Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Keswick > Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park
Castlerigg
(lake District)
Keswick
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA12 4TE
Tel: 017687 74499
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 163
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 179 Reviews
                9/10 from 179 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  179 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Henwise 1 review from this member

 This site is definitely a cracking site depending on the pitch you get. The views at the top of the site are to die for but are more obscured the lower down you go. The site in general is unsuitable for those not too agile if again you are near the bottom as there is quite a steep climb, about 200 yards, up to the toilet, shop, laundry facilities at the top.

The toilet and shower block was very clean and the shop had most things you would need.

The dog walk was very poor but with great walks straight off site that didn't really matter.

Keswick is a stiff walk of about a mile and a half and with Booths supermarket there you can't go wrong.

Would be happy to use this site again but would be more picky with the pitch! 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Graemelawson 5 reviews from this member

 WOW- what a great site- fantastic views over Derwentwater.

We were there during Keswick convention week and although we were not there for the convention, went along and enjoyed some great times hearing Stuart Townend leading Christian worship. This event is very worth considering, if you are not a Christian, you might find out some stuff which was very encouraging and thought provoking.

We Kayaked a few times on Derwentwater and it was 'fab' and Keswick itself has plenty nice eateries if not a tad expensive.

Although quite an expensive holiday, it was well worth the money and we would return.

Pity this site was not 'by the lake' to save us transporting Kayaks, but on the other side of the coin, there is a lovely walk (shortcut) from site into Keswick which is a good exercise on the way back as it's mainly uphill!

Go for it. You wont be disappointed 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Wilfstevens 1 review from this member

 We arrived just after 16:00 and were directed to our pitch and told to book in after setting up. A good job too, as the heavens opened just after finishing putting up the awning.

First impressions were good, the site around the The site is well sign posted on the A591. The entrance was clean and looked well maintained. Our plot was on the top row, one of four on hard standing (if you have an awning bring heavy duty pegs and a big hammer.

The view looks out over Keswick water and Cat Bells. What a view to wake up to every morning. You can walk into Keswick without going on the main road but it is a little muddy in places thanks to the fine summer we are having.

The amenities were spotless. Showers with plenty of hot water (free), disabled access to the building, fully stocked shop (selling local meats, eggs and beers) at prices comparable with town shops. There is a cafe/ restaurant serving breakfasts and other meals, (didn't use so can't comment on the quality) and a really useful room equipped with hotplates, toasters and microwave (coin fed I think)and sinks for dish washing. It also has tables to eat or play games at. There is also wi-fi access. There are recycling bins just outside the shower/

All in all I would have to put this site in the top 5 of my personal favourites (I have been camping now for nearly 40 years) and have seen a few shockers, but this isn't one of them. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jam Mar 5 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a week break at Castlerigg, having been numerous times before and have always enjoyed it.

However you could not help but notice how 'unloved' and 'unkempt' the site has become. I don't know the reason for this, but the once tidy pitches were surrounded by weeds.

We were in one of the lower pitch areas, and at the back of the caravan was completely overgrown!

Some serious groundwork/gardening is required to bring the site back to its former glory. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: 3bikeman 3 reviews from this member

 First visit to the site last October great really impressed. However second visit, things not quite so rosey - the water had to be boiled due to the heavy rain, not the sites fault, but very inconvenient for teeth cleaning etc and the brown colour didn't help the taste.

We also discovered that the top toilet block was much better than the one by the 'camping area' The one by the camping area never seems to have hot water in the taps which are difficult to fill a sink as they are operated by a 'sensor' [which is supposidly environmentally friendly, ] you put your hand across to operate. The showers also difficult to operate, whereas the top ones push button taps, hot water immediately and the shower is easier to operate etc but! at least heated floors in the 'camping area' block which helps keep them clean and dry. It would be helpful to have access to hairdriers other than the expensive 'token system'

My advice would be if you are in a camper van/motorhome and want a quiet night don't use the pitches next to the tent area, we had a large family from Liverpool next to us - they decided to have 60s music on till very late and all day!

Also very expensive, cost me + wife and VW camper 150 for 6 nights. Very nice location, good views, bus etc. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Timandjacky 16 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 2 nights, didn't pre book just turned up. First pitch we were offered was next to the toilets which we declined then we were offered a better pitch - feel a bit miffed when sites offer a difficult to budge pitch saying it is the only one available then manage to find another when you decline the offer! Nevertheless were pleased with what we got.

This site has the most beautiful views of derwentwater and some very nie walks from the site.

Toilets, showers and pot wash all very clean with plentiful hot water.

Well stocked shop which sells some nice local produce.

We paid 53 for 2 nights which I think is pricey but I think you just have to accept that the Lake District is expensive.

We walked to the Castlerigg Stone Circle one evening about 30 minutes away (were going to walk on footpath through field but it was occupied by a number of territorial looking bulls so we went along the road instead!)

Also hiked up Walla Crag and back through Great Forest - that was a fantastic hike, would recommend.

Keswick is about a 30 minute walk away. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 8587 2 reviews from this member

 A great site with beautiful views of Derwentwater and the surrounding hills. Staff very friendly, no massive list of rules!

Wild rabbits freely roam on site (bit frustrating for our dog!)

Well stocked shop (even safety pins for daughter's number bib for 10km run). Restaurant looked very inviting, although we never got the chance to sample any meals. Loved the cute goats at the pet farm. Site very handy for pub but quite a walk into Keswick, especially in the rain, but thanks to very friendly Davies taxis this wasn't a problem at all (dog allowed in taxi/pub too).

Toilet block - couldn't be better.

Looking forward to a return visit 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Traceycarr2 1 review from this member

 First time on this site and its was lovely, great views, very clean and tidy. Only problem was the weather, as usual in the Lakes. Facilities were very clean, we used Jiggers a couple of times, which was very nice.

The dog walk was completely overgrown, so a complete waste of time, I used the lane like most other people to exercise the dog. Can be a bit pricey, being charged 2 a night for a dog, and 2+ for an awning depending on size, porch or full, which is really annoying when you can't put it up for a few days because of bad weather or you take it down early because of bad weather. I don't see why the need for a charge, the pitches are all hardstanding and the size pitch is the same whether you have an awning or not.

Would definitely use the Serviced Pitch again, it was great not having to fetch water and empty waste in the pouring rain. The walk to town is down a very overgrown path, which is not too bad when its dry, but when it has been raining you get wet through.

It could do with a little cutting back. We just walked down the road and got a taxi back at night for 4 and they also take the dog OK. Will definitely be going back again. Not risk of flooding like out other favourite site in Keswick 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ginnieminnie 1 review from this member

 'Delightful Campsite'

My boyfriend and I stayed here in a tent for two nights. It was the weekend after the royal jubilee so was quiet, which we liked! I can however imagine during peak summer this campsite will fill up quick!

Pitches - There was plenty of spots to choose from. Almost every spot you pick you are surrounded by beautiful views.

Toilets - There are several toilet and shower blocks around the site, separate ones for campers, caravans etc. So plenty of showers and toilets available. They are all very clean and pleasant. The only gripe would be that being a girl there is nowhere to plug in your straighteners! No plugs inside only a hair dryer you buy tokens for, but I was only staying a couple of nights so didn't mind going natural!

Facilities - There is a restaurant, shop, wash up area and small pub. And I mean SMALL pub! Staff are all very helpful and pleasant. The shop and reception have everything you need if you forget a tent peg or need a local brochure.

Nearby - We went for a picnic up a very steep hill, but once your at the top the views are worth it! Very beautiful. It is a 20minute walk into Keswick, which has plenty of shops and pubs.

Overall I would recommend this campsite to couples and families. I would return as I had a very pleasant stay at a very reasonable price. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: GPDJP 13 reviews from this member

 We loved this site. The views are spectacular. The facilities are modern and clean. The shop has a good range of essentials snd an interesting range of many other products.

Jiggers restaurant serves delightful food which you can see being prepared for you and it is good value for money.

The walk into Keswick is lovely, a little overgrown in places but most footpaths are.

Keswick is a pleasant town with a good range of shops. There are delightful walks in the area and activities on the lake.

Highly recommended. 


Previous     179 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Keswick      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4552 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement