really nice.

Also a very good shop selling food and camping things.

There is a choice of fields we stayed in one on the left when you go into the camp which was sloping a bit but overlooked derwent lake the views were great. We had ducks and rabbits in our field which kept our 4 year old amused.

There was a good mix of people, families and couples, also from the camp you can do a lot of walks we are not really walkers but still enjoyed the camp, you can actually walk down to derwent lake through a nice forest we saw a few deer also a stream runs next to the camp with is good for the kids to paddle in. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Paul@Bank 134 reviews from this member

 Spectacular location with magnificent views over Derwent. Well stocked shop on site. Most of the pitches fully serviced. Three toilet blocks on site, two of these modern with showers. Very clean. However the toilets/showers/wash up facilities are a hike from the lower pitches (pitches 25 - 37) and only one chemical disposal point which is a hike from the higher pitches. On site restaurant, decor very nice but food mediocre for cost.

Keswick only 5 Minutes by car 20 minute walk there, but 40 minute walk back (all uphill). Lots of food places, very good Booths supermarket. Great location for walks direct from site. No facilities/play area for children and could not find dog walk (staff didnít know either but advised local walk off site). All in all highly recommend this site and would go back but will book one of the higher top pitches on next visit. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Laura fairbairn 2 reviews from this member

 This site was our second choice as the C&CC site was fully booked. Phoned on the Thursday to book for Fri-Mon but told no bookings taken - simply arrive as early as possible (ie before lunch). On arrival (11.30am) there were at least 4 other new arrivals and the receptionist appeared a little frustrated with repeating the instruction to try to find a pitch, pitch your tent and then return to pay.

Disappointingly the main field was full (though on having a walk around it later there would have been plenty of room!) we were told to pitch in the overflow field. As this was quite busy and we prefer to pitch at the edge of a field the only choice for us was at the very bottom of the very steep field. Wasn't really a problem until the heavy rain on the third night! Thank goodness for built-in ground sheets!

The new toilet/shower block in the main camping field was stunning - better kitted out than my brand new on suite! But there are only 4 showers - best get in early to save a lengthy wait. And they are few minutes walk from the overflow field, but worth it. The main toilet / shower block located at the entrance to the site are adequate and closer to the overflow field. There's also a small very ancient toilet block at the bottom corner of the overflow field - would give this a miss unless its an emergency!

There is also a 'campers kitchen' in the main block with a couple of dish washing sinks, freezer (though only ever cooled our blocks), a pay as you go microwave, electric hob, toaster and kettle. And several benches and tables. Handy if the weather gets bad and seems to be used by those with teeny weeny tents!

On site shop is well stocked and reasonably priced. Also has camping equipment should you need anything. Didn't try the restaurant though seemed busy in the evenings.

We walked into Keswick from the site, about 1 1/2 miles down hill (take the turn for Manor Brow and brings you out in shopping area). As it would have been a very steep walk back we tried the bus (£1.70 per person and roughly every half hour from outside Booths - drops you off at bottom of lane up to camp site) and a taxi (£4.50 also from outside Booths).

Views from top of overflow field and the caravan terraces are stunning. Pity we couldn't see them from the bottom of the steep overflow field!

Keswick is a fantastic place - lots to do and see or simply relax at the campsite if the weather is good. Recommend Booths supermarket - the Co-op isn't up to much (both in town centre). Loads of camping shops in town - encouraged us to spend a fortune on extras for our tent (windbreak, new gas cooker, etc!). I'd advise shopping around for whatever you're looking for - we bought a product in one shop and found it significantly cheaper in the next.

No park for kids but a huge grassy area where they can play ball games etc. Would recommend this site if being on the outskirts of town isn't an issue - if you'd prefer to be in town the C&CC site would suit you better. Reasonable price - £48 for 3 nights (no electric for tents). Oh and remember your midge repellent! 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Julia Edwards 3 reviews from this member

 Superb facilities, clean and modern and no additional payment required for showers.

Extremely useful campers kitchen with freezer for ice packs

Well stocked shop

Amazing views over Derwent Water

Friendly and helpful staff

Immaculate site, litter free.

About 1 mile walk downhill through woodland to Keswick

Ideal location for walkers, we did Blencathra and Cat Bells but there are a host to choose from

I would definitely return 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: PeterM88 4 reviews from this member

 'The site with a view'

This simple slogan is adopted by Castlerigg Hall. And with good reason. Spectacular!

I have to say it is not the best thing about this site. The facilities are excellent, staff very friendly!

Showers are hot and free, very clean and with the means of keeping them clean readily to hand.

They also provide a superb 'campers kitchen'! Tables and cooking equipment, boil a kettle for free, make toast etc. The Hob and microwave being coin operated.

You need to think carefully about where to pitch, as the slope can be an issue. But even the 'overflow' field was brilliant.

If we exclude the crows the silence after 10.30 was honoured with rare exceptions.

I stayed for 5 days, and was reluctant to leave, indeed I will be back shortly.

This site puts many others in the area to shame. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bgs264 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a one night stay at Castlerigg Hall campsite. I was new to camping and this was a wonderful introduction, much nicer than I thought it was going to be!

The toilet and shower block were comparable to those at the JJB Gym (now DW Fitness) where I go, lovely and clean and look good too (not just functional but looks nice).

The sign said 'Site full' when we arrived, but we asked if there might be room and they fit us in. So it's always worth asking.

The shop was well stocked and open till 9pm which was decent. It was not overpriced and comparable to any street corner style off licence. Not supermarket prices but still very reasonable.

Found the staff to be friendly and helpful.

The views are second to none, it really did look like something from a postcard looking out over the hills. It is breathtaking. The surrounding area is quiet close to the small town of Keswick but if you're looking for a base to explore Lakeland I would certainly recommend and would have no hesitation to re-visit this site. 


Previous     179 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Keswick      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5863 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement