Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Freshwater Beach Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Dorset > Bridport > Freshwater Beach Holiday Park > Reviews

Freshwater Beach Holiday Park
Burton Bradstock
Bridport
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT6 4PT
Tel: 01308 897317
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 500
Open: 01/03/2022 to 30/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 176 Reviews
                8/10 from 176 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  176 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nelly 118 1 review from this member

 Generally the site was excellent, with good clean toilet/shower blocks, although there were a couple of issues which would make me think twice about coming back: There is a field of donkeys nearby which started making an 'ee awe' sound at daybreak, so I'll be bring some ear plugs if we come back!

Also, the pitches seem quite close together and although I'm sure they are a regulation width apart, it would be nice to have the odd hedge or tree to separate us from our fellow campers.

The site staff were friendly and efficient, so much so that they came round on their golf buggy, with a clip board at 9.58am to check we were vacating at the required 10am.

At other sites I have had issues bringing my works van on to sites, as it is sign written, although the management at this site were very accommodating and give me no hassle. Lovely part of the country, and a good site with some cliff top walks nearby, and a Morrisons 2 miles away. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Robnan 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from a 5 night tent holiday and I have to say that Freswater Beach is by far the best campsite we have visited in the last 5 years.

The only minor criticism is that all the pitches are as close as possible with not a huge amount of room to spare - that said there is more than ample space for the kids to play all around the site.

The pool(s) are a good focal point and very well supervised. The park is popular also for younger kids.

The bar area is a little basic but very reasonably priced and the evening entertainment is worth seeing but that is dependant on taste!

Toilet and shower blocks are immaculate and cleaned throughout the day although the adjacent washing up area could have a few more sinks!

I would strongly recommend this site to anyone taking kids on holiday - I will definitely be taking mine back! 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Church173 2 reviews from this member

 Booked this site last minute on the basis of the reviews and it did not let us down.

Staff were helpful; facilities are very clean, plenty of hot water and showers. The pool is a good size and the life guards are relaxed enough to allow the kids to have fun whilst being safe, last site I went to with a pool about all they could do was swim up and down.

Did not bathe on the beach, the shingle hill is a recent addition and can be hard work, a walk over the cliffs in either direction or nip across the golf course and there are better beaches for bathing. The lagoon is fantastic for kids, be warned it is deep in the middle, having said that there is no current so inflatableís are safe.

Unlike other campsites I have been to this one is not isolated and it is fantastic to be able to walk to so many places, including Bridport or hop on a bus, £16.00 for a family of four to hop on and off the X53 all day, which goes from Exeter to Weymouth, free for Freedom pass holders.

The Club house, yes it is a little dated but all being refurbished next year to include an indoor pool and bowling alley. Prices in the bar not to bad although we rarely used it. The shop stocks almost anything at reasonable prices.

The horses and donkeys on site are great fun; make sure you have a few carrots or apples to hand.

Having thrown many a hormonal tantrum over going camping this year, my 16 year old on the 3rd day turned round and said when we come back next year. I think that says it all.

Hope the prices donít hike up to much with the new facilities as overall we found it good value for money.

Last note, yes they are hot on cars displaying tickets for the site and leaving at 10, this is probably as although it is a large site there is limited parking for cars. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sue@home 10 reviews from this member

 Just got home from a long weekend camping with friends.

We were very impressed with this site. Spacious well drained pitches, clean toilet/shower facilities, hot showers, large club house, cosy cellar bar and restaurant. The fish and chips were good from the take away as were the steaks and curry in the restaurant. The staff were friendly and helpful. The shop was well stocked and not over priced. The bars and food outlets were also priced fairly.

The only slight criticism we had was that the beach was accessed by a huge dune of shale which I found impossible to negotiate. The swimming pool made up for it though!

On site there are riding stables with a large selection of horses, ponies and donkeys; adult and toddler pools; play area; amusements and nightly entertainment. There are plenty of attractions around the area, something for everyone. Monkey World is always a must for us.

Hoping to go back next year to use the new development of indoor pool and ten pin bowling. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Icehockey44 2 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site, a bit pricey but you get the facilities to back it up, the pitches are well marked out, with plenty of space for tent, car and anything else you require.

The toilets, shower and dish washing facilities were amazing, always clean, bright and airy, no cobwebs (big issue for me!) There is also laundry facilities in each toilet block but we didn't use them. From what I saw the evenings were well patrolled by site staff and security.

Perfect sited with breath taking walks along the coastal paths. Be aware the beach attached to the site it shingle / pebble until you reach the areas where the sea is meeting it then its more like sand.

The shop is perfectly stocked and some items cheaper than the local Morrisons, you name it they stock it, brilliant.

Reception on arrival was very knowledgeable and friendly with a welcome pack with all the info yu required for your stay.

We will most definitely being going again, as it was very relaxing. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tizme 4 reviews from this member

 Spent a long weekend at this park with my husband, daughter, her partner and my grand daughter.

Very busy campsite that was set out really well. Even though it was really busy we had plenty of space around us as the pitches are clearly marked. Very central to the Jurassic coast, Hubby enjoyed the fishing.

The toilet block was very clean especially considering it was Whitsun weekend. Ditto the showers.

We had no TV reception or Radio reception at all while there and was convinced that our TV had packed up but as soon as we were home it worked fine so it must be one of those areas.

You can use wi fi while your there as long as you purchase 'airtime'.

We had a meal in the pebbles restaurant and it was wonderful and reasonably priced as well.

Didn't use the club so cannot really comment on that but we did use the shop and that was really really well stocked (you wouldn't believe some of the things that are stocked there).

All in all, we had a fantastic long weekend there and would really like to visit there again. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Scudmissile 1 review from this member

 We came back today and had a lovely time. The site is lovely and clean as every review says. It was so nice to go into clean toilet blocks. My personal criticism is that the on site chip shop is overpriced and the food wasn't up to much. However if you drive a few miles down the road to 'West Bay' then you can buy from about 10 different chipshops and eat around the harbour.

We went down on a Friday evening and the place was buzzing with people eating everywhere. We would definitely go back to this site again. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Meldawkins 5 reviews from this member

 Lovely site! Although when we went, very windy! The staff are amazing. The man that runs the site, during the day he is organising donkey rides and in the evening comparing the in the club-house! If you like family run sites, this is perfect for you.

There is a large club-house where the food and drink are priced fairly.

The site also has a fantastic swimming pool area. There is a huge big pool and a over-sized kiddies one too. Also all around the pools has non-slip surfacing, so kids can run about wet!

My only concern about this site is that the traffic is busy new the toilets - I think they need to work on the lay-out so that car avoid this area as kids are playing here, there and everywhere.

Oh nearly forgot! On this site too, is a cracking fish and chip shop and again not over-priced. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: 2gargoyles 4 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely clean, well set out site. The amenities were great & well tended.

Toilet blocks were plenty, clean & warm.

The on site restaurant was fairly priced & friendly.

The only downside the beach is a pebble beach, although on the photo it looks sandy. But it was clean.

The playground was good but would've been better a little bigger for the size of site.

There is a load of things to do in the surrounding area 7 is a beautiful part of the country. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kirkandwendy 3 reviews from this member

 The site is lovely. The facilities are excellent. Loved the horesriding and has good entertainment. The pool, though outdoor, is heated and very pleasant.

However, despite this, I think the site is expensive and the rules / costs involved in what you can and can't put on your pitch are ridiculous. We only had a small tent and wanted to pitch a small pup tent. This would have cost double what we paid despite being on a small pitch taking less room than many with large tents. I expected to pay £2-£3 per night extra but not what they were asking. I would love to visit again but other sites offer much better value for camping. 


Previous     176 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Freshwater Beach Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Freshwater Beach Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Freshwater Beach Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Freshwater Beach Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bridport      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3854 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement