Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Keswick > Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park
Castlerigg
(lake District)
Keswick
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA12 4TE
Tel: 017687 74499
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 163
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 179 Reviews
                9/10 from 179 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  179 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mountain Man 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned back from Castlerigg Hall after a very enjoyable week in the sun (yes there wasn't even a drop of rain in a whole week in the Lake District, there's a first for everything !)

I cannot recommend this site highly enough, the welcome at reception on arrival was excellent and this set the precedent for our stay. All of the facilities, as have been mentioned previously, were fantastic, and kept well cleaned and maintained throughout. The shop was well stocked and reasonably priced (we bought a new folding chair as one of our old ones broke, and it was cheaper to buy on site than in any of the outdoor shops Keswick had to offer !)

The pub adjacent to the site was a little tired, but served decent pints, and the beer garden had a good view over towards Bassenthwaite Lake. We walked down the (mainly downhill) footpath to Keswick several times, but note if you wear shorts that there are some rather severe nettles, particularly on the first 200-300 yards of the path, and in wet weather the footpath could be prone to turning very muddy. Also, the walk back up the footpath may be unsuitable for the infirm or unfit as it has a long and steep uphill section.

Keswick itself is a delightful town, the main supermarket is 'Booths' which is located next to the bus station, and stocks good quality foods and drinks, including plenty of local produce and recognised brands. There is also a Co-Op and plenty of independent stores. An abundance of gardens, museums and pubs also are available in the town.

So all in all, an excellent location and campsite. My only quibble ? The lack of provision for pre-booking camping (tent) pitches. Even though it was out with School holiday times when we stayed, it was still at capacity, meaning that at peak periods inevitably some campers will be disappointed, and a back up plan should be in place if you venture to Castlerigg in holiday times / at weekends. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rowdyangel 2 reviews from this member

 We arrived during the morning of Wed 24th June and booked in at reception for a 3 night stay. The lady on reception was very helpful and gave us directions to the tent fields. We opted for the larger tent field to the west side of the site.

We selected our pitch (you have to have 3 metres between pitches) and got our tent up. I suggest that you check your pitch before starting to put up your tent - some areas of the ground were soft on top but must have been concrete a few inches down as some of our tent pegs were difficult to put all the way into the ground. As a bonus we were able to park our car right next to our tent. Most areas of the field were on a slope so be careful to pitch your tent in a way to accommodate the slope. It wasn't too steep but you would probably notice it when you went to bed and found yourself rolling over - lol!

We then had a look around the site facilities and were very impressed. There is a shower / toilet block for the main tent field which looks brand new and very modern. There was also a pot wash room with 4 sinks for you to do your washing up. Disabled facilities are excellent too.

There is an onsite bar/restaurant called 'Jiggers'. Never went in there as it was closed on the Wednesday and Thursday which was a shame. It is normally closed on a Thursday I think but it looks OK and the prices on the menu in the window seemed quite reasonable.

There are other shower/toilet facilities next to the restaurant which is located as you enter the site. The onsite shop was OK too and stocked the essentials as well as newspapers and magazines. Prices were OK for an onsite shop.

The site is located off a main road but is set back so there is no traffic noise. Beware of the military aircraft flying low over the site - we had 2 jet aircrafts doing low flying exercises while we were there - quite fascinating to see them flying so low. I think they were training.

You can walk into the centre of Keswick from the site using a public footpath which takes about 20-30 minutes but be warned, on the way back it is uphill all the way!

There are plenty of local walks in the area - we went to the Stone Circle. However, we made the mistake of walking back from the Stone Circle to the campsite the long way round and we suffered for it the next day!

Weather was perfect for our very first camping trip and we have been bitten by the camping bug.

We recommend this site highly as the facilities are first class and the location is perfect. We hope to go back one day but for our next trip we will try another site just to get more experienced in camping.

My final comment is that Keswick itself, although a beautiful place, is quite expensive compared to other areas of the Lake District. The cheapest round of drinks in a local pub was about 4.25 for a pint and a half of lager! Also, don't bother with the pub just round the corner from the campsite - drinks are extortionate and the meals are vegetarian only - they were charging over 3 for a pint! Rip-off. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mikerox 2 reviews from this member

 I have just got back from this site having camped there for three nights over the course of the weekend. Chose the site on the basis of the very positive reviews on here and as I was with my 10 & 5 year old boys I wanted to be pretty sure what I was going to get for my money!

Have to say it was everything previous posters have said and more, fantastic site, toilet & Shower block were without doubt the best I've come across on a campsite. The shop was open from early till late stocking all the basic necessities which whilst being dearer than in the supermarket was well worth the extra few pennies for it to be there on the doorstep.

Tried the Pizza night in the onsite restaurant which the kids enjoyed then BBQ'd by the tent the other two nights.

Kids loved the recreation area, and the woodland walk down into Keswick, (pooh sticks on the bridge!), little fella found it a bit steep on the way back though.

The views are beautiful, the site immaculate, only gripes would be the sloping pitch which tended to make the camp beds slide together during the night and me to lose balance when putting my socks on!

Well worth a visit 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: 888dee 7 reviews from this member

 We have stayed at castlerigg a number of times before but always in a tent, this was our 1st time with a caravan.

Site overall is clean and well maintained, recently refurbished toilet / showerblock at the tent side of the site is very nice but limited number of showers.

Our pitch was on one of the lower terraces (2nd from the bottom) and whilst level and individually serviced for fresh and grey water it was very tight to get a 21' caravan onto and the hill down to / away from the lower terraces is very steep, smaller engined outfits will properly struggle getting back up and the chemical toilet point was a way up the hill, really not great.

Overall a nice site and would recommend but when booking try to make sure you get one of the terraces nearer the entrance. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Magpie09 3 reviews from this member

 We've stayed here many times over the years and I guess that tells its own story in many ways.

The new toilet block in the camping field is quite simply second to none, it's like a five star hotel leisure club! (no pool though)

There's also a campers kitchen with kettles, toasters, microwaves and hobs. Also a freezer for your icepacks.

The view over Derwent water is five star also, and is only bettered by the short walk up Walla Cragg for a higher vantage point.

The staff are always polite and the shop is well stocked. The new Jiggers restaurant on site is reasonably priced and the breakfast is good value and well cooked. Not had the evening meal yet but we will at some point soon.

We stay here to go walking the fells and there is no shortage of that in the area, either straight from the site, or a short drive to your desired start or fell.

In the evening it's a two mile walk to the pubs and restaurants in Keswick, or if your legs have had enough on the fells about 4 in a taxi. The Dog & Gun serve a good range of real ales and a great Goulash.

You can also catch some live music at weekends in a couple of bars (some great and some not so great!)

Love the place and highly recommend it! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Lhotse 3 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site with wonderful views over Derwentwater. We have used both the tent field and hardstandings but find the hard standing better for the trailer tent as there aren't many level pitches in the tent field. Hard standings need to be booked well in advance.

Toilet & shower facilities are fabulous. Also a campers kitchen with kettles, toasters, microwaves and hobs. The onsite Jiggers Cafe had recently opened and served breakfasts and very reasonably priced evening meals.

Can do loads of walking directly from the site including Walla Crag, Castlerigg Stone Circle.

Good Taste Cafe in Lake Road Keswick great for breakfasts, lunches and does a brilliant expresso. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Funkymum*3 3 reviews from this member

 This site had been recommended by family & I can see why! The site is just off the main road which is always a bonus, but bit narrow by Heights hotel for passing.
Site is on different levels so most pitches have spectacular views towards the lake. Very friendly staff greeted us & basic map of site useful. Toilet facilities are excellent but they were a bit far for our 6 year old unless we had a bit of warning! (We were at the bottom end of the site)
There is a sloping grass recreation area which children enjoyed but no play area with swings etc. This would have been useful but has not put us off going back, in fact I am checking availability for the summer hols.
It is a short walk into Keswick but recommend the bus back because the hills are steep! The shop was excellent, well stocked & the fresh bread was delicious.
Overall it is a great site & well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jones Family 3 reviews from this member

 Having visited this site on three occasions we can safely say it is our favourite site in the Lake District.

With all the amenities on site being maintained to the very highest standards and the all facilities you need for a brilliant holiday on your doorstep.

The site has a campers kitchen, super shop for food and accessories etc.,clean Toilets/Showers and hookups.

There is direct access to the fells and Keswick town centre and Derwent Water is within walking distance with all the amenities that brings.

At the entrance to the site is a welcoming Pub that allows children & dogs and serve great meals.

We can fully recommend this site with confidence. 


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Peteo 2 reviews from this member

 Very well run site Fantastic views over Keswick and surrounding fells . New shower block re furbish is very luxurious ,I think the fancy mixer taps on the wash basins might cause problems long term as they were not working when we were there.But I'm sure they will sort that out.

The Cafe on site does a very nice breakfast if you cant be bothered to cook. I understand they they do evening meals also.

The only downside was finding a pitch that wasn't waterlogged. To be fair there had been a lot of rain.

The prices were very reasonable, we've paid the same elsewhere for grotty spider infested dumps.

A very nice site which we can recommend. Especially if your a caravanner as they ve got the best views. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Clairechris 13 reviews from this member

 Highly recommend this little gem. Lovely greeting by staff be prepared for a steepish ascent that's why you get the views. Then you are given your allocated pitch. We were just in gate next to loos which was great actually handy. Be warned it can get waterlogged but hey this is the lakes and staff will warn you. The views are breathtaking. There are 2 shower blocks the newer tent field is really lovely and very well kept. There are washing facilities and washing up also a log cabin rest room if it pours to seek refuge and read, play games, brew up and cook super idea. There was a little pub next door and food on site excellent esp cooked brekkie. Walks are very good and castlerigg stone circle a must. Th walk down to town going right out of the site is really nice and worth a go. Keswick and derwentwater are my fave places in the world.Go for it! 


Previous     179 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Keswick      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5756 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement