Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Keswick > Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park
Castlerigg
(lake District)
Keswick
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA12 4TE
Tel: 017687 74499
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 163
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 179 Reviews
                9/10 from 179 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  179 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Woddy 2 reviews from this member

 A superb site that we visit nearly every year, the addition of camping POD's and the refurbishing of one of the toilet blocks, make this the best site we have visited in the lakes.

The camper's kitchen is great, especially when camping and the weather turns bad, nice, warm, dry area with enough appliances to make a meal and enjoy in comfortable surroundings.

There is an on site restaurant which is good value, we don't bother with the Pub that is at the entrance of the site anymore, as it is purely vegetarian, and after a long day on the hills, the food is not substantial enough to feel anyway rewarding after a hard day, to add to that we find the owner/landlord a little strange. Saying that, it is small but comfortable inside and prices are reasonable.

After staying at a site in Ullswater this year for a change, and it not living up to the standard that we expected and the impression the webisite gives, and staying at another site within a farm with below standard toilet blocks, we will be going back to Castlerigg in future.  


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: HO/2 1 review from this member

 This is a de-caff camping experience and a good introduction for people returning to camping or new to it. Fabulous site, good views over Derwentwater, nice cafe/restaurant on site with good reasonably priced food. Very well stocked shop - good prices here also. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Site, showers, washroom cubicles, toilets - all spotless. Child friendly, dog friendly. All other campers I spoke to were highly satisfied and making repeat trips. Short drive into Keswick. Loads of nice eating and drinking places. Fab place - go there. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bribea 1 review from this member

 I have been going to castlerigg hall for over 50 years, and I have seen a lot of changes in that period, from a 1 toilet 1 shower site to the superior site it is today, John jackson and his wife Betty ran the site in the 60s and I think my parents paid 50 pence for a weeks camping.

My husband and I with our two kids holidayed there during the 70s, my kids are now grown up but still continue to camp there.

I look forward to our holiday next month the only downside is I hope we can get a pitch the site is very popular, and I'd be very disappointed if we couldn't get in.

Keep up the good work it's the best site in the lake district 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kees33 1 review from this member

 Highly recommend this site++++++.Great facilities spotlessly clean heated floors in shower block, very friendly staff. Fantastic location and all pitches with views, some better than others. View beautiful pitch C42. The only grumble was nothing for children on site no park, grassed areas to play on so take plenty to do with you, this didn't spoil any part of our visit though can't wait to go back! 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tbell34 1 review from this member

 Bit pricey at 20 per night for 2 berth, but found out later this price went up to 5 berth, included car.

No hook up for tents but I did not need this anyway.

You can pick your own spot.

Adequate shop for basics.

Beautiful views. Fairly quiet time of year, about 5 tents in total and 2 motorhomes on site.

Looks like it could take about 20 tents and 15 motorhomes and then would be packed.

Middle of nowhere advertises 2 pubs but only the main one was open.

No other amenities for miles.

Easy access to some beautiful walks and scenery.

Nice pub and helpful staff, but very small. (shop shut and my husband had indigestion so pub landlord opened shop to get some rennies).

Food and beer pricey but where isn't.

Ample shower and pot washing. Toilets well lit (female) but smelled of wee. Did not use showers but looked ok. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Peskypeeza 8 reviews from this member

 Just back from a gloriously sunny short break at Castlerigg Hall and absolutely loved this campsite.

Facilities: the campers' kitchen with free wifi was an absolute boon - very handy to nip and get a flask of hot water using the free kettles and make toast. The toilet block on the tent field was rather swish - 4 shower rooms with plenty of space to get changed and always hot water.

We didn't really use the shop but we ate in Food @ Jiggers one night which had a friendly atmosphere. Food was good - not high end, but clearly the chef had put thought into making it tasty rather than standard pre-frozen pub food. The recreation field was handy too for games of frisbee and we saw lots of little ones playing football there.

Location - the walk down into Keswick is very pretty, but steep in places. Bit of a mission on the way back up! The views from the main reception area over Derwentwater are stunning, and where we were pitched to the far left of the tent field you could see over Keswick and the far end of the lake. All the trees on the tent field, coupled with cars having to be parked round the edges, made for a relaxing pitch.

As for Keswick itself, Booths supermarket had loads of choice (recommend their lamb and mint burgers!) and the Dog and Gun pub felt very cosy and welcoming.

We will definitely be back! 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SJC1970 3 reviews from this member

 I have just returned from a 2 night stay here with my wife and 2 children (aged 6 and 12).

The sites facilities were excellent and very clean and the staff friendly and helpful.

There's a pub right next door to the site but its tiny in size and to get a table for something to eat you have to get in early,they only serve vegetarian meals but it's handy for a drink with a short walk.

My one and only criticism would be the distance away from the town centre (with a steepish walk approx 2 miles). 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gaz*mac 1 review from this member

 Single dad with kids! - This was a great site.

I agree with other users that this site may be more tailored towards the tourer/caravanner, however, as a tent user: I've never had better facilities!

Spent 5 days in glorious sunshine with my kids, met some great people (Carolyn & Thomas especially), had a great time - hope we meet agian.

Anyway - as for the site - the toilet/shower facilities would put most peoples' homes to shame; they really are that good. Under-floor heating, private cubicles with sink and shower combined, you really can't go wrong.

The site has a recreation field (which is great - but a play-area for the little-uns would be an added bonus). The tent field seems to have very few flat pitches, but everyone seems to manage with the slight slope.

Very good on-site facilities, the campers kitchen is great (although I personally think that it would be better if it were on/next to, the tent field.

This really is a great site! 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Shellyklimt 7 reviews from this member

 This has to be one of the best sites - positioned on route to Walla Cragg and overlooking Derwentwater.

Excellent views from the communal playfield and plentiful walks to both the town and the fells.

The bathrooms are very good in particular the ones and the on the right handside of the site.

The restaurant /bar on site is adequate and the beer prices actually cheaper than in the town!

Taking into account the fact that we were there peak season with full awning and hook ups the cost was approx 25% of what friends have paid for a week bed and breakfast in Keswick - for access to the fells alone that is a bargain.

My only complaint is that we did not book for two weeks instead of the glorious seven days we spent there.

Highly recommended and we shall return 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lisamik 1 review from this member

 We arrived quite late on a monday teatime & it was already busy then, we stayed for 2 nights. A little surprised at the incline of the pitching area. The toilet's and shower blocks were very very clean, I went to the block early on the first morning and they were already being cleaned (it was a man but you do have doors on the showers so they can't see anything).

Other reviews say it was windy and it was when we stayed but can't blamed the site in my opinion. The shop was very well stocked and all the staff were polite and helpful.

The pub just as you entered the site was a 'little snug' but allowed children and dogs but we were not over pleased with the beers that were a little pricey. We didn't eat in the on site restaurant so can't comment.

There is a communal room that does have toasters, kettles & microwaves for a little charge with really good views along with a place to wash and dry & iron clothes. We had to walk onto the static & touring caravan pitch to get the best views as on the tent pitch you could only see the tops of the mountains because of the trees.

We ate at a pub/restaurant just as you were going into Keswick, the beer was ok but the food and service left a lot to be desired even though you could see photos of awards on the fireplace!

Not everyone can walk all day then trek down into Keswick and back up that hill again so we went by car, parking prices in Keswick are a little steep for an area that they want people to visit. 


Previous     179 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Keswick      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5581 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement