Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Keswick > Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park
Castlerigg
(lake District)
Keswick
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA12 4TE
Tel: 017687 74499
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 163
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 179 Reviews
                9/10 from 179 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  179 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Racey1979 4 reviews from this member

 Had a wonderful 4 night stay here over the August Bank Holiday. The views from the site really are stunning which overlook the valley down onto Derwent Water. Keswick is less than half an hour away on foot and you can either walk through some nice Woodland or down the road. However, you need to be reasonably fit and good on your feet to walk back as it is quite a climb uphill. A taxi is less than a fiver though if you don't fancy walking. Facilities wise the site is pretty good, the shower and toilet block was clean, there is also a pot wash room and shop that is fairly well stocked. The on-site cafe is excellent and there is a pub just outside of the main gate, but we weren't overly keen on it.

The only negatives I can think of is the tent field is on quite a slope. There are flat pitches as we managed to find one but if its really busy you may struggle. There isn't any electric available for tents either. Also, the view over Derwentwater is blocked by trees from the tent field. However, there is a nice recreation area and many people were taking picnic blankets and sitting on the grass with a few drinks taking in the view. Overall I would definitely recommend this site. It's only the sloping tent field and lack of electric for tents that's stopping me giving it 10/10. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Anne66 1 review from this member

 Not been for a while but I absolutely love this place,

Very helpful & friendly, best in Keswick, not only that it must be the best for miles,

Have also met some lovely people that I still keep in touch with, the views are to die for, my boxer dog loves it too. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sarahm900 1 review from this member

 Stayed here as our very first time out with the caravan. We found the pitch we were in too tight to reverse the caravan in, but its a large 4*4 towing a big 6 berth one (swift charisma 570). We picked this pitch as have two jack Russell's who bark whenever anyone comes near so thought the very end pitch would be useful. The campsite is very dog friendly as surprised how many people do have dogs here. It's bottom of what could be a steep hill for those who aren't as physically robust as others. Restaurant on site was great, superb food and staff were very friendly. Shop has a good selection of stuff for the size, but keswick is a half hour walk away or 5 minutes in the car but can be hard to find a parking spot. Some great local walking trails, they are mostly stony paths. If you want the views from the campsite you need to try and get E1 or 2. Very busy and popular site. Would definitely recommend it. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Leanne11 2 reviews from this member

 we were due to arrive at castlerigg for 2 oclock, due 4o a slight problem we reached castlerigg at 9 o clock we rung the site to inform them of the problem and they was very helpful and polite. Once we got to the site we pitched are trailer tent with help from some nice people on the next pitch. The next morning we woke up to lovely raise of sunshine, we then went to checkout the showers in the block next to the pitches (the showers are quite cool and don't last very long) then we realised there were more showers and toilets were you come into the site witch are warmer and last longer. We then went for a walk to Derwentwater (and walked the longest way possible with out even knowing) please use my advise do not turn left when coming out of the site go right and down a little ally it is the best way but don't forget your walking boots. We also visited the stone circle witch is a 5 min drive from the site, keswick town centre is only a 5 minute drive too, the site has a little pub and restaurant and a gift shop for all our memories to take home. Only down side we were due to go for one night but due to are problem we arrived late and added another night on thankfully they had space but when we moved the next morning as we were told to another pitch the pitch we were previously on was still empty the same night bearing in mind we moved at 11. 30. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sue Paul 80 reviews from this member

 Wow what views from certain pitches, ours number 25 had glorious ones over the hills and the Lake.

Rather a steep climb to the shower block so would in future book a pitch higher up the site, take care with your choice as people at the bottom of the site were driving up and down !

Some fantastic walks around the site whom sell a good little walk sheet for 50p which is well worth it.

Keswick is a 25 min walk and well worth it but all downhill so the return can be a killer on a hot day, we found the local Taxis would bring us and Two dogs back for £4. 50 which was ideal after a days walking.

The site was clean and tidy, a little regimented but all good even at our £27. 00 per night.

Our only complaint albeit a petty one is the shower switch you have to keep pressing is way to far to reach easily and is over the shelf so when you reach to press it your clothes on the shelf get wet.

All in all a fine site, just choose your pitch with care. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Skodie 15 reviews from this member

 Stayed here after being turned away from the Keswick camping and caravanning site despite booking three months in advance.

Owners were more than happy to accommodate us even though we turned up on spec. We were able to choose our own spot - no marked out pitches so could be come a free for all at busy times.

Site was fairly well sheltered even though it is at the top of a hill.

Facilities were excellent all though price was steep at 34. 10 per night for family of five. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Seagill 23 reviews from this member

 We stayed 2 nights here in mid April and weather was very windy. The site is nicely laid out and has views of Derwent from some pitches.

We had been told on the phone not to pre-book which in fact was not true for a motorhome only for tents.

The facilities were excellent although the map given out is out of date as per the previous comment about the CDP.

We did not eat at Jiggers although the menu looked good. The site shop was excellent.

We did not manage to get the WIFI to work and they will not offer any help if it doesn’t.

Would definitely stay here again if in the area. 


Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Camperlck 10 reviews from this member

 Just back from 4 nights on this site. Overall we really liked it. It is situated above Keswick on a hill overlooking Derwent Water and the hills beyond. There are some stunning views from the site and from some pitches. It has a very Lakeland feel as many of the site buildings are old barns etc that have been converted.

The site has a very peaceful atmosphere and this is helped by the way it is laid out. There are terraces, lots of hedging, fences, trees, shrubs, open spaces, winding site roads etc - all of which contribute to a busy site feeling very quiet. To be fair it is March and I suspect in summer this site would be jumping.

The pitch sizes are variable, some have picnic benches, some have enough space for an awning and your car, others just your car etc. Ours had a bird table on the fence next to us which was a nice touch.

There are three toilet blocks, we only ever used the one closest to us but it was always clean. The shop on site has a good selection of products on sale; food basics, some local delicacies, ice-creams, toys, household essentials etc and is open early till late. If you arrived on site without food you could easily get enough for a meal here.

Two dog walks on site, one very small and narrow near the bottom and one larger into a small wooded area at the bottom of the camping field. The larger one would have been better but was sealed off during our visit. To be honest walk your dog offsite along the small access road - there are lovely walks from here into fields etc.

A couple of niggles.

1) You have to choose your pitch number when booking. This is OK if you've been before and taken the trouble to work out the best pitches, but otherwise you're booking blind, only to arrive and find you've chosen well or not. When we arrived I asked if I could choose from available pitches (i. E. And walk around first to choose). This was clearly in the 'too hard' category. In the end we stayed on the pitch we'd booked online and it was OK but was by no means an ideal pitch for us.

2) The site map they hand out is out-of-date. The chemical disposal point is not halfway down the site as shown but along passed the gallery at the top of the site. Also the camping pods are not where shown.

3) It is expensive and doesn't quite feel that it warrants the cost.

4) There is no assistance on/off pitches. Given some of them are quite tight you need to be confident manoeuvring (or have a motor mover).

The site also has a restaurant called Jiggers. We ate there one night. The food and service were excellent including the house red wine! Reasonable price too. They are also open during the day for breakfasts / coffee etc, but the coffee was just machine stuff and not particularly nice.

We also ate at the Star of Siam Thai restaurant in Keswick, also great food and service.

Overall we had a great stay and despite the niggles we would definitely go back, although we would avoid the busy season. 


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Kimo 1 review from this member

 Our first time in The Lake District and glad we booked this site. The views were excellent. As already said you go to your pitch first so if you don't like anything you can sort it out or leave.

The facilities were good, there was always hot water when we needed it and the toilets and showers were very clean. There is a small restaurant on site which we used for breakfast and an evening meal both very tasty. We will come back 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MisterB 6 reviews from this member

 This is a site that has it's good points and it's bad ones. The facilities are top rate - a shop that's well stocked with essentials and open long hours, an on-site cafe / restaurant that serves breakfasts to evening meals, a 'campers kitchen' with cooking / dining / seating facilities for use in adverse weather, an immaculate potwash area, spotless and spacious toilet / shower facilities (although there are only 4 showers for what looked like a 100 pitch tent field, and there was a lack of hot (albeit brownish) water in the wash basins).

The waste / recycling area was well set out and easily accessible. One thing I never found on site was aa outside tap to fill your water container - if you were meant to use the taps in the potwash area, then they're not suitable for more than a very small bottle.

The site, if you have a caravan or motor home, is very well laid out with good areas of hard standing that are easy to drive into, and by the look of it, most of those pitches have fantastic views over Derwentwater towards Catbells and beyond, with a large grass play area for kids.

The tent field itself is sadly not up to the expectations brought on by the rest of the site. The website states that the campground is sheltered and has both sloping and level areas, whereas it is mostly sloping (annoyingly so), and the only level areas are either beside the toilets / entrance or beside the dog walking area. The ground, is by the look of it susceptible to rain, the day I arrived they had had showers, but the pitches along the very bottom were almost unusable and cars were not allowed on the grass (although the website stated the underfoot conditions as being 7/10 - 10 being the firmest - when possibly it was more like 5/10). As no cars were allowed on the grass, the few parking spaces were taken early in the evening. Fees for a pitch were a bit more than expected, about 30% more than I've paid all summer.

I was also surprised at the noise coming across the valley from the A66. This is the first campsite that I've pitched at in the Lakes where this has bothered me, and in all honesty, not something I want in a Lakeland campsite. Being close to Keswick and the main thoroughfare does have it's ups and downs. Possibly things might have seemed better had the site and weather been dry, although it was my choice to stay there - when you arrive you are let onto the site to go and pick your pitch, then go bag to reception and book in. If I had wanted to, I could have looked for somewhere else.

Overall, a great site if you have a Caravan or Motorhome. 


Previous     179 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Keswick      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5716 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement