Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Keswick > Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park
Castlerigg
(lake District)
Keswick
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA12 4TE
Tel: 017687 74499
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 163
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 179 Reviews
                9/10 from 179 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  179 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rigby5 4 reviews from this member

 Beautiful setting with wonderful views of Derwentwater. Facilities are good with kitchen and seating area to use for when it's wet outside which happens quite a lot in the Lakes.

Showers and toilets are modern and clean. Keep your dogs tethered as per the rules of they'll be off after the rabbits in the area.

Shop is good for provisions and local info. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Explore with Dora 16 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site! The site is easy to find and well signed. It is close to Keswick and is easily in walking distance for those who are there for walking. We used the site for the Keswick Mountain Festival so did the walk several times!

The site is really well set out and many of the pitches have lovely views. The facilities are all very clean and modern. The thing we really liked however was that the prices are clear on their information and unlike some sites in the area, they did not hike their prices for the Keswick Mountain Festival period.

This alone means that we will certainly use the site again as I like to support people who are fair. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Catarinabod 55 reviews from this member

 Stayed here on 1st night of a roadtrip to the West Highlands. Splashed out on a superior pitch E2 which was fabulous but did cost £35. Excellent toilet/shower facilities - piped music and modern fixtures/fittings - the only possible improvement would have been underfloor heating. Great little shop and on-site bar/restaurant + takeaway pizzas. The bar/restaurant had a lovely terrace with views of the lake. Walked to the stone circle and also the other way to the Great Wood (saw wild deer there). Rural site - great if you like walking direct from the site. Would definitely return. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Rispinator 3 reviews from this member

 This is a commercial site with shop café, bar etc.

The site has lovely views.

The staff are helpful and polite.

The wc/showers are as good as any I've seen in 45 years.

On the negative side this 3 day stay (not bank hol weekend), cost me more than 3 times my 3 day stay at CCC Kendal earlier this month. Both EHU etc.

The return from shopping in Keswick is a strenuous 1. 5 mile walk or category 4 cycle climb.

For the first 2 days I failed to recognise that the area that was overgrown with 2 years bramble growth was the sink for my pitch. Quite a few pitches were also weedy.

NOT acceptable at this price! 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Biggreenmonster 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed for two nights at this site with our two boys on our way up north and really enjoyed our stay. The facilities were first rate - with a very substantial shower/toilet/washing up/laundry/campers kitchen facilities all in the same building. There was also a very good shop on site and the best bit for us was the on site restaurant, which served the most delicious food! We still say now that the steaks we had were the best we've ever had! We really weren't expecting such a high standard of cuisine on a campsite, so it was a nice bonus and so handy not to have to venture out looking for somewhere to eat.

The campsite is on a slope down towards the lake (Derwent Water), but most pitches seemed level, as ours was, being on a terrace. This meant we had a beautiful views across the lake to the hills beyond. The site is in a good location, very handy for Keswick and all the amenities here.

There seemed to be always plenty of staff on hand at the site, in the reception, who were always very friendly and helpful.

Nothing negative to say about this site, we would definitely return. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Robscoffs 2 reviews from this member

 One of the nicest campsites we have ever been to. Wonderful views over Derwentwater, though not from all pitches. We did not have a view from our pitch but saw it on the short stroll to the really excellent on site restaurant and bar. Terrace with a view, lovely food, friendly staff and reasonable prices. The washroom facilities on site are clean and modern, I particularly liked the underfloor heating in the showers. The shop is well stocked, we had some delicious local bacon. The walk in to Keswick, on the footpath through the woods is lovely, taking about 40 minutes, and there is a cafe on the way. Coming back is uphill most of the way, but not really too strenuous. We will be back. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stebutty 1 review from this member

 Just spent two nights at Castlerigg Hall. Fantastic views over Cat Bells. Site is well maintained with friendly and helpful staff. Lovely clean modern showers and toilet facilities. Had a lovely meal at Jiggers restaurant with once again friendly staff. Highly recommended and would definitely return. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: MDJO 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 2 nights in July. On checking their website it didn't show any availability however I rang them and they had some availability so worth ringing. We were allocated a lovely pitch further down the terraces with views over the lakes and mountains. There is a short walk upto the entrance and amenities but shouldn't pose too much of a problem. The pitch had its own water supply which was helpful. There are new shower and toilet blocks situated a little closer to the lower terraces and they were immaculate.

The site is ideally located for a short walk (downhill) into Keswick or in the other direction to the Stone Circles.

The restaurant is also very nice serving lovely food to either eat-in or take away. The shop is very well stocked and not too expensive either.

It rained constantly whilst we were there but it didn't spoil our enjoyment of this lovely site. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Esmeralda 31 reviews from this member

 Our third visit to this site and as usual were impressed by the facilities and stunning location. It was our first time on a better pitch but I have to say we were slightly disappointed, we were right at the bottom of the site which wasn't a problem in itself, although a steep climb back up for anything! Our issue was that the shingle sitting out area was full of weeds growing through and the so called grassy bit in front of us was about two foot high with weeds and nettles. Looking around it seemed to be the only unkempt part of the site, everywhere else was very well kept. Just a small thing, I suppose, but overall impression wasn't as good as it might have been. Ate in the restaurant which was a very good experience, the food was excellent as was the service, ten out of ten to the staff! Would love to return and try one of the really scenic pitches. 


Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Mic6662 1 review from this member

 Stayed here for 4 nights from 29th March.

It was our second visit here, the site is just as good as our first visit.

Excellent plot with beautiful views of the lake.

Excellent washing/toilet facilities, spotless.

Reception top notch.

Good shop, nice bar with outdoor decking with views of the lake.

The campers kitchen seemed too be well used.

Great Lakes weather, snow, wind, rain, mist and sun all within our stay.

Highly recommended. We will return. 


Previous     179 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Keswick      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4575 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement