Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Freshwater Beach Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Dorset > Bridport > Freshwater Beach Holiday Park > Reviews

Freshwater Beach Holiday Park
Burton Bradstock
Bridport
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT6 4PT
Tel: 01308 897317
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 500
Open: 01/03/2022 to 30/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 176 Reviews
                8/10 from 176 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  176 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Garyallen 2 reviews from this member

 Really enjoyed our 6 night stay at the end of the school holidays.

What can I say, the site is on the beach, indoor and outdoor pools, playing fields and a river, if you cant have fun here, then you don't want it.

The toilets are spotless and in great condition, the staff are great.

The clubhouse is busy and you won't get a seat in the holidays unless you get in early, but we stayed on an extra night and the club house was empty, as was most of the site!

The beach is shingle and hard to walk on, we got some beach/swimming shoes from sports direct in Weymouth which made all the difference (they sell them on site too).

Your passes for the pools are only valid till 10am on the day you are leaving and so we were told we couldn't go for a dip before we set off, which I can understand in busy times, but as the site was empty I thought this was a bit mean.

Overall great site, we basked in the Dorset sunshine and will go back. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bradtourer 27 reviews from this member

 Just spent a week at this beautiful site, quick process at reception for the pitch and very strict on certain ways your unit is sited which is fine. Water, chemical disposal are very close at hand, toilet/shower block was slightly dated but spacious and always clean, shop on site for your essentials, the facilities were superb for adults and children, 3 footie pitches, outdoor/indoor pool, park, gym, sauna, steam room, good evening entertainment and large prize money for bingo, direct access to pebbled beach with sea fishing in evening. Golf course opposite the park and burton bradstock a walk away with 2 pubs, post office, newsagents or a 3 mile drive into bridport town centre with plenty of shops, westbay (bridport harbour)is well worth a look, beatiful fishing harbour, if i was to come to dorset again then this site would be top of the list, fabulous site, cant praise it enough, ps the weather was fantastic which made a perfect holiday 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jmilbourn 7 reviews from this member

 We enjoyed this site so much last year, we took advantage of the 'book at this year's prices' offer and returned.

The Reception and ground staff are very friendly at this site and we were on our pitch setting up within ten minutes of arrival

The shower blocks were spotless and cleaners were everpresent. I think that the showers have been updated since last year. There are also new/additional electric hook up points in the camping area.

The evening entertainment is very popular and an early arrival is recommended.

There are daily activities for the kids - football, rounders, a large inflatable in the outside pool, a scavenger hunt, a dance lesson and a chocolate party to name a few. These are all free!

There is ample to do outside of the campsite with Weymouth, Hive Beach and Lyme Regis close by.

The series Broadchurch has made this site more popular but even though it was virtually full, it never feels over crowded.

The shop opens at 08:30 every morning and is well stocked and not overpriced.

Overall, a great site and needless to say we booked again for next year! 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dazlin 1 review from this member

 Just came back from freshwater this is well run site great surroundings. Pitches are sized well but this depends upon where you are pitched we were in row D. Although the wife liked the pitch I thought we were on the main road to the site everything comes past your pitch on this row.

Toilet and shower block was very clean and tidy in fact they should receive an award for the toilet and shower blocks constantly been cleaned.

The Jurassic centre was brilliant for the kids kept them entertained and the out door pool was really good too. Fortunately we had the weather to use this facility. The park is in an ideal location from the beach creating great walks although we didn't sit on the beach much because it is a shale beach. Lots of facilities to keep the kids entertained and the park seems to be a safe environment for children to play around the park too.

Staff are very friendly and help the shop is stocked well with all essentials, prices are reasonable too.

Only down side to the park it can get a little noisy when people are coming out of the entertainment at night there are only two security staff for big site like this therefore they are not always around. If you are after quiet and more private pitch I would look towards the back of the park edge of the park.

I was also charged five pounds for a replacement pass ticket which was just a piece of hand written card with your name which I thought was harsh. All in All a very good holiday was had by all and well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Aidy1 4 reviews from this member

 Spent 8 nights at this site. We were on pitch W10 on the tent only field which had bigger pitches generally than the main touring field which seemed cramped. Pitches in this field are terraced on 3 levels which led to Great views of the sea however it is quite a climb from the toilet block as we were on the top level. Our kids loved the indoor and outdoor pools plus games of bowling for 2 if you arrived before 11am. Indoor pool has slides, jacuzzi sauna and steam room plus a gym. Outdoor pool was colder but very popular when the sun was out, lifeguards were a bonus. Beach is very shingly and hard to get up however views are fantastic just watch the cliffs as they are prone to rock falls on this area. Toilets facilities were immaculate though with someone constantly cleaning them.

Great base to visit Weymouth, Portland bill and the other way west bay and Lyme Regis. Great crabbing can be done at the harbour at west bay. We will going back to freshwater next year highly recommended. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ggandj23 6 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 5 nights early July. Easy roads in to site. Speedy reception and shown to our pitch promptly. We were on row A on a hard standing pitch with hook up water and drain. A good view of the park and handy for shower blocks. Great site for a family holiday. I know it wasn't the high season school holidays yet but all the facilities where all freshly painted, clean and tidy with enough staff to keep them that way, even at the weekend when the park filled up to around 2 thirds capacity. The park is loaded with things to keep children happy and if that's not enough there's always the beautiful walks and the beach, but being a shingle beach, a pair of flip flops should be worn. We got the best of the weather here, so we spoilt ourselves rotten by using the outdoor pools everyday. Out of curiosity, we also used the indoor pool on one occasion, that was spotless too. Our wee 4 year old loved it, with its water slides, splash area and water spouts.

I have to mention the staff in the bars and the wardens outside on the park they were all helpful, very polite and courteous at all times. A special mention to the entertainment team who where top notch with all the children there.

We will be going back next year 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Calhoneybunny 6 reviews from this member

 Lovely flat pitches, well marked out, and plenty of room for motorhome and awning. Three toilet blocks, never been on a site with so many showers and toilets available! All spotlessly clean the whole week we were there. Well stocked shop, newspapers, groceries, etc. Very friendly reception staff. Amusement & Games room available, but only open on Fri Sat & Sun when we were there. Excellent entertainment centre, called the Jurassic centre, only 2yrs old. Fab indoor swimming pool (warm), with great slide, and water features for children adjacent to the main pool. Jacuzzi, steam room, and sauna also poolside, Changing rooms spotlessly clean. Bar/restaurant/takeaway upstairs with verandah overlooking site, and sea vies. Also, ten pin bowling lanes. This centre is open to the public, so we found it best to use the facilities in the day, before the schools came out! Outdoor pool, with grass area to sit out on. This pool is heated, but a bit cold! All the facilities (except the bowling), are included in the pitch fee, unlike many other sites who charge extra for the pool. Meals and snacks reasonably priced. Entertainment venue and another bar open on weekends, seemed very popular. Only downside - t. V reception poor (could do with aerial points on the hook up point), mobile phone signal poor. Private shingle beach, and huge play field. Can walk into Burton Bradstock (10mins), and Bridport only about 2 miles away. Gets busy on weekends. Would recommend midweek stay if you like peace and quiet! 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Robocourier 1 review from this member

 Family of 4 (2x 8 year olds), a Bear Lake 6 and an SUV. Found by chance on the internet. We visited for a short break over the Whitsun Bank Holiday weekend and arrived early (before 9am!) to avoid the holiday traffic. Easy to find even if I hadn't had a Sat-Nav.

As our pitch (T20) hadn't been used the night before we were lucky enough to be able to pitch-up straight away - well worth asking the question. Receptionist very helpful. We were booked in the tent only area which is 'stepped' on three levels. The furthest pitches were a good walk away from the main facilities so if you've got kids, remember the scooters.

Decent sized flat pitch with hook up - enough to pitch a BL 6 and park next to it. Would have been enough room to park a trailer too. While we were within the stated tent size requirements on their website, there are a few larger pitches available should you want one.

Facilities. Toilets: Spotlessly clean and regularly maintained. Showers were hot and sufficient number of them.

Restaurant: Reasonably priced with acceptable waiting times even when they were busy. Good sized sun deck for eating/drinking.

Bowling Alley: 6 lanes adjacent to the restaurant. Reasonably priced (with cheaper off peak rates) and helpful technician/cashier/shoe attendant(!) that also helped set up our score display. Ramps and bumpers for the kids too.

Clubhouse: Need to be there fairly early to get a seat with a view. Entertainment was enjoyable although maybe a bit cheeesy (but that adds to the fun!). Bar prices were reasonable, considering you were on a site. Staff polite.

Site Shop: Well stocked and a good selection of a bit of everything for those things you've forgotten! Not particularly expensive either.

Swimming pools: The outdoor pool was cold - we didn't try it! Indoor pools were excellent. There a fun pool with slides for the kids and a decent size pool for swimmers. Plus hot tub, sauna and steam room for adults. Clean and well supervised with lifeguards.

Kids Playground: Unsupervised, shingle based, rather than cushioned or bark, play area. Kept the kids occupied but for the children who wanted to pile the shingle up on the bottom of the slide.

Amusement Arcade: If you've got kids that look forward to play arcade machines, you'll be disappointed here. Poor.

Donkey/Pony rides: Enquire and book recommended. We didn't and missed out because it isn't a case of turn up and ride! Our bad, not theirs!

Beach: Shingle not sandy so no bucket and spade. Also, quite a steep beach so it gets deep very quickly. No lifeguards. More of a 'walking' beach than a family one.

Clifftops: Not strictly a facility but accessible from the park. However, not easily accessible from the beach so plan your route and expect a long walk! Fantastic views and very peaceful.

Overall a very enjoyable break. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Abarnes 13 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a lovely 4 night stay at Freshwater including bank holiday Monday, but the grass pitches are well marked out and a good size. We had fairly good weather but there was one day of rain and the pitch didn't get waterlogged. There was a lovely atmosphere on the touring and camping area. The wash facilities were clean, nice hot showers and cubicles were well thought out for families using them.

The swimming pools were also very good, the Jurassic Fun Centre is very new, so facilities are in nice condition. We didn't do 10 pin bowling but looked excellent if stuck on a wet day. Also didn't use restaurant but it had beautiful views overlooking the Channel. We enjoyed the one night we spent in the evening entertainment, the drink prices were fair price and we enjoyed the Girls Aloud tribute act, the resident entertainment crew could probably do with seeing how some of the larger holiday park chains do it, it was slightly hi de hi and dated but that was the only negative of the trip. There is also a children's play area and large field for ball games. Dog walkers will enjoy the mass of walking areas.

There is a store on site which is well stocked and seemed reasonably priced, Bridport is only minutes away with a large Morrisons. We visited Lyme Regis which is only 20 mins away which is a gorgeous sea side town for crabbing and a beach day. This area has so much to see and visit for families and the coastal path on the site doorstep is a brilliant way to see the Jurassic coast.

Overall I rate this site highly and look forward to visiting again as we would like to use more of the facilities and see more of the surrounding area. The actual location is probably one of the most scenic we have been to for a large holiday park. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stokes11 15 reviews from this member

 Cannot fault this site, went for 8 days in the busy period over bank holiday in august 2012. Massive site with plenty to do. Had mixed weather, so sunny days spent at pool which kids loved and the adults to be honest. Went with 2 other sets of friends we were all pitched near each other and 1 min from one of many toilet/shower blocks. These I can honestly say were kept spotless clean, had several with toilet, shower and sink with plenty of space to get dressed in, these sometimes had a a small amount of people waiting for them, but were always just showers available if you did not want to wait for the luxuary, all ways a cleaner around seemed to be there 24/7 to be truthful.

Staff were really helpful, take away was good slightly expensive but heaven if you don't want to cook, you can even pre-book it! Monkey World well worth the visit and not over priced to go in either, and ideal for a dismal day.

Biggest let down for this site is the beach, it is shingle stones and boy does it cut your feet up, my poor dog refused to go to the beach after the second day and no matter what we put on our feet, them stones got in! Which is such a shame as this could be lovely and many hours spent there with kids.

Club house, well to be honest needs updating this site has spent a lot of money on the pool area and now needs to do the same again in the club, however will recommend playing Ship Ahoy, great fun! We struggled to get seats then pillars blocked view, so we only went in there twice.

Overall though, plenty for the kids, good park area, horse riding and donkey rides on site, huge bouncy/inflatable area, indoor pool area was great fun for the kids, and the sauna and steam room was bliss for us adults.

Many walks can be had here and you will come home toned, up hill mainly and hard work but worth it for the views. Would I go back, not sure, put sand on the beach and I would go every year until then will give it a miss. 


Previous     176 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Freshwater Beach Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Freshwater Beach Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Freshwater Beach Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Freshwater Beach Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bridport      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4015 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement