Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Freshwater Beach Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Dorset > Bridport > Freshwater Beach Holiday Park > Reviews

Freshwater Beach Holiday Park
Burton Bradstock
Bridport
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT6 4PT
Tel: 01308 897317
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 500
Open: 01/03/2022 to 30/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 176 Reviews
                8/10 from 176 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  176 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pom5 1 review from this member

 Just returned from Freshwater Bay. Great family holiday. Beach was a bit of a disappointment as heavy shingle but walked along beach to west bay. Pools great. New indoor Jurassic centre has great indoor pool and bowling lanes. Didn't get a seat in the club house quite small for size of site. Staff very friendly and toilets/showers etc in excellent condition at all times. Would say site is more geared towards families with children under 12 as not much for teenagers to do. Amusement arcade was ok but could be made bigger. We pitched in tent field and had fab pitch. Everyone very friendly and kids played on scooters along safe, quiet road together whilst parents sat outside their tents. Very relaxing holiday and great base for visiting Weymouth, Lime Regis. Shop was large and stock most things wasn't too expensive. Would recommend site to a friend 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JoeG 9 reviews from this member

 If you want a peaceful getaway, then this crowded and highly commercial family site is unlikely to be up your street during school holidays. There is a good shop, a large centre offering all-age evening entertainment for the masses (not unlike that offered at a Haven or British Holidays park), an amusement arcade, indoor pool, outdoor pool, kids play park, small bowling alley, sports bar, hairdressers and no doubt more.

We would no doubt have enjoyed our stay rather more had it not been for the foul weather during the first week of August. Gale force winds rolling straight in off the sea and horizontal rain is not my idea of fun, so we gave up a couple of days early and headed back east towards home to escape the tail of Hurricane Bertha (or one of her friends).

The weather is the weather and is absolutely not this site's fault, but worth noting that there is no shelter from it - there are no trees, no hedges between the tightly packed pitches or other means of escaping the sea breeze. Pitches were well organized but positively stingy, so parking and pitching proved awkward with our large caravan and it was not pleasant driving in and out even without the caravan attached because the tarmac strips between the pitches are so narrow and there are no walkways for the kids, bikes and there were cars sticking out.

The facilities block to the east of the main field were the biggest and best I have ever encountered anywhere. They could probably be described as 'award winning' / 'brilliant'.

Phone signal was non-existent and the rather pricey Wifi was barely working at all on the main field, but this possibly due to the strong wind or excessive demand as people were staying in their units.

There is a fantastic beach offering extensive sea views and a nice walk along to West Bay. There are plenty of eateries in Bridport and a handy Morrisons, but you'll need a car or taxi. Portland Castle, Portland Bill Lighthouse and Abbotsbury Swannery are a 20 to 30 minute drive to the east and all are worth a visit. Weymouth has a gorgeous sandy beach / bay, but is busy and commercial during the schools holidays.

Altogether this place was much too crowded and commercial for our tastes, but no doubt there are a great many other folks who enjoy the hustle and bustle along with the well developed facilities and who are not looking for a quiet and restful spot. It was not for us and we will not return, but would recommend it for those who enjoy holiday parks rather than camp sites. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jmilbourn 7 reviews from this member

 This is the third consecutive year that we have camped at Freshwater and as always, we leave fully refreshed and rested.

This is a great site, especially for children.

It is constantly cleaned - the toilets/shower blocks are spotless - and the staff are always friendly and helpful.

We look forward to returning in 2015 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: ClaireMike21 40 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a 3 day break with kids aged 11 and 13, arrived on Friday the first day the majority of schools broke up, check in from 12, drive in past all the statics, the reception is past all of them. We had booked a hard standing pitch. The main site is right at the bottom, I believe there's another camping field also. The main site is wide open with all large pitches just marked around them with marked grass, I like open sites so suited me fine. The toilet blocks were fantastic with showers, loos and sinks all in your one cubicle, they were spotless as were the washing up facilities. Site wasn't that busy presumably as we had the first weekend of the school hols. Nice easy walk to the beach which is pebbles but very nice and then the cliff path to Burton Bradstock 'hive beach' with the very posh cafe about 1 1/2 miles or through the site along fields to Burton Bradstock village with 2 pubs, about a mile.

The shop was good and sold most things, you can fish from the beach.

The outdoor pool had grass around it for sitting which seemed nice but we didn't use. The indoor pool has a large kids pool with sprinklers and a big normal pool which was lovely and warm.

Small kids playground, big space for ball games etc.

We played bowling, tip it is 2 before 11 am and goes up to 5 at night, take socks or 50p charge for throw away ones. We had lattes on the terrace upstairs with nice view. We all had the burgers one night, they are made on the premises, lots of different toppings and were tasty, the adults are large, so if you have kids or a small apatite just get kids sizes.

All staff were very friendly everywhere.

As it was just the start of the main season I didn't see any day time kids stuff on, at night in the entertainment centre I think kids disco for little ones starts at 7pm, make sure you play 'ship ahoy' in the centre, a bit like bingo, good fun, buy 3 card at bar before 9. 15 pm and it starts at 9. 45 pm, they had singers, magic, tribute acts etc all on in the entertainment centre and I think it ends with an adults type disco.

I'm sure it's one of those sites that will be heaving in the hight of the holidays but we timed in perfectly, enjoyed our stay.

Note checkout is 10 am. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Opal0313 29 reviews from this member

 Visited this camp site for the first time and the only fault we could find was the beach! As it is a shingle beach it was very painful to walk on. The toilet blocks was always very clean and plenty of showers and toilets and hot water was always available. Everywhere was very clean the staff pleasant. We did not visit the evening clubhouse so cannot comment. The swimming pools were again clean and the roof terrace was lovely to sit on and have a drink. There ought to be more parasols though 4 didn't seem enough. There is a Morrison's nearby and Bridport has a variety of shops all within a 10 minute drive. A very enjoyable holiday and we would return there. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kenmof 9 reviews from this member

 Just back from a 4 night stay at Freshwater Beach, access was good, reception well signposted, asked on email for hardstanding with good views (got neither), pitches good size however they are allocated to you.

Toilet block clean and tidy although quite a few showers locked and not in use, shop expensive for basic needs and Morrisons only 5 min drive down road.

Pools were good, never used the arcade, beach is a pebble beach not a sandy beach

In this day and age Freshwater beach are actually charging for wifi access (not cheap either, 10 for couple days) unlike many many other sites that include it in the price or give it free within the entertainment area's,

Site itself for tourer for 4 nights 110 (ouch the least Id expect is free wifi). As someone mentioned before Parkdean only few miles down road (we came across it after booking at Freshwater) so we took look around and it appeared much more value for money with great views over West Bay Harbour, mentioned costs and wifi to reception at Freshwater and got shrugged shoulders, appears she didn't seem to care as she was just doing her job!

Wouldn't return, shop expensive and pitches dear along with no free wifi! 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Thundercatmark 1 review from this member

 Tent Pitch - slightly sloped but nothing to worry about and looking around I think we were the exception as most seemed flat and well maintained. Hook up within close distant to pitch.

Location - Close to the sea and accessible to all vehicles.

Toilet/shower Blocks - Modern, well maintained, clean and free.

Facilities - amusement block, indoor and outdoor (not used) pool in good nik and my girl loved the indoor pool with water guns and slides - great. Shop seemed expensive but well stocked. Evening entertain for the kids was fantastic, cheesy but that's what kids love! The bar has an average stock of mixed drinks but is expensive.

West Bay and Bridport are within 5 min drive and have everything you'll need.

You also get a pack on entry that is very informative and has bin bags included.

When booking you think that 33 is pricey, however all the facilities are free and considering what we got we thought it relatively worth it.

We will return which is a good indication because I'm very picky and critical. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: R and S 20 reviews from this member

 Freshwater beach is in a great location, easy to get to anywhere in Dorset. We spent a lot of the team in the pool which had two pools, as we have older children meant the young ones in the pool next door had just a much fun without our lengths/splashing upsetting them.

The shop is enormous and stocked with everything you need.

We went to the Swannery nearby which was great, a lot more interesting than our teenagers thought at first sight.

For some reason the pitches were allocated so everyone was close together, leaving all the space in one place where no-one camped. It meant that it felt quite full and cramped.

The facilities in the field we were near had most of the showers out of action, but the ones we used seemed fine - lots of hot water, not a heated building but very clean.

All in all a great Easter break. 


Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kipladle 3 reviews from this member

 Its a good site but with two drawbacks. Its pricey (22/night) compared with the equally good Parkdesn site at near by West Bay (18/night). I was charged 4 for a days internet access but could only watch 25% of a film I was watching because I exceeded my data allowance. It would be good marketing to provide the service free without the poor data allowance. The facilities are good and the staff are friendly. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: RJT7974 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed here over the last week of August with our 7 yr old son and we loved this site. Easily the best we have been to with regard to entertainment facilities. Yes the weather was great which always helps but with an indoor pool, games area and bowling alley their would have been plenty to do anyway.

The pitch sizes were great and noise rules etc were well adhered to. I'd happily recommend this site to anyone. It was excellent. 


Previous     176 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Freshwater Beach Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Freshwater Beach Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Freshwater Beach Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Freshwater Beach Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bridport      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3704 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement