Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Freshwater Beach Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Dorset > Bridport > Freshwater Beach Holiday Park > Reviews

Freshwater Beach Holiday Park
Burton Bradstock
Bridport
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT6 4PT
Tel: 01308 897317
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 500
Open: 01/03/2022 to 30/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 176 Reviews
                8/10 from 176 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  176 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Chappies43 39 reviews from this member

 When we arrived on site we were apprehensive about the descent down to the touring field as it is very steep. We felt a little nervous at the prospect of towing the caravan back out again; in the event it was fine but it could be tricky if the conditions are wet and your car is a little under powered. Check-in was efficient and the information provided very useful.

The pitches are a good size both in depth and width but the roads between opposite pitches are very narrow making manoeuvring large outfits very difficult when the site is busy – thank heavens for our motor mover! The walls surrounding the water supplies and rubbish bins create additional hazards when towing a caravan. Also, there were kids on scooters flying about everywhere with very little adult supervision going on although we realise that there is little the site management can do about this.

As previous reviews have stated, the facilities at this site are very good. The ‘en-suite’ style shower/toilet/sink cubicles are an excellent idea and make showering kids a breeze as there is so much room. The showers were never really hot during our August Bank holiday week stay but they were always acceptably warm. The indoor swimming pool complex is really nice although the pool is only just over a metre deep at all points – ideal for little ones but would be better if it had a deep end as well. The sauna, steam room and hot tub are limited to use by over 16 year olds and are all good.

Unfortunately, we didn’t have very good weather during our stay with lots of rain and very high winds. Because Freshwater is right on the beach, the winds off the sea are very strong. We hardly had any sleep all week as the awning was constantly battered by the wind. Luckily, we have strong heavy steel poles so our awning stood up to the conditions but several tent campers actually threw their tents away on site as the wind destroyed them. Regular visitors to the site told us that the pitches with hard standings were not quite as exposed but still got some wind.

The surrounding area is lovely and we will definitely visit Dorset again but we sadly won’t return to Freshwater as we will not risk the winds again which is a shame as the site is lovely. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Blueinternet 5 reviews from this member

 This site is absolutely top notch - in a beautiful part of Dorset set along the Jurassic Coast. Clean and tidy, flat pitches and enough room for our 6 man tent, a car and trailer.

Facilities are fantastic for campers (and caravanner's). The shower block is never overly busy (queued once and then only two people in the queue). There are a number of shower cubicles which have ALL in one unit (WC, shower and sink) so the morning SSS (gents - you know what mean) goes perfectly !

Whilst we self catered mainly, the food in the club house is excellent - albeit the menu is a little 'samey' after a while.

The shop is very well stocked, and not over priced. All essentials (and some spares such as pegs, and tape etc) can be bought easily.

The pools (indoor and outdoor) are superb. The indoor is brand new and modern with super kids facilities (slide, fountains etc), and the pool is 1. 1m deep throughout

The outdoor is heated enough to be bearable - and set in grass which is pleasant for a sit and read whilst kids splash around - there is a paddling pool, and a swimming pool. One thing I would say is the outdoor pool is very deep for the little ones - our 6YO could just stand up in the shallow end, the deep end is 2+m

Both pools have fantastic life guards on duty all the time - and we experienced no time restrictions in the pools (despite it being fairly busy).

The club house is unfortunately a bit tired now. It's clean, and the entertainment is as can be expected on these sites (tacky - but fun fun fun) - however they do their best with the facilities they have. I believe however this is next on the radar for a refurb !

Staff friendly, smile and say hello, and addressed issues quickly.

Finally, there was little or no noise beyond 11pm - and even though this is down to the people on the site I do believe it's a sign of the 'kind of people' a site attracts!

Excellent all round and thoroughly recommend ! 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jmilbourn 7 reviews from this member

 The Freshwater Beach site is a fantastically well run holiday park.

As campers, we were directed to our pitch from the entrance so did not not have to hang about at the reception area. We were setting up our tent within five minutes of passing through the gate! We were given a welcome pack including our park passes, a map of the park and a range of useful information.

At a time when so many companies are cutting back on staff, it is great to see that Freshwater have so many around the site. It makes the site feel very 'safe' for kids and the whole park is spotless. The staff are full of energy, very friendly and great with the children.

I can only assume that they have an army of elves and pixies who keep the site so clean. The toilets and showers were consistently clean as was the swimming pool, changing rooms, washing up areas and the park in general. There were plenty of trade-sized bins scattered around the park which appeared to be emptied on a daily basis.

The activities are mainly geared around kids with morning and afternoon activities ranging from rounders to water polo to donkey derbies to face painting to water pistol fights. Donkey rides and pony treks are available for a fee (Donkeys @ £1. 50; 40 minute pony trek around the park is £17:00). A small road train also runs around the park during the day.

There is evening entertainment laid on at the clubhoues. My first impression was that it seemed a little dated however the kids (aged 7, 10 & 12) loved it. The bingo, dancing with Archie & Flopper, the talent show and everything else went down a storm. The entertainment carried on after 21:00 for adults and from what I gathered talking to other campers, it was well appreciated.

Both the indoor and outdoor pools were very clean and had more than enough life guards. There is also a hot tub, sauna room and steam room for the over 16s.

The shop is well stocked and reasonably priced for a park shop. A Morrisons is five minutes away in Bridport if a larger shop is required.

We did travel to Weymouth, Portland, Chisel Beach, Lyme Regis and walked to West Bay but we could have easily have spent the week on site without being bored.

A friendly warden made sure that we were settled and although we left 30 minutes late, nobody chased us off (maybe because they weren't fully booked)

Looking forward to returning! 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stoneslive 4 reviews from this member

 This was our first visit to this site, and I have to say the facilities are very good. The toilet/shower blocks are almost spotless and in good working order.

There is an excellent roof bar overlooking the site with the beach in the distance which is very nice for an early evening drink in the sunset.

We were on a hardstanding pitch with grass at the side. We were told when we arrived to place our caravan on the hard standing, with the awning and the car on the neighbouring grass patch. Unfortunately there wasn't enough room for both our (standard-size) full awning and the car side by side on the grass patch, so we had to place the caravan a little further over on the hard stand. This meant that part of the awning was on the hard stand and part on the grass. So we feel the grass patches on pitches could be a little bigger.

Finally, one thing which I think really shows the business acumen of a site is whether they charge for Wi-Fi or not. I find it totally unacceptable in this day and age that anywhere should charge for Wi-Fi. This site was charging £4 per day or £20 for 7 days web access. I decided to make an excursion every evening to a local pub where the wi-fi was free. That pub had my custom for a meal and a few pints

That aside, a very good site with good facilities, but as an avid internet surfer, sadly I'm afraid I won't be returning to Freshwater Beach Holiday Park. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tomo50 27 reviews from this member

 On first impressions this site is fantastic. We were met at the gate and directed to our pitch. Everywhere seemed flat, level, clean and well cared for.

Our pitch was close to all amenities, toilets, washblock, park, pool and club. We loved the private beach, albeit stony.

We loved the indoor and outdoor pools but think children younger than 12 who can swim could be unaccompanied. The children (twins aged 9) loved the daytime activities but hated the evening club. They refused to stay and listen to an elderly gentleman playing 'The Hokie Kokie' on an electric organ. This area needs improving as this entertainment is so dated.

Our kids loved the donkey rides but feel £1.50 for a 50 yard walk was very excessive.

We were impressed with the dog owners on site - it seemed every second camper had a dog but not once in our 11 day stay did we encounter any faeces.

However, after dark we experienced a lot of disturbance from teenagers, kicking balls and hiding around caravans - at one time at 2am! I did wonder why the site needed so much security and I soon realised. We had no reception at all on our phones so were unable to contact security.

That aside we did extend our 7 day stay to 11 as the weather was divine and visited every beauty spot along the Dorset coast.

This site is fantastically placed to tour Dorset. At £42 per night I don't think I will be returning and have already looked at cheaper sites in the area. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mumoftwo 5 reviews from this member

 Just come back from a short holiday here, during what has to be the worst June on record. Awnings & tents were blown out in the winds, and the ground got very soggy because of the amount of rain that had fallen. Three nights in, we were told by camp staff that due to the forecast flooding, we needed to move off our pitch to another - but we decided to return home.

Beware when arriving that there are no brown camping road signs warning you that the entrance is approaching! Thankfully there was nothing behind us when we go there, as we had to stop suddenly on spotting the entrance.

The pitches are a good size - and unusually, you pitch with the jockey wheel on the pitch marker -which gives loads of room all round.

The Jurassic Fun complex pools were great - our children thought this was the best bit of the whole site! - especially the fun pool. Due to the weather, the outdoor pool was closed.

On our first night, we ate in the bar; the food was fine - everything with chips though - some pasta would have been a nice option. The real ale on sale was made locally in Bridport, and according to my husband was a really nice pint;and at £3. 20, comparable to pub prices.

There are two play areas with slides etc for children, as well as two big fields for ball games.

The showers were very busy whilst the site was busy, but were cleaned regularly throughout the day. There are some 'bathroom' cubicles with a loo and a washbasin, as well as some with just showers in. The layout of the showers was good - the space for keeping clothes dry was excellent, and there was plenty of hot water.

There was no TV signal where we were - although the shop does sell aerials, and there was no 3G Mobile coverage: so if you like technology whilst on holiday, bring your sky dish, and buy wi-fi tokens (£3 per day, but discounted if you buy more).

The staff were friendly, and although unfortunately the weather was dreadful, it is something that was out of everyone's control, so this is a site we would like to return to. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Happydave 2 reviews from this member

 This is a clean well run site which has just opened its new and very impressive modern activity complex.

The park is ideal for families who want to keep on the go, as there is plenty to do. The shingle beach is only a short stroll away and the site boasts train and donkey rides around the park, two outdoor pools (not open until the end of May) and three indoor pools (toddler, kids fun pool and an adult pool).

There are also Ten Pin bowling alleys, a lovely Multi Gym, a Take Away food bar and and a slightly dated entertainment complex, although this was closed for a private function when we arrived.

We went slightly out of season and it was fine for us, but I would imagine that in the height of summer, this site is not for those who want peace and quiet. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shanenaderson 1 review from this member

 Just got back from 4 nights at freshwater beech holiday park.

Wow what can I say, this is the 2nd time here and it just got better, facilities are second to none, spotless, showers are free and very very hot, they have a new complex open now called the jurassic centre, ten pin bowling, swimming, bar, I would definitely give the workers and campsite a top mark.

The park is 2 mins from a large Morrisons so handy to get all your food supplies, the site does have a shop which is very good too.

Also pitch size is great, when you book you know which one you have so you can look on the map and change it if its not to your liking.

Happy days from all the Anderson family, will definitely be going again, very very soon 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mildi 14 reviews from this member

 We like this site but only out of season between school holidays, for us it's just too big if the touring pitches were all full. We had serviced pitch so everything was at hand. Good wi-fi £4 for 24 hours.

Great for the beach but not too good for swimming in the sea. River runs through the site and out to the sea which the dog loves to swim in. New indoor pool/sauna was great but no cold shower or plunge pool for the sauna, open from 9am-9pm which is very good compared to other places we have been. Well stocked shop, prices were ok and take away food also. Along the beach to Burton Bradstock there is a great seafood place called Hive Beach cafe or in the other direction to West bay. Whichever you choose this is one of the most breathtaking parts of the Jurassic coast 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Junglie 1 review from this member

 This was my first time camping in over 25 years and I was worried I wouldn't take to it. The facilities at Freshwater made it a lot easier. The toilets and showers were spotless.

Dish washing facilities were OK. Plenty of hot water.

Childrens play areas were well maintained.

The beach was shingle so worth travelling further afield if it's sandcastle building you're after.

The outdoor pool was clean and lots of staff on lifeguard duty. The new indoor pool is fantastic. It has a hot tub, sauna and steam room. There is a shallow pool for babies and a bigger pool full of splashing buckets and tipping water features which the children all seemed to love.

The largest pool is really luxurious with a padded floor and underwater lighting. Just looks like a luxury spa pool! The floor around the pool is soft and non slip which in itself doesn't matter too much but it goes to show a lot of thought has been put into this new complex and not done on the cheap. Will be interested to see if the prices increase significantly next year to factor this in?

There is a small but well equipped gym.

There is a bowling alley upstairs and if you play before 11am it was only £2 per child per game.

The evening entertainment was great for children and 'flopper' the rabbit was very popular!

The launderette facilities could be improved upon as there were a shortage of tumble dryers (3 in total 1 out of order) the queues for these were lengthy.

Bar prices were OK, two pints for about £6. Shop was well stocked and priced fairly.

There were donkey rides (only a couple of mins long) for £1 and longer horse rides for £15. I now know donkeys can be very noisy in the middle of the night.

This is a clean well maintained site which has lots of staff who seem to work really hard. All were friendly and helpful.

I'm going back next year for certain! 


Previous     176 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Freshwater Beach Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Freshwater Beach Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Freshwater Beach Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Freshwater Beach Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bridport      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3808 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement