Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Keswick > Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park
Castlerigg
(lake District)
Keswick
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA12 4TE
Tel: 017687 74499
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 163
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 179 Reviews
                9/10 from 179 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  179 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Shaggy2000 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here recently for three nights, one of the best camp sites I've been too in years.

The shower block we used was slightly more modern than the others as the showers were bigger and allowed you too keep your clothes nice and dry. However all of the shower blocks they have all looked spotlessly clean.

The shop is well stocked with pretty much everything you would need, plus the on site pub/restraint is reasonable with great meals (I recommend the lamb cutlets)

TV reception is perfect, but only after I realised I had to turn off the booster, with that turned on I got no TV at all. Nothing the owners could do, just me not being familiar with the TV/booster.

All in all a great site and I will definitely be booking another trip later in the year. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ckonetwo 3 reviews from this member

 Great location, great facilities including a campers kitchen (we used it a lot as the weather was horrendous).

Cannot pre book tent pitches - so it is first come first served.

Tents pitches are a little on the sloping side lower down the tent field but did not really have an issue.

Toilets clean, showers are spacious and washing up area all under cover.

Shop is stocked well and there is a restaurant on site.

You can walk from the campsite to Keswick - took about 25 mins - bear in mind though it is uphill on the way back. Great walks from the site.

Will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: OliviaB 2 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site. Probably the best one we've stayed on. Reception was very busy, but the lady took the time to tell us about the site and the best way to get into town. We had a pitch with hook up only, but there were several types of pitches. Fully serviced, fully serviced with a view, fully serviced superior in addition to a tent field and statics for rent. There's 2 toilet blocks, both immaculate. The showers cubicles in one block are actually in their own room with basins. There is also a full bathroom with a bath which is 2. 50 for half an hour. The showers are free. There's a substantial shop with a wide range of local beer, farm produce, etc. And a restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. There's a laundry and a camper's kitchen/lounge with a microwave, toasters and kettles plus a vending machine. I think everything is chargeable, but I'm not sure. The views over Derwent Water are stunning. There is a walk into Keswick through woods, etc. Lovely walk into town, but would be quite a chore returning, as it's very steep. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Mlcreed 7 reviews from this member

 We stayed in one of the pods and were very impressed.

The camp site is large but well set out and very peaceful, despite several groups of Duke of Edinburgh students. Access for the car was very easy.

The toilet and shower facilities were well kept and clean.

A big bonus as this site is out of town is the addition of a well stocked shop and a very affordable and friendly pub with delicious food and good beer. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: T07zombie 20 reviews from this member

 Excellent site with amazing views. The site is spotless and very well kept. The toilets are clean and theirs plenty of them around the site.

Shop is well stocked with everything you need and has also camping equipment for sale. Loads of walks from the site into the hills and into keswick.

Our dog enjoyed the free warm dog shower after her walks.

Kids loved the site and open play area. Free wifi on site, we were on pitch 48 and picked it up ok

The tv reception is excellent.

Pitches have loads of room.

RABBITS EVERYWHERE. LOL

Best site we have stayed on will be returning. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: KathP29 22 reviews from this member

 Great site. Views are fabulous, we were on pitch No 2 which is on a terrace with views of lake and mountain. Good size pitch, near to the facilities.

Toilets and showers are clean and warmish but it was very cold over Easter. There is a dog shower which has warm water, fabulous. Free wifi.

For tenters there is a great lounge room with settes, kettles and toaster, really good facility.

Jiggers restaurant on the site is very good and we ate here twice and we are booked in for another meal. Main courses from 8 good quality food, great people running it, recommend it. Reasonable selection of wines.

Crag bar next door was cold and beer not so good so we only went in for one drink.

Walking is fab and Walla Crag is on the doorstep with amazing views. Theatre in Keswick is worth a visit.

Would use this site again 


Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 552 reviews from this member

 Location

Castlerigg Hall is located on a hillside overlooking Keswick and Derwentwater. Views are truly stunning. It takes about half an hour to walk into town. Excellent access to the fells from the site, with nearby Walla Crag and High Seat worth a climb. Also good for access to Blencathra and the stone circle.

Facilities

Excellent facilities with well maintained showers and toilets. Excellent pub at site entrance. Good shop and restaurant on site.

Price

About 20 per night. Great value for facilities and location. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Moorlander999 11 reviews from this member

 3 night stay, 2 adults, no kids, no dogs. We were lucky to get a pitch on the site as we only booked a week before we went. The route to the site is very good, either A65 / M6 / A66 and into KESWICK down a very long steep hill, or via the Windermere/Ambleside road with a short steep hill. The entrance to the site is via a narrow road on an uphill ascent. The site is very well signposted from the road out of KESWICK towards Ambleside / Windermere/ Grasmere but be careful don't confused with Castlerigg Farm which is on the same road. Barriers on the entrance and cctv make it feel very secure. Easy booking in and very friendly/ helpful staff on reception. We stayed on a service pitch (19) which like most on the site is a gravel pitch( although there are some grass pitches on another part of the site). Reversing into pitch can be a bit tight of you don't have a motor mover. The pitches are laid out on terraces on each side of small acres roads. Be prepared for a bit of a struggle if you don't have a mover as the vans opposite ours were nose in. Up to a small fence We had to give someone a push to get their van out. Not all pitches have lake views, but from ours on 19 we had great sunsets and being away from the main fields/ access roads it was very quiet. Each serviced pitch has cold water tap, grey water drain and EHU. You will only need a short length of water pipe and dependent on van waste outlet locations, a relatively short length of drain pipe. EHU was approx 20 feet away from our van. Pitches well drained. We found two toilet/shower blocks. The block near the camping pods field is older, a bit dated but clean. The one near to the camping field is new with camping washing up area indoors. Each one has a flushing elsan point outside. The newer block has underfloor heating. We had no problems with EHU tripping out despite my wife's best efforts with her hair dryer. There are some lake view pitches but best advice is to ring the site and ask rather than just booking from the website. The lady on the phone gave us the best option from what was still available which we then booked via the website. Confirmation immediate via email.

Restaurant/ cafe on site ( not used as we ate in KESWICK at the dog and gun - try the ghoullash !) ). Or fish and chips at The Kingfisher. Small pub which serves only veggie food is next to site. Called the Crag bar which opens at 6pm each night. Beer on draught. Not the most picturesque or up to date bar but good location after a days walking. The location of the site at the top of the hill may make it difficult for some who are not so fit. As with the Lakes there are hills everywhere. Approx 45mins to 1 hour from centre of KESWICK walk from KESWICK UP HILL ALL THE WAY ( steep hill) or via a nearby meandering gravel public footpath through the woods( steep gradients and loose surfaces so wear good boots/shoes). Would also recommend taking good torches if you decide to walk back in the dark through the woods as there are NO street lights.

Free wifi on site, not super fast, not possible to watch bbc iplayer or similar but ok for emails and google searches etc.

Close to Castlerigg Stone circle. Even if you are not a mountaineer or hill walker try to get to the top of nearby Walla Crag for the best view of KESWICK and Derwentwater. ( take water and pick nick and wear good boots or walking shoes. Don't wear flip flops !

Buy tickets for Derwentwater launch lake tour from reception as they are cheaper than at the lakeside but payment is cash only. Good shop on site, even stock cat and dog food for the four legged campers.

Check out is at 1130am. We asked if we could leave our van and car on site for the afternoon to go walking and was very grateful to be allowed to park the combination in one of the parking spots at the side of the tent field. The tent field only had two tents on, but suspect in high season we would not have been allowed due to space limitations etc.

No parking nearby or in KESWICK for caravans or motor homes ( pay and display car parks operated by council or rugby club do not permit )

Overall, a very good, clean, well laid out site. Ideal location for walking. Taxis can be booked from reception into town for those who don't fancy the long walk.

We have given everything a 10 out 10 except the child friendly. We didn't have any kids with us so can't really judge how good it is for kids.

Not cheap, but would recommend and would definitely go back again for another visit

Thankyou to the nice lady on reception for allowing us to park our van and car on the side of the tent field for the afternoon. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Tlck9 32 reviews from this member

 We stayed here in June on a EHU only pitch and although no view it was a far better pitch. It was far closer to the toilet block than the service pitch we were on in sept.

It's funny how a pitch can alter your opinion of a site! In June it was 10 out of 10. But our pitch was at the bottom of the site and it was a pretty good hill to get to either of the 2 toilet blocks and washing up facilities.

I would definitely stay again but would opt for the hook up only pitch over the lower down serviced pitches.

The larger toilet block has excellent facilities. Large shower area, with own dressing area, wash hand basin. Neither time had to queue. Very clean, no complaints there. Site spotless, recycling area and washing up indoors.

Its a nice walk to Keswick, it's down hill into town & a bit slippy in wet weather. Walk up may be a bit much if your not a keen walker. However there are some alternative routes which may prove easier. We took a walk to the stone circle which was around 25 minutes away. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bongomagic 3 reviews from this member

 Faultless.

Gentle slope on overspill field will aid drainage.

Main field dotted with trees and cars a little too close to them for navigating in darkness for my liking so I prefer the other open field.

Free wifi across the site.

Main block excellent.

Campers kitchen with twin sinks, toaster, microwave, tables sofa and chest freezer for ice packs.

Great shop selling sundries, booze, gifts with camping spares and walking books.

On site cafe with takeaway

Laundry

On site mini pub / bar.

Staff excellent.

Big recreation field with amazing view.

The only problem I had was with unsupervised and excitable DofE award groups.

No noise.

Free showers.

Woodland walk to town is great.

Overlooked by Walla Crag and is a must for what is probably the next best view of Keswick after Latrigg.

12. 50 for me, car+tent. 


Previous     179 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Keswick      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5939 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement