Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Freshwater Beach Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Dorset > Bridport > Freshwater Beach Holiday Park > Reviews

Freshwater Beach Holiday Park
Burton Bradstock
Bridport
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT6 4PT
Tel: 01308 897317
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 500
Open: 01/03/2022 to 30/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 176 Reviews
                8/10 from 176 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  176 in total, now showing 121 to 130                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Smepig 2 reviews from this member

 Hi just got back from Freshwater, top marks all round. Toilet/shower blocks very clean and well presented, club house a bit on the small side but lots going on, swimming pool looked ok but alas we were unable to take advantage of this facility, due to some numpty throwing a stone at my oldest sons head (hospital in Dorchester very good and friendly as well). The beach was very good for fishing from but not great for swimming from as pebbles give way. Camp site clean and tidy lots for kids to do.

Loacal area was good Weymouth (olympic 2012 celebrations taking place), Bridport market was good (better if over 65 years old).

Definitely visit again as our stay was fantastic. Just like to say staff were excellent when they heard about sons head injury top marks all round and thank you. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stumblinn 3 reviews from this member

 An excellent campsite!

The staff were friendly and helpful, often popping up to the pitch to make sure everything was OK. The whole campsite was clean, the toilets and showers were well maintained although there was often a large queue for the showers.

The facilities were fantastic with donkey/horse rides, a clubhouse and very clean swimming pool and pool area. The bar was located close to the pool which was fantastic as one of our party had a dog not allowed in the pool area but they were able to sit close by.

The onsite shop was well sized, well stocked and reasonably priced, with a fish and chip shop close by.

There are supermarkets very close by at just a short drive.

The beach is very close a couple of minutes walk, but is tiny stones rather than sand and was difficult to walk on. There are lovely beaches nearby, we visited Lyme Regis which was beautiful.

The site was quiet at night and people drove carefully along the campsite roads. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gsas 1 review from this member

 On visiting the site it was an impressive location, clean and well organised. But on booking in I found it to be the most expensive campsite I have ever visited, as I only pitched a 2 man tent and parked my motorcycle next to it, I was left very light in the pocket at 33 per night.

Good site but not that good! 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Littzey 2 reviews from this member

 Had our main holiday here for the second time and despite mixed weather we have really enjoyed ourselves. This site is almost 'retro' with good old fashioned entertainment for children and top class acts later for the adults followed by a disco for teens. Unfortunately, the main clubhouse is slightly too small, particularly during main weeks and it was a bit frustrating trying to get a table at times. With a two year old in a pram and I have some problems with the circulation in my legs we needed to sit down. Security was good and we felt safe on this site which allowed our teenager some limited freedom. All other campers seemed like minded and friendly. With a tot and a teen to please this is one of the few sites that kept both our girls very happy. For such a big site the pitches are very generous and the private beachside location together with fields of donkeys is lovely. On a small downside, the pebbled beach has steep access and was very difficult to walk over for me, let alone my two year old. Please Freshwater, could you put down a decking pathway?

The take-away menu is limited but the site shop is reasonable and very well stocked. As motorhomer's we relied on public transport to get about and found the bus service excellent. The bus stop outside the campsite served a route which ran the entire length of the Jurrassic Coastline and we had lovely days out in Lyme Regis, Weymouth and Bridport. We also had some lovely walks along the coast when the weather was fine to the next bay (West Bay). Our friday night treat was the short walk across the donkey field to the village which has an outstanding fish restaurant/pub. (just remember to take the torch for your stagger back!)

All in all, a good old fashioned seaside holiday resort. My teenager cried when we left and so I'm sure we will be back again for 2 weeks next summer. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dazlightyear 1 review from this member

 Found this one by chance. What a great site, we have 4 children ranging from 3-15, and they loved it. Plenty of room for the older ones to play with the large on site football pitches and pool, and a safe park for the younger ones. Excellent check-in on arrival, we have a diablo 900 tent, and the first pitch wasnt level,so without fuss they moved us and the people who were with us(In a caravan), to 2 new pitches, the 2nd of these was a corner plot and not large enough for our friends caravan awning, so without fuss we were found 2 brilliant pitches.Cannot fault them!

Entertainment may be slightly dated, but still great fun, and the compare Mr John Lee, is a legend.

The beach is not one to swim off due to strong currents and a steep shelf into the sea, but it does provide amusement watching the kids try to climb the shingle bank to the top. There is a safe lagoon however which provides room for the obligatory inflatable dinghy.

A VERY clean site,(toilet blocks were A1) and despite the size, you get a real sense of space, due to the large pitches and great surrounding scenery.

My congratulations to the owners on there site, as im sure ourselves, and friends will be returning next year. Highly recommended. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Victoriafin 2 reviews from this member

 We returned to this site in July last year after our first visit in April. We booked while we were there we enjoyed it so much. We are returning again this year for two weeks, however hiring a static for a few weeks is quite expensive so we are camping instead. Both times we have stayed has been just prior to the childrens holidays and can assume it can get pretty hectic in high season.
There is a good pool with lifeguards and inflatables too. Everybody is encouraged to join in the fun and games. The beach at the site is ok but not safe to swim. Beware a small inlet which runs into the sea from the river at the far side of the site, it is very deceiving and the water flows quite rapidly.
The camping field looked excellent, plenty of space around the tents and the toilets and showers are spotless. If you do stay in a Static, the luxury ones are fantastic. They were also immaculate, the views over the Bay are amazing especially sunset.
There are plenty of open spaces for children to play in and a small park. There is a shop on site which is well stocked with all holiday essentials and staff are really friendly.
If Sea Fishing is your hobby then this site is perfect. Bass and mackeral are plentiful during the Summer. There is a large bait and tackle shop in nearby West Bay who are very helpful.
The town of Bridport is about 5 mins drive with a Morrisons and lots of local produce and a very good butchers.
The only minor downside is that the office can get really busy on changeover days as this is a large site and you do have to be quite patient. It took us a long time and the site was only a third full. They do appear to quite strict with the booking in times even if your unit is ready they will not release the keys. Hence if all the statics are booked out then everybody is queing to get their keys at the same time. Coupled with arrivals of caravans who usually arrive in the afternoon too it can become very congested. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: T.L.C 1 review from this member

 Thanks to everyone at Freshwater, just returned from a fantastic break with fantastic weather.

Lovely level pitch with electric hookup and clean drinking water, close to the cleanest shower and toilet facilities I have seen at a campsite.

Had a large washing up area and laundry block with plenty of piping hot water.

Went with 2 young teenagers who both found plenty to do.

Good playarea for younger children and an outdoor swimming pool with life guards on hand.

The animals there was a must for my 2, with pony and donkey rides; and in the nearby field sheep could be heard.

A short walk away, through a public footpath, was a small village pub, not much else in the village.

On site entertainment was minimul when we went but a tribute to Bob Marley was playing on the Saturday which was enjoyed by all.

Overall a fantastic site for a relaxing break, the only downside was the on site chip shop was only open for 2 hours on an evening could do with being open longer.

Would certainly make a return trip. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gazza180 3 reviews from this member

 We were lucky enough to stay here when we actually had sun this summer. We went with friends and family staying in tents and 1 in a static. Static was brand new and was excellant throughout.Pitches were large enough for our big family tents and the staff made sure we had 3 together,they are picky about how you pitch but that is why it's such a pleasant looking site.

Toilet block we used mostly, looked brand new was regularly cleaned and had plenty of hot water for the shower.The one time I had to wait for a shower I just walked to the older shower block, about 2 mins away,which was still as good as some blocks that you get on other sites.

Shop and takeaway what you would expect on a campsite.Club was ok, bit small but the entertainment staff were fantastic,a big thankyou to John who not only ran the night time entertainment but was on the horse riding all day as well.Horse riding was well worth siging up for and you just got to play 'ship ahoy' in the evening.

Kids used the pool loads and said it was good.My one big down side was the beach.They advertise it as a private beach' so there are no life guards. Please be aware of this,i am 42 and not a strong swimmer. I was only about 10 feet out and I couldn't get back in. Luckily my wife spotted me and came out to help but even then she struggled.So Keep an eye on children especially where the stream meets the sea.We were told after this incident that a father and son were drowned in simular circumstances the year before.

Weymouth and West Bay beaches not far away,both got lifeguards and both very good.

Will come back to site in future, but won't go in sea off there beach. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Quantrina 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed here and thankfully the weather was fantastic all week. I think we had one day of rain but that was only for an hour or so. Staying on this site in our group there was one family camping, one family in a touring caravan and one family in a static and we all had a fantastic week. I agree with some of the other reviews about the club house, it is small for the size of the site and the entertainment is in desperate need of updating. The chippy was extremely over priced! The shop was OK and had everything you needed. Pitches were great sizes and not water logged at all. The site was full when we were there and in a morning from 9am to 11am so were the showers! These are the best toilet's and shower's we have seen ( yeah there are only 4 showers per block but they are great and you didn't have to wait that long even if there was a Que) The horse riding was always busy and maybe that's why the horses looked poor ( in my opinion as a horse owner they could have done with a good feeding up before being used in the school.)

Anyway monkey world was great and advise everyone to go money well spent money and enjoyed by all young and old.

We will definitely be coming to Freshwater again as we had a fantastic stay. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Erik 13 reviews from this member

 Still love the charm of this site after 3 visits - when the kids were tiny, junior and now teenaged. Weather was against us and yes, some of the pitches were flooded - but hey - what do you expect when the country had had the worst summer floods in years!

The entertainment is slightly dated but this adds to the charm for us - no bad language from on stage at all! ( thought the older teenagers in the TV area could have been asked to moderate it by security)

We booked for a week and it was semi full - but did notice that as we were leaving the site appeared to be getting packed - which may not have been as enjoyable. 


Previous     176 Reviews in total, now showing 121 to 130      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Freshwater Beach Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Freshwater Beach Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Freshwater Beach Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Freshwater Beach Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bridport      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3922 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement