Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Keswick > Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park
Castlerigg
(lake District)
Keswick
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA12 4TE
Tel: 017687 74499
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 163
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 179 Reviews
                9/10 from 179 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  179 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: UXO8 23 reviews from this member

 VERY disappointed!

Booked many months ago because of reviews and how wonderful their website looked, we booked a pitch with views, sadly there was more of a view to the toilet block and chemical waste point than the lake! We had pitch 15 but felt very sorry for the people on 14 as they were right next to to toilet and waste point with hardly any view other than people coming and going to loo's and bins, I found it very off putting to see and hear people empting the toilet waste whilst sat outside trying to enjoy the lovely weather. For future campers PLEASE screen this area off. The toilet block itself was not the best with only 1 shower and a few loo's, there are other blocks and the better one was by the main buildings although the button for the shower is by the cubical door! and a long walk from my pitch. The camper/tent area was a bit squeezed in.

We walked path down to Keswick, which is a lovely town with plenty of good shops and a lovely walk to the lake, the walk back to the campsite is very steep in places.

Good walking from the site and they have a map you can buy for 50p

We didn't use the cafe on site so cant comment

Now for my biggest gripe about this site. I went to use the ladies loo at 7. 45 am only to find a male cleaner in there who just said 'Morning Love' and carried on with his duties. I find this very off putting for a male to be in female toilets and not leave when someone wants to use the loo! I went into a loo but didn't use it and had to walk the long walk to other block. Not only was there NO sign saying 'male cleaner' but why clean them at the busiest time of the morning. I certainly wouldn't like to send my young daughter off to them and find out there was a man in there !

We felt this site didn't look as good as the website and wouldn't use again or recommend to our friends, for the poor facilities and lack of view it's very overpriced 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dibdebdob 6 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a one night stay at Castlerigg and I have to say that this has to be one of the nicest campsites I've ever stayed at. Stunning views (ok, so we only had a view on the walk back from the toilet block and not from our pitch, but still worthwhile) excellent toilet/shower/wash-up facilities which made the stay all the more comfortable.

The shop was great and well stocked and overall the staff were excellent, making us feel very welcome and they were all extremely helpful during our stay. Fairly closer to Keswick with a nice 25 minute scenic walk through the woods.

We loved the fact that there was plenty of space and we didn't feel overcrowded or on top of our next door neighbours. The site was very peaceful (apart from the crows in the morning!) and seeing so many rabbits and other wildlife was great!

All in all, I would highly recommend Castlerigg and am very surprised by some of the reviews I've seen here. ! Thank you and we will be back. ! :) 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cambers 2 reviews from this member

 This site as sites go is pretty faultless, excellent facilities including a well stocked shop, top drawer main toilet and shower block and the majority of pitches with a view to die for overlooking the woods and Derwentwater. The staff are always on hand if needed and helpful and only 5 mins away by car to Keswick or a 25 mins walk through the woods you couldn't get much better. I have already visited this site 3 times and I have booked 2 more visits for 2015. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Bahhumbugessexgirl 7 reviews from this member

 We really loved this site and the awards it has won are well deserved.

The management emailed before our visit and let us know that a road was closed which was a nice touch.

The check in staff were very friendly and welcoming.

The pitch had a nice view of Derwent water as did most of the campsite.

The toilet and showers were always clean, you can see how hard the staff work to maintain this.

The on site restaurant had great food and wasn't too expensive either. The staff were very friendly and professional.

We really liked this site and will return. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Camid 4 reviews from this member

 Had our third stay recently at Castlerigg Hall, as with previous stays the facilities are second to none, welcoming friendly staff, spotless toilet and shower facilities, well stocked shop, views are spectacular, we were on pitch 6 fully serviced, plenty of room with a view of the lake and over to Catbells, . We enjoyed a well cooked and very reasonably priced meal in the on site restaurant which was also open for breakfast. Looking forward to another stay hopefully in September, highly recommend! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Salsapembs 17 reviews from this member

 My family & I stayed for one night in a motorhome on our way up to Scotland during the Easter holidays. Having experienced a number of different caravan parks over the years we found this would rank very highly as a beautiful location with friendly staff. The park was spotlessly clean & the facilities were modern & well kept. This isn't the cheapest park around but you get what you pay for. The only small niggle which was really annoying was that the shower water timer was a matter of seconds. Whilst I've experienced water saving features at a number of other sites & understand why they are implemented this timer was the shortest I've ever come across & really spoilt an otherwise nice hot shower as I had to keep pressing the button all the time. Other than that a lovely site, one which we would return to in the future. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fidibury 38 reviews from this member

 This was our first visit and we had a very pleasant 4 nights stay with our 4 Tibetan Terriers, one of which was an 11 week old pup. The site is very clean and open with hard standing pitches of a good size, all with water point and drainage. Some pitches had lovely views of Derwent Water. The tent field is on a slope. There are also 4 camping pods which looked a good size. Pitches are in terraces and it is a fairly steep walk if you are pitched at the bottom of the park to get to one of the 3 facility blocks. We used the facilities at the top of the site and found them clean. Showers were push button but just one temperature. The push button was outside the shower area (still in the cubicle) which was a bit of an issue.

The small shop on site was open mornings and late afternoons and sold a decent range of items.

There are two dog areas on site - if you can call them that. Just 2 areas that they can't do anything with. One was a fenced off run of about 30m, the other a short walk through unkept ground at the bottom of the tent field.

There is a dog free children's play field in the middle of the site.

There is a restaurant on site - Jiggers - which allows dogs inside. Food was good and priced very reasonably. They were also open on a morning for breakfasts. They have an outside area with lovely views. Closed on a Tuesday.

Keswick is a lovely place about 30 minutes walk from the site - all downhill but remember it's uphill on the way back. Our dogs loved it, even the pup but she did have a carry bag as well! It is also a lovely walk through fields to Castlerigg Stone Circle. You can also drive there. It is a lovely place from which to be able to tour round all of The Lakes.

Wardens were very friendly and helpful and we appreciated the fact they allowed our pup on site as there is a 3 dog policy per unit.

One big gripe of ours is that you have to pay for your dogs - £2. 30 per night per dog (in high season) and for what? This can make it a very expensive site. Responsible dog owners always pick up and control their dogs. Unfortunately this is starting to happen at a lot of sites. Dogs should be free and children should be paid for!

All in all it is a lovely site with good facilities and lovely walks. We would consider coming back especially if they change the dog price policy - even £1 a dog per night is more than enough. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Elgin1 5 reviews from this member

 Having recently stayed at this site I must point out the following:

This is a site of two halves. There are lovely views from many pitches and the toilet/shower facilities are fine but you will only enjoy this site if you get a good pitch and this information may help you decide whether to go or not.

Due to the lack of nearby facilities (ie over 150+ up hill metres to the main block)I suggest you avoid pitches 25, F, E, and 26 to 37. Note that pitches 17 to 24 are also a long way from the main facilities but on a more level route. The proposed CDP (August 2013) near the camping pods has not been started and is doubtful until next year. The shower/toilet block here is poor.

The main block showers run very hot are not controllable and have a very short run cycle. The water to the sinks was never more than lukewarm. The drinking water had an unpleasant ‘brownish’ hue.

The children’s play area is a only a large field with a steep slope to the north; there are no swings etc

I did not find the site particularly good value for money. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Andyfisher 14 reviews from this member

 Site is situated on a hillside above Keswick and many pitches (not all though and this is clear in the sites plan on their website) have wonderful views. Ours was a level hard standing and had water/grey waste service so was good, but the hard stabbing is indeed very hard and rock pegs are absolutely essential and even then some ended up banana shaped! If you are in a tent, the field is generally sloping.

Lots of rabbits running around the site which was pleasant to see.

If you have a TV, the relay transmitter is in sight just down the hill, so you should get a good signal.

There is a decent shop selling essentials and basic camping equipment plus walking guides/maps. The reception staff were welcoming.

The dog wash was handy, this had warm water, compared with the freezing cold shower my wife experienced the first morning in the unheated small shower block at the lower part of the site. In comparison, the toilet/shower facilities at the top (near camping field [there are more near the entrance which we never used]) were very good and modern, but the shower temperature there was variable and uncontrollable and could be a bit too hot! The push button for the water lasted an irritatingly small period of time. All the facilities were very clean and no issues there. Never had to queue.

We did not use any other facilities aside from the CDP and wifi. The latter is free and is at a good speed outside of the early evening time. One evening it wasn't working at all though.

There is a restaurant on site called Jiggers. We tried to use this on two occasions for take away - the first time (early evening) it was closed, which we hadn't realised, so our fault really. The second time however, my wife went in and asked for the take away menu and was very rudely told 'we are too busy!' This was despite my children being told that same morning that take away was available and at the time a board outside and a flashing neon sign in the window advertising take away service! When this was pointed out the lady just said rudely again 'we are too busy'. This was very disappointing. As a result, our plan was foiled and we had to make an unplanned trip out to the supermarket. We noticed that take away was not bring advertised the next evening.

We did have a drink in the small 'cragg bar' attached to the hotel next door (only residents at the hotel could go in the main side of the bar). This also served food (we had some chips that's all and they were were ok). The pub was ok, though dated decor.

I was surprised that there was no play equipment for the kids on site, although there is a big dog free field for them to play on (though it slopes too).

There are two very small dog walks on site, but there are so many walks from the site that these aren't needed. In fact the walks available from the site are great, but bear in mind it is up hill from Keswick. The 555 bus does stop at the end if the entrance lane and thus goes to Keswick, grasmere, Ambleside and Windermere.

Also glad we didn't meet any traffic on the lane going to the site whilst towing the van in and out as the approach road is narrow and the cars park in a potential passing place. This might just be my inexperience fear and so more seasoned caravanners may not consider this an issue.

Lovely location, at a price. 


Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Metalhead 27 reviews from this member

 We've just (reluctantly!) returned from a long weekend at this campsite. There's something for everyone at Castlerigg Hall, spaces for tents, camping pods, fully serviced pitches and standard hook-up only pitches.

We were greeted by the friendly site warden who is a lovely bloke to chat to. Inside the main reception the staff were also very friendly. We stayed on a hook-up only pitch at the top edge of the tent field so there's no views of Derwentwater from here but it's still a lovely spot. The refurbished facilities block here is superb. Underfloor heating, spacious cubicles, and each shower cubicles is its own private room including a wash basin and mirror. The only slight downside is the push-button showers could do with staying on for a bit longer but it's really a minor gripe! The underfloor heating is very effective during these chilly October mornings.

As others have stated, Keswick is about 30 minutes walk down a woodland path, or a little longer down the main road. Walla Crag and Castlerigg Stone Circle are short distances away - ideal for dog walks. The views from either place are stunning and anyone who knows Keswick already knows what it has to offer.

We didn't get to use the on-site Jiggers Bar for food but we did have a meal next door in the Heights Hotel. It wasn't as popular as a few years back when we were last there. If you really love veggie food don't miss Pedlars in Keswick, just by the car park behind the High Street.

We've stayed in this area several times now and found some real gems for campsites. Castlerigg Hall is among them and we wouldn't hesitate to return again. And again! 


Previous     179 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Keswick      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5577 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement