Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Keswick > Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park
Castlerigg
(lake District)
Keswick
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA12 4TE
Tel: 017687 74499
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 163
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 179 Reviews
                9/10 from 179 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  179 in total, now showing 121 to 130                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lynndainty 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely clean site with plenty of toilet facilities and free showers with plenty of hot water. Camp kitchen with free use of 2 kettles and 1 toaster and use of hob and microwave at a small charge.

Well stocked shop on site with everything you possibly need and pub just outside site entrance. Tent field on a slope and not many flat positions to put your tent up, on the plus side you can park your car outside the tent and erect your tent where ever you wish.

Site owners very laid back but well run site 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SPARKY2107 3 reviews from this member

 Nice site with very good facilities and excellent views- campers kitchen and lounge were a welcome break from sitting in the tent in the rain! 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Clairechris 13 reviews from this member

 Second visit to this site this time in tent not caravan. New showers beautiful best I've seen hope mirrors go in soon though! Staff very friendly and helpful. We met some super fellow campers despite terrible rain most of the week. The views are stunning of Derwentwater and from bottom of field bassenthwaite and keswick.
Hairdryer is 50p for 1 minute tokens from shop cost me a bit with long hair but shower free. Half hour to Walla Crag super views and Stone Circle well worth a visit. Do try on my recommendation! 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sandy64 2 reviews from this member

 The facilities on this site are very good and we had a wonderful stay. The views are outstanding and it is a quiet well kept site with lovely areas to walk. It is an ideal base camp for exploring keswick and the surrounding areas and the staff were very helpful.
The only thing lacking was a childrens outside play area although they had a lovely big field for them. My son (9) had a great time in the games room as they have table football, table tennis (take your own bats as the reception ones are a bit dilapidated) and pool.
The showers were excellent and I got long enough to wash hair and self within two timed goes. Shop well stocked and nice cafe but we felt it was a little pricey. The pub just outside the camp was so quaint but get in early for a seat as it is popular.

All in all a very enjoyable and untroubled stay. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: RobDianeX 1 review from this member

 Well run site, beautiful views. Shop and cafe good but a bit expensive. In the new shower block the shower water was too hot! Also need mirrors there!

It would be great if the recreation field had seats at the top end for people to enjoy the fantastic view. Pub got very busy quickly and we had to wait ages for food and it only opens at 7PM.

However it is a very good site in a prime location. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mizdooleys 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed on this campsite in July 2008 and were very impressed on our first impression. The reception was homely and inviting, staff very helpful - even the cat came to say hello!

We were booked in quite quickly and given information on the facilities. Our pitch was on the left hand camping field with approx 30 other tents, though not on each others doorsteps.

The facilities were excellent, toilets and showers very clean, launderette excellent. Games room and kitchen both clean and tidy (although we didnt use them we did look in).

We found the prices in the Hungry Hiker restaurant a little expensive, but the money you save on camping, you can spend on dinner.

Altogether, we had an excellent time, no trouble, 10.30pm quiet rule was adhered to.

Definitely recommend and definitely will return. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Paullynn 14 reviews from this member

 We've stopped here before and willingly came back as its such a cracking site.

With regards the toilet block in the tent field, the lady mentioned them to us as we checked in and she did say she was hoping they'd be finished in a couple of days, a week later when we left (Thursday 24 July) they are still working on them but they have cleared a lot of the rubble away.

Hopefully they'll be finished soon, incidentally the work being undertaken is to extend the block and to include disabled facilities so for this the site should be applauded, maybe the work hasn't gone as smoothly as the site owners would like as I'm sure they'd have liked the work to be finished for the peak season.

Two minor niggles this time around were that we went out for the day and came back to find someone had pitched their tent right up against ours, their guyropes actually blocked our doorway, a passing site worker quickly sorted this out as he told the owners to move their tent so that there was at least a 3m gap. The other was that we went with 7 ice blocks and came back with 3 even though they were clearly marked with our surname.

Other than that the site is still great value and very scenic. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kirstypearce 9 reviews from this member

 Wow! Thats about all I can say, everything was fantastic! The views were out of this world and the facilities were impressive. What an amazing find! And lovely fresh bread and rolls in the shop! Heaven on Earth!
Keswick was just a few minutes drive, didn't manage the walk as my poor legs wont let me! Big superstore called Booth's in Keswick was very handy and plenty of local produce, which we always like to try when travelling!
Wonderful drive through to Windermere, with some of the most spectacular scenery I have ever encountered. One thing if you have never been to the Lake District before is remember the insect repellent, I got bitten all over by the midges! 


Date of Visit: March 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hollyberry 1 review from this member

 We have visited this site many times in the past and found it a great quiet site.

Disappointingly the toilets, showers and washing up area on the camping field were shut for re-development and that the site was covered in a lot of rubble and building materials which we were not told until after we had booked in.

The view as usual was stunning and the staff friendly and helpful, the area in which the site is set has some wonderful view and the rest of it was wonderful even if the weather was freezing! 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Graham5034 2 reviews from this member

 This is the third time we have stayed here and enjoyed it every time, already booked for next year. The views from this site are great and the walk into keswick over wella cragg also has great views.

The pub round the corner from the site has vegetarian food (not to our liking though). 


Previous     179 Reviews in total, now showing 121 to 130      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Keswick      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5843 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement