Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Keswick > Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park
Castlerigg
(lake District)
Keswick
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA12 4TE
Tel: 017687 74499
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 163
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 179 Reviews
                9/10 from 179 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  179 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Tedster 5 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a fantastic week at this campsite. The facilities are excellent and clean. The shop is good value and well stocked. The food at the on site restaurant was always lovely and reasonably priced.

There was a nice friendly atmosphere at the site and the large recreational area was ideal for all visitors to use and enjoy the view.

The best bit is the stunning view and close proximate to Keswick while still feeling you were in the country (just a shame the walk back up to the campsite is so steep!) 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Mitsy123 1 review from this member

 I would like to thank this site for taking us at short notice when the one across the road said they couldn't find our booking. The staff were very helpful and couldn't do enough to help me.

The site is very spacious with beautiful views over derwentwater. The pitches are large and the site is very peaceful.

The shower block with the underfloor heating is lovely and the shop on site is well stocked.

Overall enjoyed our three nights there and would definitely go back.

Only complaint would be as we have three dogs the dog walks on site were extremely small and they encourage you to walk the dogs off site but sometimes a small dog just needs a little walk especially at night. 


Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Joanne Best 2 reviews from this member

 Have stayed at Castlerigg on two occasions now for two and three night stays. Both mini breaks have been relaxing and the view of the Derwent water is superb. The tent field shower block is far superior to that of the block near the entrance however, the showers are of the push-button type and could do with being on a little longer. Saying that, the under floor heating is a luxury! The shop is well stocked with daily essentials and a good selection of food is available.

Jiggers bar on the site offers a good selection of breakfast and evening meals and there is pub right at the site entrance. The pitches are a decent size with electric hook-up and fully serviced pitches are also available. There is a pathway walk in to Keswick which takes about half an hour where there is a wide selection of good pubs offering good value meals, Booths supermarket, excellent quaint shops and market on Saturday (unsure if this is on other days too?) Overall a great place to stay for a long or short break and will definitely be returning in the future! 


Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: HannaS 12 reviews from this member

 We are new to caravanning and decided to venture not to far from home when we booked here, we very pleased with our choice.

We booked a serviced pitch on the bottom terraces, which were very quiet and had lovely views over Derwent Water.

The toilet / shower block were excellent, spotlessly clean and very large shower cubicles, so nothing got wet while you were in the shower. The showers were lovely and hot and there was underfloor heating throughout. We didn't have to queue at any point and we did not see anyone else queuing.

We ate at Jiggers, the restaurant on site and used the small shop - both were very reasonably priced, especially for the lakes.

It was a 20 minute downhill walk into Keswick, we heard of others getting the bus back to the lane end, but we got taxis - it was only £4 and right to the gate, I imagine it would be quite a hike to walk back.

The site is very quiet and well looked after, it is located just far enough out of the town so you don't feel like you are in the the crowds of Keswick. We will return, despite only living 30 mins away! 


Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sorenlorensen 7 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a couple of nights here and was really impressed with this lovely site.

Obviously a little out-of-season so it was really quiet and peaceful, we had almost the whole field to choose from to pitch our tent and no queues for anything. I can't speak for it in the Summer months when I imagine it is (rightly) very popular.

Another reviewer called it 'decaff camping' and I must admit, I felt slightly like I was 'cheating' with having everything so easy and laid-on and such good facilities but with a 1-year-old and 3-year-old, it is quite nice to have it easy sometimes :)

The views are amazing from just by the recreation field (phone mast excepted!) and still great from the camping field - views of derwentwater through the trees and a lovely view of Keswick by night.

The shower/toilet block was immaculately clean and lovely and warm. The 4 showers were in little rooms of their own with a bench and some with a sink too. There were additional showers and a bath too in the main building but we didn't use them. Alongside the loos/showers on the camping field is a nice pot-wash room and a specific baby-change room (though this doesn't have a window and with stinky nappies in the bin, it smelt a bit so we didn't use it)

There is a 'camp kitchen' open 8:30am-10pm which has kettles & toasters (free) and hobs & microwaves (paid) which was great on a chilly morning and I'd imagine in the wet-weather too.

The shop is good and not too pricey. I can't comment on the cafe as we didn't use it (closed tue all day and wed mornings at this time of year).

The kids loved the goats and chickens in the barn.

One small niggle is with the entry as there is space for 2 cars in front of the barrier only and no room for those checking in to pull over out of the way so I'd imagine it could be chaos in busier months (check-in for the people in front of us took quite a long time and you'd be a bit cross if you'd just nipped out and had to queue for 15mins behind someone checking in to get back in. )

All in all a great site with lovely friendly staff and we will definitely return. I hope my two slight negatives above don't skew my review as I have honestly never experienced such good facilities before. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Marvinmolar 2 reviews from this member

 Visited in a tent from Monday to Friday.

Facilities are great. Showers and toilets are very clean. There's even a bath that you can pay to use if you're a bit foot sore after a long walk.

For dirty or wet walking gear, there's washing machines and a dryer (you need to pay, but it's still worth it when you've done a 10 mile walk in driving rain).

There's a campers kitchen where you can pay to use a stove, if it's just too wet to cook on a stove outside, and you can just sit in there and read, talk, play games if the weather is awful. There's also a freezer in there so that you can refreeze icepacks.

There's a decently stocked shop selling essentials and also some bottled ales.

Staff are friendly and helpful. Even communication when booking is good.

The site is about a 20 min walk from Keswick. It's a steep walk back up from town though. Also within easy walking distance of Walla Crag and Castlerigg Stone Circle.

The camping field is a bit sloped, so you can wake up having slipped down the tent a bit if you don't get a pitch on one of the flatter bits. Can also get a bit waterlogged in prolonged rain. But these aren't enough to stop me wanting to go back. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Oddball780 4 reviews from this member

 We have just returned today from visiting the site for a week. We have progressed from tent through pod and now on to a motorhome. In the past we’ve always had the car to go around in, this time we walked and used the buses. We had a brilliant time, there’s loads to do and plenty of walks to go on, whatever the weather.

The facilities are always good, clean and tidy. The site was full on a couple of occasions when we were there which is testament to how good it is.

Other people have commented on how good it is here with wonderful views and efficient staff. Easily the best campsite in the Lakes. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JamesKelly91 3 reviews from this member

 I have just returned from this campsite and have only positive things to say about it. There were 11 of us on this trip - 6 adults and 5 children (all under 12).

We were greeted by friendly and extremely polite staff, who took us to the camping field and told us that although they were busy, if we could fit on then we would be more than welcome to stay.

Their only request was that all tents were at least 3m apart from each other. We managed to fit on the field, together, with plenty of room to spare.

I paid for myself and my girlfriend, which was the next nice surprise. At £8. 20 each per night + £3 per night for our car, we thought that this was an absolute bargain – especially considering the facilities available to us, the area, and the surrounding campsites charges.

The views were absolutely spectacular. The camping field was very well kept and had lots of lovely trees in it. Although the whole site is on a slope, we had no problem at all in our tent because of this.

There was a room which gave access to a washer, drier, kettle and microwave. There was a large pot wash room. The toilets were excellent, and the shower facilities exceptional. All of these facilities were extremely modern, clean and well kept.

There were four shower cubicles available in the male toilets. The showers are tucked away in there own separate rooms which included a mirror, sink area, seating area, shaver sockets, and hang points. The room was spacious and once again, very clean. I never waited for a use of a shower, even though the site was clearly full. Hot water was very available, and we never heard of it running out.

Unfortunately, as the typical British weather descended upon us we were hit with torrential rain all weekend. On the plus side, there was no drainage problem within the site. Although the grass got quite muddy, the weather didn’t bother us at all.

There is a pub just outside the site, which only served vegetarian meals. We did not use this as the children all wanted burgers and chips. The on site restaurant looked very clean and nice, however we did not use it. The on site shop is also excellent. They sold absolutely everything you could possibly need, and the prices were very reasonable. We used this shop quite a few times for silly little things we had forgotten (toothpaste, washing up liquid, etc).

The walk into Keswick takes approximately half an hour, down a very steep track. This was okay going down, but coming back up in the rain it was not ideal. The drive into Keswick is literally a 5 minute journey.

There are plenty of car parks, which only charge until 7pm. Prices start at 65p for half an hour then up to £7 all day. There is quite a lot to do in Keswick and there are plenty of bars and cafes. I would definitely recommend the Mining Museum. It is £4 per adult entry, however you will spend anywhere from 45 mins upwards in there. We were greeted by a gentleman who gave us a mini-tour then let us explore the rest of the museum by ourselves. He was an ex-miner who knew absolutely everything there was to know about the area and its history. He was very passionate and made the museum that little bit more special. On the other hand, we found the Pencil Museum to be very drab and boring and at £3. 75 not worth it at all. We spent no longer than half an hour in there.

This is an excellent site, and we will be definitely returning soon! 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: MIGLIO2 5 reviews from this member

 We booked for a full week in August, looking forward to lots of sunshine and nice walks with our dogs. The weather was so bad, rain and high winds, that we left by the Wednesday. Objectively the pitch we had was good and level but was on a through road to the other pitches and the camping ground so traffic past our rig was significant. Site facilities are good but not outstanding. Dog runs are provided but they are small. The pub adjacent is small

We never got to Keswick as the weather was so bad and the pathway too steep for arthritic knees (and closer to two miles than one, the journey back all uphill), in fact there seems to be less than 100 yards of flat ground in the vicinity so if walking is in anyway a challenge, then you might find yourself marooned. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Buzz544 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for two nights, mid-week in a tent. Although it wasn’t high season it was quite busy. The site is well kept and very smart with excellent facilities. The tent area is generally sloping, although the ground wasn’t too bad for putting pegs in, in the part we were in.

There is a very small dog walking area at the bottom of the field which was a bit over grown but good for that late night or early morning wee before taking the dog out properly, it's not brilliant but it is better than nothing so they get a thumbs up for making the effort.

The facilities are superb. Great shower and toilet blocks, well stocked shop, a communal kitchen with kettle and microwaves for campers to use (a small charge is made) and wi fi available there as well. There is also a bath that one can use if one needs a soak after a days walking.

Overall this is an excellent site which is very well kept and I would recommend. 


Previous     179 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Keswick      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4530 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement