Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Freshwater Beach Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Dorset > Bridport > Freshwater Beach Holiday Park > Reviews

Freshwater Beach Holiday Park
Burton Bradstock
Bridport
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT6 4PT
Tel: 01308 897317
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 500
Open: 01/03/2022 to 30/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 176 Reviews
                8/10 from 176 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  176 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Citizen Smith 4 reviews from this member

 This is a nice site with mostly modern facilities. It's a little dated in places but everything is clean and well kept. Every time I used the toilet / shower blocks there seemed to be someone mopping the floor.

The touring and camping pitches are all level and well marked, and checking in was quick and painless. When we stayed, the site was perhaps only a quarter full, which was great as the kids had plenty of space to play and ride their bikes. However, I'm not sure I would like it quite so much when full, and the kids certainly couldn't be as free range because there would be a lot more traffic.

The pitches are a reasonable size but not massive and there are quite specific pitching instructions to ensure a minimum distance between units. Don't be put off by this, as it all seems to be very well organised, but if you like space then visit when the site is quiet.

The location is very close to the sea, which is great, but it does mean that it is very exposed to the elements.

There is another camping field, which is tucked away at the back and seems to be more sheltered. I think this is for tents only, but worth asking about if the forecast is windy!

The heated outdoor pool (+ toddlers' pool) is a good size, clean and well supervised. The children enjoyed the play areas and then there are the ponies and donkeys: 1 for a short pony/donkey ride is great value, or you can pay 12 for a full hour's ride. There is an arcade containing largely fruit machines plus some games machines for older kids and adults try explaining to a four-year-old the logic of not feeding a machine 10p after 10p to win sweets when you can simply go and buy some in the shop opposite!

The shop is well stocked and prices reasonable, and the fish and chip shop next door serves nice food.

We didn't use the bar or entertainment complex and so can't comment, but if they are clean and well run like everything else then I wouldn't expect any problems.

In summary, if you like large, busy sites with eats and ents then Freshwater Beach is good value for money. If you prefer smaller sites then, as with any large site, just avoid school holidays. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mickeyb 17 reviews from this member

 Although self and oh were in our van, also with us were daughter & family with tent and son & family in a t/t so can appreciate their perspective on the site as well.

This is a very large commercial site with a large proportion being taken up by statics. Touring park well away from statics, largely flat and reasonable sized pitches.

First impressions were very favourable when the receptionist on the initial phone booking went to some lengths to find me 3 adjoining pitches. This was borne out by the help I received in locating a new water pump when ours failed.

Superbly kept site immaculately clean, as were the toilets and showers with unlimited hot water.

Normally use on board facilities but these were so good just had to dive in their showers.

Everything on site, swimming pool, clubhouse with children's entertainment (Beer was a bit dear),

Well stocked shop, kiddies playground, horse, pony and donkey rides plus a playing field and even their own private beach. The only downside is very difficult to get reception on tv / radio / mobile phones etc. Even my 2metre amateur radio in the car was dead.

I find it difficult to fault this holiday park, maybe it could do with a couple more water taps on the main field this is of little consequence when you can recruit an assortment of grandchildren to fetch the water.

Morrison's supermarket 2miles on the edge of Bridport with filling station. Any number of attractions in the area including Chesil Beach so if you want to go fossil hunting, that's the place. Would love to go back, will try to fit it in again ! 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Unlucky they say 9 reviews from this member

 Where do we start. Lets start with the positives.

Great shower blocks and spotless prob better than spotless.
Nice swimming pool and garden area.
Large pitches.

Now negatives.

Dated club house.
Very dated arcade if that's what ya call it.
The so called beach. This is a pea shingle that is very very hard to walk on. When walking from the top to the sea your feet sink well into the shingle so if you r unsteady on your feet don't even try it.
Seeing staff either walking or on golf buggies checking you out all the time, and on the day of departure they sit there across the road watching the clock and pushing you off.

There is a decent shop at decent prices. If you ride a horse you can go for a trek for 12 or have a 2 min ride on a donkey or pony for a pound. There is also a land train some days which lasts 15-20 mins for a pound. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Clairey1983 3 reviews from this member

 We spent the weekend here with friends and really enjoyed it, although it was pretty busy there was still plently of space. The pitches where a good size so still felt pretty private.

As we where only there for two nights we did not use the club house in the evenings at all but chose to just chill out at the tent. The toilets and showers where very very clean and the key stores where well stocked. Although we did not have children with us they do have a lot of things on site to keep them amused including horse/donkey rides, amusements, and a swimming pool. There is also a private beach for families to visit although the under currents on Burton Bradstock can be very strong so keep an eye on weak swimmers.

All in all a great site and we will definitely be back again to enjoy a relaxing weekend! 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shemal5 3 reviews from this member

 When we arrived we asked for a pitch that would be available for 3 nights in case we decided to stay after the first night. We were given a nice pitch, and once we set up we decided we would stay longer as the toilet and shower block were lovely and clean. The reception had closed so had to leave it til the morning to book the extra nights. The shop was also closed and the only staff we saw were outside the arcade. Next morning we went to book the extra nights only to be told we had to get off that pitch as someone else had booked it and yet only the night before we were told it was available. So consequently we decided to pack up and go elsewhere. It was 9.55am when we were just loading the car and a member of staff arrived and said we were due off at 10. We won't be returning as we felt we were being pushed off even though we were ready to leave at the time stated of 10am. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Erik66whu 1 review from this member

 Great site with plenty to do for adults and kids

Swimming, donkeys, death rolls on the gravel beach, etc etc etc

Toilets and showers were constantly cleaned and spotless, loads of them so no waiting!

Excellent shop with fairly reasonable prices and a good range

Good sized pitches, helpful staff really can't fault it-sorry!

Actually the takeaway wasn't up to much and a bit pricey-there you go, I found a minor fault!

We asked our 8 yr old where he wanted to go on holiday this year-spain-disneyland-dubai-the moon?

His answer.

'burton bradstock'

Enough said!

We're going back last week in July 09 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Mace 2 reviews from this member

 August 2008 was our 2nd visit to this site and although both times the weather was pretty awful we have no complaints about Freshwater Beach.

Our kids love Freshwater and they will quite happily spend the whole day playing around the site only returning to the tent to be fed and watered.

There are also plenty of activities organised for kids during the day, either indoors or outdoors depending on the weather.

Always hot water, clean toilet blocks, well stocked shop, decent takeaway and restaurant, 2 swimming pools with lifeguards.

Its been mentioned in previous reviews that the evening entertainment is dated . I think this is part of the charm of the site. Yes, it's a bit corny but it's great fun and again the kids love it.

We'll be back this year for the last 2 weeks of July . Hopefully we'll get some good weather this time as we're due it ! 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Paulacamper 4 reviews from this member

 A large and lovely site, we were pitched at the opposite end (away from the static caravans) and we were very glad as this area was too busy for us. However, the tenting area was wonderful, apart from being poorly lit at night (difficult to get to the loo in a hurry in the middle of the night!) and the donkeys - What a hoot! Havent laughed so much for a long time, and the look of surprise on new arrivals faces when hearing them for the first time was delightful! Shan't forget them and amongst our children the site is always remembered as 'the one with the donkeys'! Fab site will revisit next time we want to stay in Dorset. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: S.Ball 15 reviews from this member

 Have spent 9 nights in August here, first visit. Good sized pitch, super touring facilities, shower blocks immaculate and very hot showers. Well stocked shop, prices not too scarey. Small playground quite far from caravan area so cant let kids go alone. Takeaway is good quality but not open long enough. Outdoor pool is great and kids loved it. Now for the only real let down. The evening entertainment and clubhouse, it is very dated, quite embaressing and desperately needs updating in all areas. However, we had a great holiday, and if the clubhouse gets updated we will certainly return. 


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jacobscrackers 1 review from this member

 Arrived on fri 5th but unfortunately the pitch we were given was a mud pit, but the staff ere very very helpful and gave us the choice of any pitch on the site. We were lucky to get a break in the rain to pitch our tent. But unfortunately my brother-in-law was late and pitched his tent in the pouring rain.

This was the 1st time we have been to this site and we are very impressed. The toilet blocks and showers are imaculate, very clean all the time, the best we have seen.

There is plenty of hot water and you are in control, not one of these push button showers which turn off when you have soap in your eyes lol,

The entertainment in the club house is out of date but very funny.

The compare makes you laugh all night and involes the whole family.

The kids loved the swimming pools and we were impressed that there were two life guards on duty all the time (even at this late stage of the season).

The views were spectacular, the kids loved the rabbits running wild every where.

They also have horse riding and pony, donkey rides for the kids.

The only downside is, although the beach is lovely, the stones make it hard to walk on and the waves tend to crash in when the weather is a bit stormy, Which tends to fill your wellies, but the views are truly spectacular.

The shop was ok but because it was end of season the shelves were a little empty. But Morrisons is only 5 mins drive away.

All in all a very good trip, one which we will all be repeating next year. Although maybe a little earlier in the season. 


Previous     176 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Freshwater Beach Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Freshwater Beach Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Freshwater Beach Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Freshwater Beach Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bridport      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3922 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement